Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: The Cheerful Giver......A Must Read.

Tuesday, June 24, 2014

The Cheerful Giver......A Must Read.

Comedian Alibaba posted this on his facebook wall and i cannot explain how shocked i am reading this........

Alibaba says
''The things that kill generosity are now out numbering the number of kind acts, soooooooo fast.
A photographer, had complained of how he has "been managing a small digital camera and how not owning a modern camera has affected his abilities in turning out good jobs. His wife is pregnant, his house rent is due, he just managed to pay school fees for 2 of his 3 children... This job of photography is not like it is again. 

Technology has made it impossible for anyone not moving with it to run with the pack, if only he could get a good camera... Blah blah blah". And concluded with Oga Ali Baba, I no fit know you make I dey suffer like this.
So I chose the easy way out, gave him one of my Canon 7D cameras that I was still using. With 2 batteries, a wide angle lens and a zoom lens, all in a Canon bag. Asked if he DIDNT mind that I engraved my names on my cameras, he said not at all.

That was in the first week of May.

Out of the blues, last week, I get a call from someone who says some guy was offering him a 7D camera, but he had told the guy to come back and pick the cash.
No long story, DONT know if you know how much a Canon 7D sells for, but I told the guy to buy it from him for me. So the guy came back, and picked up the Money. He had asked for 40k, but the guy drove a hard bargain.

Except for one missing battery, all my stuff came back to me for 20k.

I saw him at the lobby of Eko Hotel, at the Colored Girls stage play. How is your camera, I asked him. He didn't bring it today.
Oh I see.
As they say, the LORD loves a CHEERFUL GIVER. I smiled and walked away.
God is good all the time'' 

*have you tried to help anyone like this and got 'slapped'?
I have never had this kind of experience and i would rather not cos it would poison my mind from helping people!

186 comments:

1. He probably just needed money and cooked up the story.

That's why, if you want to help, ask 'how may I help you' don't assume you know what they need by their story.

My 2kobo.

1. But he was the one who lamented about a camera being the reason for his bad luck.

2. GOD, bless u 4 this intelligent tot Anon 12:34pm. Exactly what came to my mind.

3. God bless this ur comments a million X over, pple tend to force there generosity on what they think u want,not asking d right questions!!! What do u want??????? How may I help? Don't force things on pple cos u can afford it, rather ask them what they want to do and encourage them

4. i just dnt like this dude.another avenue to seek relevance..mtscheew.

5. 7D is not a cheap camera o selling it for 40k is just plain wicked. 7D alone is just over or just under 1k pounds with lenses and battery you are looking at 2k pounds sha depending. That guy is wicked abeg.

6. Anon 12.34 and likers, fear God oh!
      The guy is greedy and wicked!from his message, you could deduce that he needed a better equipment to work! If Ali baba was wrong, he should have used his yeye mouth or fingers to ask what he truly wants instead of selling off a valuable gift for peanuts!

I dislike ingrates, he was not forced to collect the camera!

7. INGRATES!!!!!
      I fear people like those anons above!
      Somebody helped and you peeps are saying he should have asked how he could have helped him instead of assuming that is what he needed?
      He freaking gave him a fishing rod to fish instead of giving him the fish and he sold the rod!!!!
      This is why rich people don't like to mix with the poor because their thinking faculty is impoverished also! What would 20k solve for him? By the time he finish spending that, he would be looking for another sucker to tell his sob stories to!
      Ali Baba, you did well. Give to the orphanages instead.

8. Why do I think Ali made up this gist?? Am on his Facebook and I actually read this days ago. Not that it cannot happen. But....Anyways

9. You did well Ali baba.
      Peeps be advised; not all givings are blessed! Some give out of foolishness and stupidity!
      A man I.know was helping is co-worker to and from work everyday. Only for the co-worker to call this man a fool!

10. Comedians are like lawyers, they lie a lot or create a false illusion..and then make it happen for real. Or better still they convince their audience by connecting them mentally with their stories. Ali baba falls into this category because he is a comedian. So 50/50 on this one. My opinion.

2. Wow dts so bad sm pple r so ungrateful,imagine

1. IYALAJE OF SDK BLOG24 June 2014 at 16:37

Seriously don't think its solely poverty, the man is just a wicked soul...haba u can b poor and still b honest! Some Pple though, they make bn generous tiresome. Smh

2. Stella, my papa na do- gooder, always helping others.. now that he doesn't really have, all of them don run finish. God dey sha

4. Ha, this is the height. Greed, greed, greed.

Oluyomi Odukoya

5. If d intensity of ur generosity is determined by d behaviour or recipients of said generosity, u will become stingy.

6. This is disheartening

7. Human beings!!

Mr Bamidele

1. Galore, you again?!

2. Point of correction, Galore. G-A-L-O-R-E

8. He truth is a lot of people come to you with fabricated stories of how they are carrying all the problem in the world on their shoulder,but try and help in kind like Ali baba just did and get a shocker.

9. Human beings are complex.

An experience like that shouldn't even put you off helping people. Help people because of God, not because of how much they will appreciate your gesture.

You can't write off helping everyone in need because of a bad experience with one bad person. I'm sure Ali Baba wouldn't.

10. the photographer is not an honest person.

he would have just asked for cash instead. I guess he used the emotional appeal approach,(acting like he really wants to work but has no tools) to get a hearing.

