Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Saturday In House Gists - CHILDBIRTH And The Men Who Help Out At Home Versus Men Who Dont

Saturday, July 31, 2021

Saturday In House Gists - CHILDBIRTH And The Men Who Help Out At Home Versus Men Who Dont

Why is it that some men look for every excuse to run away from home after their wife gives birth and needs help to manage things? ...

This post is inspired by one of the Labour room drama poster who says she is exhausted from all the house work after childbirth and that her Husband was not helping at all home.

This is sad!

Do you have a man who helps at home? what kinds of things does he help out with?

Men, why do you think that your only Job is to make her pregnant?

Some men might learn from this post that helping out at home creates peace and a happy atmosphere.

Let's gist!

125 comments:

1. I can't really guess why,however men should be willing to assist their wives in times like this. It counts, your presence means alot to us

1. My husband helps me with house cleaning and laundry. I haven't given birth yet but he assists me around. The only thing he doesn't do is cook.

2. Not just presenceooo, they should assist with some chores. Amidst the joy of a new baby is heavy work especially where there is no help. They should not leave the wives to shoulder it alone.

3. You have a good husband @Bingo

4. My husband doesn't help at all and still expects three square meal.
      I was so disappointed because he wasn't this way when we were dating.
      He provides financially for everything in the house but how can you sit down and still expect things to be the way they were before baby came. Complaining about food and sex. I am emotionally drained and physically exhausted honestly.

5. It’s very important for men to help out even where there is a maid because work no dey finish with children.

My hubby helps out till now. I left my job last year and because I have lectures for my masters, he comes back home twice (lecture days) a week to stay with the children so that I can go to school.

He’s not perfect but he tries his best. I love it!

6. Anon15.15, have you considered getting a visiting housekeeper to assist? Get a helper pls

7. Anon 15:15 theres no award for suffering oo. Get a help. Infact, get helps , if he refuses helps, use wisdom and make him agree. Expect nothing from him and enjoy your life. I'm not supporting what hes doing, but it is what it is

8. Yes anon 15:15, get a help that will do the cleaning and washing of clothes(if you don't have a washing machine) and market runs. The person will not live with you. You need to rest so you don't break down. Too much stress plus baby sucking you will make you look worn out.

2. I can't really guess why however men should be encouraged to assist their wives in situations like this. It counts alot

3. Help me ask the house if there is anyone who has an abusive partner that changed, and what process that helped. I was physically abused by my spirit filled husband, I am àt my parents and I have been told to heal and go back but I refused I left my 3 son's with him but I am with my one year old.He loves the children so much and helps at home also, he also feeds us properly but my fear is the slap I received, I can't just imagine.I am so pained. He slapped me because i talked back at him. I want him to under go counselling and also he should see a therapist before I will think of going back to him. Pls reccomemd a therapist for us.

1. Even as i hate physical abuse of any sort,but if its d first time and hes remorseful and willn to change,listen to ur parents advice. Trust me raising 4 sons on ur own wont be easy. Dont listen to all those dat will say leave yen yen they wont give u 1kobo and will still mock you and hide dere husbands from u.
      Leaving for a while was the best move. However i dont know a psycologist or therapist. Why not ask ur family hospital,they will know and recommend smone. Good luck.

2. Was that his first time? Did it happen before your kids?
      Everyone has that one time that they fall short. If he has apologized and it was just a one time thing,do forgive him and go back for your kids. Running away from the marriage happens when the battery becomes a routine.
      Hopefully it doesn't happen again.

3. Why don't you see a therapist first and stop talking back to him.
      You have to remove the log in your eyes before you can take off the spec in someone's eyes.
      Both of you need the submit to Christ and study your bibles, discipline the flesh through
      fasting and prayers. And please read Prov. 31 and do not wait for a man to "feed you very well"

4. My sweet husband cooks, looks after our baby when I work, and goes to shop
    the foodstuff. He tells me that he will be so ashamed if I will carry anything heavy
    to the car; not even from the cart to the car. Those times the baby will cry at nights, he
    will carry him to the sitting room and distract him with something just to let me catch some
    sleep after marathon breastfeeding sessions.

