Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ebola Tears Families Apart In Liberia.-Heart Breaking Pics

Saturday, August 16, 2014

Ebola Tears Families Apart In Liberia.-Heart Breaking Pics

OMG OMG OMG!!!..These pics will break your heart!!!

Photographer risks his own life to chronicle harrowing scenes in Liberia as doctors warn disease is out of control

As the Ebola outbreak continues to spread in West Africa - the current death toll standing at more than 1,000 - one photographer has bravely travelled to Monrovia, Liberia to chronicle work on the frontline. The pictures, by John Moore, from Getty Images, capture the harrowing scenes of families torn apart by the deadly disease, along with the medical workers battling to save the sick...
International doctors have admitted they don't know the true scale of deaths from the deadly Ebola virus warning the disease is spreading faster than the response.
The group Doctors Without Borders (Medecin Sans Frontieres) have likened the outbreak in west Africa to a state of war and said that the epidemic could last another six months.
Meanwhile, a medical worker on the frontline of tackling the disease in Liberia says response teams are unable to document all the cases erupting as many of the sick are being hidden at home rather than taken to Ebola treatment centres.

A mother and child stand on top of a mattress in an Ebola isolation station in Liberia for suspected victims of the virus
A sick child lies on a mattress in a former classroom in a primary school, which has been transformed into an Ebola ward
A woman stands over her husband with her head in her hands, after he staggered and fell, knocking him unconscious in an Ebola ward in Liberia
Workers wearing protective clothing and masks look on as the woman desperately tries to help her husband who has fallen to the ground
The ward, in a former primary school, is where people suspected of having the virus are sent by health workers
Patients in the Ebola isolation centre are forced to sleep on mattresses on the floor after being sent to the facility suspected of having the disease
Three-year-old Nino sits in a newly opened Ebola isolation centre set up by the Liberian health ministry in a closed school
Children sit in the isolation ward as the disease continues to spread in West Africa

Tarnue Karbbar, who works for the aid group Plan International in northern Liberia says in the last several days, up to 75 new cases a day are emerging in single districts.
He also added that those who have succumbed to the deadly virus are buried before teams can get to the area.
He said: 'Our challenge now is to quarantine the area to successfully break the transmission.'
It comes as Joanne Liu, international president of Doctors Without Borders told reporters in Geneva on Friday that there is no sign of stopping the disease. 

Getty Images staff photographer John Moore wears protective clothing, knows as personal protective equipment (PPE), before joining a Liberian burial team set to remove the body of an Ebola victim from her home
Neighbours watch as a son prepares his father to be taken to an Ebola isolation centre yesterday
Neighbours watch as a son prepares his father to be taken to an Ebola 
isolation centre yesterday
The facility was constructed to house a surging number of patients diagnosed with Ebola in three west African countries
The facility was constructed to house a surging number of patients
 diagnosed with Ebola in three west African countries
A son tries to rouse his father in their one-room home before he is taken to an Ebola ward in Liberia
A man stands next to the coffin of Dr Modupeh Cole, a doctor from Sierra Leone, who succumbed to the deadly Ebola virus
A son tries to rouse his father in their one-room home (left) before he is taken to an Ebola ward in Liberia; right, a man stands next to the coffin of Dr Modupeh Cole, a doctor from Sierra Leone, who succumbed to the deadly Ebola virus
An Ebola victim is loaded on to a truck by a government burial team at a facility in Kailahun in Sierra Leone
The team then spray the coffin with disinfectant at the facility set up by Medecins Sans Frontieres (Doctors Without Borders)
A man carries a child through the streets near an Ebola isolation ward. Ebola, which causes a high fever, bleeding and vomiting, has no cure and no licensed treatment

She said: 'We're running behind a train that is going forward.
'And it literally is faster than what we're bringing in terms of a response.' 
The doctors' warnings come as a World Health Organisation official claimed that Ebola treatment centres are filling up faster than they can be provided in west Africa.
WHO spokesman in Geneva Gregory Hartl said: 'The flood of patients into every newly opened treatment center is evidence that the numbers aren't keeping up.'
A security guard walks atop the roof of an abandoned hotel in Monrovia
Chinese doctors put on protective clothing and masks before starting work at the Harman Road Hospital in Freetown, Sierra Leone
Chinese doctors came to the hospital, which had to have an overall disinfection after receiving a patient with Ebola
A Chinese doctor works in the ophthalmologist clinic in the King Harman Hospital, which has treated Ebola patients
Chinese doctors came to the hospital, which had to have an overall disinfection after receiving a patient with Ebola. Right, a doctor works in the ophthalmologist clinic in the King Harman Hospital, which has treated Ebola patients.