Life is hard. I feel for him though... but be honest while asking.

1. Life is hard, I agree. This guy has 3 kids and his wife is pregnant again. Haba. He does not need help. He should check his raging dick first. His wife should find something to do and stop popping babies like a pig.

11. Stella , if I tell you my experience in the hands of my relations eh... you will weep for me. It is well. Just forgive and keep helping others.

12. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Thats life and the gud thing about it is that we just gat to move on.....

1. Stella if I tell you what my people has done to me, u won't believe it yet I didn't stop cos the more they try to ridicule me God bless me more. So I even prefer to help the ones that say rubbish about me. Enu ti igbin fi bu osha lofi ma gbole ni iwaju eh

13. Yes Stella I have!
    When we were moving to a new place,i called one of our cleaners that I felt needed help..i was pregnant then so
    I got all my stuff I wasn't favouring at that moment...a lot of them.
    Infact this girl was even in awe.
    Cos I was not even feeling good about the move(meant I had to atleast get my things in order)

I packed almost everything(shoes,even kitchen stuffs) and gave her
    She thanked and thanked me
    While I was still arranging my jewery,i dosed off.I woke up and saw myself leaning towards one of the storage cartons I was using lol
    Well,to cut the long story short,she left that day and I couldn't find my gold sets!!half of it gone!!!!!!
    Well I asked her and she told me she gave some of those things to her sister,she wants to check if she mistakenly found them.she kept tossing me up and down with different stories..since I didn't see her with my eyes,i left it to God..i whined about it and let it go.
    She has asked severally if she can come and help me at home...hahaha..no be onle help...not on my life!!!!

14. This is why I believe the saying that poverty is a state of mind. Imagine the mentality of this photographer?

Tomorrow someone will come out and say celebrities don't give back enough to society.
    Anyway sha, na him sabi. I hope the 20k went a long way for him. Rme! Mscheew!

15. Oh yes, I once gave a friend 12k after she complained of being very broke.Food stuff money was what she said she wanted. Same day,we went to ocassions and events @ galeria. I wanted to buy powder for myself.The babe for my front carry the 12k buy bobbi brown powder and one other rubbish.I jejely bought a cheaper one.She ended up staying at my place for a couple of days cos foodstuff had translated to her powder. Since then,before she says "I'm bro..." I go interrupt say am first. Many people ve wonderful priorities!

1. yes true,like my former room mate in school that can spend 50k on a go on clothes and come and borrow 1k smh

2. Very similar happened to me? A friend said she was broke and her son had not eaten proper food. I gave her £100 only for me to say she wanted to go shopping with me. I picked a shoe for myself and one for my sister. When I got to the till I saw her paying for a £75 shoe and earings £12. That was the last time I gave her a penny and I made sure I stylishly collected my money . Mrs O

3. Hi Mrs O. Hope u re gud
      Moe

16. So far, i haven't experienced anything like this, but d guy is such an ingrate! I bet he has no idea how much that camera costs, otherwise he wouldn't have flogged it so ridiculously. His loss, I guess.

Click my name for all your celebration cakes n cupcakes, cheers

17. awww,neva had such experience bt it sure does happen frequently.keep giving no matter what.its ur intention that counts.if he or she has a negative intention on seeking for help,its left for him nd God wl surely judge

18. I heard the Nigerian government shut down Nairaland.

Na wa oh!

1. Really? No wonder i have been trying to access the website unsuccessfully. What could have happened?

2. Serious? Ohhh, that's where i go to get intellectual gist. I feel so bad now, though the tribalism there was getting too much. #crying#

3. Tell me story ohhh Chai and dats d job forum mist job seekers use...but why na

4. I thought it was software problem, jist me more!

5. This comment has been removed by the author.

6. No wonder!i couldn't access it,infact I tot my phone was bad and called mtn customer service.lol!
      I love nairaland,a lot of highly intellectual matured pple dat are mostly anti govt too sha,so am not surprised!i pray they scale thru this abeg,nairaland can't die like that.#shame on a govt threatened by faceless youths just trying to air their opinion!!#

7. Nairaland....where I go to fight and of course to learn....will miss Kanwulia alias Mgbeketoto aka Callotti de harlotti....chai.

19. Oh yes Stellastica...
    Some people are very very ungrateful especially relatives...I have had my own share of the experience not even from one or two person....but the one wey pain me pass is someone I brought from the east to come and school here....
    I got him an admission to study law in Unilag which I know how much I paid....
    Gave him a room in my house and my car to be going to school with....
    Paid his school fees etc throughout his stay...was just doing all that to help his poor parents cos he is the first son...
    Today he calls me a MUGU,MAGA,MUMU...
    Well,I will not stop helping people but I have cut down on the number of people I help especially the so called relatives....
    I now prefer people I don't know...

1. Linda abeg clean ur mouth,u wer no get job come brought someone 4rm village to study law, huuuuuuuuu! I carry ass 4 u. Wit d yeye mouth u get on dis blog show say na money no make u read law cos if u get d opportunity u go grab am.abeg park well SDK liar

2. Linda,I spent d weekend wit ur husband in warri.wonderful experience I must say.I enjoyed his soft big dick nd body..we will see nxt wk again in abuja.pls free him 4 me

3. Chai dis is not nice at all. All dis relatives and dia wahala. Pls don't stop helping cos u are doing it for God and not man

4. Madam Lin you sure say na only help you de give the boy???. Abi you wanted him to pay in kind??
      I no quite trust you much because I na eme Ife di egwu!!!