Let me tell those men that "runs" away that they are the reason that their wives are old, spent and haggard looking.
    The woman is so overwhelmed with all and they only come back to "score another goal" and run off again.
    Some of them foolishly run into the hands of stray chicks and come home with strange diseases.
    If you are such a man, just run into these my baskets of shame 🧺🧺🧺🧺🧺🧺🧺🧺🧺🧺🧺🧺🧺🧺🧺
    cover your shameful self with one and begin to chant; I be stray bullet, I be "chimpamzee," I be stroll
    away gorilla.. 🦍🦍🦍🦍🦍🦍🦍🦍na me be monkey🐒🐒🐒🐒

1. 🤣😀🤣😂😂😂😂... This your last paragraph is hilarious. Please husbands that do not help out come and catch your subs.

2. 🤣😂🤣😂🤣😁

3. Awwwwww your husband is amazing just like mine💕💕💕
      He's super super helpful and enjoy playing daddy/fatherly role to our kids.
      I am blessed!

🤣😂🤣😂🤣😂🤣😂🤣😂 the later part of your comment is the bomb😂🤣😂🤣

4. God bless u for this comment. Any woman who looks older, worn out and Haggard is as a result of bad and slefish husbands. God bless every good man out there.

5. Hahahaha laff wan kill me die. Last part, so funny.

6. @Janey
      Women who nag and lack peace also look worn out and haggard. Goes both ways.

7. 😂😂😂😂😂table don scatter ooo

8. 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂🤣😂😂😂 kai

5. My one in a milli hubby has been a huge blessing when it comes to being domesticated.
    I remember the first trimester of my pregnancy when I couldn't go near the kitchen because of nausea from scents, aromas and fragrances, this man will try to arrange something for me to eat before he goes to work, and also when he gets back, or he buys something we can eat on his way from work. It also helps that he is not fixated on choice of meals; he can eat any decent meal and make do with what's available, not one of those who want different freshly cooked soup everyday.
    It was easy for him to step into the role of assisting shortly after I gave birth too, before we got people to help out, and still pitches in on the regular till date.
    I am grateful I married a very considerate and unselfish human being, thank you Lord🙌🙌

1. MAY GOD BLESS HIM AND CONTINUE TO GIVE HIM MONEY TO LIVE A GOOD LIFE. Amen

2. Beautiful.
      We should learn to celebrate our husbands when they are doing well so as to encourage our single ones that yes, better husband still dey.
      Thank God for you.
      My husband is really amazing too, super helpful and Super supportive.

3. Happy for you. That's the way it should be...

4. God bless your family abundantly. Very sweet tribute.

5. May God continue to bless your home Dear.

6. Stella, If I tell you that looking after 2 young children and working full time put the pressure on me, and I was very stressed and lashing out to my ex husband, and he didn't take it well. He started inviting 3rd parties into our marriage instead of amend the situation and take the critics. This caused our marriage to breakdown. Now we are happily divorced. Will you believe it? Men should do chores and get down and dirty. It's exhausting. Now when I hear childbearing. I run 🏃‍♀️

It involves your life. It's exhausting.

1. Wow, so sorry about your experience.

2. When I hear childbearing, my dear, I pick race.

I have 2 as well and my marriage almost fell apart. Sometimes, my hubby tells me that things got complicated because of the children. We love and adore our children absolutely but it’s the truth.

So I assume you’re with the kids now. How then do you care for them (still) without his help????

I guess the major issue was the fact that you had to care fir them alone, build your career, yourself and care for your hubby. If it were just them, you’d wing it but SOME African men sometimes come with extra baggage like cooking for them, sexing without denying them, etc etc etc. Its like they just exhaust you further.

3. Its easier without him tbh. I dont have to cook for him and pick up after him. Its so much easier. I was able to build my career, save and buy my own house etc. He comes to get the kids few times a year during school holidays, then I get free time to myself. I am less stressed, but I believe it shouldn't have got this bad if he had listened and helped out more. Instead of having this ego attitude and hurting me further. Anyway we move.

Thanks to you ladies for the response

4. Instead of talking to him calmly, you lashed out and you expect him to just overlook your nasty attitude?
      This feminism thingy tho. It's become a menace

7. For new parents, I believe it's overwhelming and some men feel it's best to stay away which shouldn't be. Do it together, it helps with bonding well as a family.

God bless my husband. The guy dey try abeg!

