Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Medical Doc Shot Dead By Her Husband In The USA....*sad*

Sunday, April 06, 2014

Nigerian Medical Doc Shot Dead By Her Husband In The USA....*sad*

Lately, there has been a growing trend of Nigerian women killed by their husbands in the USA, and the consistency of these reports is nothing short of alarming.
The most recent one is that of a doctor identified as Isioma Ebegbodi, whose life was cut short in a crazy fit of anger by her violent husband.

Tall,elegant and brilliant Isioma Ebegbodi was murdered in cold blood by her Nigerian husband in Texas state of America on Saturday March 22, 2014.

She attended Queen’s College Yaba Lagos and later proceeded to University of Lagos to study Medicine.
She was until her gruesome murder a medical resident physician at Marshfield clinic in Texas.

What really went wrong between a 36 year old wife and her 63 year old husband?Was she suffering in silence until the tragedy happened?So many questions with limited answers.

Her husband, a 63-year-old Nigerian man was later charged with murder after he confessed to  shooting her around 3 a.m on Saturday March 22,2014 in west Harris County, Texas USA.

Martin Ebegbodi went to a neighbor’s house and asked him to call police after getting into a fight and then shooting his wife, 36-year-old Isioma Ebegbodi nee Unokanjo.
The Harris County Sheriff’s Department arrived at the house in the 19700 block of Youpon Leaf Way and arrested Ebegbodi.

Martin Ebegbodi and Isioma J Unokanjo were married on February 11, 2005 in Harris County, Texas with Marriage certificate number 018430.
The deceased was born in 1978 in Nigeria

Per Second news gathered that the marriage has witnessed several storms.
In 2008 the Ebegbodi filed a law suit against the secretary of health and human services in a vaccine injury act supposedly against their son, NDIDICHUKWU MAXIMILLIAN EBEGBODI.

In recent times reports of Nigerian men killing their wives has increased in the United States.
Few weeks ago a 33 year old Babatope Owoseni was arrested in East Orange, New Jersey in connection with the death of his wife who was nine months pregnant at the time of her death.

26 year old Fatoumata Owoseni was found unresponsive at the 39 South Munn Avenue apartment she shared with Babatope. The police have not released information on how he allegedly killed her. Babatope has been charged with her murder and is being held without bail at the Essex County Corrections Facility.
This cancer of wife killing by Nigerian husbands is fast spreading, and the Nigerian society is getting numb and used to it, as one of the social maladies of our times. A heinous act, which hitherto would be very abominable that people are shocked to their bone marrows, is today seen with minimal indifference.

Few years ago, another Nigerian Mr. Kelechi Charles Emeruwa, 41, from Old Umuahia, Abia State, was charged with, and convicted of the first-degree murder of his estranged wife, 36-year-old Registered Nurse, Chidiebere Omenihu Ochulo. Kelechi had finally lost it and stabbed his wife, with her own kitchen knife, so many times that the fountains of blood left on Julius Caesar paled in comparison, until she gave up the ghost.

Chidiebere had just returned from her father’s funeral in Nigeria and had the misfortune of returning to an angry,frustrated maniacal estranged husband who took her kitchen knife to her and carved her up. It was on New Year’s Day, in her townhouse in the 4200 block of Dunwood Terrace, in the Silver Spring suburb of Burtonsville in Montgomery County, Maryland.

Recently In Tennessee, a Nigerian man after taking it for so long, lost his cool and shot his Registered Nurse wife as well as his hitherto mother in-law to death with a shot gun. According to the account this RN wife was married from Nigeria a pauper and brought to the United States by this man, who trained her in school as a registered nurse. Soon after her qualification, the demon in her was let loose and it became one torment after another, with one police call after another followed by sleep-over in police cells and it went on and on ad infinitum. After a protracted battle with the authorities at the wife’s instigation, this man lost his almost nearly paid-off home to his wife, including the custody of his three kids by her. 

He sees these kids just periodically according to court’s order and at the discretionary behest of the wife who sometimes comes to the appointed custody visitation ground at a time of her choosing; just to punish and suffer this man. He could not take it any longer and now the rest is history with two women shot dead and the killer in death row awaiting the electric chair.

Not too long ago, also, in Euless, a suburb of Dallas, another frustrated Nigerian husband, 45-year old Johnny Omorogieva from Edo State, Nigeria murdered his RN wife, Mrs. Isatu Omorogieva, 35, also of Edo State by savagely striking her on the head numerous times with a hammer in the full view of their 7-year old screaming daughter.

In Tulsa, Oklahoma a yet to be fully authenticated report has it that another Nigerian man recently bludgeoned his RN wife to death while she was fast asleep; following a traumatic life which she has subjected him to since turning into the majority bread winner of the family following her graduating from a nursing program.

Another Nigerian nut-case, Mr. John Onwuka, 49, from Akwete community of Ohafia Bende Local Government Area of Abia State was charged with one count each of homicide and use of a knife in the commission of a felony. He stabbed his RN wife of twenty five years, Mrs Gloria Uchechi Anya Onwuka age 42, fourteen times in her bedroom while she was getting ready to go to work. She was a nurse manager. Mr. John Onwuka committed this crime on the night of Saturday August 19, 2006 at the home of his wife in Estate Drive, Farmington, Hampton, Virginia with her children watching him act out his gory insanity.

“Yes I have killed the woman that messed my life up! A woman that had destroyed me. I am at Shalom West, my name is Michael and am all yours”. With those words – a 911 call placed to the authorities.
Fifty year old Mr. Michael Collins Iheme of Hennepin Minnesota placed the call above few minutes after shooting his twenty eight year old wife, Mrs. Anthonia Eberechi iheme, the mother of his 4 year old boy and 3 year old girl, to death.

With all these reported cases, one cannot help but wonder what exactly is going on and the reason for the recent increase of these brutal murders.

Gbemisola Boyede,former schoolmate to Isioma wrote this tribute for her on Facebook. Read below:
Here I am just as I was breathing the sigh of relief that justice was done in the case of Titi Arowolo murdered by her husband in a grotesque act in their own home here in Nigeria.
And watching with bated breath the ongoing trial of Oscar Pistorius who shot dead his girlfriend in his luxury house in Pretoria on Valentine day
I got the rudest shock of my life that a colleague, friend, former classmate in medical school was shot dead at 3am on Saturday in Texas, United States by her own husband! This is too close home for comfort!
Someone tell me what’s going on?
Why are people who professed to love forever and who vowed before God and man pulling the trigger to abruptly cut short the lives they are to protect?
How do we explain this to the innocent children who are going to be deprived for life of parental love and care? Mum is dead but dad isn’t available because he’s serving terms for killing mum?
How? How?? How???

Please if you’re in an abusive relationship riddled with domestic violence, this is the time to get out!Please stop keeping the front of happiness when you’re dying inside!
The society may not understand, we may even condemn ignorantly
But you owe it a responsibility to those innocent children to be ALIVE!
Please get out NOW to a safe house
I don’t want to ever mourn another victim of spousal or domestic abuse
I can’t begin to describe all the emotions I’m going through
So you can only imagine what her parents, sister and children will be going through!
This is so sad and how many times I’ve wished in the last 48 hours, we can turn back the hand of the clock!
Rest in peace Isioma, Issy Awele Ebegbodi and I pray God comforts your children and family and us all mourning you!
It shall be well!

