Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Samsung Pays Apple $1 Billion Sending 30 Trucks Full Of 5 Cent Coins.....LMAOOOO!

Thursday, November 21, 2013

Samsung Pays Apple $1 Billion Sending 30 Trucks Full Of 5 Cent Coins.....LMAOOOO!

Last week more than 30 trucks filled with 5-cent coins arrived at Apple’s headquarters in California. Initially, the security company that protects the facility said the trucks were in the wrong place, but minutes later, Tim Cook (Apple CEO) received a call from Samsung CEO explaining that they will pay $1 billion dollars for the fine recently ruled against the South Korean company in this way.

The funny part is that the signed document does not specify a single payment method, so Samsung is entitled to send the creators of the iPhone their billion dollars in the way they deem best.
This dirty but genius geek troll play is a new headache to Apple executives as they will need to put in long hours counting all that money, to check if it is all there and to try to deposit it crossing fingers to hope a bank will accept all the coins.
Lee Kun-hee, Chairman of Samsung Electronics, told the media that his company is not going to be intimidated by a group of “geeks with style” and that if they want to play dirty, they also know how to do it.

You can use your coins to buy refreshments at the little machine for life or melt the coins to make computers, that’s not my problem, I already paid them and fulfilled the law.
A total of 20 billion coins, delivery hope to finish this week.

Let’s see how Apple will respond to this.

66 comments:

1. Lol........who says it's only Nigerians that knows how to "play it dirty"?

1. This is Old gist nau!!! Stella it happened months ago.

1. It not just old news very very old news

3. Not true. Same story was viral 2 years ago. Get ur facts right stella

4. LMAO!!!! Nice 1 Samsung but to think of it, Samsung wud put in as much energy & resources to count and load the trucks with those cents.

5. First to comment

6. Ex LIB Reader noni21 November 2013 at 16:29

LOL SLOW NEWS DAY FOR YOU BA STELLA ? ...THAT ISH HAPPENED A LONG TIME AGO !

7. I swear dis koreans are nuts...coins!!!...its gonna takE a week or more dan dat to count it...dang!!!...smh..guess am gonna do dat to dos am owing #winks..sipsbaron

8. pls i have ds my 'yard' neigbour....d girl go just dey disturb me for night...mid night ooo

Always FUCKING @ night....and she go just dey scream out so loud...dey disturb person

And ds girl...her fiance dey yankee oo.....but na anoda guy for wee compound dey service am every night

Ds girl,,na big girl oo,,,she dey drive correct car and everything

Their noise @ night,,,is so so annoying

##Long Hiiiisssssssss###

1. Na face me I face you" you dey stay?

2. Lol @ Linda Eze,abi o,which kin yard be dat?

3. Pele. Na prison yard?

9. PUNISHMENT OR REVENGE OF THE CENTURY

10. I hope you know that's a hoax.

11. PUNISHMENT OR REVENGE OF THE CENTURY

12. http://www.theguardian.com/technology/blog/2012/aug/29/apple-samsung-trucks-nickels-fake

Do your research well and give credibility to your blog

13. http://www.theguardian.com/technology/blog/2012/aug/29/apple-samsung-trucks-nickels-fake

Do your research well and give credibility to your blog

14. Stella dear, this is NOT funny. Hmmmm that's a VERY nasty way to pay debt/fine. I never imagined such a low thought can come out from Samsung of all people. That's ridiculous.......Mrs. Samuel

15. Haba! Stella!! This news is very very very very very very stale! AS IN STALE!!! and besides, the news was refuted!
    Slow news day I guess!

16. Wow meanest fin I'v ever seen o. Takin several seats already let's c aw d drama unfolds.

17. Stella hmmm I didn't know that you too dey copy verbatim. First, this is old gist!!! Secondly its like you and the person you culled this from no sabi yankee currency. Those are pennies naw! Just look at the color.

Anyway good for Samsung. "Two can play this game" indeeeed

1. Naaaaaa. That ain't no pennies besides its only a picture to depict the coins

2. You're right, those are gold nuggets mtcheww

18. lwkmd! Hahahhahahahahahahhahhahahaha! dats a big stinger 4 apple sha!

19. No, Samsung did not try to pay Apple its $1bn fine in nickels.

The story actually originated on El Deforma, described (by many) as "an Onion-like Mexican website" - that is, specialising in fake news.

The site has a "tip of the day", which on Wednesday had the advice: "Si vas a plagiar noticias, no uses un sitio de noticias falsas como fuente."

Or In English: "If you're going to steal news, make sure not to use a fake news site as a source."

20. Well, at least one fact is right: Tim Cook is chief executive of Apple.

On to the debunking.

1) Samsung's fine ($1.049bn) isn't yet payable; the judge hasn't ruled. All we have is the jury's verdict. The judge's decision, which could include a tripling of the fine, is due on 20 September (or possibly 6 December now; it's unclear). Until then, Samsung only has to pay its lawyers. That should be less than $1bn.

2) If Samsung tried to pay the fine in five-cent coins, Apple could legitimately tell the trucks to turn around and head back to Samsung (if the trucks weren't imaginary in the first place). Here's the relevant phrase from the US Treasury web page:

Q: I thought that United States currency was legal tender for all debts. Some businesses or governmental agencies say that they will only accept checks, money orders or credit cards as payment, and others will only accept currency notes in denominations of $20 or smaller. Isn't this illegal?

