Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Big Bother Star Tochi Talks About What Nigerians Do To People They Employ

Friday, May 05, 2023

Big Bother Star Tochi Talks About What Nigerians Do To People They Employ

Big brother star Tochi posted something you may have to agree or disagree with....

18 comments:

1. He didn't lie, though this is not applicable to all employers.

1. I really disliked working for naija companies back then. And they always got an attitude when I asked for a full JD because
      That meant I couldn’t wear many hats. I still wore the many hats T the end of the day Cus n fam friend help me find the job and I didn’t wanna disappoint

2. Omo tell them oo wicked users

3. That's what happened when I was working in a hotel as a receptionist. I will be cleaner in the morning, receptionist in the evening, waitress on Sunday and Monday, popcorn seller during weekends. Madam go carry insult come, Oga go carry threats join, him brother Kenechukwu Unachukwu go carry sexual harassment gum body.
    Tinas Hotel,e no go better for una I suffered, no time to even find something chop. I lean like skeleton, black like charcoal,..
    All these on top how much? 25K

4. He is right though, but everyone is not the same, most people are treated with dignity too.

5. He is right. But it's not all employers.

6. you talk am correct but some people dey like lick yansh for their oga just to chop free food.

1. Do you think if those "some people" have choice they will continue licking the 'yansh'? Na Naija we dey oo. It's survival of the fittest out here

7. Nigeria needs a real Labor Department to specify & ensure implementation of decent minimum wage, breaks, & benefits. There should be penalties for violations with random audits to protect workers. Many of the so called "rich" only think they are because of cheap labor. Try paying $4k/ month to a driver, $5k/month to a full time live-in maid/chef/cook with health & other benefits to know if you are rich!

Many western Millionaires don't have personal drivers but there are successful private limousine companies in every city. Cops aren't allocated to so called "rich/VIPs", discriminating with taxpayer money on who needs more security while the masses have none but there are several private security firms. If you are truly "rich" why do taxpayers need to fund your security when you are not a governor or president!

Do we see Beyoncé, JayZ, Oprah etc with taxpayer paid cops? Pay local equivalents of living wages to your staff if you are “rich” else you are perpetuating the cycle of poverty. If your employees cannot rent a small space not too far from your business or afford a used car after a few years while you have 5/6 of the most expensive cars, you are just exploitative while complaining about looters in government. Labor laws ensure you do not have to work in a big named corporation to earn industry competitive salaries. Working in Chevron or Mobil or Apple is good but not the huge deal it is in 🇳🇬 in the US, many large & medium companies pay better! Maids charge living wages to clean your house, own their cars & you cannot have your maid work 18 “slavery" hrs with pittance as wages! A job needs a job description so you cannot hire a PA and use her as cook, nanny, personal shopper while paying her for just one job.

The reason many who japa can send money to relatives immediately even with low skilled nurse aid job is the labor laws on minimum wage and it’s enforcement. It’s not left to individual whims and you cannot owe salaries! Many pay their maid the equivalent of one meal at a good restaurant. We need to do better as a people. Those in goverment are from the populace so if we dehumanize our domestic staff with verbal, emotional and physical abuse as depicted in most Nollywood movies online, how can we expect a humane government? Some leave their underpaid driver in the car at 89°F to wait for hours while they are in an air conditioned building with a lobby he can sit in! Let’s treat each other humanely!

1. This is another reason to japa. Ur taxes may not be high but Trust me you’re still paying for it one way or the other. Be it with your time, peace of mind, safety, dignity, even health. Life has a way of balancing itself out.

8. Most religious and fill up the church pews everyday, yet treat their workers like the sand under their feet.

1. They are a damn disgrace.

9. God bless you anonymous 14:00. I used to ponder about these things and jump to conclusion that we are a religious but Godless people who don't have conscience.

10. True!
    Teachers are not left out.