This is just really sad and disturbing. May God rest her soul,Amen.

142 comments:

1. God pls save us from household enemies.

1. U said it all. Household enemies are d worst enemy so far! May her soul rest in perfect peace.

2. See the head seff! Yeye man! If na me eh! I go visit am for dream give am the shooting of his life, I go shoot am till all him body parts disappear! Sotey tey go declare him missing for real life.

Pepper the unquenchable!

3. Exactly man, household enemies are d greatest destroyers.. D age difference sef is terrifying. See his eyeballs like d cannibal dt he's...
      I keep saying "Wicked hearts can't escape divine punishment" RIP woman.

4. Very disturbing trend without justification.

An explanation I think is,like my dad says "only a few women cab handle success"
      Most of these women are bread winners and the rob their husbands of their "manhood"!
      That said,any man that is not ready to sell his birthright should not let his wife be the breadwinner!
      For crying out loud,get a job and stop wallowing in self pity!
      I think these men are the lazy type,they cannot work and they get really furious when emasculated!

As for women,forget civilisation,honour your husbands, that's the way God created them!
      They can be very stupid,and that's ok but the moment u point it out,all he'll will break loose!

Men should be dealt with,with wisdom!

RIP to the departed

5. RIP Isioma.
      Why do women stay in abusive relationships? Click my name to find out more and share your views.

2. Na wah ohh...bad news every day....why don't you walk out of the marriage instead of commiting murder?....they will all rot in jail leaving their kids to suffer....odi egwu...ndi nuru di ana ebe...ndi na anughi ana ebe!!....ohh chukwu...

1. @ Linda Eze...walk out you say? say? So that you can call her aunty gwegwegwe as you taunt single ladies? Lol. I am a guy and I hate married ladies who talk down at single or separated ladies like marriage is all a woman should aspire to. My twin sister was killed by her husband two years into the marriage. She got tired of insults from people about being single in her thirties and now she is dead. Mtcheeeeeew

2. God bless you, the hypocrites we have on this blog ehhh Linda eze and co.

3. Let's face facts our men mistreat ladies even in Nigeria and because the law favors women in the USA,these men loose it. How do u continue to mistreat a woman and expect her to bring her salary to you? When she wasn't working u tried ur best to frustrate her? MBA nu, I know the kind of insult I receive cos am preg and have food cravings,most times I have to beg the husband for food for his baby oh! I know the frustration I go thru everyday while he is busy counting the money I will make when I graduate in 7yrs time

1. U caused ur problems urself. What are u doing getting married if u cannot fend for urself until the next 7 yrs??? God forbid bad thing. Chai. Na wa for u.

2. U no well,I have a first degree and had been working my dia,when u live in the states u look for work that u can fend for urself and not go on welfare. Ps our nija certificate is worthless here except u study medicine or nursing. Neva Judge cos u don't know where u will end up my dia. Unlike Nija pple of 60yrs go back to school so pls don't be so ignorant

3. Unlike in nija after a certain no of years the classes u took expire,science is 5 years while maths is 2years had to retake classes cos mine have expired!

4. HMM NA WA OOO ONLY GOD CAN SAVE WE WOMEN IN THE HANDS OF MEN.. WELL I HEARD THIS MEN NOW TAKE THEIR WIVES TO THE UNITED STATES, PUT DEM FOR NURSING SCHOOL SEY AFTER DEM GRADUATE SOME OF DEM NO DEY RESPECT THEIR HUSBANDS AGAIN COS DEM DEY EARN MORE DAN DEM. NA IM MAKE THE MEN DEM DEY KILL THEIR WIVES.. SO I READ ON A BLOG. BUT EVEN IF THE MAN SPEND FIRE FOR THE WOMAN DAT ONE NO MEAN SAY HER LIFE GO CUT SHORT COS OF ANGER AND JEALOUSY. GOD PLS HELP US AND AS FOR THE DEPARTED SOULS MAY GOD GRANT DEM ENTERNAL REST. AMEN.

1. Look for the full story biko,do u know what the women pass thru? How would u feel if u had to beg for everything? Most men still frustrate these women when they are going to school. They NEVER see or know how much they make! So how would u make money and go give to the same man,when he doesn't care for ur own family? Abi na bush they pick u from?

2. My question is y don't they use that money to educate themselves instead. Abi dem head no gree study ni? Mtchw. Problem is they want to control the woman's income just because they put her through nursing college, they want to seat on their backsides while the women slave away.

3. If a woman is lazy and jobless, na whala. If she works all the time and makes too much money, it's trouble. So what to do? Oh so if a man takes his wife abroad and puts her tru nursing school to be able to get money, afterwards he wants to be rewarded for that? Did he take her in as a slave or as his wife? Why would he expect something in return other than having a loyal, loving and a respectful wife?

Isn't it their collective glory if his wife succeeds and is independent? Or have we all forgotten that whatever good that is seen of our spouses outside is automatically accredited to us irrespective of whether we contributed to their success or not? Same if they turn out bad. It seems that we should t bother to look for enemies from without any longer, because it seems that the enemies from within are becoming more powerful and omnious these days.

Why would any man envy his wife's success? Why kill her when u can divorce her?

5. Until women realize that the man is the head of the family and should be accorded such respects, this is just a tip of the ice berg. That u make more money than. Your husband does not make u the head and just bcos the law is made in favour of the women out there does not warrant the constant abuse husbands suffer over there. We should stop borrowing harmful cultures and follow the words in the scriptures or else ...

1. In one breath you mention the scriptures and declare that these men's behaviour is just a "tip of the iceberg".....On the standpoint of that same scripture should the killing of these women be condoned?

Is it scriptural to kill if you don't have your way?

Is it scriptural to KILL if your wife disrespects you?

Leave God and the scriptures out of this please , this is a case of humans who are out of control, who are driven by their emotions and often use GOD or the DEVIL as an excuse for bad behaviour.

My point exactly is ....,...........
      W.W.J.D......What would Jesus Do?? If he were in the exact same shoes as these killer husbands?

The scripture runs full cycle...just as you are expected to respect your hussy....he also has absolutely no excuse to kill....this is an ugly trend and trust me God + scripture don't like Ugly

2. Go find out the truth of all this,how will u maltreat a woman and expect her to give u her salary? MBA nu, go ask these women those that will confide in u,if they tell u what they go thru everyday u won't wish ur sister or daughter in this position. I am living thru it

3. And what of the abuse women suffer back home because there aren't any laws to protect them?

6. Mostly RN, why? Bcos d feel d are making so money d now mess their husbands up??? Odikwa egwu oh!

7. Most men generally get intimidated by successful women and that is the truth. If the marriage is such hell for you, y not talk a walk and end it? Must she be killed? Mtshewww.Especially when their wives earn better, every statement she utters is deemed disrespect, every action is deemed disrespect,they are unable to manage their frustration and envy n thus resort to murder.When she spends her money on what she desires she is disrespectful and not humble, they want to dictate how she spends her income .Meanwhile , most men spend their money however it pleases them. Dearest men, learn to end the marriage when you are unable to cope, killing your spouse is only the beginning of your woes.

