Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Author Chimamanda Adichie Talks About Justice And Accountability In Open Letter On Son’s Death

Sunday, June 14, 2026

Author Chimamanda Adichie Talks About Justice And Accountability In Open Letter On Son’s Death

Renowned Nigerian author Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie has broken her silence on the death of her son. In a recent public letter, she shared the pain of losing one of her twin boys and accused a top hospital of serious mistakes that led to his death.

Nkanu Nnamdi Adichie-Esege, aged 21 months, died on January 7, 2026, at Euracare Multi-Specialist Hospital in Lagos. The family says he went there for routine tests and scans after a short illness. 

He was stable and set to travel to the US for more care the next day. Chimamanda Adichie claims the hospital gave her son too much sedation medicine (propofol) for the procedures and did not monitor him properly afterward.

According her account, she said that this led to low oxygen levels, brain injury, cardiac arrest, and his death. She says the hospital failed basic safety steps and later tried to cover things up. In her letter, Chimamanda Adichie wrote that she just wants peace to mourn her child, but the hospital has made even that hard.

She described the loss as something that has shattered her family and said her son would still be alive without what happened at the hospital. She is pushing for full accountability and justice. The hospital has expressed sympathy to the family but denies any wrongdoing. It says its care followed proper standards. Some doctors linked to the case were suspended earlier this year after a medical council review found signs of negligence. 

A coroner’s inquest into the death is ongoing but has faced delays due to court cases.

10 comments:

1. Chimamanda Nwannem,in all these stories all i can say is
    It's well you and your family
    May God see you through in all ramifications Amen 🙌

1. Always leeching in all post. Comment where your IQ reach, you must not be seen everywhere..

2. Anon 11:36 ntooor😋
      Come hold my hands or kpai your head there
      IQ my Ass
      Olodo

2. Oh Lord Please Restore Happiness To Her 🙏
    May The Gentle Soul Of Her Son keep Resting Well 🫂

3. I feel for her. Even with a doctor in the family, money, and connections, de@th still showed up. I get why some ppl call up prayer warriors and have shifts going during times of trouble, only divine intervention and a miracle can stop some things from happening. I’m not sure why there are so many strange, avoidable de@ths in the nation. But folks better be attuned to the realities of the land.

4. So sad.
    May his soul rest in peace.

5. God's comfort for your loss, Chimamanda and family.
    It is devastating to lose anyone, much more one's child.

Medical negligence is a grievous matter and often fatal. In a functional society, it will raise safeguarding, cause reputational damage and sanctions.

May justice be served as a deterrent to similar, future avoidable medical fatality.

6. It's just a sad situation. I really feel bad for her.

7. May God comfort her and her entire family.