Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Abia State Gov Otti Commissions The Geometric Integrated Power Project (GIPP)

Thursday, February 29, 2024

Abia State Gov Otti Commissions The Geometric Integrated Power Project (GIPP)

The Geometric Integrated Power Project (GIPP) in Aba, Abia State, Nigeria, has been officially commissioned by Governor Alex Otti. This landmark project aims to deliver 24-hour electricity to the commercial city of Aba and its environs. 

The Geometric Power facility is an independent and integrated power utility.
It has a capacity of 181 megawatts.
When operated at full capacity, it will address the electricity challenges of at least 9 out of 17 local governments in Abia State.
The project is a result of the unwavering commitment of former Minister of Power, Prof Barth Nnaji.
It is Nigeria’s largest and first independent power plant of its kind.

Significance:Power plays a critical role in the growth of the Small and Medium Scale Enterprise (SME) sector, which is the engine of growth in any nation.
The Aba IPP is expected to contribute immeasurably to the growth and industrial productivity of Aba City and its environs.
With this facility, Aba is set to become the first Nigerian metropolis with 24/7 availability of power supply.

37 comments:

1. Good initiative. Hope they were able to change the old transmission lines before connecting to the power grid. If not they would have problems.

1. Congratulation Otti, teach them how it is done. Enugu State PDP Governor is still borrowing money to do God knows what

3. Congrats to the inhabitants of Aba the Enyinmba city on this milestone achievement.

4. Highly commendable.

Thanks Prof Barth Nnaji and H.E Alex Otti for this great milestone.

5. Congrats to us but i won't get too excited until i see it happen.. Governor Alex is gradually changing Abia to a better place.

1. its happening oh, I'm a resident of Aba.
      also we should give credit to Ikpeazu he did try by investing 5% of state fund in the project so the average Avian is a stakeholder

2. Anon 10:46, are you going to enjoy 24/7 electricity supply in Aba free of charge?

6. God's own state is working 💃💃

7. This is beautiful.
    Gov Otti is working 👍

8. God please keep Gov Otti and continue to strengthen him to transform Ania state for the better. We done too suffer, may God's light shine on us

9. This is a federal government project that was commissioned by the vice president. The state governor merely hosted the event. This is where responsible reporting matters. This project has been in the works since the days of OBJ and every past president and state governor wise enough to cooperate with the centre should be commended for their effort.

This is the same way Buhari was taking credit for launching rail lines that GEJ built.

1. it is not, that is how false narrative spread. it is solely a private venture.
      don't be unfortunate
      since when does the Nigerian government does something that benefits igboland?

2. But WHO commissioned it?

3. Stop spreading false information, get your facts right. It is not a FG project.

4. 11:38,

Please stop! Jeez!!!!

If you don't know the nearly 20 years history of this project, stay quiet.

This project would have taken off since if not for an "Igbo billionaire" Fyi, It took others from some other tribes to actually ensure that it happened.

Let's enjoy progress without throwing shit on it!

5. 11:38,

Please stop! Jeez!!!!

If you don't know the nearly 20 years history of this project, stay quiet.

This project would have taken off since if not for an "Igbo billionaire" Fyi, It took others from some other tribes to actually ensure that it happened.

Let's enjoy progress without throwing shit on it!

10. Very good initiative. Kudos to Prof Barth Nnaji and Governor Alex Otti for this achievement.

11. Kudos to Prof. Nnaji and his wife. Otti stop claiming it as your achievement. It is is a private initiative .

1. Go and listen to Otti speech how he started working towards it since 2014. Yes it's Prof Barth Nnaji doings but Gov Alex Otti played a strong role too. Pls search for has speech online and educate yourself.

If Otti didn't play a role, why didn't three past government have it done? Beside, it wasn't today Prof Nnaji initiated the move.

2. It is a private initiative that was stalled by many factors but it is Otti who came in and gave the push to bring it to life.
      Stop being bitter. Even Otti gave credit to others such as Orji Uzor Kalu who helped in one way or the other.

3. Teejay,

You have come with your half baked and always inaccurate reports!

This is strictly Prof, his wife, NOI and many more behind the scenes actors project.

Though Diamond Bank and other Banks also contributed a great deal in way of funding and loans, Gov Otti was not yet the MD of Diamond Bank at the start of this initiative in 2004.

Kindly stop spreading your cut and join gutter misinformation here.

Thank you.

Once again, Congratulations Prof. Congratulations Gov Otti.
      Congratulations Abians.
      Congratulations SE.
      Congratulations Nigerians.

12. See us celebrating common electricity in 2024! God abeg o! I hope when it is time to pay for the light dey will pay! Having light for 24hrs everyday no be beans. I know what we pay here every month is equivalent to 50k o.

1. 15:25,

Celebrate every milestone!

2. as per say Aba residents are poor wretched individuals abi. if someone like you can afford to pay 50k then they can.
      na people like you good news dey purge

3. You don’t have sense.how many people in Aba can afford 50k for electricity?uourre very foolish

13. Igbo Amaka!!, That's all I have to say.

14. I remember then when I was still in Nigeria, I always went to oil mill market in portharcourt to buy shirt materials, take it to Aba to sew men's shirts and bring to lagos and Akure to sell to friends. So much love Aba then in the middle 90s. Those tailors are perfect, my shirts then are top notch I have to abandon the business when I started working in lagos before eventually moving to London. Congratulations to Abia state. I do hope the new governor ,will be able to stop the flooding in that very big market

15. Congratulations Abians