1. Exactly. And it is cowardice for a man who feels that way. I mean, c'mon now...no wonder some men always ensure that their wives remain stagnant in their careers. when they notice her potential and see that she's capable of excelling beyond them they'll begin to frustrate her efforts. I should know, because my cousin had to deal with such a man in the past. He would lock her in the room and insist that she doesn't go to work. She works with the number one oil company in Nigeria. She's a topshot there and it was with her money that they lived large. She didn't tell anyone buy those of us who know do, but outside of us no one knew she was the money spender in her marriage. Yet, this coward was not satisfied.
      There was nothing he didn't do to stop her from working. He would beat her, lock her in the room, drive around town with her car, spend her money, etc. Finally she divorced the bastard. Now she's happy and enjoying her job.

8. The age difference could have bin a factor ..trust issues will always arise,sexual satisfaction also. Sad nd unfortunate, RIP Doc

http://ceeflod.com

9. As trivial as this question might be but what is a 36 year old doing married to a 63 year old man old enough to be her father? Part of the problem with a lot of these marriages is that the men and women are basing their decision to marry on things that will not sustain a marriage. A lot of these men just want to go to Nigeria to marry someone who they think they can control. When those women get some form of independence, they start doing things that they were not doing at the beginning when they were in need which ends up driving the men crazy. No one has the right to take another person's life and it breaks my heart that it comes to this. Even when the women walk away some of the men hunt them down. We have to be careful what we base the decision to marry on as it can lead to detrimental effects as both parties suffer in the long run

1. Very well said. May her soul rest in peace. I just wonder what kind of relationship it was between such an old man and young successful lady. I'm sure she said something in anger and the man flipped! I'm sure as soon as he did it he couldn't believe it. All these arranged marraiges just so you can go to America for a better life. So so sad! Parents beware of who you give your daughters out to in marraige!

10. Brows matters!
    Wen u see a man wit such brows as the one above, u no e is animalistic.
    Its eida full brows or no brows.
    NEVER SETTLE for half brows!

She carry naija mentality enter US.
    I must die a married woman #Tufia

Som1 sed;
    NEVA TOLERATE FOR 4WKS WAT U CANT TOLERATE FOR 40YRS.

1. Lol, had to do a double take on those brows

11. @ linda eze loves Billie jean. Walk out you say? So that you can call her aunty gwegwegwe as you taunt single ladies? Lol. I am a guy and I hate married ladies who talk down at single or separated ladies like marriage is all a woman should aspire to. My twin sister was killed by her husband two years into the marriage. She got tired of insults from people about being single in her thirties and now she is dead. Mtcheeeeeew

12. @ linda eze loves Billie jean. Walk out you say? So that you can call her aunty gwegwegwe as you taunt single ladies? Lol. I am a guy and I hate married ladies who talk down at single or separated ladies like marriage is all a woman should aspire to. My twin sister was killed by her husband two years into the marriage. She got tired of insults from people about being single in her thirties and now she is dead. Mtcheeeeeew

13. Hmmm Lord have Mercy. Thank God Pops has left the house for that witch of a wife... Domestic violence and saying nothing about it is a case of suffering and smiling. I just wish n pray that the victims have the courage n strength to say something, cry for help before its too late.. Moreso for those ppl that keep attributing psychosis to one particular race, I hope y'all can see now that it can happen to anyone no matter ur race, nationality etc.Its only by the grace of God that some people still have their sanity despite all theyve been thru or are going thru. It takes a really matured n God fearing man to walk out n not react in such a wacko way.. God rest the souls of the departed cos no one deserves to die this way no matter what!!

14. The women kept on frustratin their husband.

It is well...

15. Is not always easy to walk out of ur hot tempered partner,cos they just don't abuse you physically and verbally,they do also mentally,cheers to all the confident women who walked out before it was too late like me,u may not no it or have another man in your life asap but believe me, ure a very strong,beautiful woman and u deserve better.

16. get on the internet and google nigerian men who kill their wives in the USA and you will be shocked at your findings. Nonsense. They should kill them all

17. May her soul RIP. But check out the age difference, 30 something year old woman to a 60 something year old man. The man is probably retired and the woman is the breadwinner, she was probably the breadwinner and she started disrespecting her husband. Same thing goes for all the men who bring women from naija and send them to nursing school so they can reap the rewards from them but the women have other plans. Thief jam thief or how does the saying goes. Most of the men stay home or drive cabs, and some of them have tons of kids to pay child support on and the nurse wife is the cash cow but she's not letting go of her purse strings. God help us all.

18. Alot nigeria women here in u.s are mostly nurses,doctors,physical therapy etc and are making more money than their husband,the women now treat their husbands like bull-crap,and the men gets mad and this what happen...alot of nigeria women hear have no respect for their husband because the law is always on their side,so their husband have no say as such,even in houston they have an association called NIGERIA NURSES DIVORCEE ASSOCIATION,most naija women are something else here,God help us,may her soul rest in peace and i hope the man rot in jail

1. If my uncle follows his wife's behaviour, she wld hv bin long gone (God 4bid though). My question is y is he still wit her? He might just lose it 1 of these days. Nothing justifies taking anoda person's lyf sha.

2. My brother in naija paid the school fees of his newly married (RN) wife while she was studying in america. He stayed back in naija cos a had a good corporate job. He spent well over N10m (his entire savings) and the bitch called him as soon as she got a job that she wanted a divorce! An uncle of mine went to America on vacation and checked on her..she pretended not to know him cos she was with another man! Now he has high BP! So heartless of her. I am sure if he was in America, he would have shot the bitch!...

3. Exactly kiks..Nothing at all justifies an act of murder..evryone has the responsibilty of preserving life..buh nobody cares anyway..ko kan aye

4. Our women are bad, thank God they have no right in nigeria as they do in western world nigeria men for suffer well well for their wives hand. They have abused their independence, u continue to show wickedneas to ur partner he will react when need be. Women should stop complaining about men because they are worst u just need to read stories abt some women. Rip

5. Abused independence? WTF

19. the devil is working twice as hard, by any means possible, to destroy the institution of marriage founded by GOD!

20. True is Nigeria women when taken outta naija start to disrespect their husbands n that D problem. May her soul RIP

21. My prayer everyday is: Dear Lord, pls do. Not give me a man that will kill me or harm me in anyway.
    Even the devil would be shocked.

22. Bad news!

Her father is also a Doctor, of Isioma Hospital robinson street of Akerele, Surulere

RIP

23. Get out ke? . No, let them stay together until death do them part . Is that not what we say? If they divorced we would have cast aspersions on them . Rained different curses on them, and called their new spouses husband and wife snatchers . I always say it, he that wears the shoes , knows where they pinch . When a marriage does not work, let the society leave the couple to do their wish to avoid this kind of incident. Rose

24. RIP Isioma, I am saddened and angered by this news.

Is divorce not better than this? Nig Women will be lying to themselves taking rubbish from their hubbys tryingto rationalise saying "men are all the same", well if you are with this school of thot, sorry to burst your bubble, no they are not all the same.

I have God fearing brothers that treat their wives right which is why I always advice women to take no more abuse again (all forms of abuse). Stop lying to yourselves saying its because of the children because if you are truly considering those children you will take them out of that environment where they see daddy and mumi always fighting, Mumi always depressed, daddy engaging in adulterous affairs....... Believe me they are watching and this will make them deviants. I really feel for the children. Rip Doctor.

