Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Minister Of Aviation Fesus Keyamo Explains Why Nigerian Govt Is Fixing MMIA With N712 Billion

Monday, August 04, 2025

Minister Of Aviation Fesus Keyamo Explains Why Nigerian Govt Is Fixing MMIA With N712 Billion

Festus Keyamo, Nigeria's Minister of Aviation and Aerospace Development, has explained that the Federal Government of Nigeria’s decision to spend N712 billion on the renovation of the Murtala Mohammed International Airport in Lagos is driven by the urgent need to replace decaying infrastructure, expand capacity, and bring the nation’s busiest airport in line with modern global standards.

14 comments:

1. Lol@his cap. I just pictured him wearing suit with cap on his head.

2. Barawooooooooo!!!!!!

3. I just pray the money is utilised for it's purpose. The Airport is an eyesore and should be rid off of those miserable touts.πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„

4. Ok na, whether you explain or not, the money is yours already

5. If renovation will cost this much, then how much would it cost to build a new one.

1. How long will that take, every will it be situated in crowded Lagos that will be strategic, near enough and easy to reach for most? What of the secondary agencies linked with airports, where will they be situated? What will that big structure being abandoned mean for security?

Thank God you are not at the helm of affairs in Nigeria.

6. Werey, make Una do road and make it safe for the citizens to ply..
    If not for the insecurities on the road plus the terrible roads, wetin concern me and most people with flights within Nigeria

7. Noida International Airport India is being built from scratch with a budget of 1billion dollars. Its going to be one of the best airports in the world.
    Pittsburgh International Airport, in US is set to open this year. It was constructed with about 1.5billion dollars.

But in Nigeria, we are renovating an Airport with almost 1billion dollars. Only renovation ooo.
    May God have mercy on this country.

1. Have you sat down to think about the fact that at least half of the equipments, Human Resources and other things will be imported?the same way a car will cost $10k in the US which is N15m but will cost N40 million in Nigeria. I’m not saying the cost is not high but this your analysis doesn’t cut it at all.

2. Looking at them all with a wicked side eye. They've padded every sides . Ndi oshi !

3. @ Nucturnal, you are just being mischievous.
      N712billion at the official exchange rate is about $460million, how can you say its almost $1billion?
      Funny how we complain.about our infrastructure but also.complain.when government wants to address such issues.
      You want a standard airport that costs N10million

4. Ok, Anon 14:07, Which Pittsburgh international airport is newly built for $1.5b? Pittsburgh that has had its airport for decades? It must be a renovation. Please don’t argue as I’m very familiar with that airport from decades ago.

Nigerians are very funny. Granted their bribe money is in the quote, NOTHING is made in Nigeria. Everything is imported, down to nails & screws. That will always ensure you pay more for everything. A country where importers make the most noise about “development just doesn’t get it. You will always buy at a premium from those that manufacture. IYKYK.🚢🏾‍♀️🚢🏾‍♀️

8. I hope the money is put into good use.....

9. Omoh, picker don deliver,all stations settled.