Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actress Ruby Ojiakor Says Some Actresses Use Voodoo To Get Movie Roles...

Saturday, February 13, 2021

Actress Ruby Ojiakor Says Some Actresses Use Voodoo To Get Movie Roles...

Nollywood actress Ruby Ojiakor told Saturday Beats, “One of the challenges in Nollywood is the (poor) fees paid to actors, and that is partly because the movie industry is crowded. When one states one’s price, they tend to offer a lesser amount. If one does not accept, some filmmakers would then look for someone else, even though the other actor cannot give them the quality the former one possesses.

She also stated that some movies were substandard because producers and directors refused to pay good fees to talented actors.

That is why some movies are substandard. I don’t charge very high fees. I believe my fees are affordable, and some producers know my worth. However, there is a high influx of girls into the industry and some of them are ready to even pay the producers to get roles. The result is that the inexperienced actors mess up the movie productions. I am grateful for the producers that know my worth and pay me well

“Also some (actresses) use voodoo and go diabolical just to get attention from movie producers. This then makes them sought after, compared to other actors that are lobbying and struggling to get roles. However, with God on my side, things have been fine. I believe that juju (charms) work very fast and the people who use it in the industry get rapid fame. I think that is also a challenge in Nollywood.”

Ruby also noted that she had turned down numerous sexual advances in the course of her career. She said, “Sexual harassment is everywhere. I think every actress has experienced it at one point or the other in their careers. The people (who engage in it) do not care whether one is ugly or beautiful. All they want is to get laid. But, the question is, does one want to toe that path? Unfortunately, that is one of the things that slowed down my career. I refused to give in to the numerous sexual advances. I am not where I should be. These guys would deny one of so many jobs that should have aided one’s career growth. However, I am not bothered. If I don’t get a job, they can give it to someone else.

“How many men does one have to sleep with to always get roles? Sadly, those guys are ‘kiss and tell’ and word would have gone round in their caucus that one offers one’s body for movie roles. Automatically, everyone would want to take advantage of one’s loose morals. However, some directors and movie producers are professional and would give one one’s due respect and also appreciate one’s talent. I think the problem is that some up-and-coming actresses are too desperate. They want to ‘trend’ and reign almost immediately they start their careers. And, some moviemakers would promise them heaven and earth just to get between their legs.”

From punchng

21 comments:

1. Voodoo to get movie roles? Mtchew

Please go and work hard.

Sex to get movie roles, I’d believe, but voodoo? 😂🤣

1. C this one. I moved to Asaba the thing wen my eye don see don pass me.

2. If actors can pay to be in a movie they can do just about anything!

3. Nothing is impossible with a desperate person who has a broken moral compass

2. This woman who has slept with many producers in asaba. Regular meal to one producer with name "is like that" she gave birth to another young producer dude who refused to be tied down. They are desperate women who would do anything for a movie role. People in asaba know her very well

1. Chai. Small Ruby that time for Enugu, she used to tie small cloth on her chest (small breasts) to dance as a video vixen along with Nkoli Nwa Nsukka in music videos.
      Songs by Uchenna Nwadike and co(oku gbajie aka hi ya).
      So she don finally spoil like this?

3. You are 💯% right my sister. It's not how far but how well. Stay focused and they sky is your starting point.

4. ����who no know this ruby for asaba, Stella I will pass on this

5. This girl has been around for a while, she suppose don blow oo. Unfortunately. Nollywood is fucked.I remember one fair beautiful skinny girl who used to be my classmate go to the hotel with a movie producer "Magic Movies" He chopped her for years until she blow. If you can't fuck produce your own movie

1. Your head dey there. Magic movies been chopping girls in exchange for role since yesteryears

6. It's either you join them in the voodoo business or you boycott them and their voodoo, which ever you choose, stop limiting your hard working sisters to fetishism, inugo Ruby? It is always a female that sleeps around and does voodoo to attain success. Never will such be said or heard about a male neither will a brother run his fellow brother's success down by all these lame talks.

Umu nwanyi love and support yourselves, be your own sisters keeper. Quit the unnecessary competition and hate. Your fellow sister shouldn't be an enemy but rather, failure should be the enemy.

By the way, she's a very very good actress and i love watching her movies, wishing you a divine break through dear Ruby.

7. Most actors and actresses are walking shrines na, if you know you know.

8. Sorry o madam ruby but how could you attribute someone's success to voodoo except you are speaking from experience which make you the same as them only that voodoo pass voodoo..what am I talking sef.
    Celebrate others so that when your time come they will celebrate you.

9. Even ruby wey get Belle for producer dey talk hahahaha. Who no know your gist ma! Which one be voodoo call it what is is juju all of una know una sef.

10. This girl that Mercy Johnson introduced to all kind of jazz!..
    Hypocrite!..
    Mechipu onu there!..

11. Yes!..
    If you dont do juju in nollywood,your name na sorry!..
    Well except those that are very very very prayerful!...
    Infact,naija entertainment industry as a whole!...

12. Na today!!!! We know that,it's being for long in that their industry, so many back scene stories going on,movie industry is another world on it's own entirely

13. Xp really?? Omo this life na the more you look, the less u see.