Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: US Halts Student Visa Appointments And Plans Expanded Social Media Vetting On Them

Thursday, May 29, 2025

US Halts Student Visa Appointments And Plans Expanded Social Media Vetting On Them

Watch what you post on the social media or start deleting!!!

US President Donald Trump's administration has ordered US embassies around the world to stop scheduling appointments for student visas as it prepares to expand social media vetting of such applicants.

‎An official memo said social media vetting would be stepped up for student and foreign exchange visas, which would have "significant implications" for embassies and consulates.

‎It comes during a wide-ranging Trump crackdown on some of America's most elite universities. He sees these institutions as too left-wing - accusing them of failing to combat antisemitism when pro-Palestinian protests have unfolded on campuses.
‎ The memo also said the state department was preparing for an "expansion of required social media screening and vetting" applicable to all student visa applications.

‎It did not spell out what the vetting would look for.

‎ From BBC

Social media vetting refers to conducting a background check to assess someone's internet presence and their reputation across social media handles.

7 comments:

1. A welcome idea as long as it doesn't get TWISTED.
    If you have no cockroach in your cupboard, then there's no need to fret. After all, a clear conscience fears no accusation.

2. Proudly Foodie29 May 2025 at 12:10

Canada is safer.

AI is rapidly changing the narrative; and very soon. America will lose its power to attract people

Wondering: where is Blackberry? Hope she's fine?

3. This is good.

It looks focused on antis$myte views, but as usual it will go beyond that.

My ish is all those demented hooligans in a website that has land and kudi (naira) openly boasting about aggressively dominating (r#ping) their minor age 'girlfriends' until she bl@eds, will reduce a bit.

Na that one dey pain me pass, the usual encouragiing&applauding vawulence against our women/ women bashing na like 5 and 6 there

4. People need to use their social's for something positive

5. What's my business with their country sef. Metcheeew