1. Amarachi with C31 July 2021 at 23:44

Mine doesn't help and if l complain, he will just use emotional intelligence on me, on why l am always hostile whenever he is around me. I complain much and don't like his happiness.
      Man cannot even help out in taking care of his child at home. He thinks everything is about money, and l wouldn't blame him much cause Polygamy was very tough on him.

2. Amara, I think we married dsame type of horsband

8. I really thank God for my husband! We did omugo together since my mum was very strong,even during pregnancy,he helps with going to the market,he helps to rock our last baby to sleep,sometimes he cooks especially when iam tired,he helps with washing catfish on Saturdays,we bathe the children together,I always thank God for Him,I wonder why some men can't,sometimes we wash clothes together,i believe men who truly care about their spouse don't hesitate to help them after all marriage is for two

1. Yea my husband and I also did my omugwo alone as covid didn't allow any of our mothers come and that man is such a huge blessing.

From day one back from the hospital, he was already bottle feeding the baby (back when she was still taking bottle from us). Once I'm up midnight with her, he will also be up with us. Once he sees I'm overwhelmed with trying to soothe her to sleep in the middle of the night, he would take the baby from me and tell me to go sleep.

Let me not even take up all the space here but men that don't help their wives don't know the karma that is waiting for them.

9. My husband assists in every way possible, with the baby, with the chores, with everything. Once she started creche, because I resumed early at 8 and he resumes at 10, he would wake at 8 to prepare her for creche. He would bathe and cloth her then I will feed her and then he will go drop her off.

Any house chores I hate doing automatically becomes his, like washing plates and washing toilets is solely his responsibility even tho I help him with dishes sometimes. Oh, I also hate chopping vegetables so that's also his job.

When I say I got the best out there, I wasn't exaggerating and I definitely don't take it or him for granted.

1. Eka you are lucky ooo. God bless your hubby. This is what it is supposed to be like...TEAMWORK!

2. Awww i'm happy for you Eka. You got one of the few good ones(just like me 😁)
      May God continue to keep and bless them for us. Amen

3. This is the real meaning of partnership.

4. PARTNERSHIP!!!

Not the ones that like to remind us that they paid dowry . As if dowry means they’ve bought us and we’re now their slaves.

The next time my hubby tells me he paid again, I’ll remind him that I can refund it so that he will allow me hear word. Maybe I should even refund it Kia Kia and put the narration as “dowry refund” so that I can have peace.

Small thing, I paid. I paid. You paid what? With the blood of Jesus????

If I didn’t say yes, would you have paid? I be market?

Give me a better argument and stop using that lame one abeg .

10. My husband helps out a lot,infact I am almost due and since I took in he has been going to Market,mopping the house every Saturday,making meals most time and now bathing me cos of my big tummy..God bless you my Love and hope to seeing you help out lot comes the next few days.
    God please no labour pain and easy birthing of my twins.AMEN.

Baby dust on all expecting a baby ������������

11. While dating my wife I realized she prefers quality time and important memories to Money or any other thing you can offer as a man..

So after the birth of my son;i was on two weeks break at the physical office while the online Biz continued;we bonded more and till today i see how my in-laws especially regard our marriage..

The essence of my break was to help her out with literally everything I could do as her friend before being her husband..

For my daughter;one week to her due date i was with my wife all through and concentrated on the online Biz,still off till now and tomorrow makes it three weeks;will resume on Monday at the physical store..

Truth is;this memories matter to my wife and for the positivity at our home and that I hold in high esteem.

She did so much for me before we got married and if this is the little I can do to make her go through this post-delivery stage without stress and for her mental health;I would sacrifice all..

My father in-law calls me "Husband of the year" and doesnt joke with me cos of how his daughter blushes each time they talk;they were quite close before i took over the mantle😀😀

I know men who do a lot more for their Wives too but the truth is that all these are not to brag about publicly;its family and these are little things which matter most hence needs no extra accolade..

@MARTINS

1. Martins you are one person here I really admire. God bless you beyond your expectations. Kisses 😘😚 to your wife and kids.💕🤗

2. God bless you Martins

3. @Martins Aboy, you have 2kids already? I am super happy for you. You literally understood what marriage requires and you are doing it well. God bless your family.

4. Nice one Martins, little things matters to women

5. This your comment truly warmed my heart.
      Martins na man who Sabi you be!
      It is certainly not by age!
      You are a rare gem.

