Hmmmm......
STAND ALONE NARRATIVE
ANXIETY OVER SNAKES
I have been having anxiety and I don't know how to get over it. I live in an estate in Idu, Abuja.
One morning in December between 10am and 11am, my son who is 2 years old opened the door and stepped to the front of the door to play.
He always likes stepping out that he will cry whenever we open the door or if a visitor comes and is leaving.
So, sometimes my husband will open the door for him and close the protector in other for him to remain in front of the door and play.
On this day, the boy stepped out as usual and was there, only for my husband to step and out and lo and behold, there was a snake right in front of the door, it already climbed the tiles and my son was right there without knowing what it was.
My husband quickly dragged him inside, closed the door and got help to kill the snake.
Again, on another day in the same December, there my son was again struggling to go out and I heard my husband scream at him to go back inside, the next thing I heard "Snake",
I ran to the living room to ensure my son was inside and to make sure he didn't open the door again. This time around, the snake was facing our entrance, it's neck raised but it had not climbed the tiles. We got help and it was killed.
Then on Thursday, 29th January at around past 10am, I was in my room when I heard my husband call out to me to take my baby and go out (I am a new mum).
First, he said I should get help for him. I was wondering because he was in the living room while I was in the bedroom and so, he was in a position to go out and get help. I ran to the window and called out our security but there was no response.
My husband then said I should take my baby and run out of the house. At this point I didn't know exactly what was wrong. I was like is it fire? I couldn't smell anything. Thank God my son had gone to school. I was even expressing breast milk and my baby was sleeping in her bed, that was how I grabbed my baby and ran.
So when i got to the living room my husband then said "Snake"! OMG!
Another one! In my living room?
I ran out barefoot my baby and breast pump calling out for my neighbour but no response. Security boy was not at his post. Thank God a guy was passing nearby and I told him that my husband needed help and he went and they killed the snake.
What happened was that my husband had just returned home not up to 1 hour from that time. Prior I was in the kitchen, I made breakfast, bathed my baby and all. So, when my husband came back, he sat on the chair by the window and was on his phone. I even told him his food was on the dinning and I left to the room.
So, he said he felt something on his hand and swung his hand only for a Snake to fall off and immediately start heading towards the room. He threw something at it and it slide back to the middle of the living room. So, my husband picked the mop stick and used it to pin it down. He couldn't let go so it didn't escape and that was why he asked me to call for help.
We got the Snake chemical and fumigated the house and the compound. I left home for 2 days. Getting back now to the news of the lady that was killed by a snake bite.
I have been so scared. I can't move freely in my house. I am anxious the moment my son leaves my site and I cannot confine him to one spot, he goes to the parlour, to the kitchen and to the other room where my living with me stays but as soon as he moves, I am calling out to him and asking him to get back.
He can't freely watch cartoon in the parlour anymore. Once there is any feeling or touch on my body, even if it is my hair that touches my neck, I am scared. I am concerned about my baby in her cot.
I don't know why this happened all recently because we have lived in this house since 2023 and we only recently had these experiences. The apartment is in the basement of the house.
Please, this is a cry for help!
I want to move to another apartment. My budget is 2M for a 2 bedroom apartment. I don't have money for agency and all those other bills that are factored into rent so I will prefer to deal directly with the house owner.
Help me, help my children.
Now, I can't even leave the house and my children in the care of my sister because I feel she cannot kill a snake and so what happens if a snake shows up?
I will resume from my maternity leave soon and as long as we are still in this apartment, I don't know how I can function knowing my children are in the same house.
Even me here I am not the same at all......I fainted reading this story.....
Please leave that house ooooh...You can be sleeping and it will come and bite you...They can be hiding under the bed to cool off from the heat.....RUN FIRST, you will see house later!

This freaked me out. 2 snakes in Dec, and another one in Jan. I really do pray you move out soon. I mean you can't keep fumigating that place, while living in fear.
ReplyDeleteGrowing up,my GrandMa had lots of bitterleaf planted around our home in the village,then lemongrass,she was the one who made me know they are snake repellants and if for any reason you get bitten by a snake;you chew the bitterleaf in its raw form,then chew kolanut afterwards.
ReplyDeleteAlso my mum thought me to put Kolanut and cloves around the windows of the home,and also various hidden corners;it wards off snakes and evil spirits😊;I still do it till date..
