Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Emirates Airline Suspends All Flights To Nigeria

Thursday, August 18, 2022

Emirates Airline Suspends All Flights To Nigeria

Emirates Airlines on Thursday said it would suspend its flight operations to Nigeria from September 1, 2022.

The flag carrier of the United Arab Emirates (UAE) disclosed this in a statement, blaming its decision on the inability to repatriate its earnings in foreign exchange from Nigeria.

This is coming about three weeks after the airlines appealed to the Minister of Aviation, Hadi Sirika, to support the repatriation of its revenue said to be $85 million. Nigeria is facing a forex exchange crisis and this has also affected the nation’s local currency — Naira — to depreciate against the dollar.

In a letter addressed to the minister and signed by Sheik Majid Al Mualla, Emirates airline’s Divisional Senior Vice-President (DSVP), International Affairs, Emirates said the planned reductions in its operations in Nigeria would take effect from August 15, 2022.

It stated that flights would be reduced from 11 per week to seven per week at the Murtala Muhammed International Airport (MMIA), Lagos.

“We have had no choice but to take this action, to mitigate the continued losses Emirates is experiencing as a result of funds being blocked in Nigeria,” the airlines said.

“As of July 2022, Emirates has US$ 85 million of funds awaiting repatriation from Nigeria. This figure has been rising by more than $US 10 million every month, as the ongoing operational costs of our 11 weekly flights to Lagos and 5 to Abuja continue to accumulate.”

Noting that the funds are urgently needed to meet its operational costs and maintain the commercial viability of its services to Nigeria, the airlines said it cannot continue to operate at the current level “in the face of mounting losses, especially in the challenging post-COVID-19 climate.”

It added, “Emirates did try to stem the losses by proposing to pay for fuel in Nigeria in Naira, which would have at least reduced one element of our ongoing costs, however, this request was denied by the supplier.

“This means that not only are Emirates’ revenues accumulating, we also have to send hard currency into Nigeria to sustain our own operation. Meanwhile, our revenues are out of reach, and not even earning credit interest.

“Your Excellency, this is not a decision we have taken lightly. Indeed, we have made every effort to work with the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) to find a solution to this issue. Our Senior Vice-President met with the Deputy Governor of the CBN in May and followed up on the meeting by letter to the Governor himself the following month, however, no positive response was received.

“Meetings were also held with Emirates’ own bank in Nigeria and in collaboration with IATA to discuss improving FX allocation, but with limited success. Despite our considerable efforts, the situation continues to deteriorate. We are now in the unfortunate position of having to cut flights, to mitigate against further losses going forward.”

It further asked the Nigerian government for support to address its financial constraint, said to be a primary issue to the airlines’ operations.

from ChanelsTV

22 comments:

1. Again and again! Kilonsele gangan

1. This is what happens,when you have bad governance. They cripple everything in their sight.

2. UNFORTUNATELY, WE HAVE ALL THESE USELESS SELFISH AND UNPATRIOTIC PEOPLE RUNNING THE BEAUTIFUL COUNTRY TO THE GROUND

2. 🚢‍♀️🚢🚢‍♂️

3. Sdk biko what is it with you and the funny dogs? Kai i don laugh tire.

i dont even bother to read the article sef.

I thank God all this is happening in Buhari era.

4. Hmmm so soon person no go fit see flight japka from this place if all these flight begin to suspend πŸ‘€
    God forbid ehh

5. Saaaai Baba
    Vote for Baba eternally

Ntoo

6. We asked voters to go back in history to read how Buhari destroyed Nigerian economy in the 80s. They refused. The fell for the propaganda of CHANGE. Everything that happened to Nigeria during his regime is happening again now. Nigerians sure know how to pick the worst of the worst to rule them.

7. Na auto pilot we dey so for this 9ja. If only God can HIMSELF help us remove Bubu from that seat he's occupying, we go get hope small

8. Emirates don see original Wotowoto

9. Hmm is well our Nigerian currency has really gone down ...God please restore our currency

10. Leading to jobs being furloughed or completely lost.....

11. #SackEmefiele #SackEmefiele