Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Pinky's CORNER

Sunday, May 03, 2026

Pinky's CORNER

This is a painful story for me to even repeat, but I’m sharing it because of the lesson inside and because the whole thing made me look so foolish without knowing.....

It all started with a cousin I met about six years ago, a woman with a son whose father I kept asking about until she gave me a heartbreaking story that made me stop asking questions...
She told me the man was useless, irresponsible and that he even impregnated her friend, claiming that the same friend she helped ended up snatching her husband, so I believed her and moved on, not knowing that for years I had been friends with the man and his wife here in Ibadan without realizing there was any connection between them and my cousin. 

Recently, we were all together discussing how men sometimes create their own problems, and he began sharing his past, explaining how he once lived happily in Abuja with his wife and two children until the wife brought in her friend to stay temporarily, and according to him, agreeing to that was the beginning of his downfall because after about a year the friend started seducing him, and instead of telling his wife, he tried to handle it alone until he eventually fell into the temptation and slept with her several times, leading to a pregnancy that almost destroyed his home.......

He said it took God and family members almost two years to settle the matter before he and his wife reconciled.
 He later relocated to Ibadan to start afresh, and you could feel the pain in his voice as he talked about everything he lost when his wife left him, and he mentioned that the boy is now over eleven years old but he has never set eyes on him because he doesn’t want to deal with the mother...

He described her as someone who can do anything to get what she wants. 
Then something shocked me deeply .... when I asked if he had the boy’s picture, he showed us, and the moment I saw it, my heart dropped because it was the same boy my cousin has been parading as her son, the same cousin who painted this man and his wife as devils, not knowing she was the one who betrayed her friend and destroyed their home.

I couldn’t even open my mouth to tell him she is my cousin because the disappointment was too much, especially remembering all the lies she told me. I asked him if he would love to reconnect with his son and he said yes, and even his wife had mentioned it before, but he hasn’t been able to reach the mother....

I’ve decided I won’t involve myself at all and I will pretend I know nothing, even when my cousin still calls me like nothing happened, like last week when she asked me for directions to Idanre in Ondo State.

This whole thing made me wonder why some women choose to be their own enemies, how can someone help you and your thank‑you is to destroy her home? And now you see young girls boldly saying they don’t mind being a third wife. 

It’s embarrassing and painful to witness. 
No matter what happens, never bring anyone into your home to live with you because it rarely ends well. 
Ire o.

7 comments:

1. It is natural to believe and empathize with family members or friends in a situation.narrated, MC. Pinky. I made a mistake like that once and since then I don't believe a one sided story anymore.

Woe betides men who believe a woman's story without proper investigation.

If you think my opinion is wrong ask Potiphar for his experience after Joseph became a prime minister in Egypt.

1. As in ehn..the thing tire me oooo..

It's so embarrassing to me shaaa

2. 'woe betide men who believes a woman's story without proper investigation'..... See this quote, it's an underrated but essential one.

2. ‎t is natural to believe and empathize with family members or friends in a situation.narrated, MC. Pinky. I made a mistake like that once and since then I don't believe a one sided story anymore.

‎Woe betide men who believe a woman's story without proper investigation.

‎If you think my opinion is wrong ask Potiphar for his experience after Joseph became a prime minister in Egypt.

Edited

3. Hope you won't do same to your wife?

4. Destroying a home isn't just about infidelity. My wife brought in a relative (young lady) supposedly temporarily. I didn't really like it, but it made her happy, so....whatever. The lady came in, noticed she was a little cold towards me; doesn't greet nor interact except in the presence of madam, to the extent of walking past me once or twice outside the home completely ignoring me. I didn't think anything about it. I assumed -young girl trying to keep to herself to avoid stories that touch (which was fine by me anyway) until I started noticing things.. The kids started acting up and making comments and asking funny questions (daddy why are you like this and that...), odd attitudes by the help etc. Eventually came across discussions she had with friends where she insulted and called me names, even insulted my wife calling her mentally sick and basically called ours a failed marriage. I was flabbergasted at the level of hate. Friends told me to chase her out. I refused. Tacitly informed madam, she didn't particularly believe me so... I let it go before it'll be assumed I had an ulterior motive plus, I had no evidence.Anyway, long story short, she eventually left. My wife was informed by a friend of her friend about a conversation she had come across where the same lady was denigrating my wife and saying so many unsavoury things.
    When she left, the house suddenly felt like a presence had left...even the help that had been misbehaving suddenly started acting normal again.
    The lady is married now and I sincerely wish her well, wherever she is, preferably far from us. The supposed failed marriage is past a decade and GOD has been Faithful to us.
    Bottom-line, snakes will hurt you, it'll either bite, spit venom or something. Best avoided.