25. All these frustrated NAigerian men in America that only have one thing going for them "I am a USA legal resident". 27 years age difference, looking deep into his eyes all I see is a maniacal frustrated individual.

26. Nigerian women don't realize that if a man cannot marry a woman living in the US. Then he most likely has big issues. Except he was in a relationship with you before he left Nigeria. There are many beautiful, successful and good women. He just wants one he can control and she no go hala. He wants a younger wife to put to work with all her money coming to him alone. Retirement slave fund. What they don't realize is the women too will wise up and start refusing to be magas. Then wahala go start be that o. Wonder why Nigerian women stay to keep insulting the guy too with their newly found success. It's best to leave the loser who cannot work hard or appreciate you. But has the right to have a big ego problem. And Nigerian men do have ego issues. imagine how many women are killed in Nigeria and the men go free? Stella we are only seeing all these news because it is happening in a country with capable police. Igbo men and violence though. I hail oooo!

27. It's so sad to read these things, may God rest her soul.
    I wonder y these men importing and training brides from home can't spend that money to better themselves, instead of crying foul when these women become better off them.
    Another problem I see is that a lot of men who bring their abusive attitude to the western world become frustrated when they realise such is unacceptable . Though we women are not entirely blameless.

*click my name for your chance to win our easter cake, cheers*

28. Women though weaker sex,have an unbrittled way of making life miserable. But murder by any justification is absoluely condemnable by God and all of mankind. The simple solution I have adopted is get busy, take a course, cheat, marry another woman, or better stilll abandon the o project.

1. @anon 2:13 why not just take a walk? Oh u think adultery is not condemned by God? See u saying women are weaker sex when u can not even control or woman's tongue. Weak man, shioor.

2. @anon cheat, when u die on top another woman who is not or wife what will u tell God? "Oh God, am sorry I thot it was only murder that is condemnable". Sin is sin, better learn to control or wife. Don't be a weakling

3. See this anon 2:13 threatning his wife he will cheat becos she has a loose tongue. The reason y she has a loose tongue is becos u have not being fucking her well. You are probably a 5sec man. 5sec man too wants to cheat hahahahaha. Your side chick will be collecting or money and in return she will rub or back with her palm knowing fully well that act alone will make u cum and viola her work is done.

4. Lol gone are the days when you threaten a woman with cheating. You probably are not worth it to her that she would be hapoy you are off her case. See these men o.

29. I think d reason for this trend is d difference in environment. In Nig, Men dictate and in d case of a divorce, u don't see a woman take d house or d kids except if d man wants it, they move to another country, where d woman is earning well, they get to have a say in d way things are done and bam,the men snap...

30. Na igbo names full the place, just pointing d obvious out, no pun intended. Cuss me, right back at ya!

1. wait o, mbok obong when u go tire? Unam ikot, eba ibot

2. Why should we cuss you out for stating that you are a tribalistic bigot?
      We would pray for you instead.

Pepper impersonator

31. The blind rush to seek golden fleece abroad plus the significant wages medical personnel earn in the US in particular and the errors people especially women make of marrying people with lower educational standards, all combine at a risky point to result in a situation where the husbands feel insecure and inferior to their high flyer wives. When the wives too now, consciously or unconsciously, start rubbing the wage disparity in the husbands' faces = these senseless murders the bases of which is simply economic disparity between couples

32. The blind rush to seek golden fleece abroad plus the significant wages medical personnel earn in the US in particular and the errors people especially women make of marrying people with lower educational standards, all combine at a risky point to result in a situation where the husbands feel insecure and inferior to their high flyer wives. When the wives too now, consciously or unconsciously, start rubbing the wage disparity in the husbands' faces = these senseless murders the bases of which is simply economic disparity between couples

33. Killing for whatever reason is wrong cos u have no right to destroy sth u can't create buh let's face it Sterra,
    Nigeria men are quite egocentric n proud n sth peculiar to the cases u mentioned is that those women are health workers in d states n we know health workers are well paid there. These men probably brought those women from Nigeria to US cos they wanted homely n coolheaded wives who would bring in good cash n prolly hand in what they earn to 'em. Nigeria men just love being in charge so when these women earn more,and with d way women seem to be incharge in d US,these men feel disappointed esp if d woman refuses to let him decide how what she earns gets spent_Frustration starts setting in. And they end up killing d poor women.

On the other hand,our women have started allowing civilisation take its toll on how we were taught to treat our men esp in marriages in d US. Most of us treat these men like trash,talk to 'em like they r some piece of shit n all cos we believe in some gender equality being preached now.

Well,the bible gave instructions in Eph 5;22-30 and I peter 3:1-10 on how husbands should treat wives n vice versa,and until this is emphasised over n over and being practised,we'll keep seeing things like this.

1. These same men that are treating nija women like this when they date white women they worship the ground they walk on,how many nija men have killed a white lady? Abi na Oyibo sabi respect someone? Pls let's face facts we can't continue this way talk to these ladies and hear what their husbands put them thru in the USA,if no be in laws leaving and maltreating u, to the point of beating preg women. Do u know how many pregnancies are lost due to domestic violence? MBA oh this isn't funny

2. Thank you Ruby balanced perspective

3. Ruby, the naija girls here are homely and coolheaded. They are just not stupid. Are you calling my sisters at home stupid? They can condone anything from a man because he came from Obodo Oyibo? My Bible does not support the marriage that is practiced in Nigeria because it is tumultuous and one sided. There is no joy in,being married to these men unless you become a fool and condone their excesses. A woman who is trained and has lived abroad knows her rights and has left the stupidity that our sisters at home continue to ascribe to. Meanwhile our marriages at home are an eye and ear sore. This is why half of my sisters at home are stepping out on their marriages...they are miserable and can not continue to live in,the misery nigerians call marriage.

excesses.

34. Chei...na so life be...and her mother was my mums friends from d same kindred in anambra state, while my mum married from anambra state, her mum married from delta state...her mum was a matron in LUTH b4 she retired last year, even her father is a medical doctor, his hospital in surulere was named after her 'ISIOMA HOSPITAL'...she's their 1st daughter....accordin to my mum, her husband shot her in her sleep by 3am...but b4 he killed her they have bin havin arguments, quarrels, fights, there was even a time he called police to arrest his wife, just cos she was disrespectin him.....the deceased was the one takin care of the family, she had 2jobs from 2 diff hospitals, so too much money was rollin in for her, and her husband became jealous and frustrated cos he lost his job as a developer sometime lastyear.....the deceased is survived by 3kids...2girls and a boy...may her soul rest in peace

1. Waoo. What a life. Insecurity and complex pushed him to murder. When he could av planned well with her on how they can both manage her finance before he gets back on his feet. But no, his ego wouldn't let him. He'll now rot in jail or get the death penalty, depending on the law of that state. He's a bastard.

35. OMG! What about the kids ehn, can't these men stop and think of the kids who will be orphaned automatically- since dad will also be dead in their lives?
    99% of the victims are Registered nurses hmm; are RN wives susceptible to these spousal homicides ni?
    God help us all

1. The men dont care about the kids now, all they care about is that they are not getting their way. So now his wife is dead and he is in prison, those babies are pretty much orphans. Thanks to Dad and his need for respect. Selfish things.

