Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Tinubu Bans Importation Of Foreign Goods, Unveils New Industrialisation Policy

Tuesday, May 06, 2025

President Tinubu Bans Importation Of Foreign Goods, Unveils New Industrialisation Policy

President Bola Tinubu has ordered a ban on importation of foreign goods, especially those that can be produced locally in Nigeria.

Tinubu also placed a caveat on expatriates coming into Nigeria to execute jobs, which local contractors and artisans can undertake, unless there is convincing justification for it, including express permission from the Bureau of Public Procurement (BPP).

Minister of Information and National Orientation, Mohammed Idris, made the disclosure, shortly thereafter the Federal Executive Council meeting chaired by the President at the Council chambers of the presidential villa on Monday.
According to Idris, Tinubu in a landmark decision which is aimed at strengthening Nigeria’s domestic economy and promoting local content, approved a sweeping new policy framework tagged the Renewed Hope Nigeria First Policy.

Idris described the policy as a bold shift in the country’s economic approach.
He said it mirrors U.S. President Donald Trump’s “America First” doctrine.
The Information Minister also noted that the policy places Nigeria at the center of all public procurement and business activity, with a strong emphasis on empowering local industries and reducing dependency on foreign imports.

“This policy seeks to foster a new business culture that is bold, confident, and very Nigerian,” Idris said.
“It aims at making government investment directly benefit our people and industries by changing how we spend, how we procure, and how we build our economy,” he added.

The minister disclosed that the Attorney General of the Federation has been directed to draft an Executive Order to give full legal effect to the new framework.

He further clarified that the Nigeria First policy is expected to become the cornerstone of the administration’s economic strategy, especially as the government pushes forward with its industrialisation agenda and import-substitution goals.

According to Idris, the following decisions were approved by the Council and will be enforced immediately: The Bureau of Public Procurement (BPP) is to revise and enforce procurement rules that prioritise Nigerian-made goods and homegrown solutions across all Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs).

He said the BPP will create a comprehensive compliance mechanism to ensure all government procurements adhere to local content requirements.

A regularly updated database of high-quality Nigerian suppliers will be maintained by the BPP and used as a reference for all procurement decisions, he noted while briefing State House Correspondents.

He said procurement officers currently deployed to various MDAs will be reverted to the BPP to ensure compliance and reduce undue influence or corruption.

According to him, no MDA will be allowed to procure foreign goods or services already available locally without a written waiver from the BPP.

The Information Minister also insisted that where foreign contracts are unavoidable, they must include provisions for technology transfer, local production, or capacity development in Nigeria.

“All MDAs are to immediately review and resubmit their procurement plans to align with the new policy directives.
“Breaches will result in disciplinary action and possible cancellation of the procurement process,” he noted.
The minister cited Nigeria’s sugar industry as an example of local capacity being neglected.

“We continue to import sugar despite the existence of the Nigerian Sugar Council and several local producers. This policy will change that,” he said.

He added that moving forward, “Contractors will no longer be mere intermediaries sourcing foreign goods while Nigerian factories lie idle. Government money must now work for the Nigerian people.”

The Nigeria First policy comes amid economic reforms being pushed by the Tinubu administration, including subsidy removals, a new foreign exchange regime, and efforts to restore investor confidence.
By making local content central to government spending, the administration hopes to drive job creation, industrial growth, and sustainable economic development.

While the policy will likely face implementation challenges and resistance from entrenched procurement interests, officials say the administration is determined to enforce compliance at all levels.
“This is a major shift in government policy. It puts Nigeria – not foreign companies, not imports – at the heart of our national development,” the minister said.

The Renewed Hope Nigeria First Policy is expected to take effect as soon as the Executive Order is signed by President Tinubu.
From dailypost

13 comments:

1. Nice policy. It just for us to be fair and not take advantage on it. It the same Nigerian that will now make it expensive. Whether it is goods and services, they wouldn't put their best.

2. Too long for me to read this busy morning. It's well.

3. Why our leaders no get the smallest of sense sef? Now you are stopping importation of foreign goods, without alternatives for those very important goods. The few still left in the country will now spike inflation and all what not. This country sha.

1. Thank you, Anonymous...No deep thinking...Just Ctrl + c and Ctrl + V from western powers

2. Thank you, Anonymous...No deep thinking...Just Ctrl + c and Ctrl + V from western powers

3. Rinse repeat
      They cause shortage for no reason
      Why ban when we don’t have enough
      There are already tariffs on imports so those that can afford can buy those and leave the local stuff for others

4. This people leading this country na wah! Always taking Very senseless actions.

5. Abeg how many times do they do this ban, i think every 6mntha or so Buhari dey ban foreign goods that year but go to H**dix almost all of their stuff from drugs to provisions are all foreign. Go to instagram, all those luxury laces and ankara dat ppl sell, are they made in lagos? Abeg dey shud make policies that would actually be implemented, dont make policies that even u know cannot be enforced. The next time the first lady makes a public appearance, abeg journalists should help us ask her if her earrings or the veil she is carrying are made in Edo.

6. You people have started again abi?

7. This was buhari did in tenure and it backfired. Prices of things were hiked even the locally produced ones, low quality unfinished products. now this man is towing same part knowing the situation of things. What measures is he putting in place, not everyone will be a manufacturer or producer, some people just want to import and make their money.. why can't this people think outside the box for once

8. And you and your people will travell and buy the foreign goods.And what is the alternative?

9. You can't please everyone. The people crying about not having jobs will be the same people to decry this policy. OBJ, GEJ, PMB tried it and realised Nigerians want to sell coke in front of their houses, sell lace and beads online and them have their helper from blogs or cousins abroad balance take up the rent. We don't have the kind of population that can take up industrialization or the cohort that is ready to pay for what power actually costs to manufacture and deliver quality.

Nigerian politics revolves around the value of the dollar because they plan to import and not produce unlike they lie during campaigns- even the man shouting production imports salad cream and biscuits he can't trust his G&H mob to mix and bake. The other serial contender is the chief importer of refined oil.

With a laptop and a phone, most Nigerians of voting age will rather busy themselves with the private lives of actors and politicians than take up any courses that will actually empower them to become financially independent or they just take up skills with no demand or without planning how to finance that skill for profitability: how many people are trading in soft drinks or recharge card in your estate, yet you want someone else to pay for your shop. . How many of those in Nigeria are reaching out for you to sponsor a training course?

I hope government will see this as as an experiment . Once people start complaining, it should be reversed or stepped down. The days of wealth by tariff are long gone. A free market helps one country focus on what it does best.