Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ex Beauty Queen Helen Prest And Late First Foundation CEO Dr Ajayi's Children Clash Over His Properties

Friday, March 26, 2021

Ex Beauty Queen Helen Prest And Late First Foundation CEO Dr Ajayi's Children Clash Over His Properties

The crisis within the family of the late Dr Tosin Ajayi, the Founder of First Foundation, has deepened as his Children from his first wife are battling former beauty queen Helen Ajayi for his properties in her care.

Ajayi, who died on April 26, 2020, was until his death married to Oluwayemisi, with whom he had five children. However, he and his wife were separated for about 30 years before his demise without being divorced.

The deceased began lived with ex-beauty queen, Helen Prest, for about 25 years and they had a daughter together but were never legally married.

Due to the feud between the two women and their children, Ajayi’s funeral was delayed by nine months pending a court case. However, on February 12, 2021, he was eventually buried amidst drama at the graveside.

The PUNCH learnt that Ajayi, who had investments running into billions of naira, died without a will, thereby deepening the crisis within the family.

Helen had reportedly blocked an attempt by her husband’s older children to take over a property measuring 3.7 hectares of land at Ilasan, Eti Osa Local Government Area of Lagos State.

In a letter signed by Helen’s lawyer, Mr Abiodun Owonikoko (SAN), which was addressed to Ajayi’s first family lawyer, Mr Femi Falana (SAN), it was argued that the ex-beauty queen could be recognised as a wife because she was a companion of the deceased for 25 years.

The letter, which was dated March 2, 2021, is titled: ‘Caveat against meddling in property situated at Ilasan Village, Eti Osa Local Government Area of Lagos State measuring 3.873 hectares identified as Block A in survey plan No. Pls 294A/Lag.89; other assets or held in First Foundation Medical Engineering Company Limited and all intestate assets of Dr Tosin Ajayi (deceased)’.

The letter read in part, “We are solicitors to Mrs Helen Prest-Ajayi and Miss Tomisin Ajayi, being the wife (via civil companionship) and daughter of late Dr Tosin Ajayi, the deceased beneficial owner of the property but held in the name of a company, which he was in his lifetime, the alter-ego.”

Owonikoko claimed that Helen was a shadow director in the company through which the deceased acquired the properties.

He also argued that in Yoruba custom and tradition, when a man dies, the eldest surviving son called the ‘Dawodu’ becomes the leader of the family, but if there is going to be any important dealing with family property, “all branches of the family must be consulted and representation on the family council is per stripes (branch) according to the number of wives with children.”

However, in his response on behalf of Falana and Falana chambers, Mr Taiwo Olawanle, said Helen could never be described as a wife since she was not married to Ajayi based on the Marriage Act.

In a letter dated March 18, 2021, he said Helen was not legally married to the deceased, adding that she had no right to his inheritance.

Olawanle wrote, “In the first place, the ‘Idi Igi’ principle applies where a man, who died interstate, was legally married to two or more wives. However, where a man, who was married under the Marriage Act died intestate, his estate will be administered in accordance with the Administration of Estate Law.

“In the instant case, Ms Helen Prest was not married to Dr Ajayi either under the Customary Law or Marriage Act. Hence, Ms Helen Ajayi has been parading herself as the posthumous civil companion of late Dr Tosin Ajayi. The case cited by counsel for Ms Helen in the letter under reference does not support the alien concept of civil companion as a form of marriage in Nigeria.”

The lawyer further stated that Helen was never a shadow director at First Foundation, a company the deceased established with his first wife.

From punch.ng

*The daughter is entitled to the late doctor's Properties ,please they should leave some for her....I hope they aint trying to take everything...
Na wah!!!

199 comments:

1. This one of the demerits of polygamy and y'all should deal with your dang mess

1. Unfortunately for the side chic THERE’S NO yeyegamy here. She should go back to her parents house or continue staying in Hilton hotelu. Her work has finished

2. I know that Helen has a good relationship with media and the bloggers and I have no issue with that or with her person but this her media smear campaign doesn’t make her look good for someone that is a lawyer. Period

3. Helen is just a concubine..
      No marriage,nothing what so ever!..
      I wonder why she is dragging property!..
      Gold digger oshi!...
      When you see these ladies,with their impeccable English and charisma,one would think they are smart!...
      It's not by speaking long grammar oooo..
      Most of these people are actually daft!...

4. Helen should know better

5. You people have so much hate got side chicks and none whatsoever for the ekwesu you married that keeps giving the side chicks mind to misbehave.

6. How do you live with a man for a whole a** 25yrs and fully aware that he is still LEGALLY married to another woman?
      Why didn't Helen compel him to make the divorce happen before agreeing to move in with him?.. I mean, you can't be giving out free P for yearsssss, something has to give. Haa!
      Why weren't they even traditionally wedded.. Eh?...(atleast,ana edigodi from one side)
      Why didn't the man write a will?
      What's with most Nigerians and not writing a will, bikonu?
      Mind you, writing a will isn't meant for men alone o.. Na for both sexes, ehen!
      She has a daughter for pete's sake, that alone is enough reason to make sure that their situationship is/was legalised..
      Helen adirọ sharp!
      So many questions..
      P:s.. I wish I could send a voice note,I tire for this long a** typing.

7. Helen, Helen truth must be told but this your PR shenanigans doesn’t make you look good. You called yourself a lawyer that has been with a man for 25 years with a child for him and you didn’t have any proper legal protection for your child and yourself with the man? Common on now people and let us be real with each other. Civil union is different from legal union and if there is anyone that should know better, it should be madam “I’m a lawyer”.

8. HOW COULD THIS WOMAN HAVE MADE THIS STUPID MISTAKE???

AND HOW COULD THE MAN HAVE DIED INTESTATE? WHAT???

HELEN, THE LAW IS CLEAR, PACK AND GO BACK TO YA PAPA HOUSE. ONCE A MAN DIES WITHOUT A WILL, HIS PROPERTIES REVERT TO HIS LAWFUL WIFE . IF SHE IS LATE, THEN HIS CHILDREN. AND THATS ON PERIOD.

