Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Genevieve Nnaji Reacts Fiercely To Tweet Advising Igbo Men To Avoid Igbo Women

Tuesday, November 18, 2025

Genevieve Nnaji Reacts Fiercely To Tweet Advising Igbo Men To Avoid Igbo Women

On Monday November 17, 2025 Actress Genevieve Nnaji exchanged words with a user on X.....She reacted to a controversial tweet advising Igbo men against marrying women from their own ethnic group.

The X user posted

“Dear Igbo men, instead of marrying Igbo woman that’ll falsely accuse you of raping your daughter, better look outside for a wife… Go to East Africa, especially Rwanda and pick a damsel,”..

Genevieve Nnaji who is an Igbo woman from Mbaise, Imo State responded
 “In other words, instead of checking yourself and taking accountability, go for the unsuspecting and carry on with your evil. Got it.”

Some argued the tweet targeted false accusers, not all women, but Nnaji stood her ground, stressing the dangers of stereotyping:

“The same way a woman can’t tell an abusive man apart from a good one is the same way you shouldn’t say avoid all Igbo women. ‘Not all women,”  

14 comments:

1. Well said queen Genny

1. Is the guy trying to tell us that the women in his family are guilty of this, including his mum? Wow!

2. Hmm she is from Mbaise ( Imo State)? I used to think people from Imo and environ don't answer Nnaji as surname, I have not seen one before.
    We learn everyday.

3. That her tweet moved over some people's head. SMH... They began dragging her. Someone that usually stays in her lane oo.

All she meant is that it's a personal attribute not a tribal thing. And if by chance you have such wicked traits check yourself and amend your ways instead of moving to unsuspecting individuals whom you'll perpetrate the evil on.

Why will someone use one person's sin to stereotype a whole tribe bikonu?
    Anyway, the X app harbours different kinds of humans. So I'm not surprised at the reactions.

4. That statement was entirely wrong. I fault it. The stereotype made it unhealthy. There are good women everywhere and bad women as well.

Just be lucky to have a good woman even if she's not 100% perfect. The woman dragging CP isn't she from Kenya? Most of the women falsely accusing celebrities/footballers overseas of rape, are they Igbo women. There's no perfect women anywhere.

5. Sometimes is best for some highly respected celebrities to just ignore and not engage with conversations online. Be like Beyonce, post your pictures, work hard, move ahead in life in silence and ignore the noise. Genny I love you but don't let these ones stain your white. Keep upholding your mysterious and well respected public image.

6. This whole exchange shows a tired habit people hide behind online: take one person’s wickedness, wrap it in tribal cloth, and fling it at millions. It’s a fragile kind of disorder that trolls flaunt without shame.

The original tweet wasn’t any form of advice. It was cowardice from a deplorable mind looking for shortcuts. Instead of confronting the horror of a man harming a child, the poster tried to outsource morality by blaming an entire group of women. That thinking can only fester from an insecure person who does not take accountability, stirring outrage while dragging everyone down with it.

Genevieve’s reply rattled those who can’t stand a woman speaking with clarity. Her words sliced through the noise because she understands how quickly stereotypes turn into weapons. She named the real issue: men who harm, then search for softer places to bury their sins. This isn’t about Igbo or any tribe. It’s about people who fear the mirror and hunt for somebody’s daughter elsewhere to exploit, then insult anyone who demands they take responsibility.

The drag she got only sealed her point. People read her as an enemy instead of a human being. Instead of engaging the argument, they sprinted into tribal bigotry. Prejudice survives on that kind of distraction.

The truth is stubborn. Good and evil don’t come in tribal colours. No culture trains someone to harm, and no region can wash a man clean. Anyone choosing a wife based on where he thinks deception will be easier is the danger we should be talking about.

7. Chai!!! Educated illiterates full naija Internet. The backlash was insane! People were coming at her left and right, throwing insults like they were going out of style, all because they couldn't understand where she was coming from 😂. It was like they were more interested in being mad than in actually listening. Smh!!! 😔

8. They called her name on x that she is living with her female partner and lowkey enjoying marriage. She no respond