'The Coca-Cola you drink in Nigeria is unfit for consumption in the UK.
In 2017, a Nigerian business man won a court case against the Nigerian Bottling Company after UK authorities refused to let him import Fanta and Sprite produced in Nigeria into the UK due to excessive benzoic acid and sunset yellow levels unsafe for human consumption.
Products like Coke, Fanta, and Sprite contribute to Nigeria's cancer burden.
Benzoic acid is a chemical preservative used in many soft drinks and acidic foods to prevent spoilage from bacteria, yeast, and fungi.
It ultimately forms benzene, a known carcinogen, especially when combined with vitamin C and exposed to heat or light.
Maximum levels of benzoic acid in soft drinks are 150 mg/L in the UK/EU and 250 mg/L in Nigeria.
However, independent tests of many Nigerian soft drinks have found levels as high as 300-400 mg/litre.
Nine years after the historic judgment, the drinks are still sold openly in Nigeria without warnings, and most Nigerians remain unaware of the benzene risks and cancer risks they carry.
With no requirement to warn consumers, most people do not know the risks.
Anyone can be exposed, but children are especially vulnerable because they drink more sodas and have smaller bodies.
According to independent laboratory tests, Nigeria’s Fanta contains EU banned synthetic dyes (Carmoisine E122 or Allura Red E129).
They were found in Fanta Strawberry, Fanta Orange variants, and other local soft drinks.
Demand transparency because everyone deserves to know what is in their drinks''.
Credit: GST via X.

Chimo 😱😱😱😱
ReplyDeleteI saw a picture online where noodles sold in California carried a clear warning that they can cause cancer. Ultimately, anything processed has greater carcinogenic properties as we are beginning to find out.
ReplyDeleteThe occasional indulgence is fine. Don't just make a habit out of consuming processed foods and drinks.
Hmmmm
ReplyDeleteMake Una Come Buy Zobo Drink ooooo
Chidex Zobo Is Healthy And Available
My darling 👍 sometimes we don't know the value of our zobo & kunu dem 🍹
DeleteHmmm.
ReplyDeleteThere is someone I know that drinks a bottle of mineral with every meal. I wonder if they are still doing that up till now...... I hope not.
My neighbor dey this table
DeleteEvery meal and snacks one bottle of American Cola
My one and only elder sister oo..one or two Pepsi daily(grandma) u go gree hear???
DeleteLet's all learn to discipline ourselves. Went for an event recently, and someone left her table and started calling the soft drinks on our table and stuffing into her handbag. I just shook my head in pity and looked away. 😂
ReplyDeleteMay God heal me from coke addiction.
ReplyDeleteAmen, but you must be intentional about it yourself.
DeleteFor those who still drink them.
ReplyDeleteI don't remember when I took coke&fanta last.
Na wah oooo
ReplyDeleteI will reduce the way I drink Sprite and Coke...
Odi egwu really.
Please my dear...
DeleteFor your own good 👍
Pleas do..
Deletelord help me to completely stop taking coke, fanta, sprit or any carbonated drink. I have been working hard on this and to tell you all the truth i am doing great. In a month i cannot take more than two bottles but i want to completely replace it with water, water, water is a life saver.
ReplyDeleteYou can do it.
DeleteI’ve been there that’s why I can tell you confidently.
I only take soda now if I feel like I’ve burned much sugar/glucose in my body and feeling dizzy.
For everytime you feel like drinking soda, intentionally grab a bottle of water instead.
Be accountable to someone too.
Make I kuku cancel soft drink and face water alone, even though I take once in a while when feeling hot and I see the with ice inside.
ReplyDeleteHow can I stop this completely 😞baba na your hand I dey o
ReplyDeleteVi.. M... i bought the other day, e be like they just poured a gallon of sugar inside. Like what is this. Even one so called 3n1 beverage, it was like I was drinking sugar. Wey dey worry una manufacturers sef.
ReplyDeleteGod abeg ooo...
ReplyDeleteNa ur hand I dey with dis coke addiction...help me oh Lord
Thank God how my body on it's started rejecting all this " mineral" and him family.
ReplyDeleteMany are addicted...God go help una o.. The world 🌍 needs you!!
ReplyDeleteMay God help us 🙏
ReplyDeleteGuys, this is not about prayer! Be intentional with your lifestyle, make water and lots of veggies your friend. Taking enough water will help the vital organs in your body perform its job.
ReplyDeleteNa wa. I'm just tired
ReplyDeleteThank God I'm not a fan, I drink it once in a blue moon, I don't usually buy it with my money, and if they gift me, I usually gift out most of the time.