36. What I have to say is that, if you are a nigerianlady married to a nigerian man....but you are living in the US and earning good money....just pretend as if you are living in your village in naija....even though you sre the breadwinner, RESPECT YOUR HUSBAND. Else, you are looking for untimely death for yourself...Whether you earn a million dollar montly or not: no African man will ever take shit from any woman... Their brain is programmed to be worshiped; any deviation will make them mad and just sniff life out of you..Did abyone noticed that most of the women killed by their hubby are registered nurses..... that is an indication that many women becomes unruly when they are making more money than their hubby whivh bruises the man's ego...prompting murder
    If you can't play a wife in a marital relationship because of your financial muscle; just walk out before you join the statistics... .my two cents!!!

1. Don't nija men marry white women? Abi u think they respect them? Biko let's face the problems call ur friends that leave in the US,let them tell u what they go thru! U forget that when these women travel they are solely dependent on the men and they maltreat them! Imagine being dependent on a nija man in Nigeria then imagine the frustration when u leave in a different continent Europe is different cos u can still be semi in

2. Thank you o. These men are treacherous in Nigeria. They think they can do the same in a country with laws. See women here saying, o the women dont respect their husbands. You all define respect. Naija respect is slavery. Respect is mutual.can these men even talk back to the littlw boys in their places of employment that maltreat them? You want to flex your useless power on a woman. Abegi

3. If ur admonition is that registered nurses should respect their hubby just so they don't get killed because of anger, then I don't agree with u. But if u mean in general terms then I agree. I dont support unruly wives, but why would I out of fear respect my husband becos I don't want him to kill me? Why must the wages of my disrespectful sin before my hubby result to death? He can go to hell for all I care, he can even divorce me, but he has no right to touch me. Haba.

37. Why did a young girl like Isioma married a man as old as this? Just to travel abroad. The age difference is damn to much. Girls learn from other people's mistakes, do not wait to be a victim.

38. This is disheartening.. Will still keep announcing. The number one rule: Preserve your life.. If you perceive any threat to Ʊя existence, seek help before it is too late.

39. Murder has never been the answer but when u cross check all these stories, the women are always the ones pushing the men to the wall, not knowing every man has a bad side in him until u make him show it... Pls ladies, love your man, they are not all good, yes, but try and make ur marriage work or just walk away leaving the man in peace and not trying to take over his possessions and destroy him cos if u do, i will read about your own story on SDK too.
    ENCO!

1. Why don't this men walk away instead of killing? Most of big men over the re have nothing, they depend on their wives, so when their wives get frustrated cos they have useless husband with ego problem (poor and proud) they revolvt. They will want to take a walk out of the marriage but these men haunt them down and kill them

2. I was going to type exactly what you just wrote Enco.

Thats exactly what the issue is.
      Man works hard to make some money,

comes to naija to pick up one small girl who is supposed to be controllable,

pays her way through school, she gets a job with plenty money coming to her,

with the help of the US pro-female policies rids the man of all he had worked for all his life.

That is a suicide mission.

Pepper impersonator

3. Pepper impersonator, good for the man then. Is the woman cattle that you go home to pick her up to control. I bet you are a woman saying this o. This happens so much in the East. Are your men not able to struggle and make it in yankee? Anyway its the older ones, the younger Igbo guys are trying hard here and I am proud of them. Ladies stay clear of these older men coming home to marry.

4. Bia pepper impersonator, from the way you write, one can sense you are guy! Pepper is a lady, I hope you are aware
      She stands 6ft4inches above the ground level, the only one that cannot be impersonated, the unquenchable pepper.

As the guy you are, I will suggest you quit impersonating a lady there are other here you can duplicate easily for instance, *bitchplis*

Pepper the unquenchable!

5. Lol and for the men yu will rot in jail forever ane when you die you go straight to hell so jisike

40. So when someone disrespects u in ur place of work ur reaction is to butcher them or shoot them in their sleep ? These men are pathetic cowards. And trust Nigerians for us to curtail the men u blame the women. The bibles instruction is for Men to love their wives the way Christ loves the church. Unconditionally. Is there a law restricting men from been Nurses? Instead ds lazy men sit back and watch their wives toll for the famiy. A man who can't provide for his family is WORSE than an infidel. These men were already cursed the moment the women became breadwinners and took over their role. And for them to retrace their steps and earn the respect they seek they kill a woman. Where in d bible did God ask women to toll in the field ? So the same woman who will give birth to children for u will still provide for u ? And the shameless infidel is still looking for respect? Anofia. Its d women who stay with these men who encourage men to think their behaviour is normal.

1. And to you I ask....if you believe strongly that a woman has no business striving in the field but to give birth( I equally agree) then why take up the spaces where men should work? I walked into zone4 branch of Gtb in Abuja and saw a line up of over 15 tellers-ladies. I asked them why are they taking up space theen should take when teaching jobs are there. The truth is many jobs are kept for the women for reasons best know to organisations and the equality they keep fighting for. Tell which job the females do that men can't do? Or are they more educated than their husbands who prolly couldn't land that bank job? Some slept wt sb to be there. Now some ladies will be commenting as if when an educated guy is jobless while trying hard to get one and the wife is working you brand him lazy ass. Smh
      Why did the lady who claims it's not in their place to toil take his hard earned money to learn to toil? Oh it's only then you remember what scripture says not when you were enjoying his sponsorship....selfish

2. Please guy, let us know your name. Ladies this is a potential one o. All these men, so any successful woman has to have slept with someone to get to a good point career wise. Check your watch o Nna,it is 2014. It is your type that we warn women against. You have no sense of self and it is sad.

3. Did they hold a gun to the man's head to sponsor them. Dont go and look for work..be waiting for meal ticket. No be only teller. Mcheewww

4. Am. Not trying to support this man o. This man would have just worked out of the marriage. But based on the story have being reading of men killing there wives.in the usa.i noticed that most of this wives are in the medical professionals eg they are nurses or doctors etc. As a married woman living in the west. I can tell you that these women made alot of money than their husbands. For instance my husband brought me from nigeria to Australia .am a medical practitioner. He enrolled me in school .am now working with the government. I can tell you that I made more than the amount he is making. Sometimes he get jealous. It is normal. And when I noticed that I just keep quiet . because I know it is normal. I want to respect him.we have joint account. I dont do anything without him.all because I know without him I can never be where am I today. Please women in the diaspora esp the medics please respect your husband esp the one who made you who u are today. And if you cant cope with the overbearing altitude . Please walk out of the marriage and don't ask for any divorce settlement. And life will be sweeter again.if I tell u guys what our women in the disapora are doing to their husband esp the medicos.you guys will be like wow thanks

5. Lol mumu because your husband took you to Australia and trained you, ge is now your lord and master abi? Why didn't he train himself. Plus you plus your oga are fools

41. Very sad event but why am I not surprised.

Many Nigerian wives in the US are evil. I hold a very different opinion about them after witnessing how messed up my friend in the US is, all caused by his wife. He will die of hbp soon if he does not leave the marriage.
    Nobody deserves to die but it is better to find out the root cause of all these issues and learn to avoid them.

1. Your friend is definitely not innocent. Did he bring his wife over so he can control her? Well she is not a dog. You give a woman certain treatment, you get worse when she is fed up. He should stop feeling like he is her Lord. Then he will see peace in his home. The woman is,probably tired of his rubbish. All these men, which nonsense hbp, he wanted a door mat...she probably revolted. Good for him.

