Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Saturday In House Gists -Biggiest Culture Shock You Experienced/ Heard Of

Saturday, November 11, 2023

Saturday In House Gists -Biggiest Culture Shock You Experienced/ Heard Of

Some things will shock about some cultures in Nigeria..... 

I didnt sleep for days when i found out some cultures force wives of dead men to drink water used to bath the dead to show that they didnt kill him......

Lets gist!!

72 comments:

1. The one about some South-South states where they ask a man who did not pay their daughter's bride price to marry her corpse if she dies while living in his house.

1. Some south-west States also practice this.

2. Please kindly point out exactly where in South West. The state and the town or village please.

3. Anne K, please which of the south Western states? Never heard of it around me, but of course we learn everyday.

4. Baberic culture is every where but you won't know until you become a victim. That is why we have make enquires b4 getting mariied

5. Smelling, primitive culture that is of no use to man. Who drinks the bathing water if a dead man???
      When you are not mad.
      I hope they also ask men to drink the water of their dead wives too.
      Yeye dey stink.

2. The first time I came to Lagos and saw Yoruba people eating eba with stew in their soup, I was thoroughly shocked because I had never seen such all my life before that time. But now I do it too and I enjoy it sef.

1. The post is about culture shock. What you talked about is one of the finest things in life. Stay on topic.

Eba and soup with stew... Hmmmm!!!!

2. DA that was a culture shock yo her
      Same with seeing people put “broom” inside soup… ewedu

3. Eeem what is wrong with that? Why cohabit with someone instead of marrying them. Furthermore they might have children and the man might contest where the woman might be buried. There’s a lot involved so I don’t understand why you should be shocked.

4. Is it normal to marry a corpse @16:45? As in dead body?
      If it is to you, it is still not normal to me
      it was a shock to me as I viewed those that did it back then as abnormal.

5. Also forming I sabi. Sabinus. Who are you to tell somewhat their culture shock should be. That was how you were contesting someones dealbreakers.
      A for Audacity.
      Abeg gett.out.

3. I saw one on IG last month. It was a screenshot from X. According to the tweep, he wrote that in the northern part of Nigeria. If you're eating in a restaurant or "mama put" and you drink water. The almajiris will carry your food because they will assume you're full.

I was gobsmacked. Like what??? I can't get the thought out of mind.

So, someone like me that drink water in between food nko???

1. That's totally not true! The almajiri never do that.

2. I doubt the authenticity of what you heard, have never seen not heard

3. That is patently untrue.

4. I spent few months in the north this year but didn't experience this....na the person know where E go chop oo😂😂

5. Maybe the person went to chop in one ghetto roadside canteen. I didn't see almajiris hanging around standard restaurants in the places I visited in the north, let alone entering inside and touching anything

6. Faithful it's inside village my brother served in the North I think Kano & he said so too but I think it's a cultural thing rather it's abject poverty.
      The most complex B

7. In my place if a woman you have been cohabiting with dies in your house whether she has given birth to children in your house or not you will marry her dead body

4. I went for a burial where people were putting money (cash) inside the grave of the person being buried, so that the person can use it.
    I was shocked to see this.

1. One burial a friend attended at Anambra state,the woman was buried with Gold, everything was Gold and in the night thieves came and dig everything out.

5. Some culture will force or tell the woman to marry her late husband's brother, either older brother or younger brother. Some women with the support of her family has the right to reject the offer.

1. During a quarrel, a husband cannot say he wants to divorce his wife, if he says such, he must not eat her food or sleep with her, until cleansing with a big goat is done, otherwise he will die if he eats her food or sleep with her after the quarrel.

2. A woman cannot be buried in her husband's house, she must be returned home to her people. But if her children want to bury their mother in their father's house, they must buy her body from her people and it's usually very expensive rites.

3. White/Albino snails are not eaten, they are forbidden. They belong to the gods of the land. During this raining season, see huge white snails everywhere.

4. If a woman commits adultery, she must confess to her husband, otherwise her children will start to sick and die and if the man eats her food, he will become sick and die. If she confesses, she will be stripped naked by the female elders, devil beans will be rubbed all over her body, she will carry calabash on her head and the rest of the women will follow her round the village, singing songs of shame.

One lady commited adultery in the UK because her husband was cheating to the extent of sleeping with her own sister, when her husband came home to report her, he didn't told the elders what he did to push the woman to cheat. When the woman came and narrated everything, they waived the penalties and instead fined the man. The expenses for the cleansing rites performed on the woman was fully paid by the man. And he was warned never to divorce or maltreat the woman or else the gods will visit him in the UK. The wife's sister that he cheated with was stripped naked, told to dance round the village. It was a sight to behold.

