Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ooni Of Ife Tells Yoruba Kings To Use Traditional Powers Against Banditry And Kidnappings

Monday, June 08, 2026

Ooni Of Ife Tells Yoruba Kings To Use Traditional Powers Against Banditry And Kidnappings

The Ooni of Ife, Oba Adeyeye Ogunwusi, has called on traditional rulers across Yorubaland to fight rising cases of banditry and kidnapping using their ancestral powers, spiritual heritage, and community influence. He made this statement at the grand finale of the 2026 World Ifa Festival held in Ile-Ife. 

The Ooni said traditional rulers should not stay silent while criminals cause fear in their domains. He stressed the need for kings to work closely with each other and with security agencies to bring peace back to the region.

The Ooni stated;
“We must bring together our traditional powers, spiritual heritage, and communal values to chase bandits, kidnappers, and all criminal elements out of Yorubaland and Nigeria as a whole.”

He also commended President Bola Tinubu’s government for its efforts against insecurity but pointed out that real and lasting peace needs the joint work of traditional rulers, government, religious leaders, and ordinary citizens. The Ooni made special prayers for the safe return of students and teachers recently abducted from schools.

15 comments:

1. As it should be.

2. Is it a spiritual problem?
    I thought they say that NIN registration will help to track all these evil men.
    Se Trump wanted to come to their aid,dem dey fear

3. Back in the days We used to watch "Abija, fadeyi oloro, etc... so all these our Ifa and co cannot do something ni ๐Ÿ™„

1. Ehen...my sister, abi na for only feem e dey happen?

4. The older generation were not corrupt then so the charm were effective not this yahoo generation..

1. Exactly. Same with church. I was in primary school when I regular experience of youths praying to hold rain anytime they have a crusade in our church. If they don't want it for four days that's how it will be. No concoction or what magic, just prayer. But now ?

2. * when I had regular experience*

5. Something they should have done long ago...

6. May God Come Throngh ooo

7. Way to go ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘Œ
    Nice moves ๐Ÿ‘Œ

8. Even this kind information no suppose dey internet, na inner caucus meeting. Juju full Yoruba land, but na fake plenty pass.