Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: ASUU And The Controversial 6 Months Salary On Demand...

Tuesday, September 06, 2022

ASUU And The Controversial 6 Months Salary On Demand...

31 comments:

1. I dont understand how this is an issue.
    If school resumes, will lecturers not cover up for the missed lectures?
    Will someone in 100L 1st semester just jump to 200L? No. The lecturers will cover up the syllabus.
    So if the payment of 6months salary is the only issue now, i see no issue here. Please pay up and let these students resume school for crying out loud!
    Sista Jane.

1. I disagree, they don't cover any "shishi"...they simply rush the rest of what's left. The students are the only ones at loss in all of this.

2. They don't cover nada

3. Cover up what? Rush to teach everything in one month or so. Pack handouts to students, when they don't do well in the exams, award like 20 marks or more to them so they can all pass. That's cover up?
      They should not pay them shishi! Let everybody stay at home!
      Pay them so the only people that lost will be the students? What did they (students) gain from being home for almost 7mths?
      Rent, wasted.
      Time, wasted.
      Asuu should getat abeg!

4. They should not pay them anything. These lecturers think they are irreplaceable, abi? E go shock all of una.

5. Have Nigerian lecturers ever cared for their students? Even when session is on,do they teach anything? Sometimes u get to see a lecturer twice or thrice in a session.The students are the ones suffering all these.Asuu is only fighting for their pockets,they don't care about the students.

2. The govt is bad and the lecturers are selfish too!

1. Government is bad but ASUU is TOO selfish!! 💯

2. Very selfish association, majority live in school quarters paying little or no money for rent. Majority of the students stay off campus paying so much annually without staying in rooms. Who will repay students for lost months.

3. I just wonder how long this will linger. Nawaa

4. Bashir, Aide to Buhari resigned to seek elective position. He is still receiving 800k salary.

Nigeria land of 2 sides of the coin.

1. My own take ehn... Everybody is bad o. Yes. Both FG and asuu. But if asuu wants to keep comparing everything to politicians, they should kuku resign and enter into politics. Simple! The incessant strikes is annoying.
      Come to ph and see their lecturers driving cabs. With jeeps o. Everybody go hungry, dem never know

2. Fidel God bless you, they should resign and join politics at least we are moving to election year and they can still buy their way in to get tickets for some post.

5. Their wahala sef don deh too much. Which one do they want ganganloke this! The pay they didn't work for or the major reason they went on strike in the first place.......
    Abeggi

6. I'm actually not in support of the govt o but then didn't they think of this before embarking on the useless strike?... They'll just wake up one day and decide whatever, when we all know how this present administration is.

7. These people should come to an agreement and stop dragging this for so long.

8. I just tire @prime lady

9. I support the government on this one.

10. But this is common sense na. If u don't pay them, who will? When they strike in sane countries, does that stop their salaries from being paid? I mean, govt workers

11. Kai,I pity one of my friend that her husband is a lecturer, to feed is a problem and she's almost due and her work place is owing her 3 months salary,thank God her parents are very supportive, not that they are rich but her parents are trying for them once in a while

12. I support government on this one, they shouldn't pay ASUU shishi, they're very selfish, they can't eat their cake and still have it.
    Let them suffer too for wasting the students time, next time they put other people into their consideration.
    Any little things, strike upon strike wasting those students times and years.

13. You do not deny workers their salaries because they went on strike, unless you are running a tyrannic government, not in democracy. Workers have the right to go on strike after they have used all other avenues to express their grievance and the government has refused to attend to the issues raised. That is why strike is always the last resort. Any government that insists on 'no work no pay' is indirectly saying that workers do not have any say on any matter; as they will prefer to just collect their salaries and manage whatever is available than go on strike and forfeit their salaries!

1. Like, I'm seriously shocked at the comments. The govt caused the strike. They have to pay them. My younger bro is at home due to the strike but u still have enough sense to know that strike or not, you pay these people their salary.

2. Thank you o. I no understand this kind twlk

14. When Two Elephants fight, it is the grass that will bear the brunt. I'm truly sick n tired of all these brouhaha. 😭

15. Las las na only students dey at lost

16. I don't get whose fault is it that they are on strike ..are you forgetting that ASUU members have children in universties too
    Are you forgetting that some ASUU members are also students of Postgraduate studies
    You think you can just wake up one morning to be a Prof
    Were there not several warnings before the strike
    Or you think ASuu has not been asked behind closed doors to forgo other demnads and get paid exxxxttrraaas
    Better shut and stop basking in ignorance
    You want your children to hurrily graduate without proper infrastructure...
    Some universities cannot boast of power supply even in 2022
    It has to be generator sets and solar that are being stolen by theives simply because no funds to even pay security
    Listen the day ASUU plays down every other demand and concentrate solely on their bellies trust me strike will end
    The govt has been selling rubbish propaganda that it is just the salary arrears meanwhile all demands, none not even one has been implemented
    Better say what you....negotiation since 2009.....but the academic staff despite the strike are carrying out different research...
    Nonsense

17. Oga Minister, you are the number one thief. Since thieves get paid for doing nothing. Can you enlighten us as to what you have done/ your contribution as a Minister in the Education sector that warrants you been paid such huge sum (more than even these lecturers you are castigating)?
    Your principal too is a thief because he is getting salary and allowances for doing absolutely nothing. See the state of security, health, economy under him. He has not rejected his salaries despite the killings of innocent Nigerians who he took oath to protect....let me rest here.