Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Lawmakers Fight Over PantamiGATE

Saturday, April 24, 2021

Nigerian Lawmakers Fight Over PantamiGATE

The Ali Pantami saga is snowballing into an in-house fight between members of the National Assembly.

This is as the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) caucus in the House of Representatives attacked the Spokesperson of the House, Ben Kalu for his comments on the Pantami saga.

On Wednesday during plenary Ndudi Elumelu raised a point of order, calling for the resignation or suspension of Pantami over his alleged links with extremists.

On Thursday Kalu said the Minority Leader Elemelu used the wrong legislative procedure in his call for the resignation of Pantami.

On Friday, in a press statement by the spokesperson of the caucus, Francis Agbo berated Kalu, accusing him of attempting of misrepresenting legislative procedure.

“The attention of the Minority Caucus in the House of Representatives has been drawn to a statement by the Chairman of House Committee on Media and Public Affairs/ Spokesman of the House, Hon. Benjamin Kalu, which clearly exposed a sinister intention to misrepresent the rules of the House, mislead the undiscerning public, and frustrate genuine effort in the fight against terrorism in our country!

“We find it shocking that instead of standing with Nigerians at this critical moment, Hon. Kalu chose to engage in a personal attack on the Minority Leader, Hon Ndudi Elumelu, for pointing to the dangers of retaining in office, the Minister of Communications and Digital Economy, Isa Pantami, after reports of the minister’s support for terrorists came to the fore,” he said.

The minority caucus, therefore, insisted that the Minister must resign or be suspended. However, it is unclear if the caucus will be willing to present a motion on Tuesday.
from dailypost

15 comments:

1. You see this country, one thing I am very certain is that, it will definitely break up in no distant time. No matter how hard the Fulani caliphate try to hold it from disintegration, it will surely collapse and that they know very much. We are tired living with terrorist,bandits, murderers and rapist.

2. What a country 🚶🏿‍♀️

3. Just check their names. I cover my face in shame for this set of people

1. My point. Two southerns fighting over the postilion of a northern. Nigeria is all about political affiliation instead of moral affiliation. He should resign and the minority cacus did well to raise that point.

4. Lmao PdP , this party and pretence . Which Nigerians are you standing with? I’m definitely not one of them. How can an opposition party only rise with mere allegations from the media and not proven facts. I feel sorry for the likes of people who look up to you people. Pdp grow up from cheap blackmail and irrelevant controversies.

1. Allegations kwa???? Something that the proof is all over to the extent that we are being told by the govt to forget. Just use ur id abeg. Nobody will beat u

2. Anon 10:13 I'm 100% sure you are Yoruba. Don't worry, the farce called Nigeria will soon shatter so that you all can have Tinubu as your oduduwa president. TERRORIST!

3. Hian! Something the minister owned onto?
      Dude said he said those things when he was young and uninformed.

4. I'm one of the Nigerians they are standing with on this. If you chose to be blind and sentimental about a man who sympathizes with terrorists, we the other Nigerians say otherwise. He should resign. Once a terrorist sympathizer, always a terrorist sympathizer. Saying he has changed is not possible.

5. The Kalu of a guy has collected money, my Igbo brother misrepresenting and supporting terrorism. When Communication minister that suppose to checkmate how terrorist and bandits communicate is their partner, no wonder war on terrorism lingers and winning it a mirage. GREAT ANON

1. My dear, he's part of the South west BMC, they only give them ponmo and bole while the Buhari they're working for gives his people juicy appointments.

2. How can the call for breakup be possible. It will not be possible if people like this will continue to sell your region out for cheap politics. Igbos must be united to achieve a common goal.

6. Poli-rascals
    🧺🧺🧺🧺🧺🧺shame!

7. Shameless Kalu