2. Nigerian women abroad make the worst wives of all ethnic and racial groups.

3. There is no but in murder oga. Is your friend glued to the marriage. Better advice hik to keep it moving

42. Sorry to say this....why are you ladies biased?
    Murder is terrible but why do women act and sound like in these cases the ladies were not in the marriage too for what they stand to gain? None of them while enjoying the men's sponsorship were oblivious of the reasons for being sponsored just like when giving uour kids good education. How will you feel if that child ends up using all the empowerment on his or her life to give you misery, disrespect and all in future? It can't be properly equated with a child in that you don't necessarily hope to depend on and burden your children if you are a good parent. But in the cases above, there were deliberate actions by the women involved to utilise the obvious skewed justice system to the disadvantage of a man who spent all his life making earnings n property and as well investment in your career. That's wicked. A lot of you ladies abusing the men and calling them lazy as soon as things don't work in their favour anymore would've labelled the wives in this case as witches when the man involved is a relative who was supporting the entire family until the wife went to join him abroad. The same person who saw the man as a meal ticket at a time now feel terrible being his meal ticket. What an irony!
    Men should never have the mentality of making the women succeed then (Did I hear some ladies calling me out as crazy, unsupportive man). But that's what they are teaching men. Men support and nurture women to fly and then lick their wounds. Women should learn to stoop to conquer. No woman who makes her husband feel like the king of his Kingdom will lack love. If he is king....what are you? Queen! That's the simple logic

1. Abeg Naija man know thyself and stop looking for validation everywhere. Ah ah you lot are the most low self esteem having group of men. You are a man, you are a man. Ah ah always looking for someone to make you feel like a man. There are more issues in this world than to be pandering to your brittle egos. Keep waiting on validation while killing your wives. You will get the validation from those ever willing men in,prison. Abeg

2. You don't hope to depend/ burden ur child but u hope to depend/burden ur wife abi? That's y u sent her to school?
      That's slavery na. Bcos u "paid" then she must suffer?
      Did u read d story well? Did u see where it was mentioned dt d girl was already a Dr b4 she got married so which one u sef dey?
      For ur info, a lot of the said wives go to schools in America with student loans and financial aid from d government. Most of these men have nada as in CANNOT afford to pay their wives tuition so pls ppl should be well informed before making lousy comments here.

43. Some say the men are greedy and controlling....what do the women do when they get the power? Greedy and controlling to the men. You take a walk you strip the man of all he worked for when you were still in poverty in Nigeria or nobody, strip him of dignity and his kids. He wal
    ks same thing. Who is the greedy party?
    When you comment think if the man was your son or brother. None of you ladies yapping here will accept it for your son

44. So when someone disrespects u in ur place of work ur reaction is to butcher them or shoot them in their sleep ? .....

Gbam nu nu! Iji ya. Thank you

1. And my question to you Nigerian woman who tries to use the workplace as example is.....the way you run your mouth at your husbands when angry even if he is the guilty party, do you also run your mouth at your boss in the office even when he is wrong? You respect your bosses, even the ones who are way beneath your husband more than the man in whose house you live and he caters for everything

2. I'm sorry if my "copy and paste" comment hit a raw nerve sir...deeply sorry, but if you live with a woman like that who disrespects you and you really can't stand her any longer, it's about time you made a positive decision in favour of you two.

Cheers and Godbless

3. Stupid Akudo anonymous is referencing to ur type. Answer his question foolish lady. When u want to type shit u change name to akudo when u want to act goody u put up aku. Ewo

4. Anon 3:01 there is Mrs Akudo and there is Aku on this blog.

Aku is short for Akudo different people....as for the stupid and foolish and typing shit part why so bitter?

Out of the abundance of the heart the heart speaks.

Get a grip on yourself , your mouth and your abusive tendencies.

My views NOT yours! Keep steaming and stewing with rage Lol.

*sticking my tongue out @ you* ntoiiiiii

5. Lekwa bekee...anonymous Is "referencing to your type".....write in Igbo...it suits you better....the correct thing to write is anonymous is REFERRING to your type....* shaking my bum bum @ you* ya weegbuo gi.Ya fugbuo giiii.....nyoiiiii nmeee.

45. It's is only African that say "I thank my husband for loving me and taking care of our family" there is nothing wrong with appreciating your husband but it's his DUTY to do so. African women depreciate themselves through this "carrying my husband for head issue" women should be appreciated and celebrated as well. We hold the home without us it crashes down. God made the man the head and the woman a helper to the man not a MAT. On the issue of what's happening abroad i am aware that some women are worse than the Devil but the men over there wants to be lord and master over a woman that works for her own money, tell her how to spend it as well . Abroad women face challenges at work, work 9-5pm, get come cook and clean and the man wants to fuck as well. They are the cook, carer of the whole family and pay bills. The man eats crosses his legs with a news paper while the woman is slaving away. This is typical African Man in diaspora . Thank God the younger generation born/ brought up abroad had a different mind set, they are go getters who stove for a good Job as well as their wives as they know the sky is there limit. They copy oyinbo behaviours when it comes to relationships and their marriage is successful. I envy them as they got it right.

46. Maybe there is a law excempting these lazy men from studying nursing or medicine that it has to be their wives.Am sure iit is all pre planned, they want younger women who they can control and use as retirement plan in their old age then when it back fires they start crying wolf. See his scary huge eyes? If she was lazy now it would have been complaints about how she sits home all day spending his money.She runs two jobs which means the woman is hardworking.When people disrespect you out there do you kill them? I won't be surprised if the old fool is cheating oh yet expects the woman to kneel before him and hand over her salary evry month while he lounges, ewu.Thank God it is not Naija, you shall face the full wrath of the law,devil incarnate.

1. There is no law against it. Men are even encouraged to go into nursing, they give them a lot of grants and stuff because it's believed nursing is a female field.

47. Anon 4.42, we are sure your opinion will be different if the deceased lady was your sister or cousin as well,reality is no one deserves to die in this gruesome manner, oh i killed her because she disrespected me,it sounds stupid.please let these men stop investing in their wives, they should invest in themselves, it is not a taboo for them to study the nursing and make Millions of dollars and provide for the family,lazy frustrated men.

1. Exactly! Lazy ass motherfs why cant they invest in themselves and study the godam nursing. Cowards

2. Lol. No be only stoop to conquer....na bow...
      So you send your kids to skl so you can leech off them in the future. Lmao..better go and learn the nursing yourself and be the kinv of your own castle.

Else prepare to spend tbe rest of your life in jail being the king of the jail

3. You clearly dont know the meaning of love. Meal ticket? You are just one hell of a pathetic man. I pity your kids and your wife.

There is no but in murder. Murder is murder. When the man gets to hell he can be the king of the demons.

48. Hmm. May God deliver us from evil! There are many wicked, warped people out there o. Reading comments on these blogs has really opened my eyes to the fact that so many people are evil, and trapped in wrong thinking. Perhaps that is why things cant get better. I am appalled at the number of people in these comments who seem to think it normal that a man should kill his wife for not 'respecting' him. Some even going ahead to share their doubtful advice and religious injunctions to women to respect their husbands or face a similar fate.

