Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Megan Markle's Father Thomas Reacts To Her Controversial Interview Accusing Him Of 'Betrayal'

Tuesday, March 09, 2021

Megan Markle's Father Thomas Reacts To Her Controversial Interview Accusing Him Of 'Betrayal'

Thomas Markle came to the defence of the royal family today, saying he didn’t believe the monarchy — or Britain — was “racist” despite his daughter Meghan’s sensational claims.

Mr Markle, 76, who has been estranged from his daughter since her wedding to Prince Harry in 2018, spoke to Good Morning Britain on Tuesday after watching the Oprah Winfrey interview.

In the interview, broadcast on ITV last night, Meghan, 39, claimed a member of the royal family made a racist comment about the skin colour of their unborn son Archie. The couple refused to reveal who made the comment.

Winfrey later suggested she had been told by Prince Harry, 36, it was not the Queen or Duke of Edinburgh, who is recovering in hospital following heart surgery.

Mr Markle denied that there was racism at the heart of the monarchy, saying: “I have great respect for the royals and I don’t think the British royal family are racist at all. I don’t think the British are racist.

“I’m guessing and hoping it’s just a dumb question from somebody. It could just be that simple, it could be somebody asked a stupid question, rather than being a total racist.”

Mr Markle, who lives in Rosarito, Mexico, was also asked about the timing of the Duke and Duchess of Sussex’s interview in light of Prince Philip’s hospitalisation.

He said: “They went way over the top with it, these stories with Oprah, and should have waited. Considering the Queen’s age and Philip’s age, they should have waited, or tried to wait.”

Meghan discussed her non-existent relationship with her father during her interview with Winfrey. The section was not broadcast as part of the original two-hour programme but released as a follow-up clip.

Meghan has not spoken to her father since he posed for paparazzi photographs in 2018.

She told Winfrey she found it difficult to discuss his actions, saying it felt like a “betrayal” and adding: “I genuinely can’t imagine doing anything to intentionally cause pain to my child.”

Meghan said in comparison her mother, Doria Ragland, had been “in silent dignity for four years”. Asked about his behaviour, Mr Markle told Good Morning Britain: “I’m very disappointed about it. I’ve apologised about this thing, what happened, at least 100 times or so.”

Mr Markle also compared his actions with incidents from Harry’s past, saying: “We all make mistakes… but I’ve never played naked pool and I’ve never dressed up like Hitler.”

Mr Markle said it “hurt” to hear of the mental health problems his daughter had suffered, following her revelation that she contemplated suicide. He said: “I love my daughter very much. Had I known she was having psychological problems, I would have been there for her. Biggest problem here is she has pretty much ghosted all of her family on her mother’s side and my side, so she really had no one to reach out to.”

He said he would “love to get together” and see his grandson Archie, whom he has never met.

From Standard.co.UK

56 comments:

1. May God not give us father like this in life.

1. Make this baba just keep quiet.

2. Her father knows her better than you do . May God not get us sons and daughters that will disgrace us like Harry and Meghan in this life

3. Mumu Man, na them. Mtchweee 😎 😎 😎

4. Anon 16:50 dont mind them they think they know meghan more than her dad, that eomana is manipulative

5. Archie somehow resembles her dad.

6. A man that actually saw her through school and every? Have you ever wondered why one person will have issues with more than half of her own family members? According to her father's statement and coincidentally' her husband is about to be estranged with more than half oh his own family too?

2. Father from hell

3. Amarachi With C9 March 2021 at 15:20

People don't get it, that racist comment was a discussion with Meghan and a close pal. Why won't she disclose the identity since she wants the whole world to judge it via internet.
    If you are wise enough, you will realize that her woes started after giving birth. It was then, she realized that her son will just have a title not a Prince.
    Nigerians, look within and stop playing along with her with the racist card.
    They hate you, but they made sure your father's presence was not missed on your wedding day.
    Meghan, if you like,talk from now till tomorrow, they will not change their rule of 1917 to please you.
    Your kids don't have any claim to the throne, and so shall it be.
    You say, you wan dey your dey! But till now, you still dey grant interview dey go.
    Meghan is jealous of Kate and William, simple! You can talk and attack me from now till tomorrow. I started saying this thing last year,and l will continue to say it. Time will reveal this Meghan agenda.

