Super Eagles head coach Eric Chelle has put forward a detailed list of 19 conditions for extending his contract with the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF).
The proposals were submitted on January 22, 2026, according to reliable reports from Nigerian sports journalist Shina Oludare.
Eric Chelle, the Franco-Malian tactician appointed in January 2025 on a two year deal, is asking for better working conditions, full control over team matters, and a big pay increase. His current salary is around $50,000 per month, but he now wants $130,000 monthly. This amount would cover his entire technical staff and personal assistant.
Here are the main points from his list:
1. Private SUV with chauffeur and security
2. House in a secure area with 24-hour power supply
3. Furnished office with projector for match analysis
4. Internet access provided
5. Business class flights for him and his wife, economy for their two children
6. GPS device
7. Equipment supplied as per his requests
8. Right to choose international friendly opponents
9. Camping programs arranged
10. Permission to start youth development programs
11. Travel to scout and monitor players abroad
12. Travel to watch the local league for new talents (for senior team, U23, U20, U17)
13. No NFF interference in player selection or call-ups
14. Proper work contracts for his staff
15. Salary paid on or before the 30th of each month
16. Bonuses and allowances follow federation rules
17. Include his PA in bonus structure
18. $130,000 monthly salary (covers all staff and PA)
19. Monthly meetings with all national team coaches
These demands come at a time when Chelle's contract has one year left, and talks about renewal are ongoing. He recently attracted interest from clubs like Marseille (which did not work out) and others, showing his growing profile after leading Nigeria to AFCON bronze in 2025. The NFF has not yet responded publicly to his demands.
Here are the main points from his list:
1. Private SUV with chauffeur and security
2. House in a secure area with 24-hour power supply
3. Furnished office with projector for match analysis
4. Internet access provided
5. Business class flights for him and his wife, economy for their two children
6. GPS device
7. Equipment supplied as per his requests
8. Right to choose international friendly opponents
9. Camping programs arranged
10. Permission to start youth development programs
11. Travel to scout and monitor players abroad
12. Travel to watch the local league for new talents (for senior team, U23, U20, U17)
13. No NFF interference in player selection or call-ups
14. Proper work contracts for his staff
15. Salary paid on or before the 30th of each month
16. Bonuses and allowances follow federation rules
17. Include his PA in bonus structure
18. $130,000 monthly salary (covers all staff and PA)
19. Monthly meetings with all national team coaches
These demands come at a time when Chelle's contract has one year left, and talks about renewal are ongoing. He recently attracted interest from clubs like Marseille (which did not work out) and others, showing his growing profile after leading Nigeria to AFCON bronze in 2025. The NFF has not yet responded publicly to his demands.
What is this?Please Welcome back Augustine Eguavon!!!

Head coach wetin happen.
ReplyDeleteNothing outrageous here. Tunisia or Morocco (can't recall) is offering him an even better package than this.
ReplyDeleteI don’t understand what Stella is talking about. There’s nothing outlandish here. These are normal stuff coaches ask for and are supposed to be provided. National coach has to feel at home in the country he’s coaching
DeleteOk sir, Weldon
ReplyDeleteThis is very reasonable. Other teams are offering him far more. Plus he delivered.
ReplyDeleteThis NFF we know might even do more for him but na local coach dem see finish
ReplyDeleteImagine his request
I stand with him
ReplyDeleteHe is an international material and he is worth it.
He is working for all the incentives and not flexing.
Even Kim Kardashians that spent two days they did more for her.
This is Nigeria, if anything happens to that man now the NFF would not do anything. Even their best players they don’t care.about them if they are indisposed.
I stand with him…..
If they can’t meet his terms and conditions they should look for the one they can pay,
I think he should be given a free hand in selection and call ups for the team . NFF interference in the team has cost us so much football chances as a nation. Playing the favoritism cards does not help us in any way. They should give him what he has asked for as long as he can deliver. Coaches elsewhere earn more.
ReplyDeleteIf Nigeria wants good results, his conditions are not outrageous.
ReplyDeleteThe NFF officials are living larger than all his given conditions. Yet contributes nothing.
County or clubs that desires better results give better condition of service.
Coach Westerhorf has all these conditions, reason why we kept saying none like him in national team coaching ever since.
SDK he’s just asking for basic stuffs. Nothing special in his demands. He didn’t ask for much at all
ReplyDeleteThese are his terms, if NFF doesn’t agree then he can move. I honestly question players and coaches that play or coach for Nigeria. They will frustrate you pro max max! It is one thing to agree to the terms of your contract-I hope they will pay when the time comes.
ReplyDeleteWhat is outrageous here, Stella?
ReplyDeleteNo serious employer even waits till 30th to pay staff.
130k is even lower than I expected.
There is a serious NEED for talent hunting and having local leagues and school tournaments well established. That is the background of the 1996 dream team.
One SUV isn't even enough. When Bonfree Joe coached us, people went to burn his house when Nigeria lost a match with Marwa as governor then and I remember how many 504s were in the compound.
Do you expect him to lap his PA when giving his deputies and technical team a ride? Nothing less than 4 cars is feasible, even if all are not SUVs. Perhaps Tacoma or Hilux for those scouting trips.
He needs to run his camp and needs freedom from the sucking mosquitos in NFF. Equipment, GPS tracker,
If we are part of the NFF and chose to subject staff to lower pay, who are we deceiving? Should he have to beg to beg for team meeting again?
These are very reasonable demands. The Arab states in Africa will pay him 200 percent more and not even flinch but he knows the current team has promise.