IF ONLY YOU MARRIED HIM MADAM, IF ONLY!

This battle will be a long , heated one and the children will still win. There’s nothing there for her. The only things she may have some control over are the company properties if she was a director.

9. HIS FIRST WIFE IS STILL ALIVE!!! OmG HELLEN SORRY O. PACK AND GO. EVERYTHING HE OWNED IN HIS NAME IS LEGALLY HERS NOW.

FoR A LAWYER HELEN, IM COMPLETELY DISAPPOINTED.

10. Side piece 9:55 continue crying blood, ntooor is your name cos your sugar papa is never gonna marry or even divorce his LEGALLY WEDDED WIFE for you side piece.
      I go continue to choke you, and your cohorts, ntooor!!

Stella babie, post inugo, 😘

11. And Helen has LLB and maybe LLM attached to her name? Who awarded her the certificate and did she go to Law School in the moon? 25 years??? with a man who was separated from his wife that long with grown children and did not bother to get him to do right by her even for the sake of her daughter? In Africa, Nigeria? Beauty and brain clashed or something? A whole Lawyer?

12. This is surprising and shocking though.The fact she is a lawyer,she should have known better now.This is a lesson for women to always put themselves first and let the man do right by you.25 years is a really long time to not have done any proper thing.

This reminds me of the documentary I watched on the late American supermodel,Anna Nicole Smith.Despite the fact she had good lawyers and even legally married the old billionaire,The first Son of the man still won in court and took over everything and even implicated her with one of her bodyguards.

A wealthy polygamous home is peaceful,until the man dies and there is money and properties to be shared,that is when hidden hatred and battles start.With will sef,wahala plenty,not to talk of no will.It is well.

13. Response@ I am the queen. Your comment was on point. Don’t mind them and their stupid phony English. Education is a good thing to have but sometimes just being educated doesn’t make you a smart person too. I have someone that went to Harvard and not only is he a bum but when he opens his mouth to talk, I honestly wonder how he got into that school. People look down on people that didn’t have college education to their name and yet we have 2 of the richest people in the world with no college education. Aka Mark Zuckerberg and
      Bill Gates and in Nigeria we have Chief Rasaq Okoya and these 3 people are rich rich with no college education. I totally appreciate someone having education but sometimes people give them too much credit and a pass as being automatically smart just because they are college educated which to me is a false narrative

14. Anon I am not a side chick. Married as a sparkling virgin to a responsible handsome man. We have three handsome boys and beautiful twin daughters. My life to the glory of God is still like a dream to me.

You really think every woman spends her youth fighting prostitutes because of a man? I laugh at your abject misery. Instead of you to have married a responsible man you’re on a blog being an anonymous fool. I don’t support side chicks but I will never remove my crown to allow any man make me SAD and MISERABLE enough to perpetually fight rofo rofo. My dear instead of hating tap into my life. You obviously need some happiness.

15. I don't know why we are crying blue murder over this issue. The only problem here is this man died intestate and didn't put his house in order.

Back in the days, polygamy was not a big deal or crime. Now we frown at it because we know better and don't want to make the mistakes our parents/ grand parents made. Plus we are Christians.

A man could have many wives, doesn't mean he will wed all of them in court, yet they all remain his wives.

Back then, once a woman has a child/children for you, she is your wife,

My grandfather was polygamous, even married a 25 year old in his 70s.

At the end of the day, a woman who has been with you for 25 years is not a concubine or side chic. She should be given a part of the inheritance no matter how small and I am sure the court will recognise her and her daughter.

Finally, writing a will is a must for everyone. It is important to tidy up these things to avoid all these drama when one is gone. Don't leave it till you are 40 or 50.

I wonder why this man didn't put his house in order, quite pathetic. All these drama and litigation brouhaha is not good for his memory.

16. @Ms Abroadian, thanks for your beautiful write up. However, writing a will is not the end oh! They will contest it. Currently going on in Port Harcourt. Lulu Briggs wrote a will yet.....

17. What is paining me is 'why is Bar Falana (SAN) delaying telling Ms Helen the truth that she's nothing but a mistress.'

18. People need to understand that there is a difference between the law and 'that is how we do it'. Even those that go to any Pentecostal churches that are not licensed by govt to wed can find themselves in the same situation if the legality of their marriage is challenged after the man's death. The legally recognized marriage certificates are those issued by the court, Catholic or Anglican churches. I don't know if Redeemed, Winners and co are now licensed but before you go to a church, do your court marriage. If a man refuses to a court marriage, he probably doesn't see you as his last bus stop.

I am just surprised she is fighting for property which makes me curious to know what sort of relationship they had. The man no buy properties in her name? Na wa.
      She is not a legal wife and Nigeria is yet to recognize common-law partners else she would have been considered a common-law partner in western countries having lived with him at the same address for 25 years.

19. Mao akuh, he is a lawyer , why should he do that? Thieves have lawyers, so what are u on about?

20. Anony 16:22
      Thank you.

A whole well bred lawyer,Helen Prest-Ajayi.
      Lived with Dr Ajayi for 25 years:
      No bride price o.
      No will.

No traditional wedding.
      No court wedding.

No church wedding.
      Not divorced from 1st wife.

No houses bought in Helen's name.
      No property in her only daughter's name.
      ????

Hellooo???
      That his 1st wife needs to circulate the phone number of her babalawo. The Baba is a kajad man. What?

See eh, Helen is a bv, just start pleading jor after reading all these comments,forget gra grab,no go dey gberaga,you will lose.

3.7hectares in Ilasan - Lekki is like 55plots,going by 50/100 abi?
      If they develop a plot per exotic 5 duplex bedroom ,they won't sell less than N68m.
      Too much money.

God, Mr Ajayi's family should have pity for the sake of her daughter.
      Provided the girlchild was for him sha because Ikeja women too dey do.

I'm sorry na the investment point I dey view. How to make money for the babygirl first, not interested in their media war.

21. She was very desperate and needy that’s why she allowed him to have her as a mistress for 25 years. Now she looks dumb.

2. O ga o see wahala.

Ladies hope you are seeing all this.

