Cameroon has a tradition that sounds almost unbelievable if you have never heard of it.
According to the tradition, when someone dies young before the time they were believed to have fulfilled their purpose in life the family may perform a ritual that allows the person’s spirit to “return” and continue working in another town.
And this is where it gets really fascinating.
The person is believed to leave the community, go to another town, and hustle just like a living person. They work, make money, and build up what they have.
Then comes a special day known as Ghost Day.
On that particular day, these people are believed to return home.
You could be walking down the road and see someone you know someone the entire community knows has already died. You see them clearly. They are walking around, working, carrying things and behaving as though everything is normal.
But nobody screams.
Nobody runs.
Nobody acts surprised.
Because the people understand what that particular day means.
The “ghosts” are believed to have returned from wherever they have been working to bring money to their families—especially their parents or whoever performed the ritual for them.
They come home, hand over the money they have made, and then they are given food.
And apparently, one of the traditional meals prepared for them is plantain with plenty of pepper.
They eat, leave, and return to wherever they are believed to be staying until the next Ghost Day.
So, on this one day, the town is said to come alive with people who are believed to have died walking among the living, bringing money home to their families, collecting food, and then disappearing again.
Imagine seeing someone you attended school with, someone you watched being buried years ago, walking past you on the street and everyone around you simply carries on because they understand the tradition.
Whether you believe it literally or see it as a deeply rooted cultural and spiritual tradition, the story is certainly one of the most fascinating traditions I have ever heard about.
Have you ever heard of this Cameroonian tradition? And what is it called in your community?
According to the tradition, when someone dies young before the time they were believed to have fulfilled their purpose in life the family may perform a ritual that allows the person’s spirit to “return” and continue working in another town.
And this is where it gets really fascinating.
The person is believed to leave the community, go to another town, and hustle just like a living person. They work, make money, and build up what they have.
Then comes a special day known as Ghost Day.
On that particular day, these people are believed to return home.
You could be walking down the road and see someone you know someone the entire community knows has already died. You see them clearly. They are walking around, working, carrying things and behaving as though everything is normal.
But nobody screams.
Nobody runs.
Nobody acts surprised.
Because the people understand what that particular day means.
The “ghosts” are believed to have returned from wherever they have been working to bring money to their families—especially their parents or whoever performed the ritual for them.
They come home, hand over the money they have made, and then they are given food.
And apparently, one of the traditional meals prepared for them is plantain with plenty of pepper.
They eat, leave, and return to wherever they are believed to be staying until the next Ghost Day.
So, on this one day, the town is said to come alive with people who are believed to have died walking among the living, bringing money home to their families, collecting food, and then disappearing again.
Imagine seeing someone you attended school with, someone you watched being buried years ago, walking past you on the street and everyone around you simply carries on because they understand the tradition.
Whether you believe it literally or see it as a deeply rooted cultural and spiritual tradition, the story is certainly one of the most fascinating traditions I have ever heard about.
Have you ever heard of this Cameroonian tradition? And what is it called in your community?
From facebook
I dont know about any in my community but this one up there is quite shocking.
This one is Akudaya with a twist na π
ReplyDeleteAkudaya wey dey hustle...lol ...so Dem still dey bill dead body join
ReplyDeleteHaaa, this is strange. Just like the movie "American horror stories" . I've only seen and hear such ghost days in movies
ReplyDeleteGhost day π» they will be walking among the living, bringing money home to their families, collecting food, and then disappearing again.π₯Ή
ReplyDeleteGod abegoo
πππ
Make una come gist us o
ReplyDeleteHave anyone heard about this mysterious house around Onikolobo, along Ojere Road, near MAPOLY, Abeokuta?
ReplyDeletePeople say that those who lived there heard a baby crying at night, and no one could stay in the house for up to 24 hours.
It was also rumoured that the house had been empty for over 20 years.
Someone said that from 2014 to 2019, whenever they passed the house in their shuttle, they would see people mumbling or speaking in tongues.
He said one day,he planned to go there with his friends and make an “oyinbo film” But his mum suddenly called him and warned him not to go there as she had seen her doing strange things.
So, he aborted the mission.
Till today, he still wonders if the story is just a myth or if the house is truly mysterious.
Those who live in Abeokuta probably know the building.
It would have been cool seeing one of those haunted places/paranormal investigation videos from Africa. That video would have really blown up on YouTube and they could have created an entire channel off of that. But mama knows best!
DeleteChelsea don dey do wonders o..
ReplyDeleteWow π²π²π². What did I just read? This is crazy π§
ReplyDeleteThose ppl just looking for ways to work the dead and get free money. Imagine the dead can't even rest in peace, they still put them to work to earn for the living. Mtsssccchhhwww