Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Aviation Minister Festus Keyamo Reacts To Ibom Air Brouhaha +Orders Arrest Of Airport Staff

Tuesday, August 12, 2025

Aviation Minister Festus Keyamo Reacts To Ibom Air Brouhaha +Orders Arrest Of Airport Staff

Nigeria's Aviation Minister Festus Keyamo has condemned airport staff for releasing an indecent part of a video showing unruly passenger Ms. Comfort Bob, He has ordered that those responsible be arrested and sanctioned. He also confirmed that she assaulted airline staff after refusing to switch off her phone, leading to her arrest, court arraignment, and an indefinite flight ban.‎

‎He wrote:

‎ENOUGH IS ENOUGH: READING THE RIOT ACT ON AVIATION SAFETY AND SECURITY IN REFERENCE TO THE CASE OF UNRULY MS. COMFORT BOB ON IBOM AIRLINE AND RELATED INCIDENTS

‎Earlier today, we again woke up to viral videos of a female passenger on Ibom Airline (now identified as Ms. Comfort Emmanson or Comfort Bob) who went berserk and physically assaulted both the flight crew and the ground staff. The incident took place yesterday, August 10, 2025 on Ibom Airline Flight No. Q153 from Uyo to Lagos at about 14:54 hours. Ibom Airline has since issued a statement to provide some context to the effect that the whole unfortunate incident arose because of the refusal of the passenger to switch off her phone during take off as required by extant International Civil Aviation Regulations.

‎Consequently, in the last few hours, I have been speaking with the Commissioner of Police of the Airport Police Command, the DG of the NCAA and his team, the MD of FAAN and her team, the COO of Ibom Air and his team about the incident.

‎Apart from the indefinite flight ban imposed on the said unruly passenger (both local and international)
‎by the Nigeria Civil Aviation Authority (NCAA) the Police has promptly arraigned her this morning at the Ikeja Magistrates Court for criminal offences and remanded her at Kirikiri Prisons as she could not provide adequate sureties in court. I have attached the Charge Sheet and Remand Order for clarity.

‎We also note the scuffle that took place between the unruly passenger and ground personnel before she was eventually subdued. This was because of her uncooperative attitude. Whilst we support the filming of her recalcitrant behaviour as evidence to prosecute her, what is DEPLORABLE is to release such evidence containing indecent exposure to the public to ridicule her. That is TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE to us. We will not fold our arms and tolerate the debasing of womanhood. I have therefore directed that whoever RELEASED that part of the video containing the indecent exposure amongst the staff should be singled out and adequately sanctioned.

‎I have also directed that the airlines must continue to train and retrain their staff in public relations and how to deal with potentially explosive situations in order to diffuse them promptly or nip them in the bud, except when it becomes inevitable. I have also directed a joint security meeting between relevant agencies next week for better coordination of security measures in situations like this or similar ones we witnessed recently.

‎For genuinely aggrieved passengers, there are clearly laid-down remedies to address grievances. The Consumer Protection Directorate of the NCAA has consistently advertised these remedies and there is no point trying to take the laws into one’s hands that may lead to dire consequences.

‎We will continue to apply equal sanctions available to us in Aviation on any such erring passengers, that is lengthy flight bans and report the matters to other law-enforcement agencies to do their bit within their powers.

22 comments:

1. What indecent exposure?

1. What do u mean what indecent exposure.. didn't u watch the video.

2. Anon 10:02, you are sick!

2. Way to go. She was stripped. 😌😌😌

3. It is so annoying to see how some people are jubilating because of a woman's boobs.
    I stopped reading comments, it was disheartening. Yes, she was unruly behaved but does it justify the happiness of some people? Just because of... abeg I rest my case.

1. Like. the said lady was wearing a cardigan, in the course of the altercation her clothes were stripped. A lot of passengers have been complaining about the unruly behaviour of the crew members.. especially one in particular. What is holding them from releasing the cctv..

4. Thank you aviation minister for speaking on this.

1. I agree! Yes the girl may have acted in an unruly manner but why are people quick to strip the lady naked to humiliate them

5. May You Live Long Sir..

6. God bless you minister. You've said it all.
    Inasmuch she was unruly behaved, exposing her private parts and making videos of it and even uploading the video is unacceptable. That is debasing of womanhood.
    If you watched the video you'd agree with me that the air hostess deliberately pulled up her top.

In all of this, the bottom line is maintain decorum wherever you go.

7. The airport staff is a goner.
    Wasn't supposed to post for public consumption rather have as an exhibit during cross examinations regarding the incident.

Ladies stop stepping out without your undergarments,it's shameful having your private parts in the open.
    That girl dealt hot slaps on staff on duty, no respect for civil service.

And then it was a fellow woman who tore apart her tank top.
    Pity!

XP.

8. Good one, she was deliberately exposed by that air hostess,she shouldn't just go free like that after exposing another woman to ridicule. Ibom air deliberately didn't allow that lady to leave, other passengers confirmed it but na LAPO kid.
    I also still feel that the life ban is too much, it should be for some time except approved by a court.
    When is KWAM 1 going to serve is two years jail as stipulated by the law?

9. Thank you Minister, someone intentionally stripped her and a woman for that matter
    Perverts are jubilating because of breasts, thank God she's neat

10. This is good!!! They should all be arrested and made to compensate that woman for intentionally exposing her nudity. It was so intentionally done, and they still have the gut to publicise it. To what end??? What has she really done to deserve that?

11. Arrest Kwan1 too.

12. The humiliation is extreme....