Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: AGN Suspends Actor Taiye Ayimoro Over Incidence On Colleague Peggy Ovire's Movie Set

Saturday, November 29, 2025

AGN Suspends Actor Taiye Ayimoro Over Incidence On Colleague Peggy Ovire's Movie Set

National President of Actors Guild of Nigeria, Emeka Rollas states verdict with the Directors Guild of Nigeria (DGN) and the Association of Movie Producers (AMP), officially suspending Nollywood actor Taiye Ayimoro over the incidence on colleague Peggy Ovire's movie set.

Emeka Rollas said;

“My heart is deeply connected to the wellbeing of every actor who calls this Guild home. I endorse this step not just as a leader, but as someone who understands the struggles, sacrifices, misunderstandings, and the silent battles many of our members face every day.

This decision comes from a place of responsibility, love for our industry, and a genuine desire to heal, to restore trust, and to strengthen the bond we share as one family. AGN is more than a union it is a community of people with dreams, fears, hopes, and expectations.
And every action we take must protect that.

I want our members to know that we are listening. We see your concerns. We feel your frustrations. And we are committed to doing what is right, even when it is difficult. This step is part of our journey to rebuild, to create fairness, to ensure no one is left behind, and to remind us that unity is our greatest strength.

My prayer and my promise remain the same, to lead with transparency, compassion, and an open heart. To stand for what is just. To protect the dignity of every actor.
And to guide this Guild into a future where trust is restored, relationships are mended, and every member feels valued and seen.

AGN will continue to move forward gently, strongly, and together.

AGN.... PROGRESS!
AGN... PROGRESS!!
AG and N... THE SHOW MUST GO ON!!! “

The legal document reads;

The Directors Guild of Nigeria (DGN), Actors Guild of Nigeria (AGN), and the Association of Move Producers, National Disciple Only reviewed hand he tom the po Dising
Committee regarding the violent incident involving Mr. Taiye Ayimoro on the set of Pieces of Love on 12 November 2025.
In line with our collective mandate to protect all practitioners and uphold the highest professional standards across Nollywood, the three guilds hereby issue the following unified position:

KEY FINDINGS
• Mr. Ayimoro was the primary aggressor, assaulting the Production Manager and the Driver.
• He circulated a false live video, misrepresenting the sequence of events and damaging the reputation of Producer Ms. Peggy Ovire, who was not present during the initial altercation.
• The Director, Production Manager, and crew were not culpable in any wrongdoing.

JOINT SANCTIONS AND DIRECTIVES
A. Sanctions Against Mr. Taiye Ayimoro Effective immediately:
1. Industry-Wide Suspension:
Mr. Taiye Ayimoro is hereby suspended from all Nollywood productions until further notice. All members of DGN, AGN, and AMP are directed to immediately cease participation in any production involving him.
2. Mandatory Public Apology:
He must issue a public apology on the same live platform previously used to:
• The Production Manager
Ms. Peggy Ovire • The director on set
3. Corrective Statement:
He must release a factual corrective video clearly stating the true sequence of events.

4. Completion of Filming:
He must return to complete the two outstanding scenes for Pieces of Love under safe, supervised conditions.

5. Compliance:
He must comply with all further corrective directives issued by DGN, AGN, and AMP.
B. Position on Producer - Ms. Peggy Ovire Joint review confirms that:
• She did not initiate the altercation but acted emotionally when she followed the actor to the estate gate, contributing to escalation outside the compound.
• Her actions afterward were reactive to the assault on her staff.
Therefore, for failing to de-escalate the situation professionally she must write:
• Mandatory letters of apology to all major guilds submitted through AMP • Mandatory written undertaking ensuring better control of personnel on future sets.
• Apology to the estate management where the incident took place.
• She must sign an undertaking on behalf of her driver, Mr. Joshua, pledging he would never become a part of any form of trouble on any movie set ever again

INDUSTRY POSITION
The three guilds jointly reaffirm:
Zero tolerance for violence, intimidation, harassment, or misconduct on any film set.
Mandatory adherence to professional conduct by all practitioners.
• Commencement of a unified Nollywood On-Set Conduct and Safety Code, applicable nationwide.
This joint action reflects our collective resolve to protect filmmakers, restore industry order, and safeguard the integrity and reputation of Nollywood.

SIGNED

Amb. Dr. Queen Blessing Ebigieson
President, Association of Movie Producers (AMP)

Mr. Uche Agbo
President, Directors Guild of Nigeria (DGN)

Dr. Emeka Ejezie Rollas (MON)
President, Actors Guild of Nigeria (AGN)

CC:

Commissioner of Police, Lagos State •
DG, National Film and Video Censors Borad (NFVCB)
MD, National Film Corporation (NFC)
Chairman, Film Distributors Association of Nigeria (FDAN)
Chairman, Cinema Exhibitors Association of Nigeria (CEAN) • Chairman, Federation of Nollywood Guilds and Associations

17 comments:

1. "He circulated a false live video, misrepresenting the sequence of events and damaging the reputation of Producer Ms. Peggy Ovire, who was not present during the initial altercation" How na?

"The Director, Production Manager, and crew were not culpable in any wrongdoing" Really?

1. The crew belongs to Peggy,she feeds them indirectly so their loyalty lies with her,plus according to regina Rochas abi rollas is a pimp, Peggy might be one of his?

2. Having followed the story for sometime,I think what may have transpired is that Mr.Taye insisted on leaving the movie set at the exact minute his purpoted contract expired,even though he still had two scenes to finish. The production manger may have insisted he finished the scenes and tried to stop him from leaving without completing the scenes ,even though his contracted time was officially over.
      What they should have done is apply wisdom to the situation. Since his contract is tied to time and probably not completion of his scenes,why not appeal to him to stay and complete his scenes or offer him some form of overtime? Mr. Arimoro too should have realized that insisting on leaving the production without completing his scenes would likely ruin the entire movie and looked for a way to resolve issues amicably.
      But I suspect he may have been having issues with the production and just couldn't wait to leave at the exact minute and second his contract expired. Wisdom would have been profitable to direct all parties involved but as usual ,lack of proffesionalism,ego and selfishness ruled the day. Good luck to them all.

2. Does suspending him really stop him from getting jobs though? 🤔

1. Asabawood jobs ...but he doesn't act in them initially

3. Nigeria, Nigeria Nigeria. Omo giant of Africa. From the grassroots to the presidency, you will find corruption in every form. What a system! And people only cry out when it doesn't benefit them.

4. lol N.I.G.E.R.I.A. Abroad get their own for body but they do it in a sneaky way but 9ja nothing subtle about it

5. Wahala, why the lie . To bring down the innocent woman, who was not even there when anything happen it is well. Good for him.

6. It's their business anyway.

7. Who dey respect AGN and the rest na for Asabawood their power start and stop and Taye is not part of that section.

8. His suspension comes after you told us that the video we saw was fake but couldn't release the real one?
    This judgement is one-sided.

9. We need the footages, I don't know whom to believe anymore.

10. Who come they Lie Kwanu