6. Martins, you're a total package...

7. Martins, God bless you immediately.

8. Martins, this brought tears to my eyes...God bless your family and bless your hustle...you are one good ground to sow seeds in...it will happen with time...

9. Stay classy, smart and focused

10. May God continue to bless ur home

12. You can’t love your wife and be comfortable enough to see her suffer like that.House chores wear women out and make them forget about taking care of themselves.As a man,you have to either help out or provide the resources for her to get help.Your wife is bathing the kids and you can’t make breakfast while she’s at it,what kind of man are you?Simi said it the other day,our moms teach their daughters and allow men to learn themselves.We need to start teaching our boys how to be homely,so when they grow up,it won’t be big deal for a husband to take care of the home while his wife goes out to hang out with her friends or do something else that is beneficial to her.

1. True dat. If they cannot"help" they need to provide funds for help. Instead of talking about how their mother had 9 kids with no help!.

2. Beautiful!

3. Don’t mind some of these men. Some were taught, they helped their mums in the kitchen and errands but bad friends will influence them that it’s wrong to help out.

13. Wow one of the weirdest experience of my life was watch my wife during labour, it was a life changing experience.
    It changed the way I perceived her and all mothers.
    The blood the agony the shout and the tears.(respect to mammi -RIP pls)
    Every reasonable man should take housechores seriously.
    On my part, sometimes I bath our baby but most times what I do is wash the basin, sweep and mop the floor, I do the laundry at times too.
    And I also go to the market whenever I am free.
    The toilet is absolutely mine to clean.
    My wife usually take care of our baby anytime she cries between 2200hrs- 0400hrs, then I take charge of her from 0400hrs till I leave for work.
    Its tough work looking after babies.

14. Anytime I had a baby, my husband always took his annual leave. I had CS thrice and my babies were heavily jaundiced so we had to stay at the hospital for a long time. He was always hands on ,washing stuff (my undies inclusive) and never cared what anyone said.
    At home nko, he never allowed our babies to sleep with his or my mum but with us, so we took turns to feed baby at night and change diapers. I chose not to breast feed at nights
    He handled laundry,cooked, tidied the house because that was how his mum raised all her sons. In fact,he and his brothers were and are still blessings to their wives(God bless the mum's soul)
    Till date,he is still a doting father to our beautiful daughters and would gladly move mountains for us.
    Worthy of note is the fact that he is 100% financially responsible for the running of the house and cares less what I do with my money. Maybe this is possible because he doesn't have/keep friends, no hangouts with anyone, no drinking, smoking or partying...just work, home and church. He doesn't receive visitors either. Just him and us...lobatan!

1. Awww! May God bless him and your family. May God rest your MIL's soul for raising great men

2. Jesus! Which kind perfection is this? My husband would have been like this if not for his family.
      God please blind my in-laws from my family... 10 years of torture from this people is too much.
      Forgive me Lord for anything I v done to deserve such wicked people.
      Please Lord.
      Amen

3. God will continue to bless and keep all these good men for us.

4. Awwwwww.
      This is so sweet.
      God bless your husband and home.

5. Eeeyaa 15:53, my heart goes out to you sincerely.
      But just know that there nothing impossible for God to do.
      He will surely help you in this your marriage.

6. Wow, I love this. Your marriage is blessed...

7. Yh! My hubby does my washing of hospital clothes too and I'm 2times CS mum.
      He bath the kids whenever he's around, fold clothes cos I so hate doing that. The only thing he doesn't do is cook which is not like he doesn't know but I like cooking a lot so the kitchen is all mine 😆😆😆.

He helps with market runs too, 1. He speaks hausa language so well I believe he will buy better.
      2. It's easier cos I won't need to be jumping keke.

And the kids I think they love him more even though he works outside Kaduna whenever he's around they won't even send me at all, he bonds well with them.
      Alhamdullahi, I think it's cos he doesn't drink nor smoke, he has few friends, just his siblings and us are his priority since he lost his mum.

My marriage is not perfect but Alhamdullahi for this blessings.

