Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lawyer Whose Money Was STOLEN From His Wallet By Airport Official Writes FAAN

Thursday, December 30, 2021

Lawyer Whose Money Was STOLEN From His Wallet By Airport Official Writes FAAN

Nigerian Lawyer who was on his way to the UK was robbed in 'broad day light' at the International airport in Lagos......

This happens a lot and needs to be stopped.....

He wrote...

''Good day Sir/Ma,

My is Olakunle Tayo Fapohunda. 

I am a citizen of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. I travelled from the Murtala Mohammed Airport to Heathrow Airport on Wednesday 22 December 2021 via  Virgin Atlantic flight no. VS 412.

I passed through the scanner between 6.00am and 6.30am on that same day. I met two women who wore the Aviation Security uniform. The two women spoke Yoruba fluently. 

One is dark skinned and slim. She is not so tall. The other one is light skinned. I emptied my pockets in line with the policies and I put my wallet that was containing a sum of £1600 in the tray and I was asked to go back and bring out my second laptop which I had advertently left in my box.

I sought to get my wallet and other items and go back but the dark skinned lady asked me to leave them and just take the laptop alone back and scan. I obeyed and went back to get my item scanned. By the time it dawned on me that I had been robbed by this officer, I had boarded and it was too late for me to disembark.

I lost a sum of £400 to this thief and it is in light of this that I am reporting her activities and urging your office to order that the CCTV camera be replayed. It is my turn today but it would be another person's turn tomorrow. 

I urge you to please assist me through your good offices. I shall be willing and ready to answer your questions and queries. 

My details are as supplied below. My numbers are supplied below both in Nigeria and in the UK.

Thank you and please accept the assurances of my highest regards.

Olakunle Tayo Fapohunda''

26 comments:

1. The culture of impunity is ingrained in Nigerians. She thinks she is "making it."

1. They way they beg ehn, will tell you they will steal at the slightest opportunity. No dignity at all.

2. When I read some of this, I feel like transforming into Jack Bauer to fish out the thieves, parade and flog them.

Thieves in govt cloths.

2. Just imagine that rubbish,stealing on duty,denting the image of our dear country.

1. Lol @ your dear country.
      Corruption and theft that even starts with the law enforcement Agents!

3. shameless unprofessional people...till today I cannot account for what happened to a gold set some yeears back...I travelled with BA and I had that set in a small pouch in my luggage. they did their stupid luggage check at the departure hall, then at the boarding gate. they even took my suya i bought for 6k and kept in a corner that i could not carry it..lol..when I got to london I checked my luggage taya no gold, scattered every thing no gold...even when I was sure I carried it, I still asked my cousin to check the whole house back in naija for where?...only God knows who stole it, I regretted not just carrying it in my handbag....very annoying set of begy begy people

1. But there is no way you would be allowed to take suya though.. it's a meat product.

2. my husband brings suya all the time for me ..if its well cooked or fried it can go ..

3. No it can't - whether fried or not. Meat or meat products are not allowed from countries outside the EU. That he's been able to get away with it does not mean it's allowed. All the info is on gov.uk

4. I never put my valuables in that tray unless it's mandatory. Your eyes must be fully open during security screening, that was how my ipad was stolen at London heathrow some years ago, in that short interval.

I hope they apprehend these ladies. Wicked souls.

5. Na wa ooooo
    These people are just spoiling ourname anyhow

6. I don’t even talk to them; I’m always frowning… do this & they will be scared, cos they don’t know who u are

7. That's even if those security cameras with their poor resolution are still working 🙄 Its been awhile though... hopefully the cameras would have all been changed by now.

Sorry o... Mr Olakunle... I hope the women get caught and punished.

8. they are always begging too. I never give them money and I know they can never delay me because of where I work.

9. There are thieves everywhere at the airports. Horrible set of workers. There are too many tales of woe. That place needs to be overhauled

10. That's how they stole my gold necklace - a gift I got the night before my trip. I ran back and forth at the airport like a crazy person that day.

For first time in my life, I placed a curse on those who stole it and it will never be broken!

11. FAAN should please do the needful. I look forward to the positive outcome of this complaint.

12. Thanks so so much! I really appreciate this.

13. This man thinks the useless senior officials are better or that they are in the dark. Or that cctv is working or that the idiots care. Eyah! Oga abeg just forget the money, it has entered the voicemail called Nigeria o.

1. Left to people like you, nothing will change. Leave the man to pursue justice, we can't all be keeping silent when things go wrong.

14. The situation is quite unfortunate, but Mr Fapohunda is responsible for the loss of his money. He should have put his wallet in his hand luggage before the scanner, instead of leaving an open wallet with money to go through the scanner alone. Money gets stolen like this in airports all over the world, and the official manning the scanners should not be held responsible for passengers' carelessness. Another traveller could have taken the money as is sometimes the case. It was wrong of him to slander the 2 ladies by the scanner for his own mistake, because the ID of the thief is not certain.