1. We are seeing it ooo! Hmmmn

2. This man is the CAUSE of all these problems,how does a learned medical Doctor in this day an age not have a will....he enjoyed the best of both worlds,enjoyed both women....he purposely did not want to divorce his wife so he wouldnt offend his older children and their mother. At the same time he was enjoying family life with Helen and dere daughter..
      This man should have cleaned up his affairs before leaving this earth; divorced his 1st wife legally and leave a damn WILL; so there is less confusion.
      In my own opinion both Helen and the first wife should have nothing; they can leave both women in the houses they are already living so they are not displaced. Let the remaining properties and money be shared equally btw all of Ajayi's biological kids; this includes Helens child. Any child that will like to gift their mother from it,that will be their business. Just share equally btw the kids....where there is confusion in 1property being more valuable than the other,you can rent out all the properties and share the money equally. The said Land too shld either be shared equally amongst the kids or they sell all the lands and the kids share the money equally. If Helens daugther wishes,she can give her mother from her share.
      To be honest Helen doesnt have rights,if they keep at this court issues for 20yrs matter go still dey court and you cant do nada or even withdraw money,courts will freeze all.
      So Helen thread carefully and settle with these kids outside court. Leave the mans properties and let the kids which includes yours share it. I speak out of experiences in my own extended family. 20yrs the matter is still in court.

3. Beds and Roses not when the 2 women dislike each other and the family is already divided.No woman will take the humble pie in this situation oh,especially the first wife.She is still legally married to the deceased man on papers and in her defense,suffered and built the company with the man from the scratch.She won't sit and watch another woman decide the share herself and children will get.If na me I no go gree oh.I am sure that is why she also didn't ask for a divorce from the man all these years.Unfortunately,Helen didn't think smart or act accordingly.

4. @ Beds and Roses, this actually makes sense. I'm sorry to speak ill of the dead but the Ajayi man was really self centered. Even if he chooses not to divorce his first wife, he should have written a will sharing his wealth equitably among his wife, mistress and all his children.

Some people even specify how their burials should be held to avoid conflict, he created a very big mess and left it for everyone to deal with. I'm not applauding side chicks but if a woman lived with you for 25 years, she doesn't deserve to be discarded with nothing and it seems he was already separated from the first wife before she came into the picture.

5. B&R The ratio then will be 5:1 as Helen has 1 and the estranged wife has 5. Chai!
      Helen no go gree o as she actually did the work.
      And court stress ehn... this beautiful Helen will age in a heartbeat or maybe not since she is a lawyer.
      But which kain lawyer no secure herself like this? Even me that don't know anything demanded to see divorce papers b4 I accepted an engagement ring from my husband. My father and cousin that is a judge scrutinised the divorce documents thoroughly before they gave him list and insisted that court marriage be done before traditional marriage.
      Yet this very elite woman didn't bother?

6. B&R
      Always on point ✔️✔️✔️👍👍🗣🗣🗣🗣
      My uncle is on this table

I’ll never marry a man with Court certificate

7. Bed and roses i agree with you. I think it is the best thing for helen to do. Settle out of court and beg the kids to equally share so that at least her daughter gets something. For me, the man never loved helen, or he believed she was just a golddigger who stayed because of his wealth. she was a trophy side piece, she should go with the 25years of enjoyment she had with him and collect whatever she can and go live her life in peace.

8. Beds and Roses, you are wrong to blame the man alone! Helen was not forced to stay with a married ma without getting married to her for years. She was not a minor when she met the man. The did not force to stay in that relationship, after all some women still refuse some men advances. Why didn't Helen give him some conditions? Why didn't she threaten to leave him if he doesn't marry her legally? So Helen should keep living in the main house of the man while his real wife will be living in a make-shift house he moved her to right? Where in your imagination does a girlfriend have entitlement to a man's properties? Does something not tell you that the man may have done what he did on purpose? If he wanted her to benefit, do you think he wouldn't have had a will? Please Helen should move on and leave this family alone! Her party is over, period!

9. Anon 17.58 what are u saying?? d First wife is in the home she once shared with the man since and Helen too is in they house they shared. She still has their child living there so why cant each woman keep the home they currently live for peace to reign.
      In yoruba culture so far u have a child u have passed being a girlfriend.
      They will have a hard time chasing Helen from dat house, she and her child still live there. That girl has every right to have a roof over her head,shes still young; and she cant live alone; dat is what Helen will argue.
      As i said i have experience from this kind of case and dat was what was done after 20yrs of court case.

10. B&R note that the man did not know he would die at the time he did, even Helen hoped he'd get well so how would he rationalize the action in anticipation of conflict after death?
      The truth, whether we like it or not, is that the man didn't want Helen for a wife!
      What y'all should be asking is why Helen didn't build her own dynasty on the late Dr's strength rather than waiting to drag from his family?
      The man clearly knew what he was doing! Nobody will tell me he was ignorant. Apparently he ensured that she had her fill during his lifetime.
      Moreso no one or only few people enter a relationship with death in anticipation, we all hope that all the bliss will be forever thus we enjoy ourselves forgetting that life is fleeting.
      I can just imagine the pain of his wife seeing Helen with her husband in places where she ought to be....
      And Helen, gracefully feeling like the favorite "I do it better" queen...
      Chai!🙆
      But at this juncture I have a very pertinent question, WHY DID HELEN PREST ASSUME HER PARTNER'S NAME WHEN THE MAN CLEARLY HAD NO SUCH INTENT???
      The term CIVIL COMPANION, is it enshrined in any part of the marriage act?
      The law is trite and not sentimental and Ms PREST should know that. There exists a legal wife and where there is no provisions for Civil Companion in the Nigerian Marriage Act then Ms PREST is fighting a lost battle.
      B&R I do not side your opinion that both women should go without and the children take the property.
      Helen enjoyed the man 25years, she must have had her fill, let the wife now enjoy the spoil!
      If we must call a spade a spade and not a garden spoon, Helen was his courtesan aka live-in lover (in pidgin english) aka ashawo!
      Stella make I no find my comment o.

