Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Saturday In House Gists - Sending Off Kids To Boarding School /Boarding House Tales...

Saturday, December 26, 2020

Saturday In House Gists - Sending Off Kids To Boarding School /Boarding House Tales...

Do you belong to the school of thought that believes boarding house is a good for a child or are you of the opinion that it is not and that kids belong home where their parents can keep an eye on them?

If you currently have your kid(s) in boarding house,what is the experience like?Do you regret it and want to take them out or is it worth?

If you had your kid in the boarding house and removed them to day students,please tell us why.....

I don't like boarding house cos o knew someone who was a boarder while growing up and she used to tell me hair rising stories about lady koi koi and the strange goings on.....it put a lot of fear in me.....She always came back home looking like a broomstick as well....she was eventually removed as a boarder and changed to day school....

72 comments:

1. Firstlady blessing26 December 2020 at 14:04

This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

1. Went to a boarding school as well as all my siblings. Nothing to it,to me it shaped my entire mentality and prepared for the future. My sons are now in boarding school, and unlike during my time where we return back home as Bagot bones,my sons don't even shed weight at all. They are well fed and the experience has shaped their entire outlook. They are well balanced in every area. Very mature and self sufficient. It just depends on the school you put them.

2. Nochild of mine is going to a boarding school. Period!

3. The only thing boarding schools are good for is for parents to shift their duties onto teachers, creating homosexuals and promoting masturbation in children. This has been the story from the time of our parents till date. Little wonder why most the UK private grammar school boys turned out to be gays, they in politics and hold big city jobs. I never went to one neither will my children.

2. I believe boarding house helps shapes a child. Yea, we have stories, both and bad. But that's why we have house masters/mistresses. We have visiting days, where parents can even check up on how their kids are coping. I went to a military boarding school, and I believe it made me who I am.

1. Hi candy my fellow commando. Yeah there's visiting days,but the ones my kids attend no visiting day at all. Just call weekends,and the kids can send you mails if they need anything. They do 6wks in 1wk out and another 6wks in. No provisions or money. They have their house fathers and mothers and the snr boarding house master. You are called if their is an emergency. But if it where to be the type of boarding school i went to,I would not have allowed them go oh.

2. Onome darling, my fellow Commando. Sending my kids to the Command I attended is a HELL NO. The schools we have now are waaay better than our owb o.

3. At candy I'm telling you. Imagine a whole command ipaja it's old students that are doing things to bring the school back to life. Though i was a prefect and enjoyed my snr years, but being a junior student was a nightmare.

4. Nnem what's the name of the school.

5. @Candy boarding school has levels in Nigeria pay for a good one and she will be okay ..some cheap boarding is where you see angry staff and ll that

6. Being a snr or jnr, especially Snr at Command Ipaja no be am abeg.

3. I went to a boarding school but I don't think I can put my child in one due to stories flying around these days.May God help us

1. I will never send any child of mine to a boarding school. Never!

2. Boarding school is the Genesis of gay.

Most of us never knew it was something serious when we see our seniors kissed one another, fondled breasts. We'd be looking at them, was it the social night where they'd be doing so many stupid things.. And some of them are the activists in championing Gay Rights, and are still into it. My friends in Abuja are still into it but their husbands don't know till today.

I ruled out boarding school in my house but when my kids misbehaved, I use it to caution them.

4. I live outside Nigeria and my daughter is growing up to become something else, I want to send her to Nigeria for secondary school as a boarder but my brother is seriously advising me against that, he said he'll rather I send her to day school but my problem is where she will stay and be going to day school, as for sending her to Nigeria, am not changing my mind.

1. Don't do what you'd regret later.

2. You like parents ,I grew up in N.Y,when my parents couldn't understand my behaviors ,they simple sent me to Nigeria and I had the best time in the boarding school and I'm so grateful that I was sent back to Nigeria.

3. Pls send her back and enroll her in a good school

4. Under your supervision your daughter is growing up to become something else and you want to send her to a boarding school.

My dear please don't try it before your own child becomes a complete stranger to you.
      She's not too big for you to handle except you've given up on her already.

5. You cant regret anything my sis,send her to a more standard school.

6. Please send her down. There are many of her type in my children's school. They don't go for mid terms,they stay in school. Only travel for the long vacation 3rd term to meet their parents. Some don't even go back. Spend all holidays with relations in Nigeria. And by the time they are done with schooling here,you would be grateful. Though my son said the 1st term is usually hard for them,and they have to keep correcting their disrespectful english.

