Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Edo Govt Slammed For Allegedly Forcing Teachers To Cut Grass

Tuesday, September 02, 2025

Edo Govt Slammed For Allegedly Forcing Teachers To Cut Grass

A rights group, Edo State Civil Society Coalition on Human Rights, has condemned the State Ministry of Education for allegedly compelling teachers in the public schools to cut grasses and engage in menial labour.

Their condemnation was contained in a statement made available to newsmen on Monday, September 1, 2025 in Benin City.
The statement was signed by Marxist Kola Edokpayi and Comrade Aghatise Raphael, Coordinator General and Secretary General of the group, respectively.

The group noted that the teachers were not employed as gardeners, cleaners and janitors.
Stressing that teachers must never be forced into degrading labour, the group threatened to embark on protests and take legal action if the state government fails to stop the development.

The group insisted that the action of the government is not only an insult to the teaching profession, but also a blatant violation of human rights and labour ethics.

The group suggested that the government should employ support staff, gardeners, cleaners and janitors that must be paid adequately to handle school maintenance.

from dailypost

22 comments:

1. You cannot see this one in private sectors, gardeners, cleaners are employed for such work. This one na see finish.

1. Original see finish oooo! Chai

2. The Edo state governor is an illiterate. I'm not surprised the state holds teachers in low regard.

3. Can you imagine the rubbish?

2. Ahhhhhhhh
    I went To Public School ooo, Omo I Cut Grass, Wash Toilet , I Remember One Teacher That Stays In Ikeja Then She Will Pack All Her Kids And Hubby Clothes To School Nah So Me And My friend Go dey Wash ..
    Those days In Adeniyi Jones Primary School..kaii
    I Feel For This Men oo
    It is Well 🙏

1. Even this your own is bad too
      Students are not supposed to do all of that

2. That is so wrong of that teacher. Rubbish!
      You and your friend should have reported her to your parents.

3. Report to which parents? Parents that will tell you it's training, someone like my mum will support the teacher

4. My Sisters Wetin Person Eyes see For Primary School ehen Month No Fit Talk Am..
      Anons 14:13 You Did Not Lie ooo.🤣🤣

3. This is so wrong please, I no support this one.

4. Why would they do that, why not employ the right person to do the work.

5. Nawao..this is unruly and highly disappointing...not nice at all
    Network is dealing with me o

6. Teachers don Suffer Especially in Nigeria , imagine the insult mtcheeew

7. Imagine the level of ridicling . God knows I detest Govt. Schools with passion because of how teachers are treated nd regarded. This is madness !!

8. Very disrespectful and distasteful 😠😠😠

9. Very soon teachers will be asked to back children with wrapper while singing lullaby......after finishing fetch water from the stream......

This is what you get when you all dumped Tv mathematics schools competition to famz. bbnaija

Una never see anything

10. This is a disrespect to the teaching profession.

11. No,that's not good at all
    Giving them hard labor in addition to their already heavy workload.
    How much will labor cost that the school authorities cannot afford?
    Feel so sorry for them.