Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: US Slams Visa Ban On Nigerians Undermining Democracy

Thursday, January 26, 2023

US Slams Visa Ban On Nigerians Undermining Democracy

Be care of your stand and what you post on the social media concerning the democratic process in Nigeria because 'Big brother' is watching you....

The United States on Wednesday announced visa restrictions on specific individuals in Nigeria and said those affected undermined the democratic process in a recent election.

The recent electoral race in the country were the governorship polls in Anambra, Ekiti and Osun States.
A statement by Secretary of State Anthony Blinken, reiterated the commitment of the U.S. to supporting and advancing democracy in Nigeria and around the world.

“Today, I am announcing visa restrictions on specific individuals in Nigeria for undermining the democratic process in a recent Nigerian election.”

Under Section 212(a)(3)C) of the Immigration and Nationality Act, the individuals will be found ineligible for visas to America.

Blinken noted that certain family members of such persons may also be subject to these restrictions.

“Additional persons who undermine the democratic process in Nigeria—including in the lead-up to, during, and following Nigeria’s 2023 elections—may be found ineligible for U.S. visas under this policy,” he said.

Blinken clarified that the latest visa restrictions targets only certain persons and are not directed at the people or the government.

“The decision to impose visa restrictions reflects the commitment of the United States to support Nigerian aspirations to combat corruption and strengthen democracy and the rule of law,” the official concluded.

from daily post

8 comments:

1. Now this brings us back to the warning BV XP gave a certain bv for seeing nothing wrong in hushpuppies action. These ppl dnt joke with anything corruption and democracy. Let’s be guided on what we put out there, forget this annonymous rubbish, if they face you squarely u can be fished out. For those of us already in the diaspora, our families fit pay for crime wey dey no sabi. May God guide us all. Amin

2. @ Anon 8.03 The problem is that Nigerians knows NO better when it comes to corruption. IS ALL ABOUT MONEY. No moral compass or substance as you are only being idolized and praised to the high heaven as long as you have money and It doesn’t matter how you get the money. They fall on the floor for someone that has money than they do for someone that is intellectually competent. What a messy society! ONLY IN NIGERIA!!!! A screwed up country!! #SMH

3. @ Anon 8.03 The problem is that Nigerians knows NO better when it comes to corruption. IS ALL ABOUT MONEY. No moral compass or substance as you are only being idolized and praised to the high heaven as long as you have money and It doesn’t matter how you get the money. They fall on the floor for someone that has money than they do for someone that is intellectually competent. What a messy society! ONLY IN NIGERIA!!!! A screwed up country!! #SMH

1. Ones they relocate to the USA they stop commenting,it's what I noticed about bvs,then means they are all scared of being monitored by authorities in the USA

4. Na them Sabi.
    Not everybody is eager to travel to their Country or Abroad. If not for these present condition this Country in for, some people wouldn't reasons to japa from here .

5. https://www.stelladimokokorkus.com/2022/11/viral-video-of-jailed-fraudster.html?m=1

This is the hush puppy post Anon 8:03, I googled it.
    Eka joy change your ways