Na wa o! If na una type remain for this world e beta make person no marry. Anon 11:27 pls say which church you attend so that one can avoid it and which scripture you refer to so that one can ensure never to read it. Wicked people!

1. Gbam @anon 6:01
      You said my mind.
      Was also shocked while reading most of the comments especially from the men. I wonder if they will still be saying the same thing if the victim were to be their daughter or sister.
      SMH for most Nigerian men. We have a long way to go.
      God,please give me the wisdom to train my sons differently so they don't think and behave like some of these men who commented above,Amen.
      SMH...

2. As in! Shocking to say the least

49. Nigerians na wa o. Before rape became a common ill in Nigeria the excuse was dt d girls dress indecently now they Rape two year olds. They rape girls whoi reject advances. Stop making excuses for ds man. He killed a woman the mother of his kids in her sleep. He is a coward. Most Nigerian men are excused for their excesses because they have something dangling in between their legs so they are can't deal when they are in a society where they are not worshipped.

50. All these people and their opinions. You do not know the life of the average Naija couple abroad. Ladies at home, if a man can not marry a woman abroad but comes home to marry you...raie your eyebrows o. Do you know why Naija men say Naija women are controlling here, it is because the women here finally have a voice. I ask you, don't these men marry white women? Kill a white woman and see if you will not get fasttracked to prison and death row. Our men that complain about their wives frustrating them somehow put up with white women who do not under any circumstances allow the regular Naija man treatment in marriage.
    No one can push you to the wall enough to take their life and end yours. Our men are very weak that any touch to their ego lessens their self worth. This is extremely sad. This is why I encourage parents to train their children before letting them,get married out. No one can say I did xyz for your child. You will be surprised this man will say she pushed him to the wall by not allowing him to do some frivolous nonsense. Do you know how these married men spend their wives income on single girls here? They are the worst when it comes to womanising. Some idiot here is saying, you should sit and accept it. Do you know how many of these men go and get other women pregnant. The poor ladys salary becomes a support for his mistresses children. If we are going to justify these mens useless anger, let us also ask...why do you think the wife became "disrespectful". Naija men have little self esteem and it is so sad. You are abroad, a woman has a voice here and she exists as your partner and not your mat.

To the guy that said women should be teachers alone, you really have a long way to go. Please drop your name so people can,beware of you. In your small head, women should only work certain jobs to give you space to be employed. This is the mentality of naija men and this is why you all keep getting a bad rap. Everytime you see a successful woman you attribute it to her sleeping around. Ladies, if you are dating a man like that...flee. or else you will make the news because he does not see you as anything more than a 2nd place human.

51. Nigerians na wa o. Before rape became a common ill in Nigeria the excuse was dt d girls dress indecently now they Rape two year olds. They rape girls whoi reject advances. Stop making excuses for ds man. He killed a woman the mother of his kids in her sleep. He is a coward. Most Nigerian men are excused for their excesses because they have something dangling in between their legs so they are can't deal when they are in a society where they are not worshipped.

52. Nigerians na wa o. Before rape became a common ill in Nigeria the excuse was dt d girls dress indecently now they Rape two year olds. They rape girls who reject advances. Stop making excuses for ds man. He killed a woman the mother of his kids in her sleep. He is a coward. Most Nigerian men are excused for their excesses because they have something dangling in between their legs so they are can't deal when they are in a society where they are not worshipped.

53. May her soul rest in peace. What i head is that because of the way Nigerian men treat there women in Nigeria, once they get to Europe and America they frustrate the men because the law is on the women's side. Dear ladies if that is true then you all have to stop! How will you feel if your son or sons are treated like that? Please dear Nigerian men , stop killing your women.

54. Well, if these men thought their wives were "frustrating" them, what will they think when they get to prison and have to bend over for Big Bubba and get on their knees?

I feel for those children who witnessed the gruesome murders. These children are now likely left with irreparable psychological trauma. Men! no wonder the Word tells us to "Trust no Man."

May these women souls RIP. Let those women who are in Nigeria take heed and know that life for some women in US no be bed of roses, so when that Nigerian man comes home to date and look for wife from the soil, you think twice, because when they can't beat you, or throw you out the house and get away with it, they resorting to killing you. Forewarned is forearmed!

55. Most certain i saw these two at. A party rite before this and i kept looking at them puzzled. They didnt match and the guy spontaneously wanted to leave from the dancefloor and go home. I just cleared path for them he irritated me and clearly had control problems but looked well put together for his age. Glad i generally avoid africans here like the plague. Constant declaration of love marriage but will be sleeping on a floor nothing to offer. Now i know the igbotics are looking for retirement suregals. Lol
    Tufia

56. A lot of comments here are shocking to say the least. So of your wife is disrespecting you the next thing is to kill her? Jesu! And some of these commenters are backing their stance with tbe scriptures. O well its a good thing these men will spend the rest of their lives behind bars so that they can be reading these scriptures there daily while justifying their actions.

57. You bastard the bitch will shoot your stupid brother before the high BP kill him........so he leaves her in America and be sending only money meanwhile he is shagging women in naija......so the wife should just be there waiting......u have not said the whole truth...........stupid Nigerian men who think they can treat women anyhow and get away with it.......a woman works 2 jobs to take care of the family and am sure the idiot of a husband will still want to lord it over her......and for u idiot who says when they start making money they become unruly, u expect women to lives their lives based on the stupid mood swings of the jobless husbands.".....when they r out of jobs they begin to read meanings to every action.......men are bloody self centered and expect the women to die for them while they cannot tolerate anything small from the woman......his sorry arse should rot in jail for life......women kill the motherfuckers before they kill you.....

58. RIP.
    Some illegal immigrants go into sham marriages to acquire papers. They endure a lot from their wife / husband for the years it takes them.

When they eventually settle down, 5-10years is gone, if not more! SO, they expect their husband / wife to be loyal and respectful to them, but if they are not, Some cannot handle it and snap!

59. If the woman was your Sister?
    If the man was your brother?
    The bible do not support divorce.
    All sentiments no logical reasoning!
    By the time we hear the full investigated story , many of you would begin whistling a different tune as always!
    By the time his lawyers build his case and present it to the public, many of you would become sympathetic!
    If you know the sacrifices couples in yankee do so as to survive, you all in Nigeria would know you have it good!
    None is without blame!
    None!
    May her soul rest in peace.

1. Shut up there, dont say bible doesnt support divorce. Neither does it support lying but you still lie to save your job etc. Stay there be quoting bible when your life is on the balance

2. Shut up there, dont say bible doesnt support divorce. Neither does it support lying but you still lie to save your job etc. Stay there be quoting bible when your life is on the balance

60. It's a pity non of the women here are making any form of suggestions as to why this is happening....I just heard some of us saying that the crime is mostly within those in the medical professions and that it is all about money. If this suggestion is true, then there must be just too many pointers to why it is so.

FOR THE MEN

1.Most men involved get into these marriages with sadly, financial motives...Not just because they truly love these women.

2. In most cases, the men are determined to support these 'wives' not really because they want to help them to be independent, but because they focus on the expectations that the 'wives' will help change their statuses...a very big miscalculation

3. Because 'most' of the men spend most of their time, when they arrive the US, trying to get documented, doing menial jobs and taking quicker/shorter less lucrative courses to meet up with the demands of the upward mobile American society; with tons of expensive bills, they lose focus or sometimes can't even afford the added responsibilities of continuing their education. All these because they want to get quickly stable so they could go get a 'wife' to come assist them...an ATM....a very big miscalculation

4. Most of the men fall short of qualitative education, yet aspire to go 'marry' highly educated (nurses, pharmacists & doctors) with the sole miscalculation of a better salaried wife who will change their fortunes...a very big error; thinking a woman will be the bread winner and not have control.

