.jpg)
She said while doing so, put small chop in their mouth as they assist and watch you do the cooking. That statement took me memory lane on how I had usually made my Mom bribe me with smoked fish when cooking.
I'll bargain with her to pound the pepper and ogbono, she will give me some to chop.
This she does provided I pound it very well.. Sometimes she'll say it's not much but will still find a way to give a little of it(dried fish) to me.
I learnt cooking from my Mom and sisters. My late Dad was also a great cook. I remember the many times my Mom had gone to the market in the morning in a distant town to buy her goods.
Sometimes she comes back at night due to traffic or vehicular issues on the way. Sometimes before her return, Dad would have prepared a delicious meal on days he had returned early from business. He also prepared warm water for her bathing. That's the kind of man I had for a father.
Last year there was this discussion we heard in my village how a young man cancelled his planned marriage with date already fixed during the festive period. What could have happened? The lady visited the family home and couldn't prepare meal for the prospective in-laws.
Is this enough reason or ground to put an end to a marriage plan?
From the story according to what she narrated to the guy, she was sent to a boarding school all through and as such she didn't have the opportunity to learn cooking from home. Food was cooked and served to them at the boarding school.
I asked, if truly he loves her, shouldn't he had enrolled her into a catering school after marriage? Or was there more to it.
When it comes to a woman cooking for her husband, there's this pride, excitement and feeling a man has eating meals cooked by his own wife at home. He sometimes boast about it to his friends and family on how good a cook his wife is.
From the story according to what she narrated to the guy, she was sent to a boarding school all through and as such she didn't have the opportunity to learn cooking from home. Food was cooked and served to them at the boarding school.
I asked, if truly he loves her, shouldn't he had enrolled her into a catering school after marriage? Or was there more to it.
When it comes to a woman cooking for her husband, there's this pride, excitement and feeling a man has eating meals cooked by his own wife at home. He sometimes boast about it to his friends and family on how good a cook his wife is.
Even though it's occasionally, at least let a woman know how to cook for her husband. Though everyone have their decisions to make when it comes to marriage so I wouldn't fault the young man that called off his wedding, it's his choice and life.
In a 21st century Nigeria, a woman shouldn't say she can't cook. If you didn't learn at home what about learning through online and offline classes? A woman may not cook all the time at home which I quite understand and will agree to but you see not knowing how to cook at all at all is a great disappointment and a huge parental failure on their responsibilities towards their children.
Not as if I'll encourage a man not to know how to cook but you see, in our society today a man can be excused if he can't cook but what reason or excuse will you give for a woman who can't cook for her husband?
Why should a man who cannot cook be excused?
But teejay, cooking is a life skill, and one must not learn it just because you want to cook for your husband or wife...the days are slipping away when women are expected to cook, clean, run after the kids while the man sits idle and boasts of being the provider...this narrative is DOA!
ReplyDeleteYes everyone should learn how to cook and I quite agree with you that a woman should learn how to cook not just because of a woman. However, the focus here is, she she's married, she must cook for her husband even if it's once or twice in a month. House help shouldn't cook forever for her man neither will they continue to buy food outside.
DeleteStella, I'm not justifying a man not to cook but should in case he doesn't know how to cook, he wouldn't be judged like a woman who doesn't know.
I went to a boarding school. I learnt cooking from my mum even at tender age, we must be in the kitchen with her. I can pound very well.
ReplyDeleteFor the lady whose marriage was cancelled, does she not come home during holidays and after her secondary school to university level, how was she cooking?
It's more economical and nourishing to even cook your own meal.
Na make belief
DeleteThe lady saying she went to boarding school and therefore doesn't know how to cook is not tenable. My entire 6 years of secondary school was boarding but I am a good cook and I am male.
ReplyDeleteThere were holidays in between terms and my mum always had us do kitchen stuff. I learnt how to cook from my mother. We are 5 boys and no girl and all of us can cook, thanks to mum.
Teejay.
ReplyDeletePlease read this and get my point well..
It is very for you to believe or say men should be excused from cooking. Meaning that, you can also give an excuse for a man who can't wash his own clothes let alone his children's clothes.
Cooking should be for both parties. This is why you see many married men going outside to eat nonsense and later fall into wrong hands when they have issues with their wives at home...I hate to read anything like excuse the male child from this sensitive topic..abeg..no vex me ooo..
Why not excuse the male child from inheriting their father's property? Bros, what is source for the goose is source for the gander.
If you repeat this thing again, I swear we go fight.
I cook at home steadily and wify enjoys my food. She can't do yanga ..u dey whine me ni this man
My cousin a graduate didn't know how to cook when she got married.fortunately her husband sent her to catering school..
ReplyDeleteI dated an Anambra man who wanted to marry me and taught me how to cook the Anambra version of onugbu soup. My current husband taught me how to cook Atama and edikanikong. These were the days before YouTube and Google. I learnt how to make pepper soup and fried rice online as well banga. So really in today's world, there is no excuse not to know how to cook. You might not get it right the first time but practice will make perfect. My son learnt how to make pancakes online too.