Sunday, May 25, 2025
21 comments:
The 1st wife is the real wife
ReplyDeleteThe 3rd wife.
ReplyDeleteThe three women are his wives. But the court recognises only one,that's married before it. 🙄🙄🙄
ReplyDeleteReally?
DeleteCourt oo
ReplyDeleteThe 1st wife...Our courts recognise customary law....
ReplyDeleteThis what lawyers call conflict of laws situation. There is, however, nothing recognised in law as church marriage in Nigeria. Any marriage celebrated in a church not licensed to conduct statutory (court) marriages is a nullity. It is at best a customary marriage if the couple was first married under native law and custom.
ReplyDeleteTheLegalTrainee
The first wife is the real wife. Any other marriage contracted while there’s a subsisting one is null and void.
ReplyDeleteI grew up thinking a legal marriage contracted after a traditional marriage is more authentic than the traditional marriage so everyone ensured they did a registry wedding not with the way some men abandoned their traditional wedded wives to get registry wedded younger wives. I just realised this is not the position of the law now.
As long as your bride price was paid, witnesses are there and/or you get a traditional wedding certificate from the customary court(they issue this for traditional or parlour weddings sef), you are recognised in the eyes of the law and no registry certificate wielding wife has any edge over you.
Btw I did the three weddings.
I heard court marriage supercede the rest, but customary marriage will be recognised most by 'umu nna"'
ReplyDeleteTraditionally (that means in his village), the first wife is his wife.
ReplyDeleteIn his local church, his 2nd wife is the wife.
Legally (that means in documents that can be tendered in court), his 3rd wife is the recognized wife.
The first wife.
ReplyDelete1st wife
ReplyDeleteEven the Church & court recognises traditional marriage.
Lawyers here need to throw more light on this.
ReplyDeleteThe position of the law, from a similar case I was involved in is that the law recognises traditional marriage (payment of bride price) if it was done before a court or church marriage especially if the traditional wedded wife is still in the marriage before the court wedding was carried out(Agbeja vs Agbeja case).
The new marriage (court)contracted while there’s a subsisting traditional marriage is a nullity.
The children from both marriages are entitled to the estate of the man (in the event of his demise), but the registry wedded wife is not recognised. In fact, the traditional first wife can sue her …she doesn’t have any right/entitlement up to or more than the traditional wife.
Ladies, pls let’s ask questions from intelligent lawyers to avoid living in a fools paradise.
The three both of them.
ReplyDeleteThe first wife is the real wife...
ReplyDeleteI will read and learn from people's opinion
ReplyDeleteThe one that marry legally (in the registry) is the one that have the document recognised by the law and also acceptable for official purposes like in embassy, work places. The real wife is the 3rd wife.
ReplyDeleteNot true. Na islamic marriage certificate from Imam of Unilorin we take enter Canada as a family.
DeleteLetter of explanation stating Islamic marriage (in this case but same for traditional marriage contract) is recognised under Nigerian law sufficed.
And to add. That's all I've ever had. And submitted as a staff of orange bank (big corp, yea?) to indicate my change of status and it sufficed legally.
DeleteLearning everyday.
ReplyDeleteThe real wife is the first wife. The others are the other women. Invaders, entagleers 🤣🤣👍🤣