Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Dr Freak's Journal - The Evil That "Boys" Do!

Tuesday, April 20, 2021

Dr Freak's Journal - The Evil That "Boys" Do!

Dr Freak Is the Latest Columnist on Stella's Blog and he is about to Blow you away with that 'Pen' you see in the photo........

The Evil That "Boys" Do!
1998:

We (my friend and brother -Dipo Ogun Olugbenga and I) had just completed our NYSC programme and we were waiting for the next line of action at the time. His house was about four houses away from mine, so the routine was simple -wake up in the morning, fix breakfast, eat and go to his house that had more guys.

What do young men do when they gather? They talk about money, career, drinks, movies and girls. I can't remember discussing politics at any of our gatherings.
On this fateful day, I met a set of twin at his and after their departure, we had a little conversation -"who are those girls" kind of thing. His response was welcoming and fascinating. One was his "latest catch" (girlfriend) while the other was free and available. At that point I sought to "apply within!" He gave me assurances that the girl "was mine already"! There were no phones at the time so the only way one could make any contact was through physical means. 

He encouraged me to pay her a visit at her father's residence. I cannot remember visiting any female friend at any corner (I never did "backyard runs") in my entire life. If you call me your friend, then you must be ready to introduce me to either your siblings or parents (pardon my arrogance, but that was the way I was brought up). I jumped at the offer and headed in the direction of her house that was behind mine at the time. It was less than six minutes' walk away from mine.

Identifying the gate was seamless and I majestically knocked on the gate and a young guy (younger by my estimation) surfaced from the premises. He appeared a bit friendly and wore a charming smile, but having spent 5 years of my life at the University of Benin earlier, I could sense (smell) trouble from a distance (more than 10 miles). My instincts told me all was not well. 

As I was trying to introduce my mission, I noticed that he was trying to lock the gate and a dog that looked more like a lion surfaced from nowhere. My instincts were very swift and my actions were directly proportional to my instincts! 

At this point, I became so fired up that the entire adrenaline within me practically squirted out of my feet and arms and that was how I was able to bolt out of that "lion's den".
Like a "bad dude" that I was, I quietly went home to lick my wounds. I refused to share details of my humiliating encounter with "Baba" Dipo.

Then came my very good friend -M. M is a great guy! He could ask any woman out regardless of the status, age or class. He hadn't even gone to any tertiary institution at the time but his gut was phenomenal! M too sighted the girls in the neighbourhood on his way in and he quickly ran to me (the Boy-in-the-hood) to enquire about them. After all, they were the only bow-legged twin in the area.

Ordinarily, I would have advised against the expedition, but my own friend -Dipo never warned me and M had always felt like a superstar. What did I do? I encouraged him to pay the twin a visit at their father's house and he sheepishly obliged. I even led him halfway and pointed from where I was standing. 

My friend marched down and knocked on the gate as if he owned the house. At that point, I knew that he had reached a point of no return, then I went back home in a striding manner.

Less than 15 minutes after, I heard a loud bang on the gate, our gate and on getting there, behold it was M. His trousers were visibly torn. His shirt, torn and smeared with blood stains. All he could mutter was "I'm going to kill that boy!" I already knew what had happened to him but I dared not reveal this to him. He recounted his experience. He was led inside the premises, the father and that stupid boy hit him with a cutlass and released that lion-like dog to deal him. 

He managed to escape following the intervention of their mother. He felt bad. I felt worse. For me, it was mixed feelings. How could I have betrayed a friend? Then, even though I had not commenced my law programme at the time but common sense dictated that that kind of treatment meted out to us was both legally and morally reprehensible. I advised him to visit the hospital and take an anti-teranus injection.

In any event, I secretly felt good that the experience had now gone round. Lord have mercy on my soul.

Few months down the line, I raised the topic at Dipo's house. Guess what, he too received a similar treatment at that "lion's den" and he never opened up to anyone,not even me his man

He too wanted me to have a feel of it. With friends like this... Lol.
We all received our baptism of fire as younger men.
The evil that "boys" do.

This Is Kunle - Stay safe. Coronavirus is real.

Hahahahahaha Kunle thanks for this...Very funny!

54 comments:

1. Lol I’m going to reserve my comments 🤣

1. But you and your friends are mean!🤣

2. It felt like I was reading Encomium.The good old days. Kunle is here to stay ��

3. 😂 😂 😂 😂 😂
      You dis bad guy ehnnn
      Will be reading your column

2. What a hilarious memoir.
    Thank you for sharing your story with us.
    A lot of unfortunate adventures that we don't share with my peers to avoid being judged. But now, we open up.

3. Jelewuchi giving another reason to be addicted......🥰💃🏽💃💃🏽💃

4. HMMMM. It seems that this will be intresting. i look forward tothe next episode.

Nice story line, good diction and beautiful story.

Kudos Jeweluchi for always giving us the banger.