11. Absolutely fantastic post by Sparkles. The truth told.

Settle out of court? Dumb! Please read the law. His wife will never do this because of the disdain Helen had and has for her.

The man knew what he was doing. He did all this intentionally. He knew she was a gold digger and left her to continue digging his gold. Now the jig is up.

If the Ikoyi home she lives in is the First Foundation name then she’s in trouble because it’s the company the wife set up with him. Game up dumb lawyer Helen.

3. When you tell the average Nigerian to write his/her will, the next thing you hear is 'God for bid' as if we'll all leave forever, but it's just to avoid these kind of family embarrassment.

My mom's cooperative in her office, I was asking her some interesting questions about it recently and she shut me up sharp sharp 😃 but it's for her own good. God forbid anything happens to her now, my sister and I know absolutely nothing about that cooperative. Well🤷

1. Lol. For her own good or yours? Leave the woman's money alone, go make yours.

2. My dear i dont understand how a medical Doctor wont have a will in year 2021.
      These men sef they will leave their affairs in a mess and come and start causing confusion in death. Mschewww

3. He did it on purpose, he wants his children from his real wife to inherit his properties. Don't you get it?

4. Better hold a tortori family meeting and cajole your mummy to release details about the cooperative savings before akùkó abùrú n'Idah.

Wisen up.

5. Thank you @ Anonymous26 March 2021 at 18:00.

Why are people being dumb and stupidly obtuse over this? He did it intentionally.

4. How can you live with a man for 25years without getting married legally. Helen is a lawyer for crying out loud....Men oooooooo😏😏😏

This story is so shocking. The man's children are really out for Helen.

May God bring peace to their home.

1. I am beyond shocked Madam Helen allowed herself to be used like that sha.

2. God bless you, that’s show the man doesn’t love her. That’s why she has a child for claiming. She is just side chicks. A lawyer for that matter. Hope she did not use juju to tie him down

3. The funniest part of these story is that Madam Helen not only makes herself look prim and proper but she always talk about reading and education and she has written i believe one or two books too. Her charity cause is reading and education and now you wonder what use has those causes serves Madam Lawyer

4. This man never loved Helen at all , i am sorry for her . OKPO‼️ She lost big time . That their daughter in igbo land answers Helen name bcos nothing was paid her head.

When you see them you think they have got sense 😳😏🙄🙄🙄

5. Helen didn’t lose. She packed some of the men’s valuable properties then moment that he died and the rest they are fighting for I believe are remnants. This woman Helen is not as butter as the media portrays her to be.
      and Karma is finally catching up on her for what she did to her first husband Jimmy Davies whom she has her 2 oldest daughters for. She dumped the guy when the man was broke and moved on to Dr Ajayi. She is nothing but another fake ass phony calculating woman and you wonder why Nike Oshinowo is her protege!! Just look at what that evil Nike turned Dr Soleye to! Bunch of fake ass diabolical women. Yes I said it because they were

6. Prim and proper is all out of her fake facade.

7. @ She packed some of the men’s valuable properties then moment that he died.

Packed them where? Isn’t this why they are in court?. There are no remnants here.

5. If the land was acquired after he left the first wife, then the first wife and kids have no business with the land.
    However, the man is wicked and the helen is daft. So for the whole 25 years, you couldn't compel a man to wife you knowing where he's coming from?
    And why wouldn't the man write a will when he knows this will arise.. na wa

1. People should stop being sentimental and take this personal likeness for Helen out of this because this makes her not only look bad and less smart for someone that calls herself a lawyer. How can you be with a man that has other children and decided not to be legally married to him or get a legal protection for yourself? That to me doesn’t make any sense

2. Like!!!! She should lay on the messy bed she made. She tolerated nonsense and should ready herself for the drag.

3. No, Helen thought she was wise for not marrying him. Thinking as a beauty queen she doesn't want to be tied down to any man, or that she can get a bigger fish that could appeal her demands. Unfortunately Helen life didn't go the way you planned out.

4. What are you saying,the first wife may have rights to the land after he left her(that is even still debateable) but his biological kids,older or younger have EVERY RIGHT.

5. Leave who??Before the eyes of the law,the man no go anywhere oh.Him and his first wife are still legally,traditionally(didn't return bride price) and married before God.

She and children have every right to all his properties.If Helen's daughter is above 18 years she can't claim NADA!!because as a child born out of a marriage,the man's responsibilities for her is done as she crossed 18!!

6. *Meant first wife may Not have rights to the land...

7. Anon 8:51, what do you mean? That his children has no business to their father's property after he divorced their mother, really? You must be talking out of your sentiment. Did he divorce his children? Or did he disown them? So his biological children should not have business to their father's property, but his girl friend (not even wife) should, just because he divorced their mother? So many dumb people on this blog! You call Helen daft, but you are dafter, (if there's a word like that).

8. The story is that Helen tried to get the man to marry her but he didn't.
      I read it here o SDK.
      Apparently the man didn't want marriage with her.

9. Anony 8:55
      Separation is not divorce o.

Dr Ajayi trained all his kids from the 1st wife.

He was their "loving Daddy".

6. If u like born 20, if you weren't married traditionally or otherwise, you are VERY single.

1. Even traditional which is civil union doesn’t give you a legal protection if he has a legal union with another woman that has not been dissolved. The only way you can have a stand is if he has a Will

2. 💯‼️‼️👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽

3. Please nigerian lawyers abeg help explain, what of customary marraige based on our tradition. This man might have married Ms.Prest under the traditional rites, are they saying because 1 person was married oyibo way and the other traditionally, the traditional one is not considered marraige? Is Nigeria not a country that allows polygamy. Also, does the property automatically go to the wife once the man dies intestate? I thought its shared amongst the wife and the kids in almost equal ration.

4. They were not married traditionally, legally, or in the church, get that in your head!

5. Anony 18:13
      Be calming down.
      Many Nigerians don't know the marriage procedures.

If he paid bride price, this battle wouldn't have cropped up.