15. Mine is hardly home and since I don't have any help, pregnancy, childbirth and motherhood took its toll on me heavily. I was worn out and almost broke down. I suffered from HBP, stress, and anxiety. Each time he's home he helps with market runs, cleaning the house sometimes and assisting with other house chores like ironing and arranging washed clothes.
    God bless all the men who do their best at the home front. 🙏💋❤️🥰

1. Awwwwww.
      You are a strong girl.
      Motherhood/ Parenthood is not easy.
      I celebrate you Twins Squared.

2. Twin squared are you me. Hmm i have twins too and my health is totally bad now. High bp etc etc. May the Lord perfect my healing in Jesus mighty name

3. Dainty T an💕🙏
      Anon 6:48, thank you so much.🙏 Femilicious, you know how far....
      Elegant thanks for your advice.🙏

4. Twins squared, more grace to you

5. Hugs to you mama🥰🥰

16. My darling husband that I sometimes wonder if he's actually human or an angel. he's been so helpful and doting right from our first baby and this second one. He drives me to antenatal checkup,sit with me while I undergo all the routine test and even attends the antenatal health talk with me. He will cook,clean the house,go to market and go as far as washing my panties.the first trimester is always the toughest,he goes to work and comes back in the evening to prepare food for me and still carry me to the bathroom to bathe me wen I can't do it. He bathes his children and still provide for the house 100 percent. Our baby was born last week and hubby has been waking up at night to pick him up and soothe him while I sleep and he'll still leave for work in the morning. God knows I can't trade this human angel for anything or anyone.

1. Congratulations on your new born baby 🐥🍼👏🙏

2. God bless him.
      Kisses to baby and hubby.

3. Congratulations. God bless him ..

4. Na wa he is an angel in human form

5. God bless your husband and your home
      My regards to your cute son

6. Congratulations and GOD bless you all

17. Most men don't know what they're missing. Doing chores together with your wife is like another opportunity to bond some more. I and hubby used to do laundry together, I'll wash and he'll rinse and dry while gisting,we cook together or he'll sit in the kitchen while I cook with plenty to gossip about. he does the market runs and always available to help out with anything. Men should understand that a woman that is stressed out cannot create a happy atmosphere at home for you to return to.why won't she be quarrelsome when she's overwhelmed with house chores and probably also working.

18. My husband helps me with the baby at night. I gave birth 2wks ago and due to the condition of the country,no one is coming for omugwo.
    Our baby stayed up through out the night and hubby was helping me so I can catch some sleep.The next day he went to his shop,while in the shop he slept off and someone came in and stole his fone.Since then I've been feeling guilty. Thou he tries to hide it but I know he's sad.I pray he get money to buy another one.

19. Hubby has been very helpful,when I had my first son he took his annual one month leave just to help at home. From cooking to cleaning the house and till date he does the house shopping.

He is my special blessing.😍

20. My husband is not a house chores person, and hates washing. I do washing my self only thing I can beat my chest is that he makes sure the water drum is always filled with water, and sweeps like 2 days after delivery then resigns

He calls his relative to come do the laundry after I birth, in fact I made sure I cleared the laundry basket before going to the hospital for delivery, when I birthed my first baby was on Admission had to go get my phone plus tell him am on admission...went to anti natal without phone, when I went home I did laundry before heading back ,

My mum is my super saver the first month then after she leaves I do virtually everything my self, already prepared my mind before we got married cos he told me he is not a house chore person.

No need for painting saint here

Thank God I got a washing machine after my 2nd baby with lots of pressure , I can't come and kill my self with no help

Mothers please train your boy child to learn how to do house chores...already sending my 3 year old son on errands, I don't want to stress someone's daughter

PS, my husband is caring, loving and hates to see me sad but that house work own no be part of his upbringing

21. My husband was really helpful when we had our baby, tho our mother's spent 2 weeks each with us cos of the nature of their jobs. My husband did support me well, I didn't even step the market till my baby was 6 months. He did all the shopping and chores, even till now he helps me out and the ones we can't do we pay to get done

Good husbands dey o and I am always grateful to God for bringing and keeping us together.

22. One of the reasons I'm scared to get take in again.
    OYO be my case

23. My husband helped out when I newly delivered our daughter before his relatives came. He would carry the crying baby and dance at night while I sleep. He would cook for me and run other errands, his much younger cousin and mum in-law came few days later, the girl washed, did market runs and did all the other chores for three months before leaving. His mum did the cooking and bathing of baby while I would only breastfeed, eat and sleep. The first few months were bliss. Now he still helps by cleaning the chairs and electronics, dressing up our daughter for school and dropping her off once in a while if I'm too occupied, buys stuff from the market for me on his way home from work, etc. He cooks and cleans and does virtually everything if I am sick. He doesn't select food, he eats any eatable food, so fixing something for us to eat when I'm tired or sick is not hard for him.

