Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Tinubu Approves 50% Cut In Cost Of inter-State Tansportation For Christmas

Thursday, December 21, 2023

President Tinubu Approves 50% Cut In Cost Of inter-State Tansportation For Christmas

As part of efforts to reduce hardship and cost of transportation during the ongoing Christmas celebrations, President Bola Tinubu on Wednesday December 20, 2023approved a 50 per cent slash in price of interstate transport fare for Nigerians from Thursday, December 21, 2023 to January 4, 2024.

Participating companies include
1.GIG ( God is Good)
2. Chisco Transport
3. Young Shall Grow
4. God Bless Ezenwata
5. Area Motor

68 comments:

1. From where to where? Do the drivers and conductors know? Abeg abeg take this with a pinch of salt. Even the palliative promised civil servants for six months was only paid once.

1. Money just went into someone's account.

Get to park even by 3am, they will say the cheaper one has left.

Or they will dedicate two coffin buses to this and make them seat 5 in a seat.

You all gonna learn!

If he wanted to be genuinely kind; he would have made fuel less expensive

2. Fuel is still being subsidized because the Nigerians that Nigeria educated nearly free of charge, still cannot understand basic economics. After Nigeria has subsidized your fuel amongst other things, for 6-7 decades, the least you can do is to appreciate the dire economic straits this path of economic choices have led us. Even if the government subsidized anything else, untaxed citizens with fulminant entitlement mentality will still be looking for more than that 25-40k the budget permits per heads if they are paying any tangible tax.

Your mindset just precludes you from accepting any good news. Most unfortunate.

This is great news that will ease monetary pains for many people this holiday . Feel free to be unhappy about it.

3. Subsidy is a racket. THERE IS NOTHING LIKE FUEL SUBSIDY.

2. Great news for those traveling. Merry Christmas everyone

3. That very good of him
    But the problem is how is going to work for private transport?

1. I believe the approach will be a voucher system: once the transporters can prove providing these services eg with manifest, sold tickets, etc, government will give them 50 percent of their price charge. There's usually a government desk that NURTW or any other private transporter can liaise with to fulfill a pay then ply kind of arrangement.

4. Good intention but I'm still trying to understand how possible that could be.

Just like someone stated on Twitter

''There are no FG buses but you have declared a 50% discount. How?

GIG will buy fuel and run on losses because you are their president?

A man ahead of his time. 🙌🙌🙌

1. Continue running your mouth as usual...go back to twitter and read up where you saw the gig,read up the four other names and go to their parks to see if they will reduce or not...how is it your business what kind of deal was pulled? smh

2. Big Stellz,

It's a welcome development and a good intention just like I stated above. I only asked a valid question which I needed clarification and you have answered.

As I no get transport to travel na make I asked naa

3. Big Stellz,

You just updated your post. So I shouldn't take a blame on my response initially.

Thanks anyway.

4. i had to do update becos half information is dangerous to some people who dont know how to handle news

5. Pls I need this. Mr. President would have added PEACE MASS for inter state now. Thank you Mr. President.
      The most complex B

6. In recent history, Nigeria moved towards privatisation of these services because of the gross abuse of such practices of official cars, government vehicles etc was obvious. Obasanjo was the one who championed this in his administration making the cost of governing lighter and these reforms contributed to the forgiveness of many foreign loans. You were probably in school at this time and these kind of discussions would have occupied serious students for many sessions. I understand OBJ is a flavour of the moment for some due to his recent posturing. Please study such reforms as many were helpful. Read economists like Ayittey and others who spearheaded the respect for maths amongst planners with a good understanding of what government and private sector should do. Privatisation is what revived Africa from the post communist days of waiting for crumbs donated and false hope of wealth locally made to be centrally distributed evenly.