7. Thanks my dear, the problem we that lives abroad encounter in raising up a child is huge, our African way of life is different from theirs, I believe most people staying abroad can attest to this, u give birth to a child abroad,no matter how careful you are in raising that child, they must have some traits of the children from the country of their birth which will not subscribe to you the parents believe, in this case sending the child home is the best solution as no parents will like their children to turn out bad. My problem is the best boarding school to send her, any suggestion will be appreciated.

8. I understand you madam Peace.

If she's really going hay wire, send her down.

Make sure you have someone here you trust that will be visiting her.

After SS3, bring her back to US A.

My aunt did it when her boy was turning into small hoodlum and threatening her with police if she touches him.

Today that boy is so cultured and cool. We used to call him Scottie rascal (hope no family here o🤔). Now he's the coolest dude on the block o 😂.

Meanwhile my Aunt in UK dey fear to send her kids. Best to say she hasn't set her eyes on her daughter that lives in the same city with her since 2014.

Nigeria groms kids; forget!

The only problem is that Naija over does things sometimes and turn kids into fearful timid & broken adults.

9. Please send her to a boarding school when she comes down to Nigeria,don't let her be at the mercy of any relative. Look for a good boarding school and enroll her she will be fine.

10. My son goes to an excellent boarding school . He looks forward to school. They are a family with very caring and professional staff. Food is not an issue, they have a choice at every meal as they have a no child must go hungry policy. They serve themselves and eat as much as they want. I thought boarding schools have all left that old days misery mentality.

11. Onomè and anon 18.13, can you guys post the names of a few very good boarding schools in lagos please? Considering sending mine, Stella, kindly post. Thanks

12. Basically you think or rather are putting the responsibility of changing the child on the schl, rather than you??
      Well done

13. Peace, I wish to recommend Corona Secondary School, Agbara. My kids are there and I am so proud of academic discipline and character moulding activities of the school. Very balanced education.

14. Hi anonymous 19.33 my children school in akure oh. But can tell you the school is good. You can Google them PRESTON International school Akure.

15. If you will and can send the girls to Maria regina nnewi, and the boy to Good shepherd Anglican seminary sec,independent layout enugu, I thank God my kids went there, they take care of the students well, ni senior bully cos all mates have their hostels, eg jss 1 has different hotel with the jss 2 , the school banned senior students bully if you're caught bullying a child then you are expel, or look for a catholic or Anglican secondary school they're good, pls all these international sec sch like Corona and co is the same as training them in the USA

16. Pls don't take them to mixed boarding sch

17. @Peace and Anon, wanting school suggestions, try LOYOLA JESUIT secondary school Abuja.
      Or good Anglican / Catholic school with reputation.

5. I can't take any of my children to boarding house.

What for? For what exactly? I can't even try such. I don't like it at all.

We've got great schools 🏫 🏫 everywhere.

I want my little ones home. When it's time to go to the university, then, they can be away from home.

6. Boarding/Day school in Naija's got positive n negative side..depends on the school...plus how you train ur kid(s)

7. I went to a boarding school and did not regret it. My parents sent my younger ones to a boarding school too so I feel it was worth it for them.

8. I'm of the school of thought that kids should stay home with their parents until they are of age to making decisions for themselves!

I have never been a fan of boarding school, most of the kids I know back then that attended boarding were mostly spoilt brats that their parents could no longer handle their shenanigans.... Some came back worse while others became a little calmer.

Please, parents should do better in raising their kids. If you know you're a selfish or self-centred human being, you have no reason to giving birth!

9. Boarding is good for parents who are busy and travel alot, it can also help in building the child into one can take care of him or herself if the school is a good school with high moral standing otherwise it is not a very good place for upbringing.i have had 3 kids in boarding and 2 are in University abroad. It gave them good exposure but they lost their music creativity to it,even commitment to spiritual things. If it's a fully christian school , I know they would have been better . When they are home you can instill what u want, take them to learn anything but boarding has no such. Most schools especially the rich ones lie alot,and they have no time, kids learn bAd things from other kids. You see this boy friend and girlfriend matter starts early with boarders . If not for economy of this country where one work like crazy to live well,I will NEVER take my kids to boarding school.

