Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ghana's Parliament Passes Anti Gay Bill...

Thursday, February 29, 2024

Ghana's Parliament Passes Anti Gay Bill...

On Wednesday February 28, 2024, the Parliament of Ghana passed an extreme anti-gay bill which is set to tighten laws against members of the LGBTQ+ community. Ghana’s 275 members of Parliament unanimously passed the bill, known as the 2021 Promotion of Appropriate S#xual Rights and Family Values Bill.

The bill is set to criminalize the promotion, advocacy, funding and acts of homosexuality. It stiffens prison terms up to ten years in prison for LGBTQ+ advocates and three years for anyone identifying as such. Moreover, the bill seeks to withdraw health services from this community, including HIV medication.

The bill’s main sponsor, legislator Sam Nartey George, said, “[H]omos#xuality is not a human right in Ghana, but a lifestyle choice. A sexual preference.” With this reasoning, legislators viewed preferences as not absolute, meaning they did not hesitate to pass a bill against it. Furthermore, George warned the US not to interfere with plans to pass the bill into law, threatening to halt Ghana’s business interests in the country. He said this in reference to the travel restrictions imposed upon Uganda following the signing of their own anti-LGBTQ+ law.

Speaker of Parliament Alban Bagbin, stated LGBTQ+ practices are strongly abhorred and will not be allowed to take root in the country

from juritst.org

23 comments:

1. This is good news!!! US has been warned to not interfere. That’s a bold move and I am impressed πŸ’―

Sluttychic.

1. Honestly,a very bold move.am impressed.na remaining naija oh!!!πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚Dem go fit?we dat can't stand on our own two feet as it is .

2. We are Africans and have our believes,one of which is man and woman,not man and man,or woman and woman. Good one Ghana.

3. Very bold move and I’m happy they could take such a bold step
      Kudos to them .

4. Very bold

Shooter Gyal

2. Na really Good news i swear, no matter how these people explain this their sexual preference eehn, someone like me can never understand it oπŸ™„ how can you say shiit garage is sweeter than honeypot? Tufiakwa!!

1. oh!!!πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚if no be ment

2. You say what? πŸ™†πŸ™†

3. It’s obvious these ones no chop IMF loans.

4. Ah! How can you withdraw essential services such as health services from a group of people? Not fair at all. US go soon sanction una.

1. Are you one of them?

2. And if US sanction them, is that the end of the world? I really like as they warned the US beforehand not to interfere. Kudos to Ghana

3. The bill will not prevent homosexuality, homosexuals have alwats been on the planet. What the bill intends is for them to shut up, stay quiet. Basically, the community will have to operate in clandestine. Unless they are willing to fight it openly and take whatever comes with that.

4. According to other BVs, such wickedness is part of African values.

5. Very good move,God that created man and woman knows what he was doing

6. It's a tough bill. Basically you can be homosexual, just keep it to yourself.

7. God will continue to be with his children who love albeit differently.

Forgive them Lord, for they don't know what they are doing. They did the same to their own saviour when he walked amongst them.

God will always make a way in the wilderness.

8. Kudos to the Government!!! πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌ

Nature should be respected