Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ondo Gov Akeredolu Wants Cannabis Legalized In Nigeria For Medicinal Purposes

Friday, June 04, 2021

Ondo Gov Akeredolu Wants Cannabis Legalized In Nigeria For Medicinal Purposes

On Thursday June 3,2021 on a live programme tagged 'Governor speaks' Ondo State Governor Rotimi Akeredolu, said it is important for Nigeria to legalise the cultivation of cannabis for medicinal purposes.

He said, “We must find a way to legalise cultivation of cannabis for medicinal purposes. There is nothing wrong about it. We are only shooting ourselves in the foot. It is a foreign exchange earner for people outside the country. People want this and even our pharmacies want to develop…

“I travelled out of here and I was in Thailand trying to study the cultivation of cannabis for pharmaceutical use. We did all these, we even went there with NDLEA (National Drug Law Enforcement Agency), the chairman at that time went with us, maybe he came and said what he went for was for a different thing but that was why we went and all I felt that let us look at the way they did it over there.

“Everybody has drug problem, most countries have drug problems. We are having it here, it is not as pronounced here as in other places but there are ways they went about these things that those who are involved in drugs, those who are selling, those who are exporting had other ways of doing things that they had to leave it. So, when we talk about cultivation, we are saying a monitored one, in which NDLEA will have an office (near farms).”

From punch.ng

8 comments:

1. He is right. It is medicinal and can be explored for foreign exchange, but this has to be regulated. It helps people like cancer patients and used in production of medicines. Mind you his beautiful wife is a breast cancer survivor. And she has been an advocate for self breast examination for years.

2. πŸ‘ŒπŸΎπŸ‘ŒπŸΎπŸ‘ŒπŸΎ I still remember the first time I got stoned! It was calm and soothing

3. Na so it dey start, from clap enter dance. Who said we don’t have a youth drug problem? All the violence pervading the country, you think the perpetrators are not on drugs? And these are controlled substance o, by the time you now legalize it, you won’t have a country to govern again

4. But my fellow country people will abuse it

5. It's like you people want our youths to jump from frying pan to fire abi?πŸ™‚