Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Govt Condemns Coup In Republic Of Guinea

Monday, September 06, 2021

Nigerian Govt Condemns Coup In Republic Of Guinea

The Federal Government of Nigeria has reacted to the coup d’etat, which occurred on Sunday in a West African Country, Republic of Guinea.

A video sighted by AFP had indicated that soldiers took over the country by suspending the current constitution and reportedly detaining President Alpha Conde.

Reacting, the Nierian government in a statement issued by Esther Sunsuwa, a spokesperson for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs condemned the move by the military, saying it violates ECOWAS Protocol on Democracy and Good Governance.

The statement read, “The Nigerian government is saddened by the apparent coup d’etat that has taken place in the Republic of Guinea today, in clear violation of the ECOWAS Protocol on Democracy and Good Governance.

“The Government of Nigeria strongly condemns and rejects any unconstitutional change of government and therefore calls on those behind the coup to restore constitutional order without delay and protect lives and property.”

from dailypost..

22 comments:

1. Hypocrisy by the Nigeria government, while they have been busy conducting Democratic coup here or they think it's only the military that takes over by coup?

Iranu oshi

1. I guess you honestly think your comment is rational? The worst democratic government is better than any military regime.

2. No military junta is worst than this govt. As dem dey condemn make dem wait their own.

2. I think democracy is a government for the riches and elite tragedy for the poor and everange citizens,as in Nigeria we're not ready for it,because three quarter of the said population are vulnerable to the consequences of democracy!

3. Nigeria is sick and in no way to condemn nothing, even the coup government will still be better than what we have

1. A coup government will still be better? Such ignorance. Pls, educate yourself small, google is free.

2. Nigeria is not sick, some Nigerians are sick and their thinking faculties defective. Only people like you would believe that a military dictatorship will be better than a government that was voted for by over 15 million Nigerians. You were all Atikulating in 2019, since Atiku was defeated you all lost your senses and nothing impresses any of you. If Jesus comes down today, He can't fix the economy of Nigeria. Nigeria do not have the money. All the money generated is used to pay salaries and allowance, government have to borrow to fund capital projects. In some nations workers would have been retrenched or placed on half salary. As bad as the situation is government is subsidising fuel and electricity, education and health care. More than 90% of our foreign exchange is from crude, today Nigeria is selling less than 1.4 million barrels of crude per day at about 70-74 dollars per day as against the government of Jonathan that sold 2.2 million barrels per day at 100-140 dollars over a period of five years and yet didn't save a dime, but ran down the tens of billions of dollars saved by Obasanjo. By 2014 Jonathan was already borrowing to pay salaries and by the time he left Aso rock our foreign reserve was down from 64 billion dollars to less than 30. You honestly think you guys will be able to run your mouths here, insulting presidents and governors under military rule?

3. Alexander
      Do not commit blasphemy to prove any point

4. What a country and spokes woman.

5. The only reason there is no coup in Nigeria is cos Buhari is Hausa/Fulani and the military is 80% filled with his people. It was less before now so you can imagine.

This is the 2nd coup in an African country within a year. Believe it or not...they are watching.

Just look at Imo state...the extra judicial killings of many innocent youths and yet no justice and they are busy commenting on another country.

Perfect example of the pot calling the kettle black.

1. The blackened firewood calling kettle black

6. Hmm... seems the era of coup had started again in Africa.

7. Why didn't they condemn him when he forcibly changed the constitution to favour his tenor elongation. Very foolish Nigeria government

1. Thank you for making the only solid point. At over 80 and with a poor record in office, he should be publicly flogged by the coup plotters to appease the nation and then a transition committee should b set up to see a more credible election bring in a popular and hopefully, effective president. France, be doing as if you don't know what is going on ok?

8. As if their "condemnation " changes anything? Who e help 😂😂