He added that an 80-bed treatment centre opened in Liberia's capital Monrovia in recent days and filled up immediately. The next day, dozens more people showed up to be treated.
Meanwhile, he said that experts who are going house-to-house in Kenema, Sierra Leone, in search of infected people are discovering more cases.
Earlier the UN organisation had said the epidemic had been 'vastly' underestimated and that extraordinary measures are needed to contain the disease.
The Geneva-based organisation said in a statement that it was co-ordinating a 'massive scale-up of the international response' in a bid to tackle the spread of the Ebola.
The death toll from the condition has now climbed to 1,069 with most victims in Sierra Leone, Liberia and Guinea.
The WHO said in the statement: 'The outbreak is expected to continue for some time. WHO’s operational response plan extends over the next several months.

Relatives and neighbours of a woman suspected of dying of Ebola watch on as a Liberian burial team prepare to enter her home to remove her body
Relatives and neighbours of a woman suspected of dying of Ebola 
watch on as a Liberian burial team prepare to enter her home to 
remove her body
A woman cries as the undertakers, wearing protective clothing go to remove her cousin's body
A woman cries as the undertakers, wearing protective clothing go 
to remove her cousin's body
After her body is placed on a truck and taken away, neighbours and relatives gather around to watch the vehicle depart

Andrew, 14, gets dressed before being taken to an Ebola isolation ward

Residents stand outside the home of a person sick with Ebola in West Point
Fishermen pull a dugout from the water in the impoverished neighbourhood of West Point in Monrovia, Liberia. People in the area suspected of contracting the Ebola virus are being brought by health workers to a temporary isolation centre

*OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG...I have officially broken down,I cant deal with this anymore....God please forgive us and take Ebola away!

67 comments:

1. God heal us....God heal us!!

The root of our problems in Nigeria.

So God wasted his time to give us brains abi?

There is war in Syria, Christians persecuted in Iraq, Isreal under invasion, Russia attacking Ukraine.
      Ebola in Liberia, Aids in South Africa. ..and the list goes on?

So my dear, the queue is long so start solving ur problem.

2. As I read this I am moved to tears. Nigerians should always thank God for one thing, that in the midst of our inadequacies God remains faithful to us no matter how bad our situation. Liberia is synonymous to abject poverty and they have suffered enormous disasters, wars, and absolute condemnation of all sorts. I am also moved to say that they should unanimously as a nation seek the face of God. They haven't fully recovered from the war that broke that country apart, now Ebola has succeeded in making their country a haven of abandonment. I sincerely doubt that after this epidemic that they will fully recover their economy or wholeness, as no one would patronize nor visit them again. Talk about Egypt laced with the series of plague. This is so very sad indeed.

2. This is so sad, God forgive us and heal our land. The pictures of those kids stopped my heartbeat for a second. Sad much

3. When you see things like this then you know end time is near . Aside what the bible says about end time, western world involvement mat not be far from the truth as to the origin of this Ebola (bio weapon ) .They sha want to make money from us dead or alive hence the reason for discrediting our own nano silver.
    It's really sad. Tragic !!!!!

Best Oracle

1. Educate urself and stop all this gibberish.

Yesterday a boy was fucking a dog. If he gets a disease and pass it to a girl who spreads it, you will say its America.

Do u know the kind of diseases animals have? Can you eat what pigs eat and live? Yet you eat pork and when you get disease, you call the west.

Is it the west that said your government should not have good health care system?

2. Dr , if you go back to my statement I said "western world may " this implies it is a possibility. However your statement may not be far from the truth because non of us knows how it came about aside what the media tells us.
      Thank you sir for telling me your own perspective.