Can government afford the cost of maintenance, staffing, pensions and benefits, legal liabilities of these on a NATIONAL scale for 200 million people? Isn't there a railway system constantly expanding with well subsidized prices that are making profit impossible and heading us down a familiar path of lack? How do you address fuel theft, fake repairs, stealing of parts by staff? Or do you see hospital ambulances used to transport chairs to parties? Are you not aware of the tricks that private drivers play with their employers and can you not imagine this on a national scale? What happens when these drivers go on strike? Who pays when there is a serious accident? Would it make economic sense to further swell the civil service and continue to borrow to pay them? There is a train why major airports in Europe are privately owned. and that number is growing in the USA as well. Even mass transit businesses are placed on the shelf with government subsidizing through vouchers, periodically

Which one was more successful: the government run cement companies of the 80s and 70s or BUA, Ibeto or Dangote of today? Which is better: Nitel and MTel that ran at a net loss or Airtel and MTN that are enriching investors in many billions and shoring up the currency whike making life easier for users with competitive prices? Can you compare Nicon that never made a dime to Transcorp and it's yearly returns? What kind of advice would a person trained in numbers give a person who asked you about these obvious things?

Face your state government for local intervention and please, crunch the numbers to know that house asking for government to branch into danfo business are deceiving you and people who understand numbers know this. . You should know what falls within the purview of what government should do and should be bristling with solutions to make things better instead of chronically catastrophism

If government must take up this economic canker worm again, is it not obvious that it should be at the level of the local government or state governments who have a smaller land mass and population to deal with? I'm confident that the mass transit system in Lagos has no comparison in the SE and none of your faves were able to institute anything of such.

I really hope you start to apply your education as someone trained on numbers on the issues and really open your mind to the basics of economics and financial planning as large part of it is an invisible ledger system. Basic education of such issues will be a buffer against false promises peddlers have repeatedly been unable to fulfill.

5. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

6. Good news
    I just pray it's feasible
    I heard that the NRC have complied and willing to implement it till January 4th, 2023

7. Please maybe na me no understand..
    How this one won take work?
    Do we have government owned transportation companies or airlines?
    Or are these guys very crazy and stupid?

Is it train fare they're announcing the slash with big name...

Abeg someone should please explain this to me cos it seem like these people are not only useless but stupid also

1. Please reference Stella’s reply to Teejay. Therein your answers lie.

Laughter wan finish me for here.

2. May be, just may be, the govt. struck a deal with the giant transport companies for the discount. May be they wud get fuel at NNPC filling stations at a subsidized rate, thereby agreeing to slash the TFare. It’s vry possible for govt to strike deals wt private companies u kno. I dnt kno if that’s wat happened here, i’m jst giving a possibility. Tho i’m not holding brief for anyone.

3. Anon 08:28,

Thanks for that. Hopefully, it could be what happened.

4. They will only kidnap you guys enmasse! If you love your life; don't bother travelling!!!! These transport services that this evil government went to tag are the go to for Nigerians who normally fly! But can't due to high cost of flying. Stay in your houses and send money to your loved ones!!! Nigeria jaga jaga!!!

8. Without reducing the price of fuel?
    I don't think it's possible

9. reduce the fuel price and watch it automatically implemented...

10. What of flight?? Na the common man good to kidnap for road abi. Will reducing prices stop the so many disadvantages of travelling by road. The high cost aside, the roads are not safe. They should cut cost all round. Road, air, train. Make we choose how we wan travel.

1. Flights are excluded
      The reason for its exclusion is online
      Read it up

11. Is he going to pay the Transport company the 50% Discount off?

How is it possible for people boarding private Vehicle?

He should not just put out policy without actual Implementation.

He should know that the poverty rate is at its Apex.

May God help us all

1. But that is something he is good at. Announcing promises that aren’t feasible.

12. Before the money governor will take, chair man will council of elders will take, what will remain as a benefit to we come people

13. FG targets to lift 5,000,000 commuters during yuletide season with 50% transportation rebate.

Participating companies include

1.GIG ( God is Good)
    2. Chisco Transport
    3. Young Shall Grow
    4. God Bless Ezenwata
    5. Area Motor

1. They don't read but come out here showing how ignorant they are
      That's Nigerians for you
      Some of them are just bitter and lovers of bad news instead
      Thumbs up to PBAT

2. please it is important...Go to the park this morning or send someone and lets see if it is true...I dont even trust this deal to pull thru smoothly cos of the Nigerian factor of always wanting to scam ourselves to get rich quick

3. Go and verify na
      You don't know your way to Wazobia, Jabi motor park et al?
      😂🤣😹
      E shock am

4. Stella most times the Presidents do have good intentions but those implementing it are usually selfish & self centered just like the funds FG through ministry of Poverty Alieviation & disaster mgt wants to extend to the poor Nigerians to reduce the effect of fuel wahala, if you see the people that will receive this funds you will shout.