6. Star don’t be dumb please. Can’t you read?

7. If that man died without a will please the caretaker sorry side chick should release EVERYTHING in her possession before she see the other side us. Wether she gave birth to 100children is none of our business

Onye oshi amu

1. Osino caretaker?😇😂😂😂😂😂

I don't feel sorry for her at all, my only concern is her daughter, i hope she is left something.

2. Lol!!
      No be you again, Fan, lol!
      Onye oshi amụ Always makes me laughing out loud.

Helen ndo.

BUT the law is going to take it's full course.

3. El oh el@care taker. Zero chills!

4. Better Onye Oshi Amu ooo 🙄🙄🙄😏😏

5. I stand on my hashtag.
      #saynotonwunyedi.

SAY NO TO NWUNYEDI.
      NO SHARING.

6. Fan, you don vex o

8. I dey live with am, no be wife oo.. if u no secure the ring na ordinary companion you be oo and the law must to follow it's course oooo
    Take am from lawyer mouth....
    Thainks.

1. So called we did “traditional marriage” doesn’t make you his legal wife. You need to get a legal paper specifying you as his legal wife in order to have legal right over his properties

2. Traditional marriage is recognized under customary law.

3. Traditional dey recognised oh biko.Even a church marriage certificate is still a legal tender.

4. Traditional marriage in Nigeria is very valid. The men made it so to accommodate their polygamous tendencies. In some places it is even higher valued than marriage under the act.

5. They were not even married traditionally oh.

6. Please don't be deceived o Traditional/Customary Marriage is a legal marriage under the Nigerian law, it has the same rights and privileges as Marriage conducted under the Act.

9. Nigerian Men sha. See the Big Mess he left. Whyyy

10. What a wicked and irresponsible man. How can a man of such reputation and exposure die without leaving a will knowing fully well he had kids with different women.

I do hope Helen cornered some properties and money when he died because this is going to be an uphill battle for her.

1. Anon 8.57 The only one that is wicked in this matter is Helen that knows better but didn’t do better.

2. Are you sure that topic wasn't off limits to Helen, you don't know the dynamics of their relationship.

3. The man is not wicked in my opinion. He just had no intention of divorcing the first wife or marrying the second. Do you honestly think Helen as a lawyer wouldn't have pushed for him to marry her one way or the other for 25 years to the point of even forcefully taking his surname? No I don't believe it. The man had no intention or agreement of marrying her. It's called both of them flexing themselves in the man's opinion. If the first wife was that terrible as Helen described, Doctor would have divorced her tey tey. Go and check men of his age group and see how they protect their first wife while flaunting side chicks and extra wives. Helen knows what she was up against from the get go. She is only capitalising on the years she had spent with the man and people's emotions. Another case is that of Ooni and his first and legal wife whom I have not heard he has divorced legally. If anything happens to him which i do not pray for but I am just using as example to explain my opinion, you will all be shocked that she as the legal wife (as at the last time I read about it) will have rights and all others will shift to accommodate her even though he married them traditionally.

4. This also remind me of uncle T, his wife Funlola(hope am right with the spellings) and the side chick madam salamatu. The obituary saga was a mess back then.

5. But Tayo sorted Salamatu out and he married her traditionally. Not the same at all.

6. At Anon 02.08 Exactly. Well said! Very Incomparable. Tayo settled both Salamatu and her daughter big time and that daughter no matter what will never lack money in her lifetime. That to me is how you do it. Sade Okoya where are you?

11. Let them all share everything accordingly, no greed no strife.

12. So for twenty five years, she couldn't get the man to make a will? Why did the man not will his properties bikonu? Was it a deliberate act because he knew Mrs Helen would stand to gain nothing from him since they weren't legally or traditionally married? How did she live with a separated man with children comfortably for twenty five years without asking him to make her a wife or will his properties so as to not lose out entirely? Haa! She wasn't wise o. Was she carried away or jazzed?
    See how guy man had his cake, ate it and died willing not his properties but unrest, dispute and drama for his family. If at all you wanna do things the abnormal way as a lady, do it with sense kwanu so you don't end up a looser and a joke.

1. That man knew what he was doing NOT marrying Helen. He also knew what he was doing NOT leaving a will.
      He doesnt want wahala on his neck(even in death). He will be like let them fight it out,i wasnt being partial to either party.😂😂😂😂

2. And she had the nerves to be dragging shovel 😳what effrontery! They should show her 🌶
      Wicked nmee

3. It's possible Helen was the one refusing to be tied down as per beauty queen from elite background, not knowing it will turn out like this.

Just wash had crack kernel for vultures.

4. Never.....Dr Ajayi is from Solid Stock too, UK Trained. Nothing like Helen didnt want.

5. Sapphire both are from privileged backgrounds.
      Something isn't right about Helen's predicament.

CHISOM have you seen or heard the 1st wife talk?
      A nurse running things for a doctor before they got married?
      Okwa Agbalakaibeya. Forget it, I suspect that 1st wife based on how they made their money back in the days. The ego nwere kleg.

I think her nwadibia bu onye ogwu ikpele mmili. Oka godili aka. Choi.

6. Saphire say what? Dumb!

7. Has anybody ever thought maybe he thought Helen was not faithful? The group of ladies, Nike, Helen, Flo, etc don’t stick to one man as in they have side Bobos and the man may have refused to wife her based on that. I don’t know. I’m just speculating.

13. This right here is a big problem. i don't even know what to type. I feel for Helen, but she should have been smart to make the Dr Ajayi wife her legally na. How can you just be a companion for 25 years??? That's crazy. A whole 25 years!!!!!!! Now the wife who left her home (separated) for 30 years is now back to claim properties, sigh! Let them just call a truce and be civil about it without any higgy hagga. Wo, English hard abeg.

1. Unfortunately for the other woman and her children, . allegedly Madam not so innocent, prim and proper as Helen is proclaimed to be has hidden some of the man’s properties the moment that he died.

2. Point of correction,she never left her home! She's been there all this while. Her hubby left instead citing security reasons,after which 'he tripped and fell into another pussy!'