A: The pertinent portion of law that applies to your question is the Coinage Act of 1965, specifically Section 31 U.S.C. 5103, entitled "Legal tender," which states: "United States coins and currency (including Federal reserve notes and circulating notes of Federal reserve banks and national banks) are legal tender for all debts, public charges, taxes, and dues."

This statute means that all United States money as identified above are a valid and legal offer of payment for debts when tendered to a creditor. There is, however, no Federal statute mandating that a private business, a person or an organization must accept currency or coins as for payment for goods and/or services. Private businesses are free to develop their own policies on whether or not to accept cash unless there is a State law which says otherwise. For example, a bus line may prohibit payment of fares in pennies or dollar bills. In addition, movie theaters, convenience stores and gas stations may refuse to accept large denomination currency (usually notes above $20) as a matter of policy.

So basically it would be Apple's choice whether it accepted the payment. (In the UK, the rules are stricter: "legal tender" - meaning payment for a court-ordered debt - mean, says the Royal Mint, that 5ps are only legal tender for amounts up to £5, for example. It's only when you get to £1 that you can pay debts up to "any amount".)

3) Some more fact-checkiing from Ken Tindell via Twitter: "A nickel weighs 5g. It would take 2,755 18-wheeler trucks (max legal tare 80,000 lbs) to carry the money."

4) Consider how much a billion dollars in nickels would weigh: you need 20bn of them, and at 5g each that's 0.005 kg x 20,000,000,000 = 100,000,000 kg = 100,000 tonnes.

5) There probably aren't that many nickels in circulation anyway. The New York Times noted in 2006 that there were about 20bn nickels in circulation at the time; rising metal prices were encouraging people to melt them for the copper and zinc. Another dose of reason.

6) The amount of copper involved (95% of each nickel) is truly humungous because a billion is a very big number. 100,000 tonnes of copper (let's assume that's what it is for now) would, at a density of 8,940 kg/cubic metre (that's 8.94 tonnes/cubic metre), occupy just over 11,185 cubic metres. As an Olympic swimming pool has a capacity of 2,500 cubic metres (aka "one olymp"), that would be the same as four and a half Olympic swimming pools filled entirely with copper. Imagine that if you can.

And that Stella are the true facts of this issue...

1. My dear u r jst 2 much...hw u manged 2 type all dez down I dnt know....thumbs up any way

2. Can I be ur friend?

3. Em but a nickel is NOT 95% copper. It's 25% nickel and the rest copper hence the name. Lovely stats but not all accurate.

21. These Oyinbo people full of hate like we Africans oh..Anyway their own is always in disguise

22. Stella this jist is like "5 MONTHS OLD and not last week. Pls check and confirm.thanks

23. Lmao, you fell for that hoax. This story has been around since 2012. Google it.

24. Stella. This is fake news naw. It made the rounds last year.
    Google is your friend nau as you always say to us. You will see almost the exact same article. Published last year

25. I love white people sha. How e for b if na naija dis one for happen?

26. More respect to Samsung... I like the way they play. SHAKI

27. Funny though but will I say its wickedness, cnt imagine going to the bank to withdraw 10k n am given coins. Still lafn

28. Young Awesome Mum21 November 2013 at 17:34

Lmaooooo!! Wahala dey!!

29. That's one funny trick. I still prefer samsung to apple though

30. Stella abeg its a lie, Samsung has not paid apple a cent, they are still disputing the ruling and Samsung says its ready to go to the highest court in the USA concerning this matter....stop posting stuff when you dont have the right info.

31. Samsung don kolo I swear

32. Stella na wa for slow news day o. This didn't happen last week biko. Dat na old gist, when Apple sued samsung. Liar liar.

33. Is this recent? I have seen something like this before.....lol

34. Very old stale news Stella. Saw this over a year ago!

35. This story is not true stella.. It is a hoax and this is the 2nd time it is circulating across social media.... Google is your frnd..

36. hahaha lmao! Neva fyt wiv a geek

37. This is old gist and it isn't true

38. Google is ur friend. This is also a false story. Just like that rape festival was false. Rumour mongering isn't what I expect from a seasoned journalist like you.

39. 4 this, I think I'm going out to get a samsung. This is GENIUS. Me likey.

40. Hahahahhaaa...Its really called playing dirty.

41. Stella this story is not true its a rumor google it and find out...

42. I love this!
    Classic payment of fine!
    Dem go count coins tire!!!!!
    I hope they have coins counting machinesssss!

43. Fake news stella google it....its not true... Its a hoax

44. ok oh,na old news,slow news day...make una wish me get well soon...sorry for giving una old fake news....*hugs*

1. wetin happen to u @sdk?

Unto anoda news,,,,how we fit address ds issue of husband sleeping with sister inlaw?...

Ds thing tire me oo

2. Stellastica,get well for us biko..your blog na achu obara mgbali enu

45. Madam Stella,its been confirmed that this story is a hoax........not true

46. stale and the story was meant to be a joke then....whatever happened to real journalism - smh

47. The story is false... Not true at all