Actress Iyabo Ojo Says “Voodoo Exists In Africa And It Truly Works”
Yoruba Nollywood actress Iyabo Ojo says critics should stop attacking African supernatural themes in movies because voodoo is a real part of African culture and it’s powerful.
Speaking on BBC Radio 1XTRA, she explained that filmmakers are simply portraying long‑standing traditions, beliefs, and folklore, not inventing stories for effect.
In her words:
“This is Africa. We must tell our stories as they are, no matter how modern we become. Voodoo exists here, and it works. Whether people accept it or not, things like ‘Ayeta’ are real. We can’t pretend our culture doesn’t exist.” Iyabo insisted that Nollywood has a responsibility to reflect authentic African realities, not watered‑down versions shaped by Western expectations.
The annoying thing is the people that will be claiming they dont believe that we have juju in Nigeria. Those are the ones we dey do the juju sef and dey pretend.
SoI want to ask a question. Every time, every time, I will be seeing people claiming to have power here. That kpe some body offend them, the person always use suffers. If they cry, and the cry commot for EU and each ground over something, the person who made them cry will have plenty headache . Ok.headache. Please , I want to ask Sir/ Ma, that 'power' is it not possible to use for something good. Or nobody here use to dream good dream for somebody? Or somebody that their power is removing problems in people's lives? Why is you people's own so so negative power? Make una manage my English. Oyibo is my 5th language.
Sdimokokorkus@gmail.com Mobile Phone +4915210724141
No be lie
ReplyDeleteThe annoying thing is the people that will be claiming they dont believe that we have juju in Nigeria. Those are the ones we dey do the juju sef and dey pretend.
ReplyDeleteVery true
ReplyDeleteVoodoo is real
Voodoo
ReplyDeleteHello iya Boys
True 💯
ReplyDeleteMost of una pastor use voodoo even white garments church, prayer house and others
ReplyDeleteWell, I'm not interested in seeing all of that. Reason why I filter the movies I watch. You can't catch me watching anyhow.
ReplyDeleteSoI want to ask a question.
ReplyDeleteEvery time, every time, I will be seeing people claiming to have power here. That kpe some body offend them, the person always use suffers. If they cry, and the cry commot for EU and each ground over something, the person who made them cry will have plenty headache . Ok.headache. Please , I want to ask Sir/ Ma, that 'power' is it not possible to use for something good. Or nobody here use to dream good dream for somebody? Or somebody that their power is removing problems in people's lives? Why is you people's own so so negative power?
Make una manage my English.
Oyibo is my 5th language.
This life is not ordinary. It's more spiritual,you decide,if it's darkness or light. It's still your choice.
ReplyDeleteVoodoo is real but JESUS CHRIST POWER PASS!!!