Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Heritage Bank Staff Besiege Senator Andy Uba’s Abuja Residence Over ‘Unpaid Loan’

Tuesday, June 22, 2021

Heritage Bank Staff Besiege Senator Andy Uba’s Abuja Residence Over ‘Unpaid Loan’

Some workers of Heritage Bank Plc on Monday June 21,2021 besieged the residence of Andy Uba, former senator from Anambra state, over a loan he allegedly owes the financial institution.

The staff of the bank, who were seen with placards, gathered in front of his residence in Abuja, asking the politician to pay the purported loan to save their jobs.

One of the bankers at the scene said they were appealing to the former senator to “kindly pay this money so that these people will not lose their job.”

“Senator Andy Uba has been owing the bank for a couple of years now, and we are here for a very peaceful meeting with him to ask him to repay those loans because those are depositors funds,” the unidentified staff said in a recorded video from the scene.

“And those monies, if not repaid, will throw the number of people you see here with their families out of work. And you know the situation of the economy now.”

Some financial institutions in Nigeria, like Heritage Bank, are known to experience difficulty in recovering loans to businesses and private individuals.

TheCable could not immediately verify details of the debt which Osita Nwasinobi, a spokesperson of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), said he was not aware of when contacted.

Both Uba and the Asset Management Corporation of Nigeria (AMCON) have been contacted for comments regarding the development.

Also, the senate recently passed a bill that strengthened the power of AMCON to recover bad loans by allowing it to seize and sell properties traced to debtors, whether or not such assets are used as security/collateral for obtaining the loan in question.

18 comments:

1. Hahahaha.... this one pass Sokoloan, Fairmoney, Okash them oh, everybody don know say you de owe

1. The thing wey Sokoloan do me for this life, I cant forget. Just one day late payment, they text all my important contacts including my mum, say I be thief on the run with company property... on top how much na? 9k

2. Andy Uba that is contesting for Governor in Anambra? And people wonder why we are having issues in this country? Because of debtors like Uba!!! Rest my case!!!

3. He wants to become governor so thy he can carry Anambra money and pay up his debt.

4. Eeeeeyaaa anon10:08

2. Meanwhile, some slay queens might be feeding fat off the same person. Naija, who do us dis kain thing?

3. Why no live according to your pocket, I hate borrowing

4. Nice one. Wicked executives will give their cronies loans without collaterals.

They have laws for different set of people who they give ancestors collaterals to bring.

Wicked people. The ogas should have gone there instead they are sending omo ishe

5. If what they want to achieve is embarrass him, then they have succeeded. If they truly want their money back, they know what to do

6. How could they be giving out unsecured loans anyhow? I hope they have learnt their lessons 😐

7. So why can't the AMCON loan recovery bill passed into law have the biting teeth?
    Get Andy Uba and put him behind bars and sell off everything traced to him and
    pay back the loans. πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„

8. Loan recovery is 'agbero' work. Human beings are funny, at times you have to go extra mile to collect the money you gave out especially to 'big men'. I don't blame the bank

9. And they will go about their business as if nothing. If these banks workers lose their jobs cis of this, it won't be fair.

10. Andy Uba is a very selfish and wicked man. He does not help people rise.Even his village people don't like him. Very stingy. He uses and dumps people. He can never be a governor in Anambra State. Anambrarians don't like him. He hasn't done anything for Anambrarians. Good for him. Embarrassment well deserved.

1. They will just chop his money and dump him like yesterday trash.
      Oga Andy go and pay up.

11. This is what they should have done instead of sending out workers with placard

12. Don't they know where the collateral is? What is with all this nonsense? If a tailor borrowed two million, would they be printing placard to appeal to him? Are these low level bank staff the ones that approved the loan?