5. Stella because of this I'll use God is Good as it's the only transport coy with where I am presently.

6. Big Stellz, I downloaded GIG app now, as from what I know, it's the guaranteed way to booking their bus, cos no matter how early you go to their park on that day, you'll likely never get a bus to move that day, unless you want to book for the following day, being that people have already booked from their apps online...

So this is my findings:

FCT (utako park) - Lagos = no bus available (22/12/ 2023).

FCT (utako park) - Lagos = no bus available (23/12/ 2023).

FCT (utako park) - Lagos = no bus available (24/12/ 2023).

FCT (utako park) - Lagos = no bus available (25/12/ 2023).

I stopped there and moved to another route..

FCT (utako park) - Anambra (Awka) = no trip available (22/12/ 2023).

FCT (utako park) - Anambra (Awka) = no trip available (23/12/ 2023).

FCT (utako park) - Anambra (Awka) = no trip available (24/12/ 2023).

FCT (utako park) - Anambra (Awka) = no trip available (25/12/ 2023).

These are my findings..
      Anyone is free to counter me.

I don't know about the rest transport companies cos it's only GIG I use of traveling by road

7. No bus available? Does that mean they won't be in business or what?

8. But Dante, if people have rushed to take the deal and travel, how does that make the news false. Don’t forget, this is 3 days to Chrismas, even on normal levels, ee don enter tush hour, and now with this palliative, more people would want to travel, even the ones that didn’t want to travel before, cos of the high TFare, it doesn’t in anyway show that the news is fake.

9. Baba T,.
      Download the App and check from your end..
      We're all trying to verify

10. 9.25

Please abeg, forget that one wey you dey talk.
      Unless there is another arrangement outside the App, then the news is trash..
      So you're telling me that price was reduced yesterday and all their trips from now till Christmas days have been booked so fast..

Stop it nah🙄

11. But I traveled down to Onitsha yesterday with Young shall grow, there's no discount.

14. 👍👍👍.
    Safe journey to those that are traveling.

15. I pray it works 🙏🏻🙏🏻🙏🏻

16. The mentioned transport companies do not operate in my state of residence.

17. Dante i am so sure you want this news to develop hiccups.....The date of commentcement says it starts today, if thie news is authentic, u must also know that the Naija factor will come in....it is possible that online booking is no longer possible due to demand..........Maybe you can call dem to ask? you should also know that a lot of people have reacted to this already and buses may not be enough to run all the routes....

1. Big Stellz,

This Nigerian factor you keep on talking, does it mean the government couldn't put in measure to see their works implemented? Are they not suppose to set up taskforce team to oversee this?

2. I really want them to prove me wrong that they can be truthful for once..

If I had checked and seen what was said, I would have gladly posted my findings also and updated everyone that this is true..

Big Stellz, unlike most Nigerians I fact check every reports I see because lies too much..

Like I said, I'm open to correction if wrong, na my findings I post, everyone is free to counter with prove/explanations like I did

3. It is even obvious that those with liquidity will want to buy tickets and resell at a margin for those who are booking or buying late just as is seen with rail transport tickets. What would be reasonable is suggesting solutions to this eg using NIN-linked phone numbers so that for single travelers or middlemen looking to make a quick buck, there can be no hoarding. Also maybe limiting to online bookings but that exempts the poorer without smartphones or data and the elderly who may not know how to use it and be prone to fraudsters... Scrap that.

Another concern would be registering fares for minors who don't have ID so maybe 2 tickets max per person with a couple able to purchase for 4 children max in addition to themselves.

The COVID vaccine rollout and bookings for shots done online showed that we are capable of making this organised and a post mortem can be done after the holiday to identify hiccups and address them for other such voucher based palliatives. Government can even link with Remita or commercial banks in this regard.