Best Oracle

4. I pray it doesn't get to this in Nigeria

5. I can't deal too, this too much! God, please save ur people!

6. Jesus!!
    Oh God! Tears Tears!!!
    Save us Lord!
    Mr Sawyer is this what you want for Nigerians?? Do you know we are heavily populated?? We can't have this here!
    God bless the Nigerian government for containing this so far...This is indeed an epidemic! It is capable of wiping a whole nation! For people making fun of this,see for yourselves is real!! It breaks my heart when people give me that silly grin anytime I sensitize them or act careful around them! Grrrgrrrrrrrrr

7. This will not be Nigeria's portion. God loves Nigerians.

1. Yep and he loves Liberians too.

8. Too much to read
    But this Ebola shit scares the Jesus out of me!!!
    God my people are in your hands oh
    Save us all.

9. @Olori marry me baby I promise to prevent from ebola #and to the matter it is jux painful to see dis and here we are in ngria we are shoutin 4 jux 3 death.

1. Is dis guy dumb or just mentally retarded?

2. Is dis guy dumb or just mentally retarded?

10. I don't even know what to say, so Liberians have been dying like chickens and the world was watching and the U.S.A could not send this so called experimental drug they were quick to use on their own citizens?

The virus gets to Nigeria and now their are claims that there is a cure for this deadly virus? Aren't these Liberians humans too? They need help!!

These pictures are heartbreaking.

11. My God! My God!! Why have thou forsaken us? Please look upon the blood your son shade on the cross of calvary, which always plead for mercy and forgive us.

12. Oh! God heal our land.

13. Am simply dazed, may this virus be contained in nigeria.

14. Information is key in stopping the spread of this virus.

Conspiracies only worsen it. I am disappointed at the teeming level of ignorance spewed by blog visitors.

I will always say this. Uganda and DRC effectively tackled this menace. Why cant we learn from them?

Good health facilities are key in curtailing and check mating this scourge. Isolating suspected Ebola contacts together only makes those infected to infect those clean.

We are our brothers keepers. If you have symptoms, immediately quarantine yourself and call authorities. If you love your family, why would you mingle with them when you suspect you have the virus.

Good hygiene will stop this virus on its tracks. Ordinary soap kills the virus. So wash your environment, clothes and hands.

Stop this talk about America bringing the disease. Even if they did, they are not forcing you to contract it.

Zmapp or any other drug is not a panacea. Even the Americans that got it are still in isolation and no word on them getting better. The Spanish priest died after getting it.

People survive Ebola by managing the symptoms and allowing the body time to build immunity.

Educate yourselves on how to properly protect yourselves instead of looking for who to blame and calling on God. Liberians and Guineans know the same God too. So why is Nigeria different?

Again, isolate suspected ebola patients separately. Thats why people are afraid of isolation. If you didn't have it, you may get it in quarantine.

Bloggers, inform people on how to prevent contact instead of propagating fear and conspiracy. Nanosilver is effective is cleaning your environment. Its already in your LG air conditioner. Its in your toothpaste and some clothing materials. But it is not a medication for curing Ebola.

No native doctor or pastor can cure Ebola. If they claim they can, we have 8 victims confirmed in Nigeria. They dont need to go far.

Thank you and may God give us the wisdom to tackle this message.

BTW since BH likes abducting people why not leave the confirmed Ebola patients in Chibok? Hehehehe

1. Haaaaaa!!! Mogbe. So even Dr Agwoturumbe no fit find cure for this menace?

2. 1000 likes for ur comment Dr Agwo

15. Lord please send us a cure. I cover Nigeria with the blood of Jesus

16. Is that why that MAD MAN called patrick sawyer came to infect Nigerians? ROAST in hell sawyer.

1. Won't u leave the dead alone, haven't we cursed him enough?

2. Won't u leave the dead alone, haven't we cursed him enough?

17. I am crying nOw. Father,help us.

18. Omg! This is real! This is too much. God please. Help us please.

19. This is pathetic , I have always believed in conspiracy theories and I think it is very likely the doctor who "discovered Ebola " is the one that brought the virus to Africa.

1. You people need to stop with this conspiracy theory, was it the whites that also brought Malaria, Cholera, Yellow fever, diabetes, cancer e.t.c? Malaria was once an epidemic, and it's still one of the most killer disease in the tropics. There will also be epidemics, it is the way it is. Let's focus on a solution please instead of talking foolishly.

2. Don't mind the backward Nigerians, they will blame the Americans for anything wron with this country even BH

3. Don't mind the backward Nigerians, they will blame the Americans for anything wron with this country even BH

20. I regret opening this thread...Lord have mercy.#Tears#

21. M officially broken...being trying to hold it together buh dis just broke me
    Pls GoD help!

22. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Whoever brought this rubbish into west africa will never knw peace......