10. Not a fan of boarding school and all I know is that no kid of mine is leaving the house to go stay in any school except it's for their tertiary education.

11. I got 3 in mainstream boarding schools. Expensive? Yes, that's why we respected ourselves, rallied up and got scholarships for some.
    Worth the experience, worth the extra spendings. It's always an environment for BMS, they train the BODY, equip the MIND and strengthen the inner man SOUL. Not just a school that has 2 storey buildings charging you heavens and possing as an Ivy.

One just finished and we're happy he's a man already, clear cut in many ramifications.
    Another is set to join next year,ceteris paribus, my problem is how to separate her and her elder sis, they are too close,share many secrets, whisper a lot, before they sell me. Haha.

In this era that IT is being overtaken by AI, loose morals are cheap like sand and evil is reigning,I make sure they're monitored back to back, spiritually and otherwise. Me need no monsters, can't mend broken men so I work it now to get sane kids.

Don't be a selfish parent: dump your kid in school and reappear at the close of term. Get him/her a guardian or a child carer then follow up with video calls, you'll always know when some ish is skewed along the training process if you commit your heart to raising a "whole kid".
    It doesn't cost a fortune. Drop some "change" for a teacher and watch the magic.
    When his mates know he's got an eagle eye trailing him, they do less around him. There's been evil right from the time of John the Baptist in schools. It only got a little worse.

I started from primary, it prepared me for the challenges in life,soaked me in self confidence and gave me a strong inclination draw towards the things of the Lord, you can't bend me in a society constantly trying to change me. Whether you're a member of the Alphabet Mafia,fetish or a demon possessed one? Not my business.
    Impossible.

The school motto is stuck in my head:
    LOVE GOD. LOVE OTHERS.
    Choose schools wisely. Fees aren't everything. What's the process?

12. I was in love with boarding school not until my nephew got spoilt from boarding school and my mentality changed.

13. I was in a boarding school, infact it shaped alot about me. I learnt patience, tolerance, survival, decision making, time management and lots more. But I might not send my child to one cuz things are really changing from bad to worst and my husband is against it.

14. Depends on the school. Again its mostly for extra busy busy parents. My uncles kids all became perfect liars when they started boarding school. The lies alone can make u question yourself.

15. My brother went to a boarding school and that was one of the greatest mistakes ever! The school changed his life negatively and changed him into something else. Mixed with the wrong crowd and learnt a lot of bad things and he was also emotionally distant. His life improved due to our parent’s effort and God but he did my parents strong thing while growing up.
    My sis too went to a boarding school, thank God she was not impacted negatively but she became emotionally distant from my parents even till date! They tried it with me too but I only lasted a session, could not just take it and complained loudly until they changed my school and I became a day student! I may have turned out differently and if they didn’t need my cry and left me there. Thank God!
    No child of mine will ever go to a boarding school!

16. No I won't. Your innocent child would be exposed to immoral or indecent conduct you may never be able to get out. Many homosexual and lesbian activities began in boarding schools.

I firmly believe parents (both father and mother) should stop handing over their responsibility of training their children to others. That's what sending your children to boarding schools does.

17. I went to a boarding school and I have no regrets over that.my school was CHMJ urualla. The major thing we had to battle with is hunger. There, decipline was the other of the day. I have 3 kids and by God's willing, they will all go to boarding school.

18. I live in the abroad and will come to naija for 2 years for my son to attend day school in naija. No to boarding school ever. I have a business in naija so we will be fine.

19. I will not enroll my kids in a boarding school based on stories and experiences of people close to me

1. No place is best to train kids either day or boarding school, each has its advantages and disadvantages. You can get a good day or boarding school for your kids, whichever one that suits you.

20. Parents that send their kids to boarding school really have heart oh

21. When my husband mentioned it, l replied "perish that thought, I have not yet given birth to a child that will go to boarding school "

22. I went to boarding school and I saw shege.. The bullying no dey here ooo from the seniors.. They use to tear my mattress and use it to polish their sandals.Continously I had to buy another mattress.Take my provisions and leave me with little or nothing. And if u dare report them, then u go hear am. Then, there are the gays and if u are not careful u will be lured to become one. I sure didn't have the best experience and I won't put any child of mine through that. Yes there are advantages too but no thanks.