5. relatives are like that,i remember my cousin too.such ppl never go far in life,it is better one invest on ones children alone biko

6. Liar!!!..take care of your horseband's mouth odour first.

7. Queen of liars!!!
      Pls fear God small and reduce the rate you lie!
      Anyways you are a big MUMU sha no doubt about that one.

8. Queen of liars!!!
      Pls fear God small and reduce the rate you lie!
      Anyways you are a big MUMU sha no doubt about that one.

9. You people must be really frustrated and jobless if all you do is wait for someone's comments in order to bully the person. Share ur experience and let others share theirs in peace.

10. Y d attacks, how sure are you dt she is lying. Had a relation dt did same to my dad after training him in school.

11. That's how relatives are ooooo
      My cousin I brought from the east, tushed her up and found a very good job for her.... she's turned her back and now disrespect me and my folks.
      I'd rather help outsiders now

12. @ the one that said she enjoyed lindas husband. Enjoy him well o. She should totally give him the treatment adaeze yobo gave that skank. They will soon use and dump you like a menstrual rag you young piece of Shit. Don't worry you will soon be an old piece of Shit.

13. Wow! Mugu, maga, dose names re 4 sugar mummies/daddies na. Or re we misiin sometin in dis story?

14. You guys should stop the bullying already!
      It's not nice at all.

20. Wow...life sha. No wonder people no longer want to help.

Aeegurl...

21. There are people like that. Out of every 12, there must be a judah. It shouldn't stop you from helping people who genuinely needs help.

22. This can be so annoying. A Lot of beggars are like that. I am sure very soon the photographer will come up with another story just to beg 4 more. I think he was expecting some cash from Ali baba and not some complicated 7D camera.

23. Some people are like that but the only option is- do the best that you can do and leave the rest for God.

24. Sorry to divert. I pray for anyone who maybe going thruogh difficult times as I am to not give up hope,trust and have faith in God I believe there's miracle on the way Amen. Above all be good to one another and help if u are in a position to, have a blessed day u all bye.

25. Why do I get the feeling the camera is worth a fortune? That guy must be really silly. He has no aspiration else, he would have found a way to join the league of Akara and the likes.

1. It is worth a fortune, a 7D canon is $1500 before tax, the guy is a goat for selling it for 20,000 naira. I wish it was me he sold it to.

26. In most cases people solicit for my help through money lending but after several bad experiences i have vowed never to lend people money again,i'd rather give what i can easily forget about than lend a huge sum!
    so my new strategy is "the money i can't dash you, i will never lend you"
    At the end of the day you will be tagged a bad person.
    The last guy *jobless* o asked me to lend him 20k but with the experience i had with him, i sent him 3k and i told him na dash.
    this is somebody i lent 20k to repair his car, he ended up paying for 3yrs and i even had to forgo the remaining money.
    if i begin to relay my experiences, ground go full, infact one happened to me just yesterday.... waiting for closing time to go and storm the woman's shop am collecting every dime!

1. I don't lend moni,av had my fair share too. Imagine someone beggin me to lend her 25k to add to wat she has so that she can bring her goods to lagos,after selling she will refund me my moni. I read d text and smiled(nonsense),d gal noticed I didn't respond,she sent a text that she needs 5k dat she finds it hrd to eat,she is an orphan and she needs a job,I replied and said ok no problem(at least I can spare 5k). There was a job vacancy somewere in Lekki,I contacted her for the job so that she can at least FEND for herself. Only for her to reply me saying she is an evangelist,working will disturb her calling. Till today she has not called nor sent me a text

2. Pple are just very silly and manipulative these days,an ex showed up in my office looking all confused,with stories dat his biz has crashed,his wife is jobless and their baby ill,in short all the stories in d world just to evoke sympathy(now dats d manipulation am talking abt)cos on a normal day I shouldn't be borrowing my ex money,infact my hubby didn't know,gave this guy 250k for him to pay back in two months,dis was last year September,till today:he just managed to pay 50k to my acct grudgingly a few weeks ago!and he decided to start paying after my gf advised me to ask him for the money bcos funny enuf,since he collected that money,he doesn't talk about paying me anymore,but rather he will wake up every morning and be thanking me and be saying how nice a person I am with a good heart,lol(manipulation again!)all so I would not ask him my money.meanwhile it was stated clearly when he was collecting the money dat it is 'borrow'!smh.acquiring by tricks lately is more common than carrying guns!!one has to be careful of pple dese days,their evil is what's making them always in need.

27. You see why some people don't like helping,cause when you do they spit on your face somehow in return.

1. If you give something to someone it is theirs. The guy needed money more than a 7d camera whatever that is. I have never and by God's grace will never look back to know how what I have given away is being used.

28. In Patt Ogar's voice 'HMMMNN'

That's how it is o.. Just do what you can and know you are doing it for God. KAPISH!!