1. Meghan is just woo unto this guy

2. Your reasoning ehn... smh!

3. Anon 15:20, I agree with your point. I watched the full interview twice and while it was easy to sympathize with her, the underlying message I could glean was that her grievance started when they were told the baby she was carrying will not be prince/princess. She alluded to the fact that she felt discriminated against because Kate's children were given the title. Apparently there's a law that backs up the firm's decision, was she not aware of it? Why did Harry not tell her about it? Why did she not read about it? It seems to me that it was at that point, she became mad and they decided to take emotional decisions. They complained about Harry's father cutting off their finances, yet in the statement they released when they stepped back from being senior royals, it clearly said they wanted financial independence. How conflicting?

H/V I do not agree with Mr. Markle's comment that the British are not racist. How does he know? Does he live there?
      I have lived in the UK before and within the one year I was there I know the number of blatant racist encounters I had. I have also lived in the US and not had any blatant racist encounters, maybe microaggressions though. I think people are nicer in the US, although the racism in the US is systemic not necessarily interpersonal like the UK.

Nevertheless, all these palava na first world problems. We cannot come and take panadol for other people's headache.

4. You don't know what you're saying. Folks like you are the ones jealous of Meghan. Why would she be jealous of Kate? Skin color? More beautiful? More children? Was Kate known anywhere in the world before marrying Williams? More intelligent? Independent? Exposed?

Do not rush to comment from your biased position without having the facts. Are you aware it was her husband, Harry that told her a senior member of the royal family said they were concerned about how dark Archie will turn out?

Do you know who is Archie? I wonder who washed your heads with soda to hate this Meghan like this.

5. Atleast Kate is vindicated, she admitted it herself that kate is a good person. World people ( twitter world)actually thought Kate was the cause of Meghan's problems. Thank God, they were shamed .
      Black People can support blindly when race issue is involved and Meghan is using you all at her advantage. I can't support evil because a black person is involved. Moreover meghan is not black and she will never be .

6. First of all Kate was never part of the discussion. Oprah was the one who brought her up because the tabloids said Meghan made Kate cry. That's when Meghan said the opposite was true, but Kate was a good person and she apologized. Meghan could've chosen to destroy Kate in the interview, but she was honest and even refused to go into detail to protect Kate. How is that an action of someone who hates Kate? Did you people even watch the interview at all?
      Second of all, the person who said Meghan's problems started after she gave birth is lying. Piers Morgan started writing horrible stories about Meghan BEFORE the marriage. The Daily mail started putting out negative articles about her BEFORE the marriage. Just go to Twitter and type the Royal Wedding with the N word hashtag and you will see all the racist things white people said about her.

7. Meghan this and that by black people. Meanwhile where are her black friends and family members?......crickets. She is crying because she thought she was white adjacent and identified enough to be accepted by full whites. Make she shift jor.

8. Thank you, she identified mostly with her white people
      Now she's using the race card cus she knows everyone will fall for it.
      All of us go dey alright even Megan

4. I said it! It can be just one dumb question from someone that doesn’t mean the person is a racist

Only you Meghan quarrel with your father, your sister, went to your husband’s family quarrel with your SIL Kate, complained that your FIL is not answering your husbands calls... you’re still playing the victim here

still complained that they didn’t title your son as Prince... and you still think you’re not the problem here?? Stupid people are calling you a strong woman. You’re nothing but a trouble maker!

1. Why not face the CAUSES of the so called quarrels you are referencing and dump the *only you* talk in your trash

2. This comment has been removed by the author.

3. They were just contradicting themselves with their interview. Harry said the colour of their child issue came up before marriage and Meghan said it came up while she was pregnant.So who is lying .

Meghan also said Harry proposed over a chicken dinner but in her lifestyle blog years ago, she said she is a vegetarian.

She even said she never knew who Harry was till they met on their blind date .She even said she knew nothing about the royal family but there are pictures online of her in front of Birmingham palace .Meghan is a big time liar , she lies so much , she is always forgetting her previous lies🀣🀣, damn.
      She is very annoying and jealous that they didn't take her serious like she wanted.

She is so obsessed with Diana.Thats so creepy and weird.
      Na wa oooh .

4. Back off. You littered the comment section yesterday when Stella posted the news looking for replies and did not get any. You have started again today.

It's folks like you will foolishly agree that George Floyd died out of drugs than the asphyxiation caused by the kneeling on his neck for 8:46 seconds.

Continue reading only British tabloids if at all you read them without balancing your news. If the interview was done without Harry being present, you and your likes will say Harry did not approve. Now Harry was there and if not on video, you would have said she told Harry what to say.

