Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Sunday In House Gists - Men Who Shop For Household Items

Sunday, April 02, 2023

Sunday In House Gists - Men Who Shop For Household Items

Are you married to a man who does the shopping at home? Or are you dating one who wont let you do the shopping but prefers to go?

Are you one of the wife's or girlfriends who enjoys having a man who loves to shops or does so because he thinks you have increased the price of items? back in the days, my papa used to shop for food items by himself and he used to take my along most times.. My papa could beat down any price with gisting.....

I would stand and watch the seller agree to his price after they had gisted and laughed for a long time..... Things are different in the part of the World where almost everything has a fixed price.... However if i see opportunity to price what i want to buy eh, i can frustrate the seller with pricing.. LMAO!!

Are you dating or married to a man who knows his way around in the Market place? He can buy all foodstuff better than you? Is he doing it because he is trying to manage the money or because he loves doing it? My hubby agrees to go shopping but he will come back with what you did not send him, in fact we always argue anytime he comes back so i have learnt to go shopping and not involve him unless he is going to buy certain things.....

What's your situation?

Lets gist!

47 comments:

1. I’m married to man who loves to buy house stuffs by himself, I appreciate it because he buys more quality things than me🌷

1. Me too, all market and shopping runs is done by hubby. I am grateful for that, he would even cook at times.

2. That’s my dad
      He loves quality, if you like tell
      Him he is being cheated , he loves to see what he is buying.
      But I love that my hubby doesn’t do that o, I must “chop” the extra money 🀣

Push up (original)

3. Dated one. He could prize and get the best deals. I would just be looking at him with corner eye, because he was way better at shopping than myself. I appreciated that in him because I saw it as a plus and a good thing, which it was.

2. I find it weird when I see married men at the farmers market buying foodstuffs, soup ingredients and the likes.

3. I see nothing wrong in a man buying or shopping for the house most especially when it's a bulk purchase. It doesn't mean there's no trust on the wife.

It could be a way of trying to lessen the stress and burden on his wife.

But those little things like meat, fish, etc as in those spices and condiment, a man shouldn't be doing that.

I can understand for a bag of rice, tubers of yams, beans, and other large quantities of foodstuff but those little ones is a NO for me.

1. Really??? Men shouldn't be buying meat etc why please? What of the butchers in the market that use some of their proceeds to buy stuffs for the house including fish and condiments, does it make them less of a man? Thank you

2. Nonyelum,

I didn't say a man shouldn't buy meat or fish at all rather I said, he shouldn't be doing that, meaning or implying not all the time.

Sorry if I didn't put it in a better way for you to understand.

3. Which one is men shouldn't buy all these little things. The thing about marriage s that what works for one couple, may not work for another. However, it's always good to let go of certain beliefs when it comes to marriage if you desire a truly happy and peaceful home

4. Teejay my brother I disagree with you ooo on this spices of a thing. As a single guy I do shopping myself including those spices you see but my ladies as suprise when they wan do cookings as seeing all spices available at home so in essence there's nothing wrong in there married men buying it also for their wife

5. My husband doesn’t do it. And I like it that way. He sends my monthly house money and I buy what we need. My friends husband on the other hand buys every single foodstuff. He is very tight fisted and doesn’t want to bring out a dime for her. She says it’s ok as long as he is buying them. He could have left her to use her money so for that she is grateful.

6. The one I was talking about up πŸ‘†πŸΎ there did it, and did it so well. What is there in a man buying fish and meat biko? He beat me hands down. Definitely not common. Nothing that man no sabi buy. In fact I learnt some stuff from him.

4. My wife hates going to the market. Consequently, i have to be the one going to the market. She appreciates it. I don't do it because I want to save money. I'm not the bargaining type. But I'm conversant with all the markets in my location and the prices of most things. My wife as of last week, thought that a carton of super pack indomie still costs 3600. Until i told her it is 6800 now. She was shocked beyond her feet.

In effect, every marriage has its own peculiar Dynamics. What matters is that the couple understand, stand by and work with each other. May God help us in our homes.

1. Amen dear

2. Well done sir. My prayer for you is that you reap the rewards of all your efforts. And trust me your kids are learning from you. God bless you.

5. I'm married to a man who loves to do the family shopping. He gives me money for family upkeep but that doesn't stop him from still shopping for the home.. its hus own way of supporting. He knows things are expensive and the money he gives for upkeep may not be enough, so he does the shopping, whenever he feels like.

6. I prefer when my husband buys it. He'd buy what we need without pinching money unlike giving a certain sum that might not even be enough. Abeg make he DEY go the market, it works for us that way and I like it

7. If a man does it for cutting cost or waste, then it's toxic. Despite her doing the shopping as usual, I mostly shop for home items because the markets are not in the same place, I always buy in bulk, I always buy new stuff I might want to try, I remember more what is needed and don't like going home empty handed most times. But when I'm home, I don't go shopping, no matter how urgent it may be.

