Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Sunday In House Gists - The Rising Cost Of Living And Its Effect On Your Household..

Sunday, December 18, 2022

Sunday In House Gists - The Rising Cost Of Living And Its Effect On Your Household..

Has the rising/risen cost of living in Nigeria (or in whichever Country you live in) affected your household in anyway or its OK?

Most women i asked say that their spending to run the household monthly has increased by 200 percent... 

What about the men who go to Market by themselves because they think their wives spend too much ? How they coping now?

How much has increased.?.. Someone says from 100k to 250k and i am like what are you buying? how can one spend that amount every month?

Lets gist!

41 comments:

1. Ya Rabbi is my sustainer. I have no complain whatsoever yes things are expensive but we do not lack Alhamdullilah once again.

1. JEWEL,please keep bringing up this topic and the one about pressure on singles to marry and also the reality of adoption.

See ehn, apart from your usual thousands of regular BVs, whole departments read your blog and share their experiences.

It helps to know that one is not alone in despair and depression.

Thank you for the platform. God bless, protect andprosper you and your generations unborn. AMEN

2. High cost of things is affecting me emotionally that I dread going to market. I don't price these days especially to all these market women that sells perishables cos I believe is from that they cater for themselves and family.
    Feeding shouldn't be this expensive we are not a war torn country presently.
    And when children are involved, parents, guardians are really trying now.

3. Things are extremely cost. Don't bother calculating things you are buying because the prices of commodities might have changed with 50%margin. Last month I bought spaghetti a cartoon for 6800 as God will have it goes for 7500. It is under must for humans to feed and children nko, those ones don't joke with food. I had to change out cereal to pap, no more beverage for now. Though once in while when the protest is too much we do tea and bread.

Stella feeding in Nigeria this period is not easy na managing everybody dey do. Once I give my kids food and they tell they aren't okay, I just tell them to drink water.

4. Things are very expensive in naija right now but God is still king as he keep providing for his children. Monthly or daily expenses has increased so badly from what we usually spend.

Before now you can make pot of soup, stew with just 5k but right now 5k cannot make such anymore. Kilo of meat is 3k, kilo of fish is 2k200. If you buy a kilo of meat what is left to buy all the soup things.

5. Are things no expensive in Germany? Things are expensive all over the world right now. No country is exempt. A lot are living from pay check to pay check.

1. You people are quick to mention other countries like u don't know their minimum wage makes it a bit easier to manage plus govt steps in from time to time. Did things also increase in those countries by over 250%?

Dunno who started this myth that most ppl living abroad live paycheck to paycheck, even the small Portugal wey we dey, most of us are not living like that.

2. Eka,the cost of living in the UK has doubled. Go to African shop everything has doubled in price and reduced in quantity, sky bill has increased, council tax has increased, phone bill increased, rent increased, super market- milk, eggs, rice, cereal, bread etc has increased. Groundnut oil increased from £5 to £12.

Let me not talk about mortgage o. First time buyers cannot buy properties for now, interest rate is now over 6% from 2%. Landlords have also been forced to increase rent.

So the anon is right, people abroad may not struggle like those in Nigeria but if you were able to save £800 before, now you will save half or less just an example.

Energy bill nko? That one has trippled. Mind you the government doesn't support every one, they focus on low income earners.

It is can never be as bad as Nigeria I agree but it Is raining everywhere.

3. Eka most people live pay check to pay check. As you live there longer, you’ll see more things

4. There's nothing to see clearly, if na curse, take am back. My husband has been here for 7 years and it keeps getting easier and easier as u progress. Maybe ur circle is the problem.

5. Eka you misunderstood
      I’ll never wish you evil
      I’m saying you’ll see more about how others are living
      As a newbie, you don’t yet know all that’s happening.... just believe me on this one

6. Reminds me of the formula 0 1 0 / 1 0 0 era in the early 90's in Nigeria, meaning skip breakfast, eat lunch and no supper. God help us all.

7. It is well.
    Before my husband use to give me money for food monthly but I complain and tell him to increase it because it is not enough, even after adding some money from my pocket. He refused so we started doing PAY AS YOU GO for food. Now that he is bringing money daily he understands better what I was complaining about. I pray I get good business so I can support him better because it is not easy on him at all.

1. Pay as you eat🤣

2. Buying in bulk will be more economical. Pay as you go means you can't guarantee how much an item you paid 1k for yesterday will cost today. May God help us all.

3. No be person wey get bulk money go buy bulk. Nigeria will be better whether the enemy likes it or not! In Jesus name o! Amen.