3. The wicked irresponsible sadist was the one who absconded from the marriage. He let her shoulder the financial responsibilities of their 5 kids while he built his business. He never let Helen meet any of their 5 children or the one he and Helen share- so she was no wife or companion in his eyes.

It seems the guy felt sorry for betraying his only/first wife and kids but was too selfish to let go and too scared to go back home. He actively participated in the family events of the only wife Yemisi so the guy was just a selfish man who knew what he was doing all along. Imagine dragging shovel for a man who lives only for himself.

4. Anony 16:14
      Honest truth.
      If he footed bills and participated fully in the burial proceedings of the 1st wife's late mum,then they were GOOD.

Helen ought to have traced what was beneath that red flag as things propped up, it would have sorted some misery for her. She ignored, now see.
      #sigh

5. @He let her shoulder the financial responsibilities of their 5 kids while he built his business.

Nope. He funded all their lifestyles in his lifetime.

14. Women don't do this to your children or yourself

Babymama is shortchanging yourself in the name of open eye

It benefits nobody but the selfish man
    Have standards ladies, have standards!

1. Pls increase the volume. All these useless baby mamas that want to reap where they did not sow!!

15. For 25 years the man couldn't even marry her traditionally!!
    What a wicked man,he didn't marry her and didn't write a will,what a way to show his love.
    Will he rest in peace like this?

1. He will definitely rest in peace

2. Hes resting very well.
      Its Helen that wont rest,those kids are ready for battle with her.
      Abeg why i use to avoid men with baggage.

3. Truly men with baggage no be am

Especially the ones acting vague on pertinent matters

16. Stella, I understand that you have personal love for your so called Aunty Helen but you also have a job to do as a Blogger. Having said that, your Aunty Helen or whatever she is to you is a Lawyer and I cannot believe she was married to a man without having a legal marriage or encourage him to have a Will knowing fully well that the man has a wife and children from a previous marriage??? I can understand a regular person having herself in such a situation but from someone that is educated and went to a good school to become a lawyer and then having herself in such a messy family situation is beyond me. You would think that she of all people will know better! People label being educated with brain and this shows that education doesn’t make you to be smart. A lot of people didn’t have education but are way smarter than this.
    Stella I know that Helen is your personal person but truth must be addressed and I hope you post my comment just to be a learning curve for those women out there that are involved with a married man or to
    a man that has other children from
    other women to secure please secure the future of their children and that of themselves while the man is alive

1. Why are you attacking madam Stella? Can't you state you opinion and leave it at that that?
      Shouting "Stella" upandan like say na your pikin! Some of Una no just get respect for this blog

2. I wonder o what did Stella say to make her a personal person ?

17. Please, how did this man die? Was it sudden or protracted? I'm asking because he should have "put his house in order" before going.

All I can say is, they can use dialogue instead of rancour. After all they would all still die and leave these things they are dragging.

18. Chai. Women please be wise. Why didn't she make sure he paid her brideprice

1. cos he was not divorced yet but just separated.

19. Someone of Helen status should have known better! She should ashamed of having herself in this situation most especially her being a lawyer! I wonder how smart she is being with a man for over 20 years and choose not to have a proper legal marriage or protection for both her children and herself? Let us be real with ourselves as this doesn’t make her to be as smart as the media always portray her to be

1. Honestly,I'm highly disappointed...
      Well,am not surprised,most of these beauty queens think through their pussy!..

2. If you like be a SAN or Judge,you cant force some men to marry you if he just doesnt want to.
      You think she wont have tried all her best? But he obviously didnt want it.
      And i heard the man was a huge flirt,heard there are even still outside children too.

3. Thank you B&R she must have tried her best. Imagine e even get outside children too. Ah tory worh worh o. That man must rest in pieces we. Wicked!

4. Beds and Roses, Iji ya, I am sure he refused to marry her despite all her efforts.

5. My point too, because I can not believe she was just there serving him on bed

20. Though what I am about to say might be rude or wrong please forgive me, I thank God none of my dad's concubines and children turned up during and after his burial , it would have been drama for me and my half brothers and sister,but some men can be heartless,denying your kids .Helen will need a very competent lawyer to win her case.

1. Well she is a competent lawyer!!

2. To worsen situation
      Femi Falana is the lawyer to the first wife 🗣🗣🗣🗣🗣😂😂😂😂

3. @Lillysimple, real kasala for Helen. Hahahahahohohoho

4. Not competent enough to be a mistress for 25 years.

21. Why the fight over property? Did the man died intestate?

1. U didn’t read that he didn’t leave a will? Did u even read at all???

2. Can't you read dear Anne K?
      Or you forgot your reading glasses at home.

Oya scroll up and read slowly, all you seek,is written in black and white.

3. Reading Glasses bawo ?
      No, nah magnifying lenses she for wear, on top of another man matter, kilo le to yen ?
      Anne K, no mind dem jare, no be WAEC

22. This isn't anything about polygamy, e fit happen sef for monogamy...

Make una dey write una Will..

Nothing is sure in this life except Death.. e must surely come one day..

Expect the best but prepare for the worst..

The irony of it all is that even the educated ones still have the dark age mindset.. imagine a medical doctor of such pedigree without a WILL

23. I have not seen an educated woman not smart as this Helen imagine 25 years and you didn't do anything probably because you don't want the man to think you are after his money abi? You better start moving things and changing things quietly because for you to win this Battle no easy at all.

1. She did that already.
      Took her days to inform the immediate family of his demise.

Chic moved some dollar kia kia.
      No be today something. Haha

2. Moved what dollars? Accounts that have been blocked.

24. Oh! I just read he died without a will. Well, I pray they settle their rift amicably.

1. Amicably kor...Amaka wey dey sell cable ni.

2. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Mark Morgan sef!

25. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

1. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

2. 09:51 you just had to slight the name of Jesus.
      May Jesus have mercy on your soul.

3. Jesus babe that year? May God forgive you and may you not use your mouth to put yourself into trouble.

4. Read your bibles very well. Mary Magdalene was a friend of jesus and she was the first person he revealed himself to after he resurrected, she was always with him before he died. omo na jesus bestie abeg!! you religious but not godly people can cry if you wanna. she be jesus babe!!!