8. I would like a man that does the shopping. Some women likes shopping so that they can save some money for themselves or for dry season

9. Na me dey do that one ooooo.. I buy things cheaper than my wife sef cuz I sabi price baaje.. I was even the one who showed her where to get things whenever I'm not available to go.

Every home has its way of making it work.

We move

1. Abi! Just like my ex. Well done sir.

10. Abeg I prefer my husband buying things from the market for us. Ejighi afufu anya isi. Who walking around in the market help?

11. We dey run am anyhow, whoever is less busy does the shopping, although I do 70% of the time.
    If he's going by the market and thinks we need anything, he stops to get them.

12. My husband do the shopping when he is less busy, he knows how to negotiate price very well, and he always buy in excess of the list.

13. My husband buys everything in the house. He goes to the farmers market and buys meat and other condiments in large quantity. He also buys groceries too. Sometimes I won't enter market for 6months.

I prefer it this way cos na him get him money. When e finish, he'll start coming back home. He might give me 100k and expect me to bring the whole market back whereas that is money for just meat. It's been working for us well for more than 3yrs. I prefer it that way.

The downside is he doesn't give me home allowance again

14. I am married to a man who doesn't like market runs, but helps me with it because he knows I hate doing the monthly shopping πŸ›’. I only branch if I have to buy few things like moimoi leaves, vegetable and other little things. If it's bulk buying, I'll rather do a supposedly harder chore than market runs.
    Twins ♊ Squared

15. My colleague does the shopping, when e wan buy plenty things e go carry market bag come from home once we cloSe oga done enter market.e say na grandma e grow with so market and cooking no be big deal for am.I doubt if the wife goes to the market

16. My husband's hobby is cooking so it's only normal that he buys the stuff he needs himself. He doesn't even bother telling me he will branch to the market from work. All the mama in the market love himπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ and some even propose to be his second wife. Honestly, am so grateful for this bcos only God knows how I take dislike market. We often cook together as a family( with our boys) and weekends are my favorite bcos we know it's delicacy time. It's obvious our kids took their father's love for kitchen affairs and am so happy. Tomorrow, somebody's daughter will appreciate them too.

1. Awww, I love stories of happy homes........ 😊

17. My husband's hobby is cooking so it's only normal that he buys the stuff he needs himself. He doesn't even bother telling me he will branch to the market from work. All the mama in the market love himπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ and some even propose to be his second wife. Honestly, am so grateful for this bcos only God knows how I take dislike market. We often cook together as a family( with our boys) and weekends are my favorite bcos we know it's delicacy time. It's obvious our kids took their father's love for kitchen affairs and am so happy. Tomorrow, somebody's daughter will appreciate them too.

18. My husband will not enter market or go shopping for me even if you offer him a million dollar. He detest shopping. He can help with other things (clean house, cook, help arrange what I bought) but to step his foot inside market, Lai Lai. Even if I beg am, he will tell me I will do any other thing but shopping.

1. Well, it is not every man's cup of tea, but it is good he still pitches in other ways...........

19. Over a decade of marriage, I can count the number of times my husband has gone to the market or go shopping. He dislikes it. Help me at home? No way.
    Me I don carry my cross.

1. Hope you have house helps or relatives who assist you? Kudos for making it work. πŸ™ŒπŸΎ

20. My husband too buys the household stuff it's a good thing. Market wahala is too much. Mile 12 in Lagos no b beans

21. I do the shopping most of the time. But hubby can buy one or two things and mostly provisions when he is coming back.

Buy these days, going to the market is depressing to me.

22. We both do shopping,sometimes I may not feel like going to market,he helps me a lot,I remember when I was pregnant,I never stepped market till I delivered.
    It depends on understanding, sometimes we stroll to market together and buy stuff for the house.

23. My sister's intended is a deals hunter, so he gets a high from finding a good deal. He loves to shop

24. Anybody who is free goes to do the shopping or we do it together. When’s he going alone, I give him list to buy and then he adds other things if he thinks we need them.

1. Same here. When I was in Nigeria,I used a shopper. Now in UK hubby does most of the shopping.

25. My husband buys once in a while. I like when he shops because he buys in bulk. Plenty meat, vegetables and fruits but ne I like to do alaroro.

26. My Dad bought most things at home, Meat, Food stuffs in bag, Provisions until his passing my mum was shocked at the cost of tin milk and milo. Mum only bought vegetables and spices but Tomatoes every other were bought by Dad.

He doesn't go to the market par say, This elderly women do bring it for him, he supports their business that way. Keep resting Daddy Dearest!!! You are greatly missed