Imagine the cost of training, deploying and legally empowering people on foot across thousands of bus parks only to have them, as human beings, begin to take bribe. Would that task force not need another task force and the next task force another force? Micromanaging with "Ordinary president" approach cannot scale.

The intentions are sincere and I am happy that government will rather temporarily augment these costs that continue to swell the unsustainable behemoth of government and it's burgeoning costs.

FG and states should please realise the need to have NIN cards for all ages with bar codes to be downloaded and printed/ laminated by registered citizens to better monitor distribution of goods, services, palliatives etc going forward so people can be verified in a safe and encrypted manne so that any other things like this can be traced and verified for the educated and motivated with continuous scaling to other citizens as time passes.

Good try, Teejay.

18. If the FG is sincere, they'll bring back subsidy for these period, that's what'll guarantee the reduction of transportation fare, and not this rubbish they are saying

19. Believe this at your own risk. And even if it's implemented terms and conditions fit enter later.

20. This is good, thumbs up to the government. I just hope it will be implemented.
    I'd already budgeted 70k plus for our bus fare. I travel with GUO and I have to pay for my daughter's seat (10%off the normal price for kids 3-9yrs). I'd be very happy if this news is true.

21. It would have been better to work with state owned transport companies sha.

22. @Castle 70k are you travelling to heaven? Or is it to & fro?
    The most complex B

1. Is like you don’t understand what is happening in Nigeria. Lol

23. I wish i was prepared to travel i for glady grab this opportunity.

Safe trip to all those travelling.

24. Some tweeps are confirming that it's true on Bayo Onanuga's page on X
    Evidence dey o
    Bayo Onanuga is a special adviser on Information and Strategy to PBAT
    Stellzy, maybe you should check his page

25. Just confirmed on GIG Twitter handle that it's commenced in 2 of their terminals in Lagos: Jibowu and Ajah

26. We're quick to forget who caused the high cost of transportation in the first place, was transportation this expensive before May 29 that he took over?🙄

27. It's like those who thought removal of subsidy from day 1 will lead to a crash in prices to the point that a bag of rice will cost 5k and a liter of petrol will be sold at 50 naira after the subsidy on the price of a product is removed, are not too comfortable with the expected reality of such a needed policy.

It seems they focused more on the religious war and hatred for a man at the twilight of his career instead of the obvious economic bites that were due after years of subsidizing a population that is largely not requiting financially (another indirect subsidy).

You see the problem with a culture of "free"? People were actually hinginng their futures on policies they neither understood or researched and made no preparations expecting to strike, riot, complain, campaign and nag through it. Imagine if freelancers, social media content producers, stock market speculators exporters of goods and services had the same approach.

Before blaming government, look at the microcosm of government or society: the family. With adult individuals with a certain mindset and level of understanding which they have opted not to improve, can attendant results be any better? What will be the hope of those subject to the plans of such people? May God take control.

Read the stories of developing economies entering 2nd and 1st world today : what happened to average cost of living, size of civil service as a proportion of the population, growth of government vs private sector, capital flow etc. Even consider the Lagos that you love to hate and love to move to: good things cost money and for people in debt for all the wrong reasons, anything good will cost even more.

Anyone who has education courtesy of a struggling nation should add resourcefulness and forge their own path. Inflation is a global phenomenon and with Russian oil off the table, there are financial challenges everywhere. If you don't believe, study the social security bubble in the USA and the pension crisis in most nations of the developed world and you'll understand why borders are open to skilled workers. USA added 8 trillion in debt this year ensuring that many people working today will never retire and another swath will struggle to own a home by their mid sixties if they do at aLL.

Shrink expenditure, grow your earning power. Continually empower yourself and reassess financial choices. The lessons we learn in these hard times are what will help one build legacy of financial resilience and growth.
    May God be with us all.

1. Please, REST @21:45!

Are Western economies not providing Social Welfare, free primary and secondary education and in some countries free Healthcare for their citizens?!
      What subsidy is greater than that.

WILL YOU KEEP QUIET!

Nonsense!

28. This is good news.

29. This is a good news