There used to be a distant cuz of my dad like that! One story or the other. It later became a daily routine and the annoying thing was that the man used to come the moment my mom dished my dad's food!! I am not lying o,it was like the man had tracker and timer, but after about two weeks consecutively, my mom just kuku dey dish for two cos na sure banker the man must show!!
    Thank God we moved out and I guess the new location was a bit far for him.
    People will always ask for help once they feel you are doing fine, it's up to one to discern who to help or not to! It is well!!!

1. Why in Patt Ogar's voice? Did you lose your own?

2. Hahahahahahahahahaha yours is good now,a distant cuz sef. There is dis particular young man dat comes to d house wit my dad for bizness transactions in benin. Jesu! Dis man comes anytime we cook new soup,sometimes I believe he uses otumorkpo.lol. Anytime we hear d sound of my dads car and noticed he drove in wit somebody,we know he is d one cos he is d only man dt comes to d house whenever we cook new soup. And d guy no dy even buy bread or ukwa to appreciate d soup o.

3. So to help your relation is now wrong?

29. Replies
    1. Ok what?! Block head! Fish brain!!!

2. Ok what?! Block head! Fish brain!!!

3. People always insult u and I feel bad but today u have just proved to me that u deserve all the insults. What is ok? , is it a must to comment, my dear it's not by force, sometimes all u need to do is read n keep ur ok, hmmm or whatever other single word u use to yourself

4. Patt,but on a serious note,how does ur bf cope with u?#scratches hair#u seem too quiet and a lil bit boring,do u two converse at all?..except if he is like u too!imagine after maybe he narrating a story like dis to u,den all that comes out of ur mouth is :'ok'..huh?#faints#i bet he has to be like u not to faint like me!well Congrat* u dey try!

30. come back to me pepper!!!24 June 2014 at 13:11

All i know is that this pepper is the fake pepper.i went to laila's blog and i saw pepper,original pepper ose oku no dey do blog prostitution,and before anyone cusses me out,i went there cus sm1 asked me to.im a die hard Sdk fan.pls original pepper,come bk biko.this one is a big bore.

1. So checking other Blogs is now blog prostitution? I have Linda,laila and SDK on bookmark, I chose not to comment on the others, if I decide to start commenting will that make me a prostitute? I'm sure everybody on this blog have other blogs they visit and just prefer commenting here, SDK is a great blogger, but she can't know or do it all, they all have their different spices, and u know what they say about Variety.
      Just so you know your Original pepper has been commenting on Laila since the name "Pepper" was born, I know because I frequent Laila's blog as much as I visit Stella's.

2. Yeah,ure very right.i can only comment on SDK's blog.

31. Damn!!! Thats just too bad. Pple like this photographer die poor.

32. That guy is such a Ram for doing that!!!!!!

33. Yeah so many fools like that out there.... U help some people and they just turn out to be ingrates... They ask for pity yet they don't deserve it....some poor people just remain poor out of their own foolishness...

34. Stella u don't want to hear gist.

I gave a paternal aunt 50k last December in crisp 500 naira notes for Christmas. Bought her 6 yards of lace material, a bag of rice and a sizeable goat. Guess what she did? Took it all to a jazz man 3 villages away with my picture and told him to block my source of wealth that I was oppressing her family. After trying to do the juju, the jazzman told her it won't work but rather she should go and ask for my forgiveness if not calamity will befall her household.

She died 3 weeks ago and her 1st son is seriously sick.

People are wicked but nevertheless don't stop doing good because He that sees ur heart will greatly reward u

1. Fia!!!! Thank God for your life. He really has your back. If not for God you may have been treating cows now. This world is wicked. May God Continue to protect you and your family.

2. Dr okechukwu u cn lie oh..

3. Please never help anyone in the village. Afu Ta ha nmiri.. Very wicked people. All they know how to do is take people to jazz house to bring them down,can't they help their selves?

4. Ehhn...!?
      Hmm, na wah o! There's a prayer I say regularly, "may the good that I've done never turn around to my disadvantage."
      This is common, unfortunately. A wicked world it it.
      Ones enemies are usually of ones household.
      Chukwu dube anyi ncha!

5. Nollywood movie!!!

6. Dr, what's the title of the movie so I can get the concluding parts.
      The Alex

7. Wonders shall never end. Thank God for your life.

8. This is super story *singing*
      Dr Oke take it easy biko

9. I borrowed this supposed PortHarcourt big boy moneyas a corper he called that he had issues with his atm and as a nice girl I borrowed him he drove to my house and took my to FBN@oil mill I withdrew and gave him not because I had it o till today he dnt return it so cos of that I never borrow any guy money no matter the sob story

10. A typical Nollywood story.

11. I learnt a long time ago that when I want to give anybody anything, whatever it is, money, food, shoes, hair, clothes, plates, spoons, drinks, cars, match stick, Broom, iPad, chewing gum, umbrella. anything at all even if na my mama or my bff, my pikin (just to state the level of importance) I say this words as I hand them over either privately or silently in their presence " I cover my gift with the blood jesus, it shall not be used against me in jesus name "....after that prayer, if u like carry am cross seven seas....nothing dey happen!