8. Prices of commodities have increased and it affects everybody,my family is a family of 5,can you imagine how much I spend on golden morn,milk,milo, indomie every week for my 3kids? Can they do without these things especially now that they're on holiday sometimes you see yourself spending almost 180k,may God help us

1. You should think about buying a 50kg sack of milk.
      That's what my family uses. Lasts for months.

9. I find the price of veggies extreme. I am not used to paying so much for vegetables. I am not a big meat person, but the cost of salmon is through the roof. Some of these basic foods don turn luxury. Folks are still enjoying life. I got invited to two Christmas parties, but opted not to attend due to the flu going around and needing to travel. Went to a church function this week now that I arrived my destination, and loads of food for everyone to get seconds. My parents still spending big for Christmas feast. We are far from rich, but we only got one life and we can't chew the money, so we will eat, drink, and be merry this holidays. And I will make some donations, cause I can't take it with me either, and I know not the hour, so some ppl will get money they were not expecting this holidays.

I ain't gonna stress my head in this here world. Cause Satan and his cohorts trying to steal joy and make ppl angry at God. If you can't do it alone pool with others and make your Christmass shopping happen. God's ppl must survive with a heart full of happiness.

10. We are surviving by innate intelligence, and strategic planning made possible by the Holy Spirit oo😂😂🤦. You need premium quality shock absorber to keep going in this country. I was shook when my husband came home with a crate of eggs for #2,900. Eggs of that year that was #750 and we were shouting. Is it vegetables like ugu and fresh pepper? Those ones are gold now. We have started improvising to save costs. Before now, we favoured semo/ pounded yam over eba in my home. Infact, my children didn't know what eba was. Now, we eat it and give God all the glory for enabling us afford it sef. Is it rice abi gas? A kilo of meat is at 3k. When we first moved into our estate about 2yrs ago, there was always a kiddies birthday party to attend. Infact, it was like a competition amongst the parents. Now, nobody see road see party again😂😂. God no go shame us for this country

1. I bought the mayonnaise (Bama) that I will use for Christmas since September at #2500😂 As I said, strategic planning 😉 Chai!! This country don turn nwa baby to another thing oo

2. If you have a flower bed, plant ugu and pepper in them. I don't understand how veggies like Ugu, waterleaf, pepper etc that can grow like weed in the east is so expensive. Is it a transport problem? Cashew trees used to grow by the roadside in parts of Enugu State. Expensive food in some parts of the country are being wasted and dumped by farmers in other parts of the country because of how difficult it is to transport their produce to the market in need of them.

11. I really can't continue feeding my husband when kids are involved...I am thinking of divorcing him. Price of things are extremely draining

1. Madam calm down. We know things are not easy. Be a little more patient. God will come through for you.

12. I haven't been to the market in a long time. I just give out money for people to get me things and don't bother about calculation. Yesterday my grandpa gave me 100k to buy 2bags of rice and some other things. Infact I added my own 40k and when I got home I still calculated and calculated. My younger sister that was around was just laughing at me. I now imagine a large family n how they survive. Shamsham I no dey stay here again. Hian

13. Its by the grace of God.

14. Na God dey help us now ooo.Alot of cut off,no more juice to school,cereal is once In a while,tea is when it is really necessary.we do more of real food now because all those snacks are expensive and after one hour,another good will be requested for.It is well!

15. Na God hand we dey. It is really worrisome that standard of living has gone so high. My family is 5 we spend over 150k for feeding a month and this is -cereals and bread I will still buy after stocking the house. Each time I go to the market my heart bleeds, I keep saying what of those who earn minimum wage of 30k and have same family size how do they cope?

16. Honestly it's not easy but God is faithful.
    Expenses has tripled but income is still the same,I replace some products with affordable and cheaper ones.

17. Things are really expensive but God has been kind.

18. God comes through for us. Im the one who normally goes to the market and my wife is very okay with that. So she had no idea how expensive things currently are. The day she went to the market and did shopping, she came back home like a dog that just finished acting in a horror movie. She couldn't believe the price of things.
    This government is a curse. Anyone who plans to vote for this same party is cursed as well.

19. Foodstuffs are now very expensive.probably it could be the flood contributed to this.but seriously,at this point, Nigerians are suffering.

20. Everything is just so expensive now. Food , even everything in the £shop is now more than £1. What I'm really scared of is my gas and electricity bills. Heating is on all day. It is freezing cold here. I can't afford for my children to get respiratory illnesses. If it's just me I can manage without the heating during the day. Cost of electricity and gas has tripled since April. God help us.

1. Exactly, everything is expensive and prices have gone up. It is extremely cold and one has to put on the heating make person no go catch pneumonia.

21. Na God hand we dey o,it's no longer funny but we move

22. It's not been easy but God has been great.

23. I now before you God who is making it possible for us to feed it's only God's Grace

24. God has been coming through for me. Sometimes I am in shock when I think about it. I manage and I don't know how. God is great indeed. 💪🏽 Thank you Jesus! 🙏🏾

25. My wife left me cos of this harsh situation.😭