5. Again, may God forgive you.

6. please in your bid to be funny do not speak carelessly about our Lord .the One who gave you life and hands to type

26. The man just left his family with so much problem. I hope they won't start killing themselves.

Some women just need to do better, I mean, who lives with someone for that long without making sure he does the needful?

27. Sorry madam Helen the man doesn’t want you, show glaring. No will, No legality, No traditionally. Sorry. You make him not to return to his family

1. She moved in to hotel & marry him there!🙄 then they started their family inside the hotel... stayed like that forever.
      25 years a companion! Movie buster title loading!
      Some men r devious, cunning & evil manipulative!! Some women r damned foolish!! Getting roped into some such wicked madness for eternity.😡💩
      As woman u never commit, wait on, waste ur time or life on relationship that is undignified, a loss potentially for u in the end. If a man met u 25 year ago & did not marry u immediately then, why would still remain single side chick for him without marriage to him 25 yrs later??? In that time u have accomplished so much far better without him & his evil entanglement.

2. Make him not to return to his family keh?

He chose to do so

3. Thank you @10:39.
      I see a manipulative selfish covert narcissistic man and a benign narcissistic woman.
      Narc 1 - He left his first wife because he didn't want to be tied down. But never discussed it. Covert narcs dont have difficult conversations. They leave the mess for everyone else to clean up and see everyone as their flying monkeys. Very selfish! Didnt divorce his first wife, Yet went to live with another woman, who he didn't marry because he didn't want to be tied down that way, either. Worse was he had a prestigious career and some money.
      He never thought of leaving a will, because he couldn't be bothered. He didn't even introduce the children to one another, so they can be closer when he dies. Maybe Helen asked him and he kept future faking. That man cared about no one but himself. Damn narcissist!
      But, why did Helen stay?

Narc 2 - She is an ex-beauty queen and wanted the brand name, without commitment. This is because the name helped her enter certain circles and gave her this reputation we all saw in the open. Benign narcs have this fake positivity that is so blinding it looks stupid. They also want to hob-nob with the rich and have rich peoples convo - even if they are also born into wealth. Rather than assess her situation and tell herself the truth, she kept up with the grandiosity and hoped that it would one day work in her favour - unhealthy positivity. Didn't care how the first wife and children felt and didn't do right by another woman - insensitivity.
      She was also probably still packaging for other men and hoping that one day she would jump ship to another rich man, if Dr. doesn't sit up. She felt she had it all under control - internally and externally. But death came swiftly and she lost control..so now, she seeks sympathy.
      How do you have LLM and LLB and not go to law school to become a practicing lawyer? Its because you hoped that your beauty was enough to give you the high-life - like Nike Osinowo. And there was a lot she could have done with the Ajayi name and connections, but what she started was not what she bargained for in the course of the relationship
      She was out here branding for us, while she was stuck.

People, at the end of the day, authenticity is just it. Learn to look situations in the eye and call it for what it is.
      You are single. Don't take his name.
      Hustle your money and ensure your child is taken care of. Date freely like Mo Abudu and smash your goals.
      You are not divorced, don't act like you are and be living a double family life. Stick with the wife of your youth, to the end.
      Helen should be thankful that he helped her train her other children and gave them a roof over their heads. In my opinion, he tried. Whatever they give her child, should be received and secured.
      Both she and the man were damn selfish and got their reward and this is on Mary had a little lamb.

4. 👍👍👍

5. At Life Coach WELL SAID. Period

28. Marry him No but when it comes to securing property, you will be running around like antelope. Open your eyes women,my mum's friend is currently going through this, dragging property with children from two side chicks, husband didn't write will as well.

29. Even without marrying her if he had written a will all this could have been avoided. The man has gone and his soul is chilling after creating all this chaos. Na wah!!

1. Chilling?

He has gone to give account to The Creator on everything and everyone committed into his hand and care

2. Whether there is a will or not, doesn't preclude that the first family won't contest it. I have lived this scenario. My mum was my dad's companion for the same number of years, he did not divorce his first wife because of his children (according to him, the psychological trauma of divorce would be too much for them). He left a clear and simple will, more beneficial to the children. Made the first child from each woman an executor along with other trusted friends and the lawyer. Guess what happened after he died?......Super story
      I have told God, that I did not create my birth situation, so He MUST prosper me.

PS: Life's curve balls make it difficult for me to judge anyone's situation. No matter what we scream, when life happens, it's actually only God that helps. I had the MOST AMAZING GENTLE FATHER EVER!!!!!!

3. E-hugs for you. May God give you all your heart desires.

30. They may have to call a truce because legally it seems they are all entitled to something. His first wife because they were still legally married although legally separated. And Helen because she was in a common-law marriage- this is different from cohabitating. Helen was known to be Dr Ajayi’s spouse.

1. No common law marriage in nigerian law. You’re either married or not. So Helen is not a spouse of any kind according to lae

2. Legally separated? Joker! Gbam no common law wife in Nigerian wife.

31. The man could have been in a cult, OGBONI, BLUE OR WHITE LODGE, MASONS etc.

They live in affluence, die in pieces and leave their families in turmoil.

SUCH MEN DO NOT WRITE A WILL! 🚶‍♀️🚶‍♀️🚶‍♀️

1. You are right you know.

2. Yes..oh! Na dem!!! Secret society, cult & ritual men! They mess up other people's life & their own in life & in death. Na their legacy be that!!! If u sight dem..run of far!! 🏃‍♀️🏃‍♀️

32. I mean *FREE MASONS* but very much in BONDAGE. 🤦‍♀️🙄

33. My own is, fo years Helen was bearing his name in public. Most people assumed she was a wife. It's now that a lot of people are knowing she wasn't married to him. Not a good sign abeg

1. Gbam! Shows that she too was on a mission

34. Who would have ever thought Dr Ajayi with all his education and exposure in his lifetime, would have died setting the roof of his household on fire ?
    In life ehen! where you are supposed to meet wisdom and you find mumu there, would leave a wisdom seeker helpless.
    Imagine what those that saw him as their mentor will be saying now ?