23. None of my children will ever attend a boarding school,they initiated my younger sis into witches coven in one of these unity schools. The story plenty abeg. ill send Stella my story soon

24. All my children went to boarding school. Non negotiable!! Say I born no mean say I no go get a break. They all say they liked it. Adjusted well after jss1. Anyway their own boarding na like holiday resort with AC and all. No be my type wey I cut grass from morn till night.

1. Abeg post name na,if Stella will post.

2. Exactly Boarding school get levels nah ..when you pay 1.5 -1.8m a term for boarding they will probably treat you kid well because the staff are paid well ..they give them all kinds of great food , snacks, laptop internet access at certain times of the day ,A\C in all rooms ,movie at weekends sometimes if you pay less you may get angry and non chalant staff and limited resources ,,just a fact of life everywhere not only Nigeria ..

25. No matter the attraction boarding school might possess, we (hubby and I) aren't buying.

Let them go and come back in the late afternoon.

Can't afford not to have a deep relationship with my kids, enjoying their pranks, bantering and jokes and all that makes a grounded family life and trading all these to them being in the boarding houses, Chukwu ajụ!

NOT forgetting some sickening stories we hear and real life happenstance!

Abeg not my children and boarding school, we will pass!

26. I attended a boarding school a unity school and I enjoy it so much, I learnt a lot of lessons, improved on my character. Though if you will take your children to boarding schools in Nigeria this days do a full study of the school, environment, hygiene, ways and manners of operation and alot more

27. Boarding or day school is out of the question. God willing, I would love to homeschool my kids. Someone I admire a great deal was homeschooled and the way this lovely human turned out, gracious me! Am I envious? Such a well-rounded personality.

1. @sabella you are right about most homeschoolers turning out well oh. You see where i live here in the states we have many parent that homeschool their children and you need to see how adjusted and incredibly smart they are. Most people have the false notion about homeschoolers that they don't know they are many options for parents to follow. Online classes, websites, supplemental classes planning of field trips with other homeschoolers.If you feel inadequate in some subjects over here there are schools your children can take classes to meet up so you don't have to teach them everything yourself.
      I don't think you live in Nigeria because that is not done there. I will like to have mine homeschooled too but via a co-op where other homeschool parents are in charge of one subject each and teach them on rotation but only till the second grade and after that they can go to school.
      Children are impressionable i will like to teach them so much in the beginning myself then later put them in school when they are older.

28. Goodluck with that... lol

29. Around that age is when they mostly need that emotional nurturing, love and affection from parents. How do you nurture them if they’re in boarding school??? Nahhh I’ll pass on that. Day school ni. Gbam.

30. Unless you take your kids to and fro school, that's when day school student will be seen as better than a boarder!
    Kids these days are learning bad things more than the good!
    I have a boy whose parents gave everything steal a phone from a phone dealer on his way back from school, I have heard of a girl that always changes to Mufti immediately she goes out of sight of her parents to go visit her University boyfriend!
    I have seen girls who engages in lesbianism yet they are not boarders!
    I went to boarding school, even though I suffered during my junior years but the suffering waned out during my senior year and the lessons I was taught there really shaped me!
    I married well at a point things nosedive ,my hubby worried a lot thinking I will leave the marriage but I stayed and he was saying he didn't know I will stay but I learnt perseverance as a child from the school I was sent to.. Even my parents says that I am the only child of their that can adjust in all situations!

31. Going to a boarding school surrounded by forest and we'll ratio food is not a child's play at all.it is a primary prison yard

32. How I wish I could homeschool my child. My family friend did to her daughter, omg, this child is grounded, moulded, what better adjective, use it for her. May God help us all.

33. All my kids attended boarding sch that's the best decision of my life ,1st good shepherd seminary Enugu and finish up at christ the king college CKC onitsha, 2nd boy Dennis memorial grammar sch DMGS,onitsha my daughter is in Marie regina sec sch nnewi meanwhile we stay in Lagos oo, the learn time management, respectful but very confident, prayerful and very hardworking, even if I have another child, by jss 1 he or she will move to dom house straight up, I buy double provisions, for them, they keep it with their guardian and take it small small to avoid it been lost, they learn how to speak igbo very fluently cos 2days in 7days is only for native languages so you must learn igbo, they speak English too cos 5days is for it too, the schools are managed by catholic and Anglican churches, my 1sg was in Corona before and he want to turn to over grown baby thank my Goodness that I took him to east to shape him to a complete man he is now