To what extent can a man protect his wife and family? Did you not hear when Harry said he did not want history repeating itself? Do you understand what that means? Did you hear when Harry said he was trapped , looking for way to leave till he met Meghan? Was Harry not the rebel in the family? Always blaming the woman in every situation.

Folks like you they have used detergent to wash your heads in the name if brain washing have been saying she will divorce him. Really? She told you that? Or you guys now forecast the future?

Back off from talking what you don't know.

5. Baltika you are very uncouth, must you insult people to drive home your point? Do you know Meghan and Harry personally? I'm appalled with your comments, it's not that serious.

5. Na wah o .... Wahala be like bicycle ... E no fit stand on its own without support

6. Nawa o. This thing is getting messier. I still don't get the idea behind the interview though

7. We detest exposure.
    We want privacy.

Now they are singing like canary.
    Abeeeeg, make you carry your bag of wahala and waka pass.

I just hate rubbish

8. The same father that because of greed for money sold himself out and couldn’t attend her wedding.
    This one is an easy buy for the Royal Family

9. The whole matter is just draining, every one is entitled to their opinions, for me? there are too many wrongs and loopholes in the matter,they all need to take steps back and be.

Meghan's stories has more holes than a rice sieve, its epic.

The royal family is racist. WE KNOW...NEXT.

You NEVER googled him??? OOOK WE HEAR YOU..

You were depressed and never got help??? BUT took trips to New York & Co for baby shower

Your father is not a convicted murderer for crying out loud, to treat him in that manner is DIGRACEFUL.

You cut him & siblings off because they didn't fit the story plot & left her mum for reasons known to her. even if she is foolish surely her husband could have shown empathy, ringing his father-in law to be on hospital bed to tell him he could have avoided the drama, who does that?
    Thank God he is now a father, if his kids did that to him how would he feel.

The sensible thing was to sort her parents out, PR & co let them know the drill, not shut out the dad and then cry silly wolf that he was selling her out, says the person who craves love & attention from the media. Clinging to George Clooney as a god parent, when your father is alive?

You knew what you were marrying into, nobody forced you, you went ahead. When the dust settles and it will, Harry will see clearly for himself. Everrrrrrybody in her head is out to get her, they are racist, how about using the race card for the right reasons?

Harry always looks and tries too hard to look happy, like he is going along with what she wants but deep down you can see he misses his family. Playing on his weakness i.e his mum, now all of a sudden she is comparing herself to Diana and little mermaid, you've got to laugh, clear traits of a NARCIST...period...and people can see it.

Take away their titles, let both royal family and Mr & Mr & Meghan face their lives, abi? they complained of no securities, you lost those benefits the moment you stepped down, pay your own bills,turning prince Harry into a hustler,selling stories to Netflix & Oprah, where is the privacy they were shouting about in those cases, a whole royal family member? He can be in love and use his common sense.

Complaining that Prince Charles isn't responding to calls & emails, have him and Meghan responded to her dad's plead for contact before & after their wedding?

You cant eat your cake & have it. love me but how I MUST be loved syndrome. Media outlets run MY STORY AS I WANT YOU TO...noooo..you take the good and the bad, its what you signed up for the moment you took his ring,its how to work through it as a proud black woman is what people will appreciate you for, the way she went about it is just causing the opposite effect.

Its all a script for her at some point in time, she will start forgetting her lines, till then all the best to them.

1. I disagree with you. When you plead for privacy, do you get holed up in a cave? You took time line by line to dissect her interview yet you did not talk about the root cause.

Are you aware Harry told the institution about the racial and biased coverage she gets and the answer the British Parliament gave was "colonial undertones?"

Are you aware she was photographed eating avocado and the British press said the fruit she was eating leads to deforestation etc? Kate photographed eating avocado and British press said the fruit was good for pregnancy. Ok.

2. I pray your father and sister start collaborating with people who have tried to destroy you since you got engaged the same way her supposedly loving father and sister collaborated with Piers Morgan. Let us see if you'll trust them again. Same sister that admitted they used to call her mother Doria the N Word.

10. This story is for those who are British by heart or by faith..As for me,I moooooooove

11. This interview is just trash! They should just move on and stay away from the royals, only communicate through phones and visit only on invitations. Both of you have made your choice, live with it and stop granting interviews up and down! I pray they don’t divorce, if they do, they will start looking for their families they estranged.