5. pls.mention the parts of Nigeria where they practice all you listed, for the sake of our children

6. That should be ibegwu issue in igala land ,, especially ogugu land where you can't give money to your parents without your husband's permission,or if your sister wear your clothes even if it's ordinary sleepers to visit her boyfriend, you have to go for cleansing else it means you cheated and evil will befall the person, also if a woman dies her husband needs to sleep with another woman that night to chase off the spirit of his dead wife , igala tradition tire person, also family planning is a taboo in some parts of igala land, if you must do it, you must first of all do one ritual before you can do it and you must not use your husband's money to do it

1. This is similar to what I heard about a place in Benue called Obadigbo

2. 😫😩 Ha, this culture na helele o
      What!!!

3. The one about family planning is not applicable in my own part of Igala land. Women in my place do family planning abeg. The only thing forbid is abortion without the husband's knowledge.

4. Wow....I'm an igala girl from ibaji but I'm hearing this for the first time...

5. Cultural misogyny and toxicity

6. In short everything you listed is practiced by the Ogugus. Their culture is extreme and we the "front" Igalas do not marry them.

7. Have u noticed one thing? All this culture is surrounded around women just because men are more powerful!
      Thank God man no be God

8. No, na today you dey know that one???
      Even from childhood I could clearly see the instance.
      I'm yet to hear of a man drinking the bathing water of his wife's corpse.
      So called culture sef that is so backward and primitive.

7. Make we read gist o. My culture too simple for this kain thing.

8. In my place first daughter are not allow to marry. They prefer them to go out side get pregnant and bring the baby home. OGONI
    2. In some place in bayelsa went there daughter ( marry one's) you have to bring the corpe home they are not allow to be buried in there husband home .

1. Only if there's no male child.

2. Good afternoon great people of SDKSphere.
      Please I need help boss Martins or anyone please.
      I noticed I can't make a comment since Monday or thereabout, it will show "failed to publish comment, try again later". But when I comment as a reply to another person's comment, it gets published.
      That's why all my comments this week has been as a form of reply to a comment made by another bv.
      Is there a fix for this?

3. My dear even went there is a male child dear.

4. That’s barbaric!!

Sluttychic.

9. My culture,commit adultery and face the consequences .

10. The culture that shocked me then was a widow not allowed to eat anything cooked Durning burial rites of the husband..... She is not allowed also to have a taste of anything used during burial .drinks, food items, water etc things are gotten seperately for her.

1. Yes I saw it in Awka

2. Yes, Akoko epinmi
      my mom didn’t eat anything during my dad’s burial, no going for any celebration for a yr

3. True. I experienced it at a burial in Awka middle of the year. The widow is my friend. Her food and drink were bought separately.

4. This culture is same in my place. And if the husband is late before the daughters get married anything brought for the father the wife will not touch it else she'll die. A woman tried it & had bloated Tommy & the children took her to many places & he never survived it
      The most complex B

5. This one is practiced in my place too. When my grandpa died, they didn't allow me taste anything cooked for the burial,infact I was taken away from the house. They said reincarnated his wife.

11. In nsukka, a wife cannot give her parents money without informing her husband.

12. Somehow most of these things tend to apply to the woman. Nonsense!

1. Cos traditions are mostly as a result of drunken men coming together to mk rules that favour dem

2. It's misogyny , bondage and captivity

3. Not all culture shocks apply to women alone. Not every matter should be gender weaponised .

As regards the snail, it applies to all.

Adultery applies to the woman first who did the act in some tribes. When her husband condones or eats its fruits, it applies to him or the children.

We read here some days of cousins marriage in some parts of Northern Nigeria. That's the first time me read it is practiced in Nigeria.

In some parts of Nigeria, children of a man don't dig or pay for his grave to be dug. It is the men married to his daughters and his family inlaw who physically dig graves or pay for it to be dug. The same applies to siblings who are not allowed to dig or pay for the graves of each other.

Women are at least 50% of mankind. So culture matters or taboos must touch them.

4. I don't know about that but in actual fact men are more than women in Nigeria and the world at large.

5. ,16:46 🤣🤣🤣🤣
      You may be right though

13. 16:46🤣🤣🤣🤣

14. In the north here, hausas precisely, if a man divorcces his wife and later decides to bring her back, she must first marry another man before coming back to her previous husband.
    They call them bazaura.

1. That is Islam
      And it applies if you divorce her three times

15. In my place, a new mum eats only plain, unsalted, unpeppered or flavored food (mostly swallow with ewedu or plain okra) or things like tea and pap, plainly called 'ate' for 7 or 9 days depending on the baby's gender.

As the story goes, this is in atonement for a curse laid upon a certain group of families/lineage by a maltreated maid/slave by this lineage after also just giving birth. It's so weird and cool at the same time, but observants are encouraged to tell their wives ahead so they know what to expect.

16. There's this other one..
    If someone dies and there's a believe that the person was killed, they'll put weapons in the casket and they'll tell the corpse to go and fight the assumed killers.

1. In life, no peace. In death, you still want make e dey fight?🤔 Isnorgoodna.😒

17. I heard that if u ask a mother who just give birth wetin she born,d person is going to be living with them for 7days so that the child wont die due to the question

18. As a non-Nigerian, the biggest culture shock for me was learning about money rituals and the diabolical means some ppl will venture in their quest for wealth. I don’t think anything beats that.