Don’t know who needs this info but i know it would help someone out there.
We have never had any history of snake attacks;even in communities with history of snakes,and I make use of nature which is a combo of Kolanut,Ginger and cloves in my own home;then a touch of salt incase(XP would understand the reason😁).
This combo goes a long way;not just for snakes alone but many more things.
Hope this helps.
@MARTINS
Don’t count on bitter leaf oh
DeleteYour grandma was smart. Apparently cloves and clove oil is one of the US government recommended snake deterrents. Cinnamon, cinnamon oil and peppermint oil have proven helpful too. Anything that can make it difficult or uncomfortable for the snake to crawl on the ground should be put down too. If they can't crawl freely then they can't come to you.
DeleteMARTINS, do you mean bitter kola? Or Kola nut? I have lemon grass and bitterleaf in my compound, I also scattered bitter kola inside my house.
Delete@Cristie,sorry I was typing fast..it's BITTERKOLA wonderful people of God,not Kolanut..
DeleteThanks for calling my attention to that.
@16:23;it was what I learnt from her;snake never bite me to confirm it or not😊,but all I know is that with all what I stated above;snakes can't come into your compound either..
It's a two factor authentication thing,guard everywhere and don't rely on one.
You know why? Here is the fun fact:
Im from Njaba in Imo state,Huge pythons crawl around my community freely and can't be harmed;it's forbidded(it's a long history).
I know one or two things about various snakes,their bites and all,and I'm teaching it freely here because it could save a life..
@16:24,thanks for the info too.
We learn everyday,I appreciate you🙏
#Cheers
@MARTINS
16.24 your snake and us snake not the same oh
DeleteYou are even told to just leave most of them alone as they don’t have Vernom
Careful with the peppermint oil because of newborn baby
DeleteGod abeg. This is scary. You fear is understandable, may God give you speed to move out.
ReplyDeleteJesus! what is this? I nearly fainted reading this.
ReplyDeleteThis reminds me of the day I saw snake in our living room at night in my hometown, the place and the surroundings are not bush, I was traumatized more than two years and whenever I went to the village, I was always afraid, it was just a step for me to match it.
ReplyDeletePlase don't ever walk or stay in darkness, because it was already dark that day and I didn't mind walking in darkness so far I was familiar with the surroundings, but on that particular day, I decided to take a touch light with me, even though the touch light was very dim and hardly bright enough to see anything, when I first saw the snake, I thought it was a dress belt because I had three black gowns with belts, I wanted to enter as I opened the door and saw it, but my instinct told me to look again, I saw the thing dancing on the floor, I just jammed the door immediately and called for help, since that day, I don't walk in darkness again, even in the city.
Oh my God, this sounded so scary. Please move out of that house as quickly as you can, i beg you. In the interim, get as many bitter kola as you can, litter it everywhere in the compound, the rooms, in fact the entire house. It wades off snakes. God will come through speedily for you amen
ReplyDeleteOh dear 😳,this is serious.
ReplyDeletePlease leave that apartment as soon as possible
Hmm God abeg ooo !!
ReplyDeleteRun where kwanu Stella !
For how long? Getting a house in Abuja is not a day or two days thing.
They need to leave the place ASAP but in the meantime, employ every possible means to stay safe. Scarter plenty bitter kola around your house. Sprinkle fuel/sniper every morning in and around your house. Pls be careful with the sniper becos of your son. You can sprinkle the sniper around your compound. Engage the services of snake catchers (Aboki people) to check the house for snakes. For your sinks, toilets and bathrooms, pour enough salt and fuel inside. These are just temporary measures incase you don't have anywhere to stay while looking for another place.
My sister, fake snake catchers dey now too o. Na so one talk say him sabi do am come charge better money. Something wey dey guys wey na their actual work no dey even do. Na so him enter the house wey snake dey inside o. Before we know, dis guy don dey shout for help like person wey don see death.
DeleteNa so we confuse. Snake catcher dey shout for help again? Na so him go lock himself inside toilet inside the house. Later in the evening we go get another snake catcher and na dat one come save the day.
@Dog, snake catcher that needed urgent 2k couldn’t handle the mission when faced with it🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
DeleteI understand the need to fumigate but don’t sprinkle sniper or fuel or any strong smell round your house o! You have a baby and kids. The smell is harmful for them even you. Try other alternatives.
