Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Igbo Tradition Concerning Children

Monday, February 12, 2024

Igbo Tradition Concerning Children

In Igbo tradition, if you haven’t performed the traditional rites on a woman… any child from that relationship belongs to the woman’s family and you have no right over the child.
Does this tradition exist where you are from?

From Nigeria stories

26 comments:

1. It's true,still practiced from Delta region.

1. Wow!!! Please which part of Delta State? Thank you!

2. I think that was why David married Chioma after that sad incident if not Ify would have been claimed and buried at Chioma's place not his. So it's still very much in existence.

3. Never heard of such in my tradition.

4. Yes, it is still in existence. I have lots of older cousins who fall into that category. They bear our surname and have equal rights as other children of the family.

5. Still very much in existence where I’m from

6. Sure; the person that pays dowry owns both the mother and child. They will even marry the woman out with the child to a willing man. But I think it can be contested in court.

1. "But I think it can be contested in court." Very much so. It is contrary to the Nigerian Constitution.

The custom tallies with matriarchy and the concept that children truly belongs to their mothers. This is why women are not vocal against it as with other customs and that is why it is still being practiced. Even on this blog, female Bvs vanguard it.

Evidence abound, however, that this custom is enforced more against men poorer when compared to the women involved or their families. In the case of a former senior citizen of Nigeria, the Igbo woman fought till her death for the man to acknowledge paternity of her child - she did not seek to enforce the custom.

7. It's still very much in existence in my place and at the end of the day,it is the child that suffers especially if it's a male child because when they share land,he will not get any.

1. In my place he’s very much entitled to land in his mother’s place

2. Suffer for wetin, it happened in my place but this women was wealthy and left everything to her son including her houses in Nigeria and USA.
      Guy man just dey enjoy his life, his mother had him late and did not marry so he was born in wealth till date.

8. In my own,the person that is interested pays the dowry of the woman,and the child becomes the man's child immediately..
    He.

1. Bride price?

Dowry are paid to men/husbands.

9. It’s the same in most western countries too. The children of an unmarried woman belong to the woman.

1. Paternity rights are recognised the world over.
      There is a difference between custody and paternity rights.

10. Yes i'm from Anambra State, Okija to be precise, if your bride prize is not paid no matter how many children you give birth to, the children automatically belongs to the family of the woman. But you can claim the children whenever you pay the bride prize and other necessary rites. And this bride prize is usually small oo! From #200 and above. It's just the drinks for umunna, umuada, umuokorobia and some other traditional rites that will make you spend that much. But you can decide to igba nkwu uchichi, by so doing, there will be few people and the inlaw will spend less. I love my people, we don't bill our in-laws like others. Proudly Okija

11. It's true, still in existence in my place.

12. You see this bride price, it's very symbolic. No matter how small it is, it is what conveys the married woman status on a woman.
    It doesn't mean that the woman is being sold but rather, it's a status symbol. You pay bride price on your wife, the children are yours. If you refuse to pay, you are a concubine and concubines don't lay claims to children.
    That's in my part of Igbo land

13. Pls someone should help me, where can I get good prices of cement and building materials in owerri

14. Most respondents keep saying " in my place". doesn't the place have a name . This way we know the similarities in our traditions.

15. Selfish people mean while your Igbo going about impregnating other women from other tribe without paying bride price me i don tell the women in my family if u born for Igbo man the pikin na our until he pays the bride price.na our tradition too

1. U lack wisdom

2. 07:37
      Until it is flipped, everything we support makes sense. It is the flipping that gives us the other perspectives.

The wisdom of any custom, thought, practice is best tested by its reversal or by us being at the other impacted end.

If it is good for the Igbo, why not for the Yoruba. Or you support the nullification of the retrograde custom that punish only the weaker and or poorer people?

16. Boyfriend doesn't have a child in igboland