12. Dr Okechukwu who told u d story na? Hian!

35. He probably didn't know the camera's worth
    Shiorr!!!

36. Stella this one na just normal comedians' joke.

37. That is painful o. The guy na mumu. 20K? Haba!

38. cant forget when i was in sch.it was my ex bf s birthday.out of my little pocket money,i bought him a red wine 550,a body spray 400 and a bottle of perfume750(something mask) cnt rem d name. That very day i gv it to him in his house,we were jisting wen he saw all ds tiny black ant lined up frm d floor to the wall. Na so this idiot used d body spray as pesticide to kill those ants. He used almost half of it. In my presence. Dt was my last day of eva giving him anything. This is a stingy omata guy dt had neva giving me anything less than 2k.
    Am happily married now,but wheneva i rem my experience wt men esp d osha main market guys i jst laugh at my folishness. Life is indeed an experience

1. Kai! Make I follow laugh hahahaha.... D guy wicked sha.

2. Kai! Make I follow laugh hahahaha.... D guy wicked sha.

3. Lmaooo. If the ants died then it was raid inside d perfume na. Lwkmd

39. Can someone break this down for me please. I'm confused. Thanks

1. Nwa Ndu you will remain a fool for life if u can't grasp a simple story like this..... Tufiakwa .......

2. One fotografa dey try razzle Ali baba to give am money. Ali baba no decode, so hin carry one correct orijo camera give the guy as na fotografa work him dey do. Na so the guy sell the camera for 20k because no be that one hin wan chop. The man no even know say na Ali baba buy the camera back o, because the next time wey Ali baba dey hail am hin tell Ali baba " ah bros thank you o, that camera wey you give me dey sweet my belle o, only be say I leave am for house so dem no go tif am". Sorry for writing it like this, the right way to put it in English eluded me. Hope someone else explains it better for you.

3. Are you so daft? If na to give Anal sex lecture now, you go sabi everything but a common straight up writeup like this gets you confused. Stop thinking with your anus and try use your brain!

4. I don't understand what is confusing you here nwa ndu.

5. I had to read it a few times myself to fully understand it.
      Someone said to Oga Ali that he needed help, so instead of just giving him money in cash, oga gave him an expensive equipment to help him do his job as a photographer more effectively.
      I suppose the camera was a high quality one that will enhance his work and bring more customers.
      Small oga sold the camera for =N=20,000 to another person who returned it to Oga Ali.
      Hope this helps.

6. Nwa ndu the story is basically about a once relevant comedian who has a penchant for tooting his own horn.

7. Lmao at the first reply. Thanks for expressing yourself. I love your anger. Its art!
      Carole I really tried.
      Tinkerbell you put yourself through such stress lol thanks sis

Mrs anal hahaha I love you too! Alibabas story will fetch me a degree.

Cream puff I still don't understand. Oh well.

40. Pple re wicked. D bad ones don spoil d good ones.

41. Yesoo I got involved with dis dude.he broke my virginity,mind u I was 30 den.At some point he became very broke,so I was practically feeding him and at times his brother.I gave him gud advice wen he wanted to set up a business.but I noticed dat he'l never praise my new dress,hair except I kl his attention to it.He embarrases me before other girls.D problem is dat av gotten so attached to him dat ayam prayin 2 God 2 liberate me.

And I still give him food if he asks kos I feel u can't refuse a human food if u have.

Pls u pipl can cuss out but how do I liv dis guy who isn't helpin me@all.mind u am not interestin in marryin him I just got addicted bkos he is my first!

1. Ehn? What did you say? You better give way for the second person ooo. And to think there are men out there also looking for ladies to genuinely love them. Stay there and stick to the frog. Keep the hopes alive that one day kermit will turn to prince William or harry. The issue you are having is that you don't love yourself. Honestly I wish I could have a one on one chat with you. A friend of mine back then in school as just like you only that she was/is a bit younger. Very intelligent but she had self esteem issues and she was stuck on one riffraf that she clearly outmatched in brains and all. At some point she became comfortable with herself and let the tadpole go. Now she's in a serious relationship with someone who adores her. How will a new person come in if the old one is still hanging around like a bat?. Sorry for sounding a bit harsh. Never sell yourself short.

2. U are a complete FOOL!!! Bye

3. Are u kidding me? Ure seriously doing this regrettable disservice to yourself?.... Some insecure scum is sniffing u dry , emotionally abusing u at will ,and u let him?, cmon honey u can't be that ugly even if u have 26 tribal marks on both sides of your face ...this mantra of ''he's my first, am attached, I love him" when he treats u like trash is too cliche and disgustingly old, am not saying u shud go round and run miles with ur pum pum ،but I should think that at 30 u should know better....don't u think u deserve better?, the only reason why a guy ure dating refuses to complement you for the most obvious things is because he's totally insecure ,''he doesn't want it to get to your head in retrospect'' and u begin to feel you are too good for him and start looking out for something better( atleast that's how he explains it to himself) doesn't that tell you that you can actually do better than babysit a nuissance? Some loser is trying to break ur resolve and make u feel worthless to feel good about himself and get a metaphorical erection and feel good that atleast he's still got a plaything he can flip back and forth ! Babe this doesn't speak well of u ,no matter ur age '' it screams low self esteem'', it just begs the question of why we women let this losers do this to us biko? Don't u deserve to be happy or uve run out of things to do with ur money? This sort of things makes me sick to my stomach abeg..whether or not u intend to marry this guy , the relationship is toxic and detrimental and this mentality might drag on to your next relationship if u don't contain it now, cos once a guy smells this sort of low sense of self in a woman, boom! The circle continues ooo,u don turn to rubber band for the guy hand and he keeps snagging you to the celling, blows u a bit of soothing air and starts the process again...its unhealthy for u honey and u might not know it now but that '' am not good enough feeling'' might filter into other spheres of your life . You are beautiful honey , you are smart ,you are strong ,you are a winner , you are all that and more...don't settle for less, don't get attached to mediocrity... Love urself honey , re-invent urself and see as things takes a different turn. Thers nothing as beautifully sexy as confidence, and I don't mean arrogance ,but wen it radiates and it shows ,u attract a different breed of refined men and even ur loser bobo wud sit up incase u still wan die there!