DeleteThis is so scary. Please pack out of that place immediately.
ReplyDeleteThey're cheaper houses in kubwa, beautiful houses estate like too
ReplyDeleteWhat's the snake situation in Kubwa?
DeleteWhat part of kubwa please? I need a mini flat in kubwa.
Delete"He said he felt something on his hand and swung his hand only for a Snake to fall off"
ReplyDeleteJesus !! Thank God it didn't bite him. I pray you get speedy help for a new place. Meanwhile, pray to get a better place. Let it not be you're jumping from frying pan to fire.
"He said he felt something on his hand and swung his hand only for a Snake to fall off"
ReplyDeleteJesus !! Thank God it didn't bite him. I pray you get speedy help for a new place. Meanwhile, pray to get a better place. Let it not be you're jumping from frying pan to fire.
Another snake story???😭😭😭😭
ReplyDeleteChim o
Likeeeee 😫
DeleteI feel your stress because finding a de@d snake would stress me out muchless three live ones sauntering around inside and outside. This stress is too much for a young family with small children.
ReplyDeleteThe man I watched on YouTube yesterday said if you live in Abuja and your sewage system is connected to the Abuja main sewage system the chances are high snakes will be coming through, because they are abundant in the sewage system. If there is an estate management let them check the sewage system and do what needs to be done. Cover your toilet lids and be careful when using the toilet. I'm afraid to say this, but I feel the snakes are breeding close by. The entire environment needs to be assessed.
Another commenter on the video was talking about fish, from what was stated it appears that snakes follow fish and if you cook or eat fish they will come for you, even if they smell it in the clothes. Apparently, the clothes smelling with fish must be washed the same day. Another person said aloe vera plants attract and harbor snakes. One thing I learned in South America is that snakes love pineapples, so they will gravitate towards pineapple plants and peelings. Use this information however it can help.
I honestly wish I had a place to let because I would surely let you and your family move there, even if I had to take less rent. I hate these kinds of story and thinking about the innocence of your children not even knowing the danger around them. You also need to stay alive to be there for them and protect them. I really hope you find a good safe place to move to soon.
Please leave that house, for God’s sake. May God see you through and grant you and your husband the resources to find another home. May that home be a peaceful abode for you. Congratulations on your new baby! God bless your home 🙏
ReplyDeleteEUM Cali
This snake attacks in Abuja has become matter of emergency 🦺.
ReplyDeleteWhy are snakes crawling out of pipes inside people's home? 😨
Pls move ASAP God pls protect term as You hv been doing, I cringed while reading this ahhhh
ReplyDeleteI got scared reading this. Please anybody on here that can help her get a house asap on her budget, should please help. I fear for your family. May God ease you of the stress you're feeling from all these. I don't know why there're so many snakes roaming around right now
ReplyDeleteYou sure the former inhabitants of the house weren't into some occultic stuff?
ReplyDeleteI once shared similar experience I had last year or towards the end of last two years. How I overcame it is by firm warning. I warned the snake as if I was talking to a real human. I warned them firmly and I quoted scriptures, I have no connection with them so why would they keep coming around, them dey mad? Since then, no more. I will share my testimony on this one fateful day. I pray I'd be chanced this Sunday
Heii God!!! 🙆🏻♀️ another snake post? Abeg na
ReplyDeleteThe scariest thing ever. Around this time last year, we saw two snakes in our compound. We haven't been the same since. So scary
ReplyDeleteMay God send her suddenly for you and your family.
ReplyDeleteGod please safe your children's oo.
ReplyDeleteLord have mercy 🙏
ReplyDeleteMadam pls you & your family should leave there. Your safety 1st 1️⃣
You can talk to your church Pastor or Priest or Imam is you're a Muslim to help if you don't have relatives nearby.
Seems your house has families of snakes living there 🤢 Jesu o 😧
Hey God not another snake story... Please leave there asap Biko.
ReplyDeleteI pray you find a good and safe space soon
ReplyDeletePlease move out already, this is too bad. May God provide a good accommodation for you and your family.
ReplyDeleteThis snake issue is gradually becoming a trend. It is not ordinary. Some of these landlords have some explanation to do.