Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Police Suspends Police Escorts To 6 Eastern State Due To Incessant Attacks On Policemen

Wednesday, May 12, 2021

Nigerian Police Suspends Police Escorts To 6 Eastern State Due To Incessant Attacks On Policemen

The Nigeria Police Force has ordered the immediate withdrawal of personnel attached to governors, senators, public office holders and high profile persons in the South East.

This was decision reached following the incessant attacks on police formations and officers and in the region.

The directive was contained in a police wireless message shared by The Whistler.

The signal containing the information was dated “101054/05/2021” and with reference number 0900/DTS/DOPS/VOL47/812 and issued by the Commissioner of Police (DOPS), Asaba, Delta State.

It said, “Sequel to the incessant attacks on policemen/ snatching of arms and ammunition by the proscribed IPOB/ESN elements in the eastern states of Abia, Anambra, Ebonyi, Enugu and Imo States and Rivers State, COMPOL DOPS directs you warn personnel that escorts of their principals to the six (6) eastern states is suspended forthwith until security situation improves. Ensure strict compliance please.”

According to the publication, the acting spokesperson of the Delta State Police Command, DSP Edafe Bright, confirmed validity of the wireless message, but noted that it was not meant for the press.

“Firstly, the message that was sent out is not for press, so I don’t know how it got to you. Secondly, it is for policemen attached to VIPS not to escort their men to any part of the eastern state. That is the directive,” said Bright.

The South east and some parts of the South South regions have recently witnessed series of attacks on police stations, prison facilities and killing of police and other security personnel.

Last weekend, a total of 10 police officers were killed in Rivers and Akwa Ibom States while vehicles and police buildings were burnt.

The police are insisting that members of the Indigenous People of Biafra, IPOB, and their security unit, the Eastern Security Network, ESN, are responsible for the attacks even though the secessionist group led by Nnamdi Kanu, are persistent in their denial.

from dailypost

21 comments:

1. Abi... every VIP should protect themselves.

2. They should please stop the killing, it won't solve anything.

3. This is simple, conduct a referendum and know what the agitators want by voting. This is all what we are asking for.

I laugh each time people stupidly say majority of Easterners don't want Biafra. If that assertion is true, then why is the government afraid to hold a referendum on that regard, to be sure of their conviction? If after referendum, the vote goes against us, then it will be the end of the agitation. So what is the government afraid of? I asked again.

With all the banditry, killing of security personnel in the north, why haven't the police been withdrawn from northern governors and VIPs?

Nigeria will never know peace until they let Biafrans go.

1. In your ignorance you do not know there is no room for referendum in the 1999 constitution. In your foolishness you celebrate the killing of policemen and northerners forgetting the north reserve the right to fight back and massacre your brothers and sisters in the north.

4. There's a carefully orchestrated scheme to make the Eastern region ungovernable. This play is all for 2023. ESN has nothing to do with this.

1. Ceaser, how do you want your drink? Very chilled right? Don't mind the janjaweed thinking themselves to be smart. Whatever rubbish they do, will be retaliated to them in full measure.

2. Thank you Ceaser..I don't know what best explains these treatments against the East than this your statement!
      Every Dangerous terrifying things has been happening in the North yet the government doesn't know how to handle it but once a little happen in the East,all the answers and solutions will be readily available.
      How do you withdraw protection of people (your prime duty) because you are faced with a challenge meanwhile your job is what it is!
      I don't really buy into this separation chants by IPOB but tell me why we don't need to separate if we live as one but can't be treated like we belong?

3. Ceaser Nnam, UDO ✌ ✌ ✌ ✌ ✌ ✌

4. So what are they meant to protect against if the threat no longer exists?... The nerve to say until the situation improves...who’s supposed to improve the security situation...they just rendered themselves redundant paving the way for a quasi-state police in those areas

5. Ceaser I disagree with you. Nnamdi Kanu has been urging his followers to go on a killing spree and zombies who can't think rationally obey him. So MNK is partly responsible for the spate of insecurity in the South East.

The police just has to take precautionary measures.

6. No one expects those who have enslaved themselves to Kanu to accept the facts. Before ESN there were no killings in the south east. You guys know how to cry victimisation and marginalisation . There will never be Biafra. It is dead and buried.

