Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Delta Gov. Okowa Replies Nigerian Govt For Saying It Is Not Responsible For Prosecuting Kidnappers And Bandits

Wednesday, May 05, 2021

Delta Gov. Okowa Replies Nigerian Govt For Saying It Is Not Responsible For Prosecuting Kidnappers And Bandits

14 comments:

1. The more reason people shouldn't believe the jargon that Nigeria will fly again when old men like Lai Mohammed keeps spewing thrash all the time.

Do you know why they are saying that? It's simple. Nigerians are calling for the arrest of Gunmi over his role in collecting ransom for bandits and kidnappers. One of the students of Greenfield university was released and according to her parents, they went to Gunmi house and gave someone introduced to them by Gunmi 800,000 for their daughter release. Do you know what Gunmi told them? If the 800,000 was for transport?.

I will say again, the north will always cover their own from prosecution but the efulefus we have as governors in the East will always bring the wrath of the government on us even when we are innocent.

1. So true πŸ™ŒπŸΎ

2. Well said πŸ™ŒπŸΏπŸ’―

3. Very true, abeg make sense fall on them

2. Mt Governor, you should consult with your Attorney General before coming out to say this.

I still stand on my earlier comment about Pa Lai Mohammed bringing this out.

This is not something we should be arguing about at this time. There's a State that has its own Legislative and Judiciary arm. If a crime should happen within your region, it is up to you to prosecute. Only is the State doesn't have the two aforementioned branches.

Our Journalists should help us settle this matter, abeg.

1. It's terrorism a state case? When bandits kidnap and kill innocent Nigerians what would you call that? Evans the kidnapper, his crimes were mainly Lagos and Eastern Nigeria but isn't he being prosecuted by federal government? Pls say what you know.

2. Let me say what I know.

Terrorism is not a State
      Crime but Federal Crime like treason.

According to criminal law; when a crime is committed, the Federal Government can only arrest the suspects by using the Police but cannot prosecute. The Federal Goverment will have to hand over the suspect to the State Government of the jurisdiction that the crime was committed for prosecution by the Attorney General of the State. Remember, jurisdiction falls within States. Also, such cases are being tried at the State High Court.

Just so you know, Evans is not being tried by the Federal Government but by the Lagos State Government.

3. @bhaykins Did the federal govt now tell you they handed any terrorist to state govt for prosecution?? Who granted terrorist amnesty and started paying them salaries, who sew agbada green white green for terrorist. Dey deceive your village people. Who controls the police and armed forces? How many terrorist have they paraded? How many times have they killed their commander shekarau....you are confusing yourselves not Nigerians.

4. Anon 19:25, I just don't want to argue unnecessary with her/him, the reason I didn't respond further. When it involves the Eastern region, it becomes a federal government case but when it's northern Nigeria, we are being told otherwise. So funny and laughable seeing people still believing the lies from this old men.

5. @bhakins is right, States have more power of prosecution in Nigeria and can prosecute herdsmen, bandits and terrorists caught within thier borders. That is why Evans is being tried in Lagos.

Even for crimes which only FG can try like terrorism and commercial crimes, it must be tried in the state where it happened except where public safety won't allow for it and that was why Ibori's case was tried in Asaba,after JB Daudu SAN objected to him being tried in Kaduna by the Ribadu led EFCC.

People shouting amnesty for terrorists should do thier homework well. It was specifically targeted at those who volunteered to lay down thier arms and accept to be rehabilitated. It was a carrot or stick approach to combat asymmetrical warfare. It doesn't generally apply.

3. They have blamed chad,blamed Gadaffi,blamed Libya,blamed states,blamed Jonathan but they will never blame themselves.This is a failed govt and if care is not taken,Nigeria will soon become a failed state.

4. This country is a conspiracy..Governors are given security votes funds monthly what are they doing with the money..No accountability yet they are clamouring for state police okwa ya...This is what we have been clamouring let us practice true federalism not this unitary system of government that is not working...The constituion which is the grundnorm stated that we will have one state police which is from the Federal so it is Federal...However can these people stop this useless arguments a lot of Nigerians are dying and precious lives are being wasted...Secure the country and state..Shikena!!

5. So na so herdsmen and bandits scares them that they are shifting responsibilities? This is the weakest regime ever!