Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ability Is The New Certificate All Over The World Except In Nigeria...

Tuesday, April 13, 2021

Ability Is The New Certificate All Over The World Except In Nigeria...

What you are about to read will leave you no choice but agree to the rot that has become of Nigerian schools and how the Educational system in Nigeria still lives in the past....

Ozii Baba Anieto writes :

''While I was in a meeting with Uche on Saturday, she received a message from a mother whose son got admission into Stanford University, USA. This boy - still in his SS 3, and he's yet to sit for his WAEC - attended a 6-week program on coding in Onitsha.

According to his mother, the boy, after learning how to code under Uche, continued developing himself and became indispensable to his school.

What caught my attention was the school that offered him admission - Stanford University.

Stanford University produced Larry Page (Google) and Chelsea (the only child of President Bill and Hillary Clinton).

Such a school did not ask the boy for his O-level mathematics result or his grade in the English Language. They didn't ask for 5 credits. They offered him admission based on his coding ability.

Ironically, here in Nigeria, with A1 in Mathematics, Physics, Further Maths, and Technical Drawing, Universities will still reject you because you got a Pass in English.

Our biggest challenge in this country may not be Boko Haram but the quality of people that will represent us in the future. People that are victims of the obsolete and epileptic educational system of this country. Victims of the system that are not comparing notes with the rest of the world.

Secondary schools in Onitsha just recently stopped the teaching of Shorthand and still have a curriculum where students learn the keyboard by drawing it on a plain sheet. Secondary Schools in this city still offer Business Studies with examination questions of 'Who is a receptionist?'

I saw a JS 2 examination where students were asked to draw a CPU, a monitor, and a mouse. If it were a Fine Art examination, it would not be a problem but it was a Computer Study examination.

Last week, I met Qudus Onikeku, an international African dancer. He shared his story of how he failed JAMB 4 times and later got admission in France to learn dancing. Dancing!

He was admitted based on his displayed skills. Today, he's touring over 15 cities on 3 continents with his dance documentary. In his words, he said that what we refer to as 'Extra curriculum' is what the world focuses on.

But here in Nigeria, Emmanuella must pass English and Maths before a poorly funded institution will admit her into Theater Arts. WizKid must credit Economics to learn Music. The world has changed but as Nigeria was in the beginning, we are still now.

Two people cannot be mad at the same time. As the nation still enjoys the past, we should think beyond what the system can offer us. As you send your kids to Nigerian Schools, be observant to know what he is good and interested in.

The world has left theories. Ability is now the new certificate.

P.S

Since I witnessed the Stanford testimony, I have been in a high spirit. I am excited that a simple office in Onitsha can bring out the best in a little boy.

I hope Uchenna Onwuamaegbu Ugwu will share her side of the story with the world. This, to me, is not a mean feat.

Food for thought.

35 comments:

1. Hmmmmmmmmm, really good for thought. May God help us in this country.

2. Wow. We have so many scholars in Nigeria. Thanks to that foreign school for rewarding her.

3. Wow
    Will be planning to relocate to the East soon. There is something unique about the East that send fear into 'em.
    Address please.

4. This write up is exciting. This is one of my reasons for homeschooling. My major reason actually.

5. Nothing wrong in producing well spoken graduates. The same person complaining here will be the first to criticize the 'half-baked' graduate that can't make a simple correct sentence. Abeg, leave that thing. To even get into some of the said countries the writer is talking about, u still have to pass their language tests. It makes more sense to encourage Nigerians to emulate the more meaningful things, not just to do whatever because it's being done out there.

1. Stop being a smart alec. Everything the writer said should make you think, stop showing us you are Buhari's ilk.

2. @Annon 14:03... What is this one saying? Do u know how many experts the US and UK give visas to everyday to come work in their country that cant even speak or understand ENGLISH? If you school abroad, you will understand that they mostly look at what you can do than what you have on paper.

Going to that country as an immigrants is different from they tapping you as a talent for their own benefit. If you must visit a country other than your own without being invited by the country, you have to meet all requirement including the language requirement you mentioned. Nigerian have lost so much talent because they are interested in the outside than whats in the inside.

3. Everything the writer wrote up there certainly makes me think that it's way past time Nigeria dusts the 'ape culture'; and if what I wrote up there flows with Buhari's line of thought, then he's getting something right.

4. I is not about being a graduate, it is just getting a good foundation. let education be accessible to every child for free so they can even be at par with private schools. my girls are 6 and already speak well. I correct them here and there but they can hold a conversation. they can read and spell to a large extent, if that is backed up by a talent they are good at they can go to any country and pick up from there. some professionals we see abroad do not even speak good English but they know their craft. The quality of education is the problem. Some of our parents were able to read and write well and even get jobs just after secondary school because the quality of education then was good.