1. They are ranting like they know anything about the laws governing inheritance in Yoruba land and Nigeria. It is going to be a very complex court case. By now Helen would have hidden loads of documents. Helen is probably doing whatever she is doing because of her daughter, the fact she was born out of wedlock doesn't mean she is not entitled to inherit part of her father's properties. There Supreme Court precedence

35. A Yoruba adage says, because a man has grey hair, does not mean, he has wisdom.

36. That man was very deliberate with his actions.He deliberately didn't leave a will. He probably doesn't want the marriage commitment with Helen as well.inshort he didn't have Helens intrest at heart.He never really cared

37. Inheritance in Yoruba culture.

In Yoruba land, distribution of a deceased estate, who dies without a valid Will, is per stripe aka (idiigi). The properties will first be divided equally by the number of wives, and then the share due to each wife will be sub-divided equally among her own children. Polygamous families where an only child of a wife will get the same share as with the many children of another wife might bring up some dispute. In such cases, input from the family head might be necessary.

Another mode of estate distribution in Yoruba land is the ‘OriOjori’ mode where each child of the deceased enjoys an equal share of their father’s property. It has been argued that this mode will result in a fair distribution and prevent dispute within families.

Daughters have equal rights to inherit from their father’s property. Whereas, it is said that in Yoruba native law and customs, wives have no right of inheritance in their deceased husband’s estate. The way a wife can inherit from her late husband is when a property given to her can be proved to be a gift. However,

1. Alexander modupe sir, ekuu ogbon, imo ati oye.....(thank you, for your wisdom,knowledge and understanding)

2. My father was a very rich man with 3wives,he did not leave a will too though he was very educated but he died young at 50.
      He was only legally married to the first wife,though they were no longer even together. He married my mother and step mother as 2 and 3rd wife traditionally.
      We are 8kids in total and our mothers got nothing. We sold properties and lands and shared the money equally. The other three properties we collect rent from we share the money equally.
      My siblings and i built a house for our mum and take care of her from what we get but shes doing well in the business my father already established her in.

3. In this case, Ajayi has only one wife, so their case is different from yours.

4. Long story. Totally different from this case.

5. Anon 18.38 and 3.27 is it jealousy or daftness that worries most of you.
      My comment was for INHERITANCE IN YORUBA CULTURE. The oriojori or however its spelt is what my family practised as said by Alexander.
      Who is saying if my case is different or not. Read to understand.

6. You are the jealous and daft one. Who cares about your fake family story? Stick to the topic and stick to the law. Awon ITK ode.

38. Our people say that what comes after 5 is more than 6.

We who do not know what happened between the man and his wife, and between the man and Helen can sit and analyse and abuse and call names, including deprecating Helen's inability to use her legal knowledge or calling Stella a friend of Helen because she reported the news.

But as our elders say, a lot goes on between a man and a woman (wife or not) outside the view and knowledge of other people. Only God knows what goes on between a man and a woman. So I will not judge. But let me clarify some points and ask some questions.

1. The daughter of Helen by Dr. Ajayi (whether under 18 or over 18 years) has EQUAL RIGHTS to his properties as ALL other children of the man - Use goggle, find and read the case Salubi v. Nwariaku (2003) 7 NWLR (Pt. 819) 426 decided by the Supreme Court of Nigeria. No case has changed that law to the best of my knowledge. Yes, the wife on record has her rights, BUT she cannot deprive Helen's daughter of her constitutional right to inherit under Dr. Ajayi.

2. The making of a Will does not prevent inheritance battles where there is wickedness, bitterness, revenge, and greed in the hearts of the inheritors or ONE of the inheritors. What inheritors do in such cases is to impugn the Will and or waste the estate. The Bible says that wherever there is strife, all manners of evil are present. That is why there are serious battles in and outside courts even between all properly married wives and their respective children in some polygamous marriages; between children of some monogamous marriages; and even between mothers and their biological children in some monogamous marriages. As we say in my side of Nigeria, "who no go, no know". Yours sincerely has seen some senseless inheritance battles. I could call names, but it is not necessary as some were in public domain.

3. Question: With so much money on the ground, why can't the six known children share it equally and go on with their lives. The question is not who is stopping that, but WHAT is stopping that?

4. Contrary to @anon 11.51 and 11.55, there is no proof that members of certain associations do not make Will leaving children and family in bondage.

5. We may abuse the man from now till .... Another question is: since he was "foolish" and now dead, why are the living not being wiser than him. Again, why do we think we know better than him who refused to divorce his wife or legally marry Helen. The both women may know the answer. And it may shock some of us if we are told. Experience shows that even in a very dirty matrimonial and inheritance fight, some combatants know very well that they cannot "tell it all" not even to their lawyers. When a man refuse to go to court to divorce his wife, or marry another woman, mother of his child and companion for 25 years, e get why. We should not think we all are wiser than him.

Thanks for reading.

1. Anon.
      Please what do you drink, even if you don't do liquor, if it is agbo, l will send it to you, you spoke well.

2. I think the issue here is that Helen wants them to share it according to Idi-igi way (where her own child will get half while all the other kids will share the other half). As opposed to each kid getting an equitable share. This is obviously greedy seeing as she’s just a concubine

3. Ada how do u know that’s what she wants? U just assumed what was not stated in the story , moreover Helen addresses him as her husband on Instagram

4. I love how you put anons 11:51 and 11:55 through. Those are unproven assumptions.

And your last paragraph is everything.
      Helen's in the best position to state why he refused to marry her for 25 whole years and in her best interest has kept quiet. I love that.

Thanks for posting.

39. Everyone needs to learn from this. Legally married or not, I think building with someone should go beyond being a “supportive spouse”. If you going to build a company with someone ensure your name the paperwork. Own shares in it. The same applies to owning properties. It really shouldn’t be about who was there from day one. People are ungrateful and people change!!

1. Thank you.
      Smart comment.

It's not just enough to brag "I built with my husband". Ensure you are one of the shareholders or directors.

That husband may have different wives and you may discover when he dies.

2. Thank you for this.
      Always do the paper work.