Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actress Joke Silva Says DLB Has Taken Away The Man She Married But She Loves Him In A Different Way

Sunday, January 21, 2024

Actress Joke Silva Says DLB Has Taken Away The Man She Married But She Loves Him In A Different Way

Veteran Nollywood Actress Joke Silver has given an update on the health status of her husband, Olu Jacobs who is suffering from Dementia with Lewy bodies (DLB)..

In an interview with colleague Nancy Isime, She revealed that her husband's deteriorating health has brought about significant changes in him, as he is no longer the man she married 37 years ago.

In her words:
"It hasn't been easy. There was a point of acceptance for me that everything happening is reality.It is like the person I married, 80% of the time, is no longer there but the thing is this, when he was there, he was an incredible father to his children and an amazing husband. He was practically my best friend.
The husband i knew is no longer there for me. This man that is here is someone I still love, but love in a different way"

32 comments:

1. Awwwwwwwww my favorite couple.
    You are doing well madam, God bless your family.

2. This is the for worse part of marriage. It can’t be easy. May you continue to find strength and courage to continue. Life! Unpredictable but what can we do?

3. Old age and its baggages

Welldone mama J,may God continually strengthen you.

4. Hmmm, life.

Hang in there Mama. This is the journey of life. Nothing is ever permanent. Aging comes with its own problems and we can only hope we have people who love us to stand by us when that time comes. I wish you the very best.

Mystic

5. Well done mama Ajoke, God is your strength.

6. God is your strength ma'am 🤗🤗🤗🙏🏻

7. The Lord is your strength Ma. God bless your kind heart

Obi for President
    Wizkid FC
    Proudly Tiv

8. It is well ma'am 🤗 may God strengthen you.

9. My grandma had dementia before she passed away.
    It was so tiring and stressful, ever bubbling grandma became a shadow of herself.

10. Love is sacrifice not just a feeling.
    This is a clear and practical demonstration of the marriage vow "for better for worse".
    God bless your sacrifice of love Aunty Joke.

11. My mum had dementia with lewy bodies. May God rest her soul in perfect peace 😇 I miss you mummy 😭

12. The lord is your strenght ma, it is not easy.

13. All the best to you, Joke. Caregivers need love and support so much. Of all the people in Nollywood there was nobody’s voice I loved hearing more than Olu. I am so happy he shared his talent with us and gave us joy through his work. His legacy will remain.

Dementia cases are on the rise globally. Yesterday I was in the supermarket and something just spoke inside of me to not purchase anything in plastic bottles when I was in the juice aisle. I am slowly working on eliminating plastic from my life or minimizing it as best as possible. Dementia is not pretty to witness, the person truly is someone else and many dementia patients have violence tendencies. I am seeking God’s wisdom on where to live and how to ear, as the country I am living in may not be the best for certain health outcomes.

1. Nigeria is full of life and energy you are more than welcome here.

14. Mine was giving me wahala upon leaving my job to care for him. He may not take his bath for 3 days . And if you reminds him wahala don land be that. I will be cleaning and cleaning from morning till night.

1. Get help if possible. You can get a day person or night person depending on your need. Work provides an outlet to socialize and have adult conversations, go back to work or have something doing for yourself to relieve the stress. But if it is too much and he is getting too aggressive it is fine to consider putting him in a home for your safety. Your safety must come first. All the best to you.

15. The sad thing is, if it were the woman with this disease, will the husband be there for her? Sadly, many women are abandoned by their husbands when they are sick.

1. Let's thank God this is not the case here. My grandmother was not abandoned by grandfather who did his best for her when she came down with the ailment. Having the financial capacity to provide adequate care in old age is also important. Years ago, it cost at least 200k a month to do the basics.

2. How many husbands do you know abandoned their wives?.

3. Everything na gender war to you people

16. Thanks for your words of comfort. May God strengthen me

17. May God continue to strengthen and give Mama Joke and the entire family peace. May their pockets continue to swell and love be multiplied in their family.

18. Can this stupid woman shut up?! Who asked her?