4. My dear sister, if it was possible, i will give you 15 lashes of pepper cane. How can you keep your priced Virginity till 30years, only to dash it out to someone you don't even love? !!!!!!!!!!!

Mehnnnnnnnnnnnnn, girl you fuckoyor big time.

5. move on. It's in your mind love. Just wake up and decide, you don't want to settle for less. Love yourself. And you will be alright.

6. Nigerians talk so much rubbish.

42. Can't really judge a case like this, except you hear the reasons behind the photographer's actions. IMHO, if you give someone a goat, release the rope attached to its neck also. What anyone does with any gift I give them is their business..... If it comes back to me like in this situation, then it wasn't meant to go at this time... Wount stop me from being kind to others....

1. 10000000 likes.

2. Easier said than done! That is why the bible say we should not give our pearls to pigs because they would trample on it!

43. Hehehehehhebhehehehehehe funny though shuoook dis na old story na, e dey happen all d time. Das y i love giving my bf gift he wont even allow anyone touch it not to talk of selling it.

44. Ali baba gave him a tool to help with the fishing but he chose the greedy way out. 3kids and one on the way will manage the 20k abi?

45. Haha..kilode?...izit poverty or greed?..where on earth is honesty in this space age? Whether rich or poor,without God you are nothing!

46. This are the sorta peeps that block the way for others its well.

*Sweetness*

47. Chai! Stupidity in high places.you see how pple close doors for other pple that are genuinely in need. Well sha... Let's not be weary in doing good.

48. God loves a cheerful giver
    I see a striking semblance between Ali and Charley Boy.
    They express themselves so beautifully well
    Back to the matter
    It's poverty o
    Poor people are the most wicked and frustrated souls on earth not minding that God didn't give all equal opportunity
    They can do and undo for just a pot of porridge
    Avoid them as much as u can
    Especially those in Naija
    Evil duttty black filthy souls
    The other day a man almost sold his pregnant wife to ritualists just for #6hk
    Poverty comes with greed,violence,wickedness and envy
    May we never experience abject poverty IJN

1. This time around, I agree with you Mamie! Poor people have the most wicked heart sometimes! They know most of the juju houses! I don't blame rich people who stick to themselves!

49. Naaaa! I help people a lot but I'm careful so as not to give to someone who's only begging cos the wanna take advantage of me. I know where to find people who truly need help so I go there but if someone did ds to me, ama just shrug ma shoulder and make sure he doesn't have that kinda opportunity again...EEE!!!

50. Yesso, a friend did dat to me in uni. Her own worse sef, bc she told me it was stolen - whereas she sold it. I got to know when she has a quarrel with ha cousin who happend to be a friend too, while i was trying to be a mediator in d case - trust girls na, d cousin spilled it. It didn't stop me from helping her , neither did it stop me from helping others.

51. Yes o Stella, a photographer I new those days came to me n was begging to be helped. He needed a better camera n blablabla cos it will help him get better jobs n all that, initially I told him not to worry that if I go to the u.s I will get him one but alternatively I decided to give him cash so I don't delay his business, after that money I did not hear from him for awhile, only for him to send me a text message how d money I sent him helped him to pay his house rent cos d landlord was on his neck n was at d verge of throwing his things out. I was so angry that I just didn't bother to reply the text. Here I was thinking I had helped someone's business only to find out he actually used d money for something else

1. Anon 2:02pm, y should u even b angry in d 1st place? Are u sure u gave him dat money from d bottom of ur heart or u did it grudgingly? At least u should be glad dat u helped out someone in need. Doesn't it occur to u dat settling his rent could have been of higher priority dan doing business at dat particular point in time? U should b glad dat at least u reached out to him at his time of need. Afterall if he had been thrown out of dat house, u would asked him y didn't he use d money u gave him to settle his rent? So Bro, take a chill pill and God bless u all d same for reaching out to him

2. I see nothing wrong in this case biko. The fact that he even told you means he was being genuine. At the end of the day, what shall it profit the man to hold on to camera-money when his things are thrown out into the street. You sef!

3. You have a functioning brain my dear.

52. Touching but sir alibaba he said his wife was pregnant and house rent due plus school fee to pay and all that...yeah he. didn't do well to sell the camera but there must be a reason and don't. Tell me he will have that camera and the wife will need money medical bills or to save her life then he will keep it because alibaba. Gave it to him...so what am saying is there is a reason look deeper oga alibaba

53. hmmmmm.....I'm just going to pick the moral of the story and move on, but I cant help wondering what d odds were that d so called guy/ friend who 're-bought' the camera for him called him out of a million and one other people to inform about the offer and 2ndly he just had conveniently to bump into the photographer again.... anyways whether this story is true or too good to be true, the point is well taken... human beings are just funny and cannot be trusted.