12. The "racist" family walked her down the isle when her father couldn't. They gave her a befitting wedding worth 30 million pounds and a title(which they were not obliged to give). They all attended the wedding;still not obliged to, after all, the only family present from her own side was the mum. Many families in Nigeria will not do a tenth of this if they don't like you. They seize her passport yet she went watch Serena play, traveled for baby shower, attended a wedding in Italy, went to Ibiza for her birthday. They are racist but spent 1million pounds to clothe her in one year. They are racist; yet gave her patronages that gave her a global attention; this race baiting ain't working for me. She suffered mental health and was denied therapy but she chose her own team of doctors for her baby's delivery(she could invite therapist too). Her mother is a mental health therapist and in charge of suicidal patients, she was with her at a point; the suicidal card ain't working either.

1. Amarachi With C9 March 2021 at 17:52

As for me, Meghan is a hustler that wants the RF law to change for her kids. She should live with her decision, and stop playing games.

2. And they wanted to quickly profit from their royal title "Sussex with several materials ready for money making. She is worse than a hawk and a very hungry ravenous one at that with obedient and super hero spouse.

3. You don't get it all. Did she bad mouth the Queen and her husband? Did she talk negative about Kate? Did she slam the whole family? No. "They" gave her a befitting wedding because they knew what Harry was capable of doing. Are you just following the story? It behoved on them to attend the wedding to show "unity" or a united front.

Can one use international passport for internal movement?

Are you aware she spoke with the Queen last December? Are you aware if she was in the institution, she might not have spoken with her without Harry not being present?

She suffered mental health when she was pregnant on account of being told her unborn son will not get protection and much more. If you were her, would you trust the medics assigned to you? Won't you get your own medical team?

The mother is a mental health therapist and you think her mother would have been allowed to treat her in the palace without British media making up stories against her?

I guess if Kate said those, you would believe and manufacture much more she did not say.

4. Eminado stop saying what you don't know. Racism can exist and all the above you listed still occur. The Royals' are mainly funded by the taxpayer and certain events must be done to a certain standard. All of you having opinion on this matter eh just tire me. If you have not walked in any of the shoes of everyone involved in this thing, easy on the judgements abeg

5. This is also your opinion on this issue, why should someone else that differ from yours "tire" you? I am saying what i observed from their public life, if you don't agree, seek comments that agree with yours and give them a nod. Don't shut me up!

6. Eminado do you know how much the 30 million quid wedding brought back to the British economy ?

A little over 1 billion Quid in tourism . So technically it was an investment .

13. This Megan and her 'wife' won't allow us hear word. Britsh this, royal family that bla bla bla.

1. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

2. πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. Are you Ok? Which one is Megan and her wife again? Oh Lord! πŸ˜‚

14. Hmmm, didn't know he was a Prince? Looolz, please tell another lie. Someone who never identified as black claiming worry about skin colour and racism.

15. This is why Meghan ignores you. How can you call yourself my father and be dining with a man who hates me? I will disown you too

16. I just don't get why the interview had to be done. They could have simply walked away cos no one knows tomorrow. Watching the interview made me begin to question their intentions. Goodluck to them. I am still rooting for their success.

17. @Baltika, Flight to USA and Italy are internal flights? Her second flight to USA was a commercial flight. Sometimes when we like someone we don't defend regardless of their bullshit. It us fine but my opinion about them stands; i should have an opinion when they brought their matter to the public to judge.

18. As for me, Mr Markle is just hungry.

19. My dear one by one they will fall. I made a comment about 2 weeks ago that Piers Morgan would reap what he was sowing against a couple who never did him any harm. Now he has just been sacked. Let’s keep watching, one thing I know is when people hate without a cause God arises to fight for such. Mr Markle will surely reap what he is during sooner than later !

1. He wasn't sacked. Get your facts straight

20. Mr Markle defending royal family he has never met.

All of you insulting Meghan, may you go through what she went through.

21. She is struggling with mental health issues. I remember when she was bashed and her baby compared to monkey in the media

22. Terrible. But some of these racism apologist will NEVER see that. Imagine before you have a baby someone likening him to a monkey. I remember before the engagement as well one of the members of the royal family wearing a racist brooch to go greet Meghan. So many instances we see with our two korokoro eyes including a comparison of how they would bash Meghan and praise Kate for exactly the same thing. Yet some pathetic people here can only repeat what racist newspapers have fed them. Ask them why they hate her so much....I think, I feel, I thunk πŸ˜‚never any facts. Miserable lot.

23. This woman wen go divorce harry very soon no be american woman again .

24. One trend i dislike about social media is how most of us are disrespectful towards those that have different opinions to ours,it should stop.