Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Saturday In House Gists - What To Do With The Placenta After Childbirth

Saturday, October 23, 2021

Saturday In House Gists - What To Do With The Placenta After Childbirth

The Placenta comes out last after a child has been born... It looks horrible and some people insist on leaving the hospital with theirs...

In Nigeria I hear that everyone who births a child leaves the hospital with the placenta and I want to know why? What is the implication of leaving your placenta in hospital? I did not even see mine when i had my kids, I was not shown and I did not ask....

Lets discuss this placenta thing cos i asked someone why people take it along and she told me it can be used to do ritual....I was like how?

Lets gist

55 comments:

1. In Nigeria, the reason people take theirs is because they fear it can be used to harm them. They take it home and bury it.

1. I was not shown as well and I didn't ask, I don't think they show people abroad.

2. I had my baby in a safe country,they only asked few questions and allow u mk ur choice, dey claim Most visiting Nigerians request to take it back home, I said kindly dispose it please.

3. Na real take it back home smh

4. I store my kids placenta for stem cell banking for future use to treat any blood related diseases, research is still ongoing to treat other conditions like diabetes etc. Placenta has a lot of stem cells which are undifferentiated cells and can be used to treat a lot of medical conditions. Its 100%match for the child and a posible match for siblings and parents... I am a UK based doctor...stay informed of these little things that might save a life...

5. Are you anticipating future illnesses for your kids? Na wa o. The cheapest is £1495 here in uk plus yearly storage fees. And it’s still viable after 23 yrs.

6. Stella it's not true that everyone leaves with their placenta in Nigeria.

Wetin concern me and placenta? I only asked because I wanted to see what it looks like and after they showed me they took it away.

2. Yes o,I have heard of that ritual thing,don't know how true it is.Here to read comments sha

3. Stella, how as how? Have you forgotten how it happens here? Hmmm. It's not the same here as it is over there o biko. I didn't see mine though so i dont know what it looked like but I made sure it was disposed off properly in a bag.

I heard it shouldn't be thrown into canals to avoid it being eaten by dogs or pigs.

1. It shouldn't be thrown into canals, gutter or an open dump for the same reason your sanitary pads should be disposed properly which is that it is a bio and environmental hazard. Has nothing to do with dogs or pigs

2. I hear say if rat chop am the piking go dey thief lolz

3. @Sexy Hips, biko hapum o, lol😂😂😂

4. E be like say na rat chop my hubby own the guy can steal for Africa

4. I do cook it.na better meat

5. My child's own was handed to hubby in a plastic bag and he buried it in a secure place.
    In Nigeria, they are not left in the hospital and not given to just anyone but either of the parent of the child to avoid stories that touch.

6. If you grew up in our part of the world, especially in Yoruba land, you would find that we attach cultural values and beliefs to some things.

Long before I got to know the biological importance of the placenta to a child, I already knew the traditional believes surrounding it.

In Yoruba, we call it "Ibi-omo". It is believed that the placenta is as important as the baby itself. You have the baby and the placenta is not out😲, mister man, don't rejoice yet o.
    And it is believed that if it falls into wrong hands, the placenta can be used diabolically to cause lasting harm to the child...and that is to put it lightly.
    It is also expected of the father to secure the placenta of his child and dispose it safely himself.

7. I dried mine, and used it to take tea, its very good for the body,

1. 😜😜😜

2. Eating your placenta is believed to be a form of 'spiritual protection' from evil people.

3. My aunt used her children's own to make jewelry

8. I remember in the UK they gave me an injection after I gave birth to my son so that I can give birth to the placenta. I gave birth to it and saw it but they took it away and disposed of it. But if that’s naija I’m taking it home at straight up.

1. blacks are more diabolic than whites? ..kai this mindset is sad ..so whites who do open witchcraft we think are somehow better

2. Where in my comment did I put blacks are more diabolical than whites?

9. That placenta should be handled wit care this is Africa where ur personal effects can be used against you.
    Despite warning my ppl how to keep mine after birthing, they just threw it away in a refuse dump. Two days later, I was in same refuse dump and got out my placenta jejely after searching for hours. I burnt it myself. No time.

1. 🤣🤣🤗🤭

10. One of my confused decisions to ever make in my life that time, and as a man, as the responsibility of placenta disposal was given to me, cut one into tiny pieces and flushed down the toilet, two others buried it in a private property. I don't blame those that cook and eat theirs'. It would not have been a bad idea, cooking and eating it.

1. Are you serious about this cooking eating of placenta.Isnt that a kind of cannibalism

11. I didn't even look at mine. Felt like it would be yama yama. I'm not sure they even asked me if I wanted it but I'm sure if they did, I must have told them to do whatever they want with it.

I get grossed out easily so there was no way I was gonna look at it talk more of touching it.

1. Na yamayama. I asked to see and I regretted asking

12. My husband buried my first and second one, the 3rd one he travelled abroad,i took it home, looked for soakaway in my area then and threw it down.
    My 4th child birthed abroad and we never asked nor given.

13. I heard it is a very essential commodity bought by some people from evil nurses in some hospitals...these nurses have fetish people they call once they have a placenta to come and buy and they are handsomely rewarded after purchase tho it’s done secretly,thats why most people take it with them after giving birth in Nigerian hospitals.

14. The placenta is the first link a child has to life. It's as good as the child itself. If it gets into the hands of a wicked or diabolic person, the child is as good as destroyed. The wicked person takes it, makes incantations and negative decrees on it and ruins that child's life forever. Yes, prayers can reverse the harm done but that would be, most times, after that child has suffered and seen hell in life. Why not just avoid all that by disposing by yourself as the parent?

15. I didn't ask of it and the hospital did not ask or tell me anything about it.

16. Placenta is an essential commodity in this present situation of this country. Reasons why it's advisable to take urs home and bury it where know one will be able to dig out.

If an eveil friends gets hold of it, na confirm ritual oooooo or if that same placenta is used by witches and wizard,,omo,, na only God fit help that child oooo

17. I had my children in Nigeria and didn't take it home. No one mentioned it either. I think the hospital has a way of disposing it. It's a company hospital sha maybe that's why because everyone knows everyone

18. Even the white people have started eating their placenta by either cooking it or turning it into capsule
    Tonia

19. Cut mine in pieces and flushed it.

20. It's to bury it,that's if you're in Africa to avoid stories that touch.

21. Replies
    1. Iam so sorry! God will give you another child

2. God Almighty will bless you with double blessing that will last forever.

3. So sorry for your loss! Another will come and this time, will stay IJN, Amen.

22. Nawa oooo so many things am seeing here 😳😳

23. My husband buried it in an open soak away,it is advisable to bury it

24. I threw mine in the canal around my area. These days people avoid burying theirs for diabolical purpose. For my next baby maybe I will cut it to pieces and flush it