24. Mine assist with almost everything. It started fully during pregnancy till now and my boy is almost 2 still hasn't stopped. He goes to market, comes back to prepare the soup. Help in bathing and changing diapers when he's less busy. He has made it all so so easy for him.

1. My pregnancy was not an easy one especially during the first trimester, I had to be on bed rest for weeks. He stood by me, and getting home, he took it all up with his full chest. He will prepare my food before he leaves for work around 4:30 am getting home again around 8 or 9 pm depending on traffic he will fix something for me. When the pain was unbearable, he suggested I terminate it but I said no I will bear the pain. Later free from the pain after the first trimester. He is responsible for home keep 100%, never allows his family to talk trash at me. Protect me everywhere. He took up the whole christening preparation all by himself without the help of his friends or family. Told them he can do it all, which he did perfectly. I went through CS and stayed 5 days at the hospital, he did not sleep for straight for 4 days, I was begging him to sleep. He was watching over us, don't want his baby crying changes his diaper and feeds our baby. My boo is my everything, my shield and my protector.
      He prepares any food, fried rice, moimoi with leaf, amala just names any food he will gladly prepare for us. I haven't stepped market since the pregnancy up to almost 3 years now, he does it all.
      Let me stop here.
      He is simply the best.

2. He goes to the market,my husband goes to the market,my husband is helpful***** This is what I keep reading in these comments and I'm kinda freaked out,it's good for one's husband to be helpful around the house always and not just when you just give birth,my husband is a hands on Dad,loving husband too,I don't do any vacuuming and cleaning at home,I only cook and tidy up the kitchen,my husband cooks too sometimes,but a man going to market is a NO NO NO for me.whatttttt😳😳 I can't imagine my husband in the market,pricing meat and pepper,very downgrading idea,it can never happen,he can't do it,I won't even accept for him to do such.

3. Talk your own and leave others.
      Men go to market and abi dem dey pursue them fron the market?
      Hian

25. Funny enough,some men find it unmanly to do so,I wonder where they get that ideology from. Many of them are usually persons whom the mother always treated as the little king of the house, and as such wasn't allowed to lift up a single hand around the house...the sisters of such men are always filled with resentment and grumbling about such partial treatment,but mumsi no go ever hear,to her her little Prince is the center of her world🙄and as such these men grow up and get into marriage with the mentality that women should be the slave around the home.

Sadly enough too,some cultures with their ''silent" traditions encourage this😥😥

1. So many helpful husbands. No-one wants to carry last. LoL. The same ones that'll shout 'crucify him' when the book of chronicles is open.
      I laugh in Mogadishu

26. I had a couple of miscarriages when he pounded them out of me. This one that stayed, he was still insisting on sex even though I almost miscarried. Even when I was 6 months pregnant and ill (malaria & stooling) he pestered for sex so much, I just spread my legs. He got soft once he saw I was disconnected from it all.
    Infact, he didn't even bring money for the hospital bag until a week after due date.
    He'd use up all the water & go off. I'd have to call the gate man to scoop the bottom of the drum or buy me water at the crack of dawn. He only spent one night with the baby and I. Cooked a total of 7 times in the marriage & was emotionally abusive always.
    I left his wretched life with my mental and physical state intact.

1. Good thing you left. Some stress are not worth it. May your child bring you joy and happiness

27. My husband helps when am pregnant goes to the market,cooks,washes plates but can Neva sweep and do laundry,
    He's not prefect coz he likes staying out late when I was pregnant for d twins the lateness doubled man no fit fuck but I Neva lacked care

28. I can't thank God enough for the kind of husband he gave me. I remembered when we had our first child,daughter, at night when she is crying, he will carry the baby and start singing for her while I'm sleeping, he only wakes me up to breastfeed, he knows how to change diapers, he can take his time to bottle feed her if the need arises, he can tepid sponge and dress up our our daughter while I'm doing other stuff, he is a very supportive husband, in fact he is 100yards material father to our children. I really thank God for that