6. Reason why I have never been a fan of Extra-mural classes or Holiday classes after school term..

Anyone you learn in class;is already enough in this Nigeria(my opinion)..

Holiday should be the period you build up your skills or talent for a child.

My own time na Ariaria market most times after school and throughout holiday,then secondary school I did Tech and learnt professional DJing,now I don find my calling which is Alaba Market😂😂😀😀

I think Parents need to stop forcing kids with books after school period;let them do other things during holiday please....

@MARTINS

1. Seriously.My hubby use to say this times without number.Education has fallen actually.We need something more than education 'skills'.That is what is selling fast.Observe your child's talent and skills and develop it.

7. Poster forgot to add drawing of grasshopper, housefly, caterpillar etc...

That was how my physics teacher was loading me theory of vacuum flask and fluorescent tube and did not find it worthy to tell me that vacuum flask is normal flask we us and fluorescent tube is normal fluorescent bulb ... Oluwa.

The schools even do more theory than practical .

8. Nigeria is all about quantity over quality. See the amount of higher institutions churning out quarter baked graduates that can’t string together a correct sentence. Education is all political now! Suwah!!

1. How many higher institutions are in California. South Africa with a population of 57 million have more universities. Russia with about 150 million have more universities. Out of the about 5 million people that did the last jamb only less than 650,000 people were given admission. We don't have enough universities. That one boy learned coding and got admission is not enough to condemn our schools.

9. 😂😂😂😂😂@martin,so Alaba market is your calling.

1. Aside going to Canada you mean?? 😂😂😀😀😂😂

@Fluffy;I forgot to write that one oooo,let me not spoil prayer point😂😂😀😀

@MARTINS

10. My 13 years old son is a self taught coder ,having read this, l am going to look for somebody that will help him perfect his coding abilities. Regardless of how good he becomes in coding he must finish his secondary school education before living for UCLA like his older siblings. Stella thank you for posting this here.

11. According to Stanford's student budget breakdown for the 2019-2020 academic year, tuition costs $52,857 per year, while room and board costs $16,433 per year

Is the little boy on scholarship? For those complaining about the standard of our universities, how many of you can really pay school fees if government decided to stop subsidising federal and state schools. You all condemn our schools but most you excel when you go for graduate schools abroad because your educational foundation.

1. Alexander speaking from both sides of your mouth.

Pick what the writer said and have understanding.

Let Nigerian educational institutions keep pace with the developed world.
      Skills and talents should be recognized, developed and honed to perfection from an early stage.

That's why a lot of Nigerian youths are on the streets hawking instead of being in technical and vocational schools not just Secondary schools and universities.

Most talented and gifted Nigerians of your age were not given these opportunities and they are stuck to desk jobs, struggling for promotions without earning much till retirement. Not even their retirement benefits are guaranteed. 🙄

2. 15:49 The fact you lack the capacity to understand is glaring. What nonsense are you yapping about my age. I left the University in the mid 1980s long before you were born. The standard of education was very high when l went to school. There were no strikes. You ignorantly assumed you know my age, ain't just stupid.

3. The standard of education was very high, yet you spelt leaving as living. Issorait.

12. True Martins, I've never fancied all those lessons. Children should explore other things or harness their skills during holidays.
    Schools have become mainly theorical with no practice, little wonder the uneducated man with experience is a lot better than a graduate.
    I asked someone recently,who is studying something related to banking,if they'd been making use of computer to practice.She just laughed and said no, they've never practicalize with the computer.This is someone about to graduate!
    Honestly, I weep for most graduates in this country.

13. Jeweluchi, thanks so much for this information, am enlightened as a parent

14. And when these people which were rejected by the system come back in the future after making so much progress and development abroad, the same system will start signing their praise forgetting how they almost destroyed their destinies.

I assume they don't even review the curriculum neither do they try to introduce courses and career courses that go with time and trends.

Education in Nigeria is dead and still in the past. Government need to invest more in education, train teachers to be qualified and implement changes year on year.

15. This also applies to getting a job in Nigeria. The more qualified and innovative applicants are denied while the ones who pay to get results and cant speak well or hold a convo are given the job. This is why we're here today. Nigeria is being lead by quacks, mediocre and headair.

16. There's something seriously wrong with our educational system. It's as it the system is programmed to make us fail. However, a few private universities have realized this and have started including some courses like TMC (Total Man Concept)

17. Alternative Facts13 April 2021 at 17:24

I know a girl that’s studying for her PhD in America and she didn’t even have a masters degree.

18. I like this.Thanks for sharing