FOR THE WOMEN

5. Most of them , who accept marrying these men, may not only have known their travails but also probably had their own plans right from back home of what to do when they get here...Thus, the urge to come to God's own country pushes them to accept any human coming from America with the semblance of a potential husband..And the idea? Come to America by all means possible! True love is not in that formula...a very big deceit #Belle

61. 6. Most of the women, once they arrive and are being aided in training by these 'false husbands' they barely knew, lay low showing all the 'false respects' while they are in training, doing everything required of a well behaved African woman....Just so they can achieve the success they desire. An uneasy and deceitful ploy!!

7. Then the women start meeting old friends, and new friends and also begin being exposed to the gender equality cultures of America. And by the time they finish their trainings and the good money starts flowing in, a drastic change in attitude sets in....and this is aided by induction into the feminist agenda by some diehard, divorced or renegade colleagues who will brain wash the gullible amongst them, to join their flock....The Oprah Winfrey show included....a radical way to learn...with obvious consequences!

8. Once this stage is set, then sets in the incompatibility issues! While the man expects some reciprocity from his 'wife; based on his miscalculations, the 'wife' sees everything the man does as a
    challenge to her liberty. That no be serious wahala?

9. Control sets in, and the man tries to assert his headship in the home and the woman refuses to budge and the conflict gap widens and the marriage goes sour and these events, if not well managed, deteriorate so quickly into uncontrollable feats of anger. And we all know what anger does to feeble minds...

The overwhelming bottom line to solving these problems therefore, is that, we must start seeking ways, to bring to light these miscalculations, and deceits; emphasizing on their potential dangers, instead of taking gender sides and apportioning blames. Men should be advised to always seek for divorce whenever they feel they are not getting their desired but awkward 'expectations' and when they can't tolerate the attitudes of their 'liberated' wives. It is a shame for a man to want to depend on his wife no matter how much he thinks he has spent on her...afterall, she did not force him to do so!

Women must also understand this and know that bearing the name of a man who treats you in a way you dislike by continuing to stay together with him and showing him all forms of disrespect , is akin to telling him to go to hell. The best bet for such a woman will be to read the warning signs and make the right decisions to call it quits and throw the 'abusive' or uncaring man's name away and be free. Staying with the man in the face of perceived abuses from him is a subtle invitation to a self immolation exercise waiting for the scratch of the match... a time bomb, so to say! The result maybe always be like what we are all discussing here...and it is so sad. #Belle

1. The best and most intelligent write up here.
      Kudos

62. anony 11:22pm pls tell us all the shit you have been enduring because you dont want to annoy the man who made you......stupid mentality......what is a mans duty to his wife if not to help and encourage you to grow? what is marriage? that is the kind of mentality that makes african men think they do you a favour for even marrying you....you deserve respect from him like he deserves from you....pls get it into your thick skull it is not normal for him to be jealous cos u earn more than him.....watch your back before he kills you one day cos i can bet my royal arse you have not told us all the shit you have endured

63. I read all the comments and will like to set the facts straight on this issue. First of All, The deceased came from a very wealthy family with a medical background, She came to America on her own merits for residency so Green Card or Status was never an issue. On the marriage, He met her in america, saw the financial potential in her and then lied to her and her parents about his age and financial status in order to marry her. Before her untimely death, she was just discovering the man is married to 3 different wives in 3 different cities and was investigating this before the incident occurred. She was also about to cancel the child benefits to take on the responsibility on her own. The concrete reasons why he shot her are unknown but I just wanted to clarify that this wasnt a case of Greencard or an abusive relationship. May her soul Rest In Peace.

64. Why have we allowed SELFISHNESS to take over our lives?Everything seems to be falling apart.How can we expect to feel safe in our country when we cant even sleep with our two eyes closed in our own homes.How do two people who professed love in marriage turn to be enemies? somehow we have brought this upon ourselves,just as the people of Israel turned away form God when they were saved from Egypt because they faced a little test in the wilderness,that is the same way we humans have turned away from the Lord depending more on our intellect and flesh which is bound to fail.Instead of praying for a loving man who has the fear of the Lord,a man who would build their family in Christ,most ladies are more interested in a man who would satisfy her insatiable needs while most single men are out there looking for ladies from rich families or with a bright future to live off. this means that even before the wedding,there has been alot of scheming and selfish plans made,how do we expect the union to last.Most ladies these days want to compete with men and be the controlling provider instead of merely supporting the man and being the wind beneath his wings.On the other hand some guys just want to sit home and keep bullying their wives.The only solution to marriages today is to go back to the lord so He can put in our hearts the right model for marriage....Mrs D

65. Anon 10.57 April 7. I feel you ooooo. The way Nigerian men lie about their age now na wa oooo.

66. Bible doesnt support divorce but Proverbs 22:3 says "A prudent man foresees evil and hides himself,
    But the simple pass on and are punished." Whenever you see yourself in danger through DV abeg take to your heels. If you dont then you committed suicide.

67. Mr. whirlwind you said it all, most men are jealous of their wives achievements, especially when they know how much you are earning , it become an issue. Another thing is your husband being the head or tell in the family does not matter. Any man or woman that knows God will not be comparing himself/herself or claiming to be this or that in the family. It is not important what matters is everybody's opinion being respected.

68. Lol...y don't dz opportunists marry lawyers?currently met one dat s prophesying love $marriage but on d condition of my goin to nursing college abandoning my beloved profession.just dey look him de luff.cantb be anybody 's ATM machine oooo..

69. Thanks for the great information on this post.

70. A lot of these women never liked their husbands from the beginning. The men were only used as an avenue for the women to get to America. So once these women start realizing their dream and get nursing degree which the man paid for, he man is suddenly useless and not needed anymore. That’s when she’ll suddenly realize the age difference and how short and fat the man is. The respect will disappear. She’ll start hanging out with tall handsome men within her age range. To make matters worse, She can call the authorities and claim that the man is threatening her life. The authorities can just throw the man out on the streets in order to make sure that this woman and the kids are safe from him. Maybe u were a cab driver when you went to Nigeria and married her and was paying everything to get her to America and paid everything to make sure that she goes to school and qualify as a nurse. When this man looks back at 10-15years when he was sending money to Nigeria to take care of her needs and she was calling him “darling and baby” and to send some clothes, some money, phones etc and he subsequently brought her to America after marrying her. During those good old days, the age difference didn’t matter to her. His height and weight didn’t matter…but now that she’s a nurse and Americanized he’s an old short fat man who drives a cab. She’s more attracted to the doctors and other healthcare coworkers. Now this short fat old man is thrown out of a house that he bought 20 years ago and his wife is bringing her new young tall and handsome boyfriends to the same house and sometimes she might even let her boyfriend move into the same house so now she’s living in this man’s house with his kids and her new young boyfriend who doesn’t have a house of his own. So when a man goes through these situations ladies and gentlemen…these men can easily snap and go crazy and commit these heinous crimes.