7. Stella where is my comment on this naaa

5. Very good. Each man for himself.

6. Atleast our high and mighty that thinks they are shielded and left out of the suffering of the masses can now see that they are no longer exempted from the maltreatment?
    If the Eastern people in power refuses to do the right things,this govt after dealing with the common man on the street will finish them up!

7. On a lighter note... private Security companies should take advantage of this and cash out!

8. Guys think outside the box for once. Obvious retaliation for the brazen declaration of anti-open grazing by the Governors. As much as i have always love that Nigeria is one the prejudice against the people of the East is rife.

I have professional friends across all regions in Nigeria and must say they are liberal. Truth is that many Nigerians despise the Easterners and i have tried to find out why someone Will be comfortable disliking an entire group and non have given me a convincing response.

Prejudice against a group or people is the bane of disunity and it spells doom. The law of nature is strong that it is normal that when a person don't feel a sense of inclusion, s/he will start to experiment to find a sense of belonging.

Nothing that a sincere and obvious acceptance cannot change. I cannot allow myself to dislike a group of people when they have not offended or hurt me. As human, we will always have people hurt us and we also do same to others but it is evil to hate based on a pre-conceived prejudice.

I read people's comment here and i shake my head. You cannot treat a child bad and expect the child to remain calm. As young people, we need to educate ourselves about the consequences of destructive prejudice. We must be objective and fair in our utterances about others. For example, a person who has not experienced war should not tell someone who did not to talk about it. That alone is unfair.

Social injustice breed agitations. An unjust society hardly create a sane atmosphere for the inhabitants. We must do our own part by being conscious of the feelings of others that are different from us. Let me end it here and hope that things return to normal again.

1. Your first paragraph is so apt! When I saw the news I knew it wasn't ordinary. The North is overwhelmed with insecurity yet you're deliberating on security strategies of the South that you won't disclose. And I knew my thought wasn't farfetched when I read the conclusion of the southern governors meeting. I'm happy they're coming to their senses and hope there'll be no saboteur from the inside.
      I even read there's a shoot on sight order. Nigeria my country under the leadership of Buhari

2. 👌👏👏👏👏👏 God bless you richly.

9. So HOW COME there has been no directive to withdraw security escorts from the north with ALL THE RAMPAGING going on there by Boko Haram, gunmen, cattle herders, kidnappers and what have u? This government isn't EVEN INTELLIGENT ENOUGH to make itself sound believable. The truth for all of u gullible ppl who only take news at face value and run without a critical look, is that they keep making it more apparent that there is an ORCHESTRATED AND SYSTEMATIC campaign to weaken the South East. Its money men; the likes of Innoson, Ifeanyi Uba, Ibeto, Onyema, etc. have been severally harrassed. Institutions like Diamond Bank have been swallowed up. A directive to mop up arms has been in place yet gunmen continue on rampage in the north. Propaganda is stirred against IPOB & its eastern regional security outfit and now this apparent excuse to withdraw state armed forces from the region. All these expectedly should weaken the south east and leave it open to rampage. I'm not even making a case for Biafra, as I believe in restructuring and not cessation but IT WILL NEVER WORK FOR THOSE LOOKING TO RUN DOWN THE EAST, in aid of any agenda. Let them know that and know peace.

10. So HOW COME there has been no directive to withdraw security escorts from the north with ALL THE RAMPAGING going on there by Boko Haram, gunmen, cattle herders, kidnappers and what have u? This government isn't EVEN INTELLIGENT ENOUGH to make itself sound believable. The truth for all of u gullible ppl who only take news at face value and run without a critical look, is that they keep making it more apparent that there is an ORCHESTRATED AND SYSTEMATIC campaign to weaken the South East. Its money men; the likes of Innoson, Ifeanyi Uba, Ibeto, Onyema, etc. have been severally harrassed. Institutions like Diamond Bank have been swallowed up. A directive to mop up arms has been in place yet gunmen continue on rampage in the north. Propaganda is stirred against IPOB & its eastern regional security outfit and now this apparent excuse to withdraw state armed forces from the region. All these expectedly should weaken the south east and leave it open to rampage. I'm not even making a case for Biafra, as I believe in restructuring and not cessation but IT WILL NEVER WORK FOR THOSE LOOKING TO RUN DOWN THE EAST, in aid of any agenda. Let them know that and know peace.