Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria's Supreme Court Orders Old Naira Notes To Be Legal Tender Till December 31st

Friday, March 03, 2023

Nigeria's Supreme Court Orders Old Naira Notes To Be Legal Tender Till December 31st

The Supreme Court on Friday ordered that the old naira notes must remain in circulation till December 31 ,2023.

The apex court ordered the Central Bank of Nigeria CBN to allow both the old naira notes and the new ones to circulate side by side till the end of the year.

All directives issued by President Muhammadu Buhari in respect of the naira re-designing and circulation were voided and set aside on grounds of illegalities and abuse of executive powers.

The apex court took a swipe at President Buhari for disobeying its interim order of February 8 to the effect that the old naira is allowed to be in circulation.

Justice Emmanuel Akomaye Agim held that the President exhibited and took the disobedience to the highest peak with his broadcast of February 16 in which he allowed only N200 notes alone.

from dailypost

39 comments:

1. May anything like PMB never happen to Nigeria again.

1. His policies are good for Nigeria in the long run but bad for the common man in the short run.Nigerians only think about now now and that is the problem.

2. The poor celebrated the dummy move because it was supposed to make the rich uncomfortable. They didn't remember that like during the lockdowns, the people that will suffer are the the same poor and the businesses that will wither are their small businesses. How did the expected discomfort of billionaires shorten queues at the bank or filling station?

The day you choose to respond rather than react, the sooner you graduate from the kenimani trap that keeps one poor.

2. Shaking my head!
    We have very confused set of leaders!
    Always we await pres. Buhari's response

3. After all the suffering and all, to what end??? Let CBN not come out and say otherwise though.

4. It was their plans all along, na God for heaven go judge una for bringing such suffering and hardship on Nigerians.

1. All his plan was to get people to hate APC more so that Tinubu will lose the election and he failed

5. Side eyes, unless you get clean crispy version of old notes, I nor dey collect dirty notes for my shop because dem dey infectious. Covid-19 still dey out there.

6. But El-rufai said they have burnt the old #500 and #1000 notes. So what are they pushing back into the society. Nigerians know how to enable bad behavior sha. Imagine APC winning, with all the suffering they have put is through.

1. Lie less. El Ruffai made it very clear that me Emefiele was lying when he claimed the old notes were destroyed as there wasn't a single confiscated "old" note that was destroyed by the CBN or mint till date. If data is the problem, you can always get the speech in text.

7. This news dey vex me
    After all the suffering
    People lost their lives in this course
    We are just like basketball that they can play back and forth any time they like...
    God ll judge this government

8. Why maje people suffer when you know we will still spend the old notes?
    Some people died because of this issue of new notes.
    God arise in your power and punish all the evil leaders in Nigeria....

9. Confused set of people.
    After suffering people making ones who didn't deposit their old naira to spend it below amount you have at.( Imagine buy #200 plastic coke for a #1000) God will judge them all!

1. He will judge you first for not depositing when you were asked to

2. 😄😄😄

3. I thought you prime said it was Dangote, Otedola and Ibeto that would suffer and it was great to do before elections. In looking to pull down the rich, the poor always suppress themselves. Stabbing yourself and expecting someone else to bleed out. Jokers.

10. This is their plan all along. We masses don really suffer.

11. Supreme Court is overreaching

12. I don’t even care about their scam anymore. Just let my parents and siblings have easy access to their money abeg, whether old or new

13. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
    Aswear naija can make one lose his/her mind.

14. This will ease the suffering of the masses

15. I am sure the diversion and chaos was created for a reason. How much money was siphoned away in the pockets and bank accounts of those who created the chaos? A very simple and effective strategy that cannot be tracked even by the efcc.

1. Na you sabi the matter pass! They’ve stolen money

16. Just imagine, after all the suffering they allow us to go through.
    I hope they make our money easily accessible to us now

17. A lot of Nigerians are uninformed and hypocritical.I thought you lot were celebrating the policy as an antidote to vote buying just before the election.Now that the outcome of the election has humbled a lot of people,they are singing a different tune.The truth is currency swap cannot be implemented at the ridiculous timeframe proposed by the CBN.The push was politically motivated and it is no surprise that the Supreme court saw through the ruse.Now that the party is over, President Buhari should comply with the judgement immediately.As for Emefiele,if he has any modicum of shame,he should publicly apologize to Nigerians for the needless pains this singular policy has inflicted on us.He should then dishonourably resign before the incoming administration of the president -elect,Bola Tinubu, shoves him out of the bus.

1. Receive wisdom! People rejoiced because they thought it will stop the thieves from buying votes we didn't know they had plan b. It didn't humble people so just stop! Buhari just punished people for nothing hence the frustration.

2. I didn't support Tinubu or vote for him but the strange attraction the poor have for suffering baffled me the past few days. Borrowed money was squandered on a recoloring exercise for absolutely no reason and people thought that the three major candidates who have access to banks would be short of cash? Did they also follow you to queue at banks for five thousand while wearing the watch they've owned for 17 years and carrying their bag? In destroying the suffering of others, the poor sheets suffer more. Ask Modi about this same silly tactic in India.

18. Thank God
    But I have. Already spent all my money