23. God!!!!!!
    what is this?????
    NOOOOOOOOO! Am so scared now...

24. We need to start praying, speak to your body, call on the name of Jesus. The BIBLE said, 'they that know their God shall be strong and do exploits'.....who is your God? Do you know HIM?

25. Am so heart broken n speechless.

26. I look at this kids and imagine myself seperated frm my family or my my son being seperated frm us...hmmm God knows i would die even before the virus kills me. Choi this too much!!!

27. Am lost for words to use looking at how helpless these people look. O God of our ancestors, the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob come to our aid. Forgive our sins and heal our land(West Africa), you are our healer, our creator and our king, don't let this virus wipe us away from the Earth. Give us the initiatives to curtail it's spread and give us a solution to end this nightmare called ebola in Jesus mighty name we pray amen. Nwunye Okeke

28. My heart bleeds. Only God can help us now... Father in heaven, Jesus, Saviour, Master, Healer, Deliverer please hear our prayers. Forgive us oh Lord and heal our land. Send us help from above. Amen.

29. So so sad,something needs to be done and fast too,before this Ebola thing gets out of hand.well done stella,you are doing a great job.even if I don't comment ecvery tome your blog keeps me going.My day isn't complete if I don't read your blog,it keeps me informed.thanks once again and keep it up dear.muaahhh

30. MOI you are a bastard stop insulting sawyer.......Nigerians it's ignorance that will kill u all.....blaming America or developed countries for Ebola? Fools keep propagating fake conspiracy theory and don't look for how to help your selves....with all the talk of limited contacts all I see here are family members who still have no sense but still touching the patients.....that is y this disease is still spreading......when u suspect anyone even your father pls wear gloves, this is not about being insensitive it's about common sense..........meanwhile Nigeria should go and ask Uganda how they curtailed it.......enough of all this sentimental bullshit insulting sawyer and America.....

1. So someone else noticed this? I looked with horror! Yes the pictures are sad but we need to help ourselves how can u stand watching wen ur neighbor is being taken to the isolation center

31. Nigerians can spew rubbish it's annoying...."you all talking sentimental bullshit here....

32. Dear Lord, please have mercy.

33. Heartbreaking, to say the least. This quarantining method of keeping family members together or contacts together is helping to spread Ebola faster because they are keeping people who could be negative together with confirmed cases.

34. Anonymous 9:12 pm, your entire family is a BASTARD!!!! May you and your family die of Ebola and cancer, like i said yesterday , the only way you can escape this is IF that MAd MAN patrick sawyer did not infect Nigerians. His sins will surely be visited on his entire family. That UGLY MAD MAN, i am happy is ROASTING in hell. You will soon join him. The families that lost their loved ones in Nigeria are all crying and cursing him. BLOODY BASTARD!!!!!

1. So ur curses will turn back the hands of time?

2. So ur curses will turn back the hands of time?

35. Patrick Sawyer ROAST in hell!!!!! May that your UGLY albino face NEVER know peace. Amen! Anonymous 9:05, i can also see that you have become restless, this s just the beginning because there is no peace for the wicked! anon. God punish your entire generation . FOOL! Him urinating on health care workers is called what?? You this EVIL being! May you die of throat cancer!

36. You this STUPID anonymous 9:12, Are you sure you are not a witch? Did you send that MAD MAN patrick sawyer to Nigerians?

37. This is simply heart breaking. By the way, did this epidemic break out in a village. I see someone touching a casket, i see children holding hands of parents who have the disease. I know this wont happen in Nigeria just like that with all the message we have been hearing left, right and center.Are these people not been sensitized or what is going on here. May God have mercy on us all.

38. really really sad

39. You this mad anonymous, you can still stay there and challenge MOI because you haven't lost some one close to you yet. You are a senseless being that shouldn't have been given birth to. How dare you defend a mad man that knowingly infected the health workers that were just doing their jobs? HOW DARE YOU?! BASTARD!!!

40. Thank you who ever you are for defending MOI, don't mind that MAD MAN called patrick sawyer. He is already ROASTING in hell.

1. Funny how all the people defending u are all anonymous, you sure u aren't doing that yourself?