Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: The Shocking Medical Negligence That Led To The Demise Of Aisha Umar

Tuesday, January 13, 2026

The Shocking Medical Negligence That Led To The Demise Of Aisha Umar

Justice for Aisha Umar hashtag is trending on Facebook and the details that led to her demise will leave you in a cold sweat.........
Her brother in law shared the Narrative on facebook with this shocking photo to back up his explanation.....
You will horrified after reading this....

He posted on Facebook

''The woman you see here is Aishatu Umar. She was a sister in-law to me, She passed away yesterday around 1:00 AM. She is survived by her husband and five children. Living in Kano, she fell ill a few months ago and underwent surgery at the Abubakar Imam Urology Center in September.

​Following the surgery, she suffered from severe abdominal pain. Whenever she went back to the hospital, she was only given pain relievers. She suffered this pain for four months. Just two days ago, tests and scans were finally conducted, revealing that a pair of scissors had been left inside her body during the September operation. Efforts were being made to perform a corrective surgery yesterday, but her time had run out, and she passed away.

​Is this not pure negligence? Truly, every soul has its appointed time, but how can professional doctors forget scissors inside a patient? This tarnishes the reputation of healthcare workers and health authorities.

​We call on the Kano State Government to investigate and take action. We call on the health regulatory bodies to investigate and take action. We demand justice for Aishatu Umar.
#justiceforaishaumar
- Abubarkar Muhammed.

42 comments:

1. What??!! How?!!!
    Oh no! A penalty ought to follow this gravity of negligence.

What is wrong with some of these medical personnels?

This is really sad. May her soul rest in peace.

2. Lord have mercy!
    May her soul rest in peace.

3. Ah ah. This is bad abeg. A pair of scissors?

4. I read it and I am shocked.
    I still ask, during a surgery, isn't it the responsibility of one or more persons to count and recount every tools/materials used for surgery before and after surgery?
    I have watched this a couple of times on medical series.
    Isn't that the practice?
    Very sad.
    My colleague narrated her encounter, I think it was a napkin or cottonwool. Constant p@!N and sm3ll.
    Like the scissors wasn't missed. No one counted items before and after surgery?
    May her soul rest in peace

1. Me no fit read am once i see that scissors,i know what it means
      See carelessness oo chei
      May God rest her soul
      It's well with those she left behind

2. Yes as it should be. Here it was counted before my CS

3. 19:01 what about the counting after your CS?

That's where the issue is not just before!

4. That's the job of the surgical nurse. Everything, including the gauze, should be counted and recounted.
      This is so unfortunate I can't believe it.

5. This is the height of negligence! Don't they count the tools before commencing surgery.. That was how a doctor forgot coyyon pad in a friend's wife during C-section that almost cost her her life , she was in hospital for 6months with lota of money spent., It was reported to the police. But the Dr found his way out. Now again, .such a beautiful woman. May God grant comfort ro the family.

6. Forgetting surgical instruments, such as scissors, inside a patient’s body is a long-standing form of medical negligence within the Nigerian healthcare system. I sincerely hope the medical team responsible for this operation is held accountable, as in many cases such negligence goes unpunished. Had proper quality assurance protocols and surgical safety checks been strictly followed, this tragic outcome could have been prevented. This is yet another painful example of systemic failure. May the Lord comfort and strengthen her loved ones during this difficult time.

1. Systemic failure is apt to describe the country's norms.๐Ÿ“Œ

7. This is really terrible.
    How many lives will be affected before something is done

8. Only God knows how much pain she must have gone through. May her soul rest in peace ๐Ÿ•Š️

9. It's always very disheartening reading stories like this. May her soul rest in peace.

10. For those saying how can this happen, it is actually a very easy occurrence: just imagine dropping utensils in a bucket of soaked clothes and you'll have a bit of an understanding on the how, BUT THEN that's why surgical protocol advocates an instrument count before and after every procedure to ensure its all accounted for. Most trained theatre nurses do this automatically. Dunno why they didn't just do an imaging study when the complaint became recurring. That would've sorted this out much earlier {embarrassing but still...}.
    May her soul rest in peace

1. Exactly, how did they let her go on complaining for 4 full months without them thinking of requesting her tp go for a scan?? Like shouldn't that be one of the first things to order for if someone that had surgery a few weeks/months ago starts complaining of pain? The first thought should have been whether there's something going on with the organ or area around the organ operated on, and they would then have found this negligence sooner and corrected their wrong.
      People need to start suing oh.
      This is what I said yesterday, so many needless deaths happening.

11. Pure negligence. I always wonder why they even have to put the instruments on the bodies of the patients, talk more of forgetting them there. Na wa.

12. Lord have mercy ๐Ÿ˜ญ. Such negligence from doctors? What are they taking ๐Ÿ˜ฉ

13. This is a costly mistake, everyone involved should be arrested..may her soul rest in peace ๐Ÿ•Š️

14. Oh My God
    What is wrong with these medical practitioner, this is so sad to read

15. Nigerians have entered on chance in the medical field! If you sick in Nigeria your name is OYO.

16. Oh the pains she must have gone through before her demise ๐Ÿ˜ญ
    Let the family drag the hospital and make them pay through their nose. Heads must roll
    This is too painful.
    Rest in peace.

17. My problem now is that someone has be complaining of abdominal pains for 6 good months and they Couldn't ask her to go for scan. That hospital needs to be shut down

18. Oh no! Why are some of these people like this? This is just so so sad and painful.

19. So sad. Rest in peace ma'am. ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿฟ๐Ÿ˜”

20. The only problem I have with doctors is their arrogance. A lot of them are very arrogant

1. Arrogance and incompetence. When you are arrogant you can never do the right thing.

21. Why will they even put medical tools inside a patient, as in you use scissors and after using it, you put it inside the patient instead of putting it back in a bowl or wherever they take it from, I don't understand.
    This is so sad, may her soul find rest and peace.

1. Exactly my thought too. Like how will they drop it inside the patient instead of the bowl, abi we sha do watch medical series.

That was how they almost killed a family friend who gave birth through CS. They forgot very big cotton pad inside her. It was only God that saved that woman due to incessant stomach pain complains, that's where scan conducted showed it. Imagine someone that passed through the pain of CS not long been opened again? Isn't that too much? Something needs to be done about our medical system

22. Same thing happened to my late Grand dad, though he survived it at the time, he had to be operated again to remove it, but the pains was out of this world.
    May her soul rest in peace.

23. A Pair Of Scissors
    Oh Noooooo

24. A pair of scissors??? CHUKWU AJU ifeojoo!!!๐Ÿ˜ข

25. Heartbreaking stories we read makes one sad ๐Ÿ’”
    This simply would have been avoided if medical team was not negligent ☹️

26. My God! I couldn't read to the end, ๐Ÿ˜ž may her soul rest in peace.