5. Beautiful write up... I could picture the house and the running 🤣🤣🤣

More ink to your Pen

6. 🤣🤣🤣🤣😂 the hunter has become the hunted

7. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Very interesting

8. Reading this made me remember the first time my hubby,then bf came to look for me in my father's house....he came with two of his friends just to persuade me that he is the one😂😂.they haven't even been able to tender their proposal when my dad jalopy surfaced around the corner...chai...I pitied them they had to pretend they were lost and asking for directions... unfortunately dad had a flat, naso my guys volunteer to help him change his tyre o...two tyres....omo by the time they were done, their shirt couldn't touch their trousers again I just waved them and thanked them with my dad.....till today guy man and those his friends no dey allow me hear word of how he came to our house to change tyres....man can not just come like that naa😂😂😂😂

9. Nice, 'sweet' and funny write up. My big bro flog guys tire ontop big sis head.

10. I will be on the lookout for this series, it's interesting.👏

11. Seems fathers of those days were a lot stricter with their daughters. Who are you to come look for their daughter?

12. Bros face the camera naa😁 I want to check something..

13. Very interesting read 😂😂😂😂 bravo!

14. Hmmmm bro kunle😁😁,you sound so familiar,so good to see your pen again😀😀

15. Lovely.. I enjoyed reading this. I could picture the whole thing. I couldn't stop laughing.

16. I dont get close to where there is anything like a wild dog... Even on the street.
    But una get mind to go find person for her papa house especially for the first time.

17. I am so gonna enjoy this! Thank you

18. Hehehehehehehehehhehhehhehe. This is so refreshing to read and funny at same time. Mr.kunle please keep it coming lol..

Jeweluchi I hail ooooo, kudos. Always coming up with juicy ideas..

19. 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂 I had a good laugh. Keep it up👍👍👍

20. A lovely write up. I was laughing all through😂

21. Stella gbe tuntun de
    The story sweet me

22. 😄😄😄 fuuny read. I can totally relate to this.
    During one of our secondary school breaks, went to visit a classmate, knocked at the gate and the next thing this huuuge dog "roared" from within whilst throwing itself at the gate. Haha, not my proudest moment but i peed myself a lil. I was too shocked to even move away from the gate. My heart beat so hard, i felt physical pain. Undoubtedly the most terrifying experience of my life.
    When my friend came out, i wanted to speak and discovered I'd lost my voice 🤣🤣, never knew fear could do that to a person. When i managed to speak, i was croaking like a frog. Had a serious case of dry mouth.

Next time i went there was with another friend, i stood a lil back from the gate and told her to knock.

You know what came next naw..😂😂😂

Babe threw her bag on the floor and raaaan screaming. Took her like a min to stop running and screaming, haha, i laughed ehn.
    We still talk about this and laugh when we get together.

23. Interesting read 😂😂😂

Looking forward to the next episode 💖💖

24. Beautiful write up.
    More please.
    Those days ehen,father's and brother's don't want any boys coming to look for their daughters/sisters

25. 😂😂😂😂 This is the "it must go round mentality" You and your friends are 'wicked' for not warning each other🤣🤣🤣 I think I'm going to enjoy this column 👌

26. Welldone brah Kunle.
    Your back view looks like Chris Attoh.

27. lol.. very funny. funny enough my friend who nobody dared to come look for at home always jumped the fence at night to go to parties with her boyfriend. her father had 2 wives oh but was so strict with his kids like wetin. my dad's policy was bring your friends home let us know them. I had a few guys boldly come look for me at home and they will come inside. my papa go ask you question like FBI na you go run commot....lol...i am not a believer of locking up your daughters very strictly cos of how i was raised. not like he let us get away with many things but nothing like if i see you talking to a boy na beating mentality. pickin wey go spoil go spoil. just teach them good values and ask God to help you do the rest. we are 4 girls and by his grace we turned out decently. my uncle who always accused us of being wayward was the one whose daughter got pregnant at 17 in sec school...i wont lie we laughed him oh.

1. When were you disvirgined? When was your 1st abortion? Because she was naive not to protect herself from pregnancy doesn't mean you were more hollier than her or that the person who judged you as wayward (if you were) was wrong.

Na who dem catch for mangoe tree be thief!

28. Nice read. Beautifully written too. This is going to be an interesting segment.

29. Oh my🤣
    Father of those days sha. My Male classmates avoided my house like the plague. The only ones who came was because they were also very good friends with my brothers so they always came to see my brother and in the process say hi to me in passing. Lmao
    Phewww. Memories. What an interesting read

30. 🤣🤣🤣🤣

31. Very interesting read. Keep it coming. But why are you backing us now😄😄😄

32. Mr. Kunle is here to stay 😘

33. This is an interesting write up.

34. Who be dis jeweluchi abeg? I'm an old timer here and don't know this person.

35. 😂😂😂😂😂 oh mine , this is hilarious. Bruv , Weldon sir, really enjoyed this post , please , keep it coming.

Me , I prefer to know my kids friends . If you like , be strict like hell , pikin wey go spoil go spoil . Shikena

36. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

37. Very interesting

38. This's an interesting read

The most Complex B

39. Ohh my days 🤣🤣🤣. Nice write up Mr Kunle.