1. Dint u read d part dt says,Ali baba engraved his name on d camera

54. I AM LIBER,SDKER,AND AMDER24 June 2014 at 14:15

Stella oh I no fit laugh abeg,I am just coming from Angel maryjane david blog,do you know what? She said drink you urine (FAINT).

55. Na today???I don leave charity work for my hubby I no dey do again biko.i ve been accused of taking their star,beauty,intelligence. .......dem say I no go school but I can read and write......some say I born grown up but still look like an under 20 forgetting I got married at 13+......dem also say I fine wella infact say over fine dey worry me.......sighs#u cant please d world,can u??

1. Ezenwanyi is that u on your dp?? If it is, then sorry to disappoint u but u don't look under 20, however like u have pointed out 'very modestly', you are very beautiful and look sophisticated.
      Do good, forget about the results, let God be the judge. U can't please all. That is why we pay tithes without thinking who really benefits from it.

2. People will always talk,dats humans for u. Just do d lil u can do and leave d rest for God. Whatever charity we do,we do for God,na so he go dy bless u plenty

3. U well so. How can Ezewayi use her pix as profile pix, dnt u know dt monitoring spirit full dis blog n ready to take u down in a blink. Dis is Nija n wake uP.

56. This is totally unfair. He would have asked for 20k from Alibaba naa.
    Why are people so wicked? It's this kind of people that will take what you give them to babalawo in order to harm you.
    God have Mercy!

57. Lol d guy tho.that's very bad of him

58. And yes, i had had a similar experience in the past. I gave out a phone to a cousin who came crying that she had no phone and that she doesn't want to do runs just to get a phone .
    I gave her one of my phones only for her to give to her girlfriend the next day and told her girlfriend that she will get another another one from all one of us that is preaching for her not to have a boyfriend.
    Odiegwu what people can do!

59. What a slap! The Cannon 7D is very....expensive...woooow!!!

60. Dear Stella, this happen's all the time! I am generous to a fault ( that was before i leant my lesson ) There was this little boy in Apapa market, i use to go there for my vegetables, i go once a week when i was still in Nigeria, one day i got there on i think a monday or tuesday and i saw this little boy carrying load for customers, i asked him why he was not in school and he said his parents can't afford it, i gave him money for school, do you know that weeks after that i kept seeing him in the market? I was too shocked to ask him what he was still doing in the market. Another story of my life is, ( i will cut this story short ) Some years ago in Nigeria, things were going so well, family friends will come eat party, then i had a little problem that lasted about 2 years ( financial ) those people disappeared, unknown to them God just wanted me to see the kind of people they were! Do you know that when things became BIGGER and BETTER ( financially ) they came back but i take style turn my back on them. While all that was happening, only my favourite baby sister stood by me, this lady will buy credit of 100 naira and send me text praying for me, i have said it here before that i will buy her a cute little apartment in Lagos soon. I will never forget how she stood by me in her own little way. May God Almighty help me fulfil my promise to her. Amen! PEOPLE!!!

61. I still help but not STUPIDLY.

62. @Dr oke
    i think i v watched dt movie.very interesting movie.remind me d name pls.
    How market?hope biz(rat poison)is moving in dt traffic

63. U b small pikin,go back to class to write ur promotion exam to JSS 3.after d hunger and humble old man finished d food I believe he say tanks deeply 4rm his heart and blessing 4rm above come upon ur mom cos giver never lack. Ur mom feed jst 1 mouth u ar crying,wat do u wat jesus wey feed thousand of people do?

Somebody

64. This is like eating the last yam in the time of famine instead of planting it for a full harvest....

Miss chief

65. Fustration n poverty is a disease, it is well

66. Personally, I don't think it has happened to me but something like that happened to my cousin. She sold her car at a give-away price to her friend because her friend badly needed a car at the time. She could have sold the car for much more and had purchase offers but she preferred to sell to her friend for way less as a favour. Fast forward, like 2 weeks later, her friend put up the car for sale, added 400k to the price at which she bought it and it sold almost immediately. So her friend bought it from her just to re-sell and make a profit. My cousin was soooo pained.

67. hahahaha. I laugh in China. Bros Alibaba, this one na small mata. Come make I tell u sometin, U go know how far. My younger sister, go cry to you on phone like say she wan die tomorrow, U go even go borrow money give her. She go land your house the next day with the latest designers shoe and bag, latest human hair while u never change your shoe or bag for months.

68. he would have simply asked for money to pay his rent or his kid's school fees than using his business, now he has closed that road, if he was using that camera very well in his biz, Alibaba would have been moved to help more. but no, greed will not let them.

69. Maybe the way I see things is different.
    It could be that his problems needed urgent attention thus, he could not wait for him to make money from photography. That he sold that camera for a very low price shows that he had a very pressing need. Maybe the wife needed money for antenatal, medication, or the landlord was threatening to eject them.

Before you give, just ensure that the alleged problems exist.

Alibaba, please forgive him. You may have saved him from other problems. Maybe he felt that if he asked for money, you would see him as a lazy person. It could also be that if he waited to make money from photography a tragedy would have happened.

Thank you for helping the poor. God will bless you. Rose

70. This man sold a camera that is worth Naira 250,000 plus depending on where you buy it for 20k??????????????? Stupidity at its highest!

71. Jst finish having sex wt ma bf 4 d 1st time in ma life, hehe l dnt knw d tin swt like dis ,am out

72. Someone came to me and begged for a Job, said his wife was pregnant, no fees etc.
    Na so I carry matter for head, even did "My Brother" begged my Boss till he got the Job.
    Only for him to start carrying gossip that me and my boss are having an affair thats why my Boss listens to me.
    Till today the disater of all the wickedness he used to pay me back for sticking out my neck has notsettled.

I know everything happens for a reason I pray I understand the reason for that one. For one day the wife never called to thank me but she would call to abuse me that am disturbing the husband. I would wonder if they had demons never have I seen such level of laziness and ungreatfulness.
    It is sad

73. I cant stop doing good to people even tho they end up hurting me...God dey..one dude came to me to help him with getting a shop. He told me the shop's rent per month was 10k. So I gave him 100k which was for 10months rent, only for him to tell me like a month later that he was no longer able to get the shop because he needed 20k to make a year's rent. If he had dropped the 100k I gave him I wld ve paid d balance of 20k..bt na only God knw wetin he take the money do, he sees me now he dey dodge, still looking unkept and doesnt pick my calls, his loss not mine cos God keeps blessing me everyday...Genuine givers never lack

74. Are U̶̲̥̅̊ sure about nairaland? Ђ̥̊α̲̅√ been tryin to login, but can't. Na wa seun better do something fast. I miss nairaland.

75. Ok....erhm...the point here is?...cuz the way I see it..he gave and took back.....soooo...

76. Stelly,
    I have had this countless times and even got my fingers burnt on few occasions. One reason I smile when you get pushy with me.

Anyway, I owe only God explanation as you will never believe me.

Tee

77. Well, my philosophy is help and move on, If you say you want to do business, pay fees or house rent, I really don't care what you use the money for, I will give what I can afford, if you like go and gamble but be sure never to miss road and come back to me.

Once you help some people once, you are finished, they will keep coming to you whenever they need help as if there is a law that says one can not be broke.Tell them you don't have and they become angry and start acting up.

Iphie you tried oh, that cleaner will shit out the Gold from her anus cuz that is out right stealing, DAY LIGHT ARMED ROBBERY.

78. I am not surprised cos humans will always remain humans. If he needed d moni so bad he wld have asked for cash dan wantin to sell a Gift given to him to help improve his biz. I have had my fair share too but it won't stop me frm helping,so far its within my capability.

79. People like that are everywhere.they think they're smart but they're empty headed.Anyways that's his own way of sayin thank you, ignoring the good someone did for him.Its this same reason why I hardly make friends,I just keep them far away.

80. SDK I have this friend and things are tight for them, she has two younger sisters and anytime I visit them I always feel bad about the way they look, so I decided to give them some stuffs I don't wear anymore. Fast forward to some weeks later I saw another friend of hers wearing one of the clothes I gave her to give to her younger ones, I confronted her and she said it was just that one. I saw the friend another day and she was wearing another of my clothe and bangles, she even takes pictures with my stuff and my foolish friend will use it as her dp, kai I felt so hurt. Can't really understand why she's giving stuffs meant for her younger ones to her friend who is 28 years old meanwhile her younger sisters are 21 and 18. I don't blame her though I blame my foolish friend that prefers to have her friend look good rather than her sisters. I even told my fiancé and he said I should not stop giving them stuffs and truly I can't cos I love those girls and that's why i've decided that any day I catch that old fool wearing any of my stuff i'll embarrass her and my foolish friend.

81. Dis expensive camera?? Haba...he 4 jus beg 4 money na!!! My hubby has dis camera...quite expensive!......................OKJA WIFE

82. hmmm.... some of these comments, nawa o. People can be so inconsiderate. Sha the one that has shocked me so far is our family friend's story:

So this family friend (let's call her Jane), her family is rich, like her kids are schooling privately abroad, the family is very comfortable, nice house, hardworking, no illegal stuff etc. They get a lot of stuff stolen from their houses by the workers, and they manage to catch some of them. So Jane has a cousin, and she's always around when stuff get taken, she even helps catch some of the people and this cousin was loyal for many years. Jane built a bussiness for her cousin, helped her so much etc. Ever so often the Jane would notice that some of her stuff was missing, but then she'd think it was part of the previously stolen stuff. So one day Jane travelled, and left her cousin in charge of the house. When she returned N6 million naira worth of jewelry was missing. So after questioning everyone in the compound, they threated to do a traditional oath, so her cousin now confessed that she had been stealing things every now and then and that she sold the jewelry, she had even stolen documents for plots of land.

83. Being wicked or bad is not only found among the poor. Some rich people are also wicked and greedy. It has to do with individuals. Please let us take it easy the way we talk down on the poor. God will not allow us to be poor, but let us remember that there is a thin line between poverty and wealth. I know someone who was rich but diabetic. He had many business tentacles spread all over. Today he is bed-ridden as a result of limb amputation caused by infection. His business empire has crumbled due to mismanagement and greed on the part of his business partners. Please, let us be merciful on the poor. Jonathan